Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 232014

Silverado

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chevrolet Silverado rusted brake lines when the dealer tested the brakes, the brake pedal went to the floor and five brake lines burst under the driver seat area.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 192013

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,900 miles
Stepped on brake pedal and it went down to the floor. Mechanic looked at vehicle and advised that all brake lines were rotted out and leaked brake fluid. All lines needed to be replaced.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 102012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Mid August 2012 approximately 5 pm average temperature was 76 degrees and roads were dry. While driving on interstate 83 southbound near harrisburg pa at approximately 55 mph I attempted to brake while exiting the highway. When applying the brakes the (brake) pedal traveled all the way to the floor. I immediately lost safe braking distance. I attempted to pump the brakes to utilize what brake power I had left while down shifting to use the engine to assist is slowing the vehicle down. While using the shoulder of the road, I was able to come to a complete stop in approximately 2/10 of a mile. I then had the vehicle towed. Upon inspection, I found one of the brake lines had ruptured thus releasing brake fluid and causing brake loss. After further inspection I found all of the brake lines have significant corrosion. A temporary repair was made to the ruptured line however it has been recommended by a local Chevy dealer that all the lines be replaced. I was told (by the service manager) the cause of the excessive corrosion is from the treatments used on highways for winter driving. He also told me he is replacing brake lines on at least 3 trucks a month. I spoke to other garages in the central Pennsylvania area. Those garages confirmed they are seeing an increase in General Motors vehicle brake line repairs.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #15

Dec 012012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the brake was depressed while driving 65 mph and the brakes failed to engage. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic. The failure was contributed to the brake lines, which were found to be corroded, and caused brake fluid to leak. The brake lines were replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware for the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 50,253. Updated 1/29/13 updated 02/06/13

- Portage , IN, USA

problem #14

Nov 222012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while braking to a stop, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer or a mechanic for inspection of the failure or for repairs. The contact stated that the brake lines were fractured. The failure and the current mileages were 20,000. Updated 12/19/12 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 1/9/2013

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #13

Sep 072012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 97,412 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the brakes failed as he entered a parking space. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by driving against the high curb. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer where the brakes lines were found to be completely rusted. The brake lines were replaced and the dealer also replaced the brake pads, calibers and rotors. The contact stated that the vehicle was at the dealer for service two months prior to the failure and he was never advised of a potential hazard with the brake lines. The failure and the current mileages were 97,412. Updated 10/31/12

- Stonington, CT, USA

problem #12

Aug 152012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 73,697 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving our 2003 Chevy Silverado in a residential area at speeds of no more than 40 mph. I braked at a stop sign and noticed that the brakes went way down to the floor and yet the truck wasn't stopping. When I applied even more pressure (at this point I was up against the steering wheel and practically standing upright!) the "service brake system" warning light suddenly popped on with a ringing bell. I was less than two miles from home, so I continued my drive, downshifting to 1st as I approached a stop sign. At a red light, I shifted into park to avoid rolling into traffic. After returning home, I noticed a line of fluid drips on the driveway. I put a dish under the area that seemed to be leaking (under the driver's side door) and my husband later confirmed that it was brake fluid and that a line had ruptured. Two separate repair shops confirmed that five brake lines had rusted out and one had ruptured. We paid over $1000 to replace parts that would not have rusted out if they had been made with a rust-proof material rather than steel. If this brake line rupture had occurred one day earlier, the scenario could have been much uglier: I had been driving to the beach, at highway speeds, with my two young daughters as passengers. Our Silverado has about 74K miles on it and has been nothing but a headache with parts rusting out before their time... updated 08-30-12

- Monmouth Junction, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jul 102012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 7 mph at a state inspection station, the contact drove over a skid pad for the inspection of the brakes and the brake pedal dropped to the floorboard. The contact stated that he applied the emergency brake, but experienced difficulties stopping the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that brake fluid was leaking because the brake line had fractured due to corrosion. Also, the contact stated that the emergency brake's rear dust shield was corroded and had disintegrated prior to the brake failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 7/26/12 the consumer was advised to consider replacing the rear brake backing plate/dust shield. Updated 07/30/12

