Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,673 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Oct 152014

Silverado 1500

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. After switching gears into the drive position, the vehicle jerked forward while the brake pedal was depressed without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred only when the vehicle was switched from the reverse position to the drive position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not available.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 50,000 miles
While driving down the highway a stabilization control light came on briefly, then went away. Approximately 5 miles later after exiting the highway, and going down a side street, the truck died and the steering wheel locked when I slowed and started to make a right hand turn into a parking lot. This has since occurred once more under similar conditions while slowing, braking and turning at low speeds and not under throttle.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #50

Sep 082014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,300 miles
I started having problems with the electrical in the truck starting with the windows. I informed dealership and that the stabilitrak was going off saying that the steering was failing. The problem has continued to present and now the truck is shutting itself off while going down the road losing all steering and turning itself back on. My family was in the truck and we almost rolled into a parking structure, I lost all power and steering to truck had no control at all. The truck continues to have issues and this after I took it in to have it fixed. Dealer made problem worse.

- Laverkin, UT, USA

problem #49

Oct 202014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,191 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I began to notice severe vibration in the drive train at 55 mph, similar to a washboard effect. In addition, the vehicle down shifted very hard when stopping. I reported this problem to the dealer on this date and they said it was normal operation. In December, of 2014, I tried passing a vehicle and experienced a loud thump in the rear end of the vehicle, I thought the drive shaft was going to fall out. I took the vehicle to the dealer and they could not replicate the issue. I have taken the vehicle to two different dealerships a total of 3 times to address this issue. They both claim this is normal. Now the vibration has gotten worse, it can occur at 40-45, 50-55, and 60 to 65. I have owned GM trucks before and the only time I had an issue like this was when the drive shaft on a 1994 safari van was out of balance had to be re balanced. I have noted several other complaints from other 2014 -15 vehicle owners. This type of operation has to be damaging the gears and transmission. I have called the GM area rep and got an attitude from him. However, I do have another appointment with the selling dealer, (3rd with him, 4th over all) this week. And was told to call the GM rep when I arrive.

- Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #48

Nov 012013

Silverado 1500

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving various speeds, the vehicle began to vibrate violently. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle continued to vibrate. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Jun 172015

Silverado 1500

  • 5,200 miles
I had recently purchased the vehicle and was coming back from vegas, going up a hill there was a little bit of traffic I was probably doing 35 to 45 mph and suddenly I heard a loud thud coming from the rear of the vehicle kind of like when you get rear ended and it did again a few times after that, when I took the truck to the local dealership and I explained to them what had happened and they say that it was new vehicle with a all new drivetrain and it had a 6 speed transmission and it was normal.

- Fontana , CA, USA

problem #46

Jun 172015

Silverado 1500

  • 18,802 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was merging onto the highway and just about got up to speed and felt a vibration that within a few seconds got really intense then heard a pop and then several bangs. I thought a tire blew, so as I looked up in my rear view mirror to see if I was clear to get over to the shoulder, I saw my driveshaft cartwheeling about 8 ft. In the air as people behind me were scrambling to avoid from hitting it. Luckily the driveshaft didn't lift the back of the truck into the air, and more importantly it didn't go through someones windshield behind me! it turns out that the knuckle on the rear of the shaft had snapped, violently vibrated and the shaft dropped, ripped apart about a foot behind the transmission and came out from under the truck. The U-joint was still in the differential and a foot of driveshaft was still in the transmission. I had brought my truck to 2 different dealerships for a vibration and clunking noise in the rear when it was new, (1900 miles) both dealers told me "they couldn't duplicate customers concern"...I'm a mechanic, I've worked at dealerships, this is what they tell people when they don't want the headache of dealing with an issue. After looking driveshaft vibrations up on these specific trucks, I came to realize that it is a common problem with 2014 and 2015 GM full size trucks. This incident could have turned out much worse than it did...if you own one of these trucks and notice a vibration at all, get it into the dealer and get it fixed immediately, don't take the chance of hurting your family or someone else!

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #45

May 202015

Silverado 1500

  • 28,500 miles
While driving, slowed the vehicle down to start a decent in the road, once vehicle reached level ground, I pushed the accelerator pedal, and vehicle would only rev up, would not got forward, while in drive. This continued until the vehicle was close to 5 mph, then vehicle started moving as the accelerator pedal was pushed. This has happened on several times, and the dealer states that they cannot duplicate the occurrence. Tried to record the occurrence, but with the constant turning of the steering wheel, makes it hard to record for proof.

