Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,559 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Dec 132013

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 6,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought my truck in for a vibration problem to the dealership that I purchased it from. The truck was muddy and the dealership told me that it was from all the mud on the truck. But they did not even wash the truck and test drive it. Then I brought it into a different dealership to have it check for the same thing. They forced balance my truck and they found something so they rotated my drive shaft 180 degrees and said it was fixed. About 30 days later it started again and brought it back to be checked. They forced balance it again and found a bad tire so they replaced the one tire while the other three tire had about 12,000 miles on them. So it happened again so brought it again for the 4th time for the same problem. They again forced balanced the truck and could not pin point the problem so the service manger took a 2015 Silverado 1500 and took off the tires and rims and put it on my truck. Not didn't fix it so they put all new shocks and strouts on it and told me it was fixed and they wanted to bring the truck to my home and I declined and I wanted to test drive the truck. I drove the truck with the service manager and found that it didn't change anything.so I asked him that I wanted an appointment with the district manager of GM. So when I meet with him in the service managers office with the service manager. The first thing out of the district managers was I am here to help you and the showed his true self. Within the first 9 minutes he asked me how I would fix the problem and then he told me to hire an attorney. Because that was the only way you are going to get the truck bought make from GM. After I left the office after 9 minutes I tried to make an appointment at the dealership I bought the truck and I had an appointment the following day. The same day the dealership informed that night that they couldn't see or work on my truck I called GM customer service.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 132015

Silverado 1500

  • 27,500 miles
While driving at highway speeds my truck lost it's power steering. An alert popped up to drive with caution service power steering. It took all the strength I had to keep my truck on the road as this incident occurred as I was approaching a curve in the road. There was no warning just instant loss of steering. I had my whole family with me. I am afraid to drive my vehicle now. I have read online in multiple forums that this has happened with quite a great frequency in 2014 Silverado.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 232014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,405 miles
Prior to this incident my truck had 6 recalls. Almost all of the recalls have been for "software? issues. The latest problem is what I am writing to you about and I believe is an extremely dangerous situation and if it happens to someone who is not physically capable of handling it, it could easily be fatal to one or more individuals. What happened to me is as follows: The day before christmas eve I drove to the local supermarket to pick up some last minute stuff and after leaving the store I pulled out onto a busy 4 lane highway and began to turn left. Part way into the turn I heard a ?clunk? in the front engine compartment and immediately the power steering stopped working. The steering wheel was wrenched out of my hands and I was forced to brake sharply. I was, obviously taken by surprise by the incident and grabbed the wheel with both hands and wrestled the 6,000 lb truck around the turn, running over the curb on the far side of the road. I am a reasonably fit 6?4? 225 lb male and I must tell you that it was all that I could do to turn the wheel and prevent me from running straight through the intersection. My dealership was 4 miles from me and I was able to negotiate my way there without any accidents or injuries. I got the truck there and told the service people what happened and they said have a seat in the waiting room and they would look at it. 25 minutes later a rep came out and said it was fixed. Another software adjustment was made. Yesterday, Jan 5 the same problem occurred and this time I almost had a head on collision with another vehicle. Once again I was close to my dealer and was able to drop the truck off in their lot. They are closed on Sunday so I called them today and I am waiting for them to ?fix" it again. I am almost afraid to drive the vehicle after this latest incident. Updated 03/04/15 updated 10/8/2015

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 252014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,207 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2014 Chevrolet Silverado on 7/11/14. On the way home I called the dealer to tell them that it had a bad vibration when driving at highway speeds. The first repair was attempted on 7/25/14 with 1207 miles. I have had the truck back at least 8 times for a repair. The dealer has replace tires. They have balanced the tires at least 6 times that I know about. They have replaced the drive shaft. The have replace the ring gear and pinion. Replaced the entire differential ( they swapped it from another new truck) they have repositioned the motor mounts. Now they are wanting to replace the rear differential again. I have been patient with them trying to let them fix the concern. They have a General Motors service engineer involved and he has several parts ordered for it. The dealership had talked to their factory rep and at one time they talked about GM buying the truck back and getting me another truck. I don't feel the truck I have is safe. It has had the wheels off more times than I would have rotated my tires in 150000 miles.

- Garden City, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 122014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 180 miles
The vehicle has a shake and vibration in the seats, steering and suspension at interstate speeds of 65 mph and above on smooth roads it has had the shake and vibration since the day I bought it new.