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #10

Apr 202012

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact was driving 55 mph and applied the brakes when the brake pedal was abnormally depressed into the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the brakes lines completely rusted and fractured. The dealer stated that the failure was most likely caused by the road salts used in the winter. The failure and the current mileages were 35,000. Updated 06/06/12 updated 06/18/12

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #9

Feb 072012

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
A vehicle stopped in front of me and as I attempted to stop, my brake pedal went straight to the floor, leaving me with no brakes even though I quickly pumped the pedal. Fortunately, I was able to get around the stopped vehicle and coast to a stop. My truck was towed to a garage where after taking down the gas tank found a rusted and deteriorated brake line. One week prior to this incident I was driving on a super highway and probably would have been killed had this happened at that time. I believe a recall on any vehicle is necessary if this situation has arisen before. I would like a response asap. Thank you; updated IVOQ 04/19/12 updated 05/02/12 updated IVOQ 05/30/12 updated IVOQ 05/31/12

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 192011

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated 90 days ago the rear brake lines failed and were replaced. After the rear brake lines were replaced, the right front brakes lines failed. The indicator light illuminated during the failure, but not before it occurred. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who stated that all of the brakes lines were corroded. The current mileage was 91,000. Updated 11/29/11 updated 12/07/11

- Sparta, TN, USA

problem #7

Apr 012011

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the brake line tubing ruptured while driving 40 mph as a result of excessive rust. Approximately two months later, a second brake line ruptured. The dealer informed the contact that there were no related recalls to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure yet the vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 140,000. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Point Pleasant , WV, USA

problem #6

Apr 102003

Silverado

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer at 36,000 miles for a squealing noise. All four of the rotors and brake pads were replaced due to rust which seemed to remedy the noise. At 42,000 miles the ABS system began to pulsate while driving 5 mph. The dealer stated that the hubs needed to be replaced and provided an estimate for the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. At 56,000 the brake lines rusted through while the contact was driving and he lost all braking function. The vehicle had not been repaired. Chevrolet advised that they have had other complaints with rust and corrosion on other model years but the 2003 did not have any problems. The failure mileage was 36,000. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 58,000.

- Westerville , OH, USA

problem #5

Aug 102010

Silverado 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated he was driving 35 mph and towing a trailer when he applied the brakes the vehicle became difficult to stop. The contact moved off the roadway and upon further inspection, he found that the brake fluid was leaking. The brake lines also exhibited rust. The contact drove the vehicle home by using the trailer brakes. He attempted to repair the vehicle himself but found there was a second brake line fractured. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The contact notice numerous complaints online regarding brake line rust for his year, make and model. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 12/30/10 updated 01/07/11

- Cincinnatti, OH, USA

problem #4

Aug 032010

Silverado 8-cyl Diesel

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While the contact was driving up an incline at approximately 20 mph, the brake pedal was applied and the vehicle failed to slow down. The emergency brake was engaged and the vehicle came to a stop. The contact inspected the vehicle and detected the brake line exhibited a large hole due to excessive rust. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000. Updated 11/11/10 updated 11/18/10

- Keningston, CT, USA

problem #3

Mar 242010

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact was making a turn at 3 mph when he attempted to depress the brake pedal and noticed that the pedal went down to the floorboard. When he got out of the vehicle, he noticed that all of the brake fluid had been released on the ground. The contact took the vehicle to an authorized dealer using the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer at the contacts expense. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that there was nothing they could do to offer any assistance with the repair costs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 22,000. Updated 6/1/10 the brake lines were completely rusted. Updated 07/07/10.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #2

Nov 192005

Silverado 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles
We purchased a 2003 Chevy Silverado from steve's auto sales in norway, Maine on 11-19-05. It had 49,000 miles on it. In looking it over my husband found that the brake lines are rusted. Chevrolet has been told and they say that they can't do anything for us. It doesn't sound safe to me.

- Poland, ME, USA

problem #1

Feb 282005

Silverado 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The brakes failed when they were applied and vehicle was pulling out in reverse. Took vehicle to the dealer for checkup, and results showed that the brake hoses were torn. This caused the problem.

- Lamar, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?