- Liberty, WV, USA

problem #44

Dec 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 1,000 miles
When driving truck on interstate I notice a vibration in the front steering and wheels once the truck goes over 65 miles per hour. This was doing it just after 1000 miles.. when the rotated tires when truck was serviced. The issue is still there

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #43

Dec 192014

Silverado 1500

  • 1,374 miles
The above stated vehicle was sold to me in Dec. 2014, and I was allowed to leave with the vehicle without knowing the vehicle was under recall. (sale and delivery on an unremedied recalled vehicle). The recall for this vehicle had been issued June 26, 2014. When I asked the salesman about this recall, he stated to me he had ckecked with his salesmanager and that there was no recall on this vehicle. After checking with the nthsa database and found the recall, I had it fixed on May 5, 2015. I asked the salesman why my vehicle had not been fixed during the 6 months prior to the sell to me, his reply was that the vehicle had been sold in July of 2014 and that the buyer had the vehicle for 7 days and returned it for lack of funds. That means they sold this vehicle twice while the recall was unremedied.

- Hitchcock, TX, USA

problem #42

Dec 192014

Silverado 1500

  • 1,374 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The above stated vehicle was sold to me, and I was allowed to leave with this vehicle before a recall that had been issued June 26 2014 had been remedied. ( sale and delivery of an unremedied recalled vehicle). Upon reporting to the salesman about the recall, he and his salesmanager stated to me that there was no recall on the vehicle. I checked with the nthsa found the recall and had it fixed May 5, 2015. After asking the salesman why my vehicle had not been fixed during the 6 months prior to the sale of the vehicle to me, his answer was that the vehicle had previously sold in July of 2014. The buyer had the truck for 7 days and could not aquire financing and the vehicle was returned. Hence this one vehicle has been sold and allowed to leave their lot twice without the recall being fixed. The dealer is norman frede Chevrolet in houston tx.

- Hitchcock, TX, USA

problem #41

Jan 272015

Silverado 1500

  • 18,000 miles
Since about 15000-18000 miles this truck vibrates at most speeds, most noticeable at 65 mph and over. It is at the dealer for the second time. The first time all they did was balance the tires, but the problem didn't go away. The dealer is still scratching their heads on this. The loaner 2015 I have is worse and vibrates at all speeds.....

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 312014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,500 miles
I purchased the 2014 Chevy Silverado crew cab lt Texas edition from reliable Chevrolet in richardson, tx. Immediately after purchasing without a test drive it noticed that there was a vibration, steering problem, and scratches on the bed.. because it was a demo of was told by the new car salesman that they had made sure the vehicle was inspected and that the scratches were superficial and it's a demo so that's how it is. I spoke with the business manager and they put a spay in bed liner to fix the scratches and did a balance on the tire. I picked the truck up and the steering and vibration problems were still there. It went back into the shop again and they couldn't duplicate any problems. The steering is almost impossible to keep in a straight line it swerves as if the truck had a few drinks. I told them it don't feel safe driving it and I'm afraid I'm going to hit someone. I will not drive in the middle lanes. I have to drive on either far left or right lanes to allow for swerving. I complained to GM.. got excited because they sent me to another dealership and same thing happened.. went for a test drive.. they felt something wrong but mechanics can't "duplicate" the problem. They said they test drove it again but in don't see how when the roads were iced over. I called GM again and I'm at a new dealership they test drove it with me and headed a new popping noise when the wheels is turned and felt steering and suspension issue. They kept the truck but once again not able to duplicate. I've had a few loaners and none of them drive like mine. The truck has also had problems with ac and whiny noise in engine. I'm was supposed to pick up the truck today but I complained and they were going to test drive it again. They don't factor in the time and inconvenience of having to take off work plus gas and miles in trying to get this fixed. Not happy with this truck.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 052014

Silverado 1500

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the driveshaft and steering column was repaired twice. The contact stated that the dealer also had to have the motor mounts replaced. The contact stated that the steering failed again and the vehicle could not be turned. The vehicle also had a vibration coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was given two sets of new tires and both sets failed. The failures occurred ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 7/29/15

- Grannett City, IL, USA

problem #38

Mar 102015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 7,725 miles
While driving, vehicle would quit pulling, as if in neutral. Happened 3 times in a short period of time on May 10,2015. No warning before losing power to wheels and no warning lights came on the dash.engine was running normal before and after losing power to the wheels. I think this problem would be a serious safety problem if you were pulling out in traffic and loss all power to the drive. I now feel unsafe during the vehicle or taking it on trips. I think you should put a redall on this vehicle S drive train, computer and transmission before people are killed from this problem.

