If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page
2005 Chevrolet Silverado accessories - interior problems: speedometer malfunction

Speedometer Malfunction

2005 Chevrolet Silverado (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$459.00
Average Mileage:
69,026 miles
Total Complaints:
26 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (17 reports)
  2. must be replaced (4 reports)
  3. GM should repair it at no cost to me (3 reports)
  4. its a recall i think the dealer should fix for free (1 reports)
  5. replace instrument cluster (1 reports)
2005 Chevrolet Silverado accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jun 012013

Silverado LS 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this truck new and have always been a chevy person. Have had many minor problems with electrical/lights, switches, gauges, but the speedometer is a safety problem. It started fluctuating and finally stuck at 100 mph. Checked troubleshooting on the internet and everything pointed to speed sensor. Just replaced it and wasted 40.00 bucks! Now I'm finding out from this site that it may be the cluster? Big bucks to fix and more to take it to the shop to verify. Guess I'll drive without it. No more chevy trucks!!!

- , Ellerslie, MD, USA

problem #25

Jan 012013

Silverado V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Just another problem with this Chevy truck. I would advise the world to avoid this brand, as once you buy it, you are all alone. So long as the big CEO's and CFO's and other GM big boys get their big checks, screw the little guy who busts his ass making an HONEST living to support the family and pay taxes. Just once I would like to have a vehicle that doesn't fall apart before 100k miles or 10 years....A Hyundai with a trailer is looking sweet these days.......

- , Bristol, CT, USA

problem #24

Aug 092011

Silverado V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

Odometer fluctuates for one month and then finally went out back in Aug 2010. Dealer replaced it due to excessive known issues. No cost to me.. except loyalty is in question for Cheverolet Silverado, which GM should really take a hard look at customer retention.

- , Modesto, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 232012

Silverado LT 6.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,466 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Silverauto Dulley has 10,466 miles and the speedometer has gone south, come on GM. I am in contact with GM over this, had to take to dealer for a diag. $57.00 now GM is willing to pay for the part but not the labor $190.00 WOW looks like $247.00 to go just over 10K miles. I have a 63 corvett and a Chev Iroc 88 as collecters, speedometers work just fine on those. Don't build them like thay used to. Maybe should look into something else for my wifes new SUV.

- , Sandy, UT, USA

problem #22

Nov 242011

Silverado 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,749 miles

We took it to a dealer recently was told it will cost us 600.00. I had looked on the internet

and in the states there was a recall on the speedometer issue. But according to the dealer in

he could not fix it he would have to charge us for it.

Adjustment code for the states for this recall is 07187a

My truck does meet all the criteria in this recall. It has right vin #, under the allotted years and under klm that is requested for the recall. My Question is why is it not covered in Ontario for the same Issue. This is a big issue for me because my speedometer gets stuck different levels and you do not know exactly what speed your at. It will occasionally adjust itself back to zero. You do not know unless you are stopped at a light if it is acting up again. You constantly looking at your speed not knowing if you over or under the speed limit.

Thankyou for your time Leona

- , Fergus, Ontario, Canada

problem #21

Dec 102010

Silverado 5.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I think since gm knew this was a problem that they should have the problem fixed with out any cost to the customer. I have purchased gm autos all my life and liked them very much,but this problem to me could be serious to customers.I discovered this problem one day on the interstate.I was passing everybody up and could not understand why so I plugged my gps in and discovered I was going 95 miles per hour instead of 65 miles per hour. I think that in it's self would be enough reason for gm to fix it.

I don't think I will buy another gm product until they quit letting serious things like this go by and not treat me like it's important to them if I buy one of their products.

- , Decatur, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 192011

Silverado LS 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,644 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have already talked to a mechanic,and he told me Chevrolet already knows about this problem; then why haven't they done a recall. It happened on a wet day two times. The first time was 11/5/11 on a very foggy morning. The mechanic said they would have to replace the entire dashboard console. That doesn't seem quite right, my odometer still works right and the tachometer still works correct. If the entire console has to be replaced then my odometer will not be correct. Why the hell can't they just fix it.

- , Steele, MO, USA

problem #19

Dec 042009

Silverado 6.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

Have 2005 Silverado Duramax Diesel. Speedometer went out at 99,000. Now other gauges are failing. We need to email the NTSB and get them to recall with no mileage limitations. They don't seem to have a problem with other car makers, why favor GM.

Ron Clifton

Hoover, AL

- , Hoover, AL, USA

problem #18

Jun 092010

Silverado 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

well I had bought a 2005 chevy Trailblazer about 3 years ago, all of the sudden the speedometer siopped working correctly, thought it was a fluke but liked chevys so was stupid enough to go out and buy a chevy silverado which also now has a speedometer that has stopped working. Just about had it with chevy autos. Both are 2005s so not under the recall and have not taken either back because where I bought them went under when GM went bankrupt, we saved their ass but they ignore us, thats America I guess now. When I was a kid this kind of treatment was not heard of, there was sertvice and respect for the consumer, what has happened?

- , Friensville, PA, USA

problem #17

Nov 022009

Silverado 2800

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Not sure why this doesn't rate as a safety recall on GM's part.