- Medina, TN, USA

problem #37

Feb 052014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,400 miles
While driving in 4WD 'auto', off pavement in waterfront area, I did not think 4WD was engaging. When I shifted to 4H, the seat immediately clam shelled in and down on me. I reset seat, and noticed mirrors also had moved. A few minutes latter I tried the same maneuver while moving <5 mph, with the same results. I drove the 20+ miles back home in 4auto, but ready for a surprise shift into 4WD, with the accompanying, dangerous seat position change. It occurred 1 more time, while driving slowly approaching my driveway. I tried to duplicated it a few more times during a 2 week period; no occurrences. The sales people told me to use 4auto as my regualr mode. I decided to try 2H. Now when I go from 2H to 4auto, the seat moves backward in short jolts. Going to 4H or 4L, as directed in the manual, a clam shell effect occurs. I have done it with others in my truck, so they can witness the seat try to devour me. The last time it happened, I left it in the driveway with the seat & mirrors in their final position, so others could get in and see if they thought they could drive in that position. I have not set the set memory, and was very careful to not touch anything but the 4WD control while changing drive modes. As an aside, I noticed others owners had complaints about the seats. My 'safety alert' seat, 'heated and cooled (perforated)', 'front full feature', 'leather appointed buckets' developed a small tear in the lower, middle portion of the seat. I wanted it replaced, and of course, the friendly dealership staff tried to say this was 'normal wear and tear'. this was at less than 500 miles, 350 of which the dealership put on while driving it from another dealer. This truck is used for pleasure only, not work, no tool pouches or in pockets... if it wasn't such a bad example of how customers are treated by some dealerships, it would be laughable. Current millage: 1,711 mi.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #36

Feb 232015

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 1,461 miles
Driving through the parking lot when I noticed a loss of power. I looked down at the dashboard and saw the check engine light was on. After calling the dealer, I attempted to drive back home. The truck wouldn't go past second gear. I even tried putting it on manual and shifting myself. Even though the lever was on M, the M itself did not light up and the + - buttons did not work. Thankfully I made it home with the hazards on. This is the second time dealing with this issue. The dealer said it was the transmission control module the first time. Now they are saying it's the speed sensors.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #35

Feb 182015

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 1,440 miles
"check engine" light turned on while driving on the expressway. I pulled off the exit ramp and came to a red light. When it turned green, I stepped on the gas and there was little to no power. I pulled into the closest parking lot and turned the vehicle off for a few minutes. Turned it on again and the check engine light was still on. I put the truck in reverse and the power was back to normal. I put it in drive and pulled up to the stop sign without incident. Upon making a right turn, I noticed the rpms were unusually high and the transmission was not shifting higher than maybe 2nd gear. I pulled into the closest parking lot again and called Chevrolet tow services and the dealer who sold me the truck as new with 450 miles on the odometer.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #34

Dec 192014

Silverado 1500

  • 8,685 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at 85 mph, the shift lever shifted independently from high to low gear. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,685.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #33

Jan 302014

Silverado 1500

  • 3,500 miles
We purchased this 2014 Chevy Silverado crew cab in January of 2014 it was driven by the general manager of the local Chevy dealership it had approximately 3500 miles on it, the issues started as soon we got it home 1)the alarm went off while sitting in our drive way (no one around it daylight) 2)the head lights went out while driving it at night 3)the speaker would crackle when you open the doors 4)the doors would not unlock when vehicle was put in park 5) noise from the transmission but the dealership called it normal 6)transmission would shift with a thud sometimes dealership said transmission had to learn our driving habits 7)horn would start off strong then die to a muffle 8)film on the inside of the windshield and the smell of coolant inside the vehicle but the dealership says it can't duplicate the problem but can see the film on the windshield 8)4 wheel drive was making a rumbling noise the bearing has to be shipped from GM because the part is not available yet 9 )the heated seats quit heating 10) the doors could not be unlocked from inside the vehicle I had to use the remote entry to get in the person inside the vehicle could not get the doors to unlock 11)the turn signals quit working the sockets had to be replaced 12) I am sure I forgot something but this is the list of issues that I could remember. We have contacted GM directly but they are pretty much worthless at this point no one has died yet that I know of and until then GM will not take ownership of these issues [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orrville , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?