Lets say I'm coming off the interstate at 70 mph to a ramp with a maximum speed of 30 MPH. How am I supposed to know if I'm traveling at a safe rate of speed?

I undersan GM is fixing this on vehicles with less than 70,000 miles, but they never provided any notice to customers.

Just another reason why GM's future is bleak. I won't ever by a GM produst again and in 2005 I bought 3 new GM vehicles. Never again!!!!

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #16

Jan 052010

Silverado 1500 4.3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,327 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I think that the dealership should fix this for free . I feel that because my truck is over the 80,000 mile mark i shouldn't be forced to pay for something that should be done as a courtesy by the dealer ! Or i think the government should pick up the bill since they own the problems of Chevrolet now! better yet maybe they would like to pay for my speeding tickets until i can get this fixed i need to ask my lawyer about that.

- , Floresville, TX, USA

problem #15

Apr 042010

Silverado LS 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,641 miles

During my last visit to the dealer in March he told me that I should replace the Instrument cluster but that I was out of Warranty and it would cost about 500 dollars.

When is GM going to build trucks that last a decent time? I just had to replace my waterpump which cost me nearly 500 dollars and now the dealer tells me that the only way to fix my speedometer will cost me about the same.

This is absolutely outrageous that so much goes wrong in 80000 miles.

- , Escalon, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202008

Silverado LS 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,603 miles

What pissed me off the most is that there were recalls on 2003 & 2004 speedometers or the clusters. The day I took my truck in to get fixed they had ordered 2 or 3 clusters for Chevy 05 trucks. All the dealership told me is that if there is a recall for 05's I'll get my $ back.(YA RIGHT) I guess these yahoos don't give a F%CK why should I. The next vehicle I buy will be from Japan.NOTE maybe they should worry about there customers instead of giving there FN CEO's big dollars for driving the company to the ground.LIKE A ROCK all the way to the bottom. Good I guess vented enough for now.

- , Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

problem #13

Jan 032010

Silverado 1500 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

Bought my truck brand new in Feb 2005. Had minor issues with Left Read tailight. Transferred from Phoenix to NC In June 2009. The week before we left Phoenix my left read passenger window (crew cab truck) died. That cost me $700 to replace... WTF???? Found the parts online.... $149 max... why the markup? No wonder car companies are going bankrupt.

Anyway, around Christmastime of this year I noticed my tachometer wouldn't register at odd times. Now it's my speedometer. Usually off by 20 mph. Had new tires put on truck, mentioned to the guy there...he says perhaps the "cable needs greasing"??? I can only hope it is that simple after reading other similar complaints.

Update from Feb 27, 2010: Took it to Jeff Gordon Chevrolet in Wilmington, NC. Took a look at it, told me they would need to order a replacement. I asked the Service Rep how much was this going to cost me because I had been seeing all kinds of complaints online. He told me no more than $100.00. Chevy would cover the rest. Keep in mind, I have 740000 miles on the truck... warranty has expired.

Took 4 days for them to call me... took the truck in yesterday... replaced the gauge, Cost to me - $0.00!

Very impressed with the amount of customer service given. Followed up with me twice during the week, 1 phone call, 1 email.

Speedometer works like a champ, brand new.

- , Hampstead, NC, USA

problem #12

Dec 202009

Silverado LS 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

My complaint is that I am record number 5 among Silverado Owners that have this issue that deal with a local tire store. When you contact GM in typical government fashion, not our problem. This is a safety issue just as seat belts not working. After about 30 minutes of driving, I can take it out of drive and it will reset and register speed again but what I don't know is if the speed being read is how fast I am going. I have never had this kind of rotten treatment from GM until just this past year. Is this because the US Government has stepped in? No wonder they went bankrupt.

- , Oregon, WI, USA

problem #11

Aug 012008

Silverado LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

The first problem was the steering joint failure then the speedometer quit working, then came the tach failure, then the back door locks. I have no faith is any Chevy product and have bought them since 1970.

- , Merced, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 062009

Silverado LX 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,285 miles

Need to know why chevy has not added the 2005 to the problem list for this same issue they have had recalled for past years. I can't afford the 600.00 bucks they want to charge to fix this issue. sucks now knowing what my tack and speedometer are actually reading.

- , Merced, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 092009

Silverado 1500 WT 4.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,467 miles

My speedometer is stuck on 80 mph. I do a lot of traveling onthe intersate. I have to depend on my GPS and tach to tell my speed. I think GM is a piece of sh*t for not fixing thier problem. I will never buy another chevy. I can see why they went bankrupt.

- , Richland, MS, USA

problem #8

Jun 042009

Silverado 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,243 miles

From what I already see on AutoBeef - there should definitely be a class action lawsuit against GM for this problem. GM should certainly have a recall on all speedometers for any model any year that acts goofy for mileage under 100K miles.

- , Killeen, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 032009

Silverado LS 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,500 miles

My speed odometer stopped working at about 80,000 miles. I have had so many small problems with this truck that my next truck will be from Japan !!! I love America but I cannot continue to pay more and receive a inferior product, that dog don't hunt.

- , Rhill, GA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?