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #10

Oct 012013

Silverado 1500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles
Vehicle vibration and whistling noise at 60-55 mph decelerating. Have taken to dealership--they have ordered a drive shaft to replace the imperfect shaft they state is on the truck. Seriously, have had the truck a week now--GM will be notified and whoever else I can find that has a hand in this. Not paying for this truck, checking with attorney.

- Clifton, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 302014

Silverado 1500

  • 2,969 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving approximately 30 mph, the stability trac, steering assist was reduced, service power steering, service four wheel drive, and service brake assist warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. In addition, the air conditioning stopped working and the engine revved. The contact also stated that the power steering seized. The dealer reset the computer, but the failures persisted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,969.

- Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #8

Sep 252014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50 miles
This truck was purchased at 8 pm on 9/22/2014. When driving on 9/25/2014, the truck vibrated as though I was driving over rumble strips at approximately 40 mph, 55-75 mph. In hi-2 mode in drive, the transmission did not shift smoothly, shifting with a mild clunk at lower gears. We called the dealership and described the issues to a service person and made an appointment to bring the truck in for service on 9/29/2014. The dealer stated that the problems were probably due to alignment issues. On 9/28/2014, I drove the truck and experienced the same shifting and vibration issues. I pulled off the freeway near my destination and stopped at a light. When I attempted to accelerate from the stop, the truck would not move and "revved". it had switched into neutral without any input from me. The transmission shift lever still indicated that I was in drive mode. I drifted into the intersection, unable to get the truck to move. I was able to shift into park, then neutral, and then drive. The truck began to drive and then I felt a strong "thunk" that felt as though I had been rear-ended by a car going at least 25 mph. The truck then drove normally for approximately 150 feet. I had to stop at the light on the other side of the underpass and the same thing happened again, leaving me drifting into an intersection. I was again able to get the truck going after a minute or so, with the same strong "thunk". I called onstar to have the truck towed to the dealership because it is unsafe to drive. On the four other days that we have owned this truck, it was driven only a few miles each day, at low speeds. I am extremely concerned. The truck is unsafe to drive and has less than 300 miles on it. Additionally, some of the issues I have experienced are similar to those addressed by a recall, but this truck's VIN is not listed in the recall.

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #7

May 192014

Silverado 1500 4WD

  • 1,754 miles
Since I purchased this vehicle is has had a vibration from 5-20, 40-50, and 68-78. It has been in the service department 4 times for this problem alone with no resolution. General Motors understands their is an issue with this model truck but does not have a solution. The vibration is felt in the seat, the gas pedal, the steering wheel and the rest of the truck. Tires were indexed, rotated, and balanced, along with the drive line specifications inspected and were found within normal limits even thought vibration persists. Other issues I have had were the exhaust squeaking noises when transferring from V8/V4 mode, in which the entire exhaust system was replaced, water leaking from the sunroof and windshield, frame coating peeling off causing the frame to rust, the seat frame shifting, moving and clicking when turning the vehicle, hd radio loses signal intermittently, radio and HVAC knobs were not lit, headlights were misaligned from the factory, and 4 other recalls such as, overheated exhaust components, unwanted transfer case shift to neutral, peek in odometer display incorrect, and transmission oil cooler connections possibly being bad. This vehicle currently has 6500 miles and has been in the service department a total of 30 days so far.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 152014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 240 miles
When the truck reaches a speed over 35 mph the steering wheel, the seat, and the entire truck has a vibration. I live in East Tennessee. I purchased the truck in Georgia. It is about a three hour drive from where I purchased the truck to my home. On the drive home I noticed the vibration right away. I thought it may be a tire balance issue so I continued the trip home. The next day I talked with the local dealer and was informed I need 500 miles on the truck before they will work a vibration issue. When I took the truck for service a few days later I was informed that several trucks have this same issue and GM does not know what to do about the issue. The dealer balanced the tires and told me that is all they can do about the vibration. Through searching the internet and talking with other dealers I have found that may parts have been replaced with no help. Drive shafts, axle shafts, wheels and tires have been replaced and rear ends have been rebuilt. Nothing seems to help. Most dealers have worked this issue on several trucks. If this vibration is coming from any part of the drive train or suspension and the part has a catastrophic failure it can cause serious injury or possibly death.

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #5

Nov 012013

Silverado 1500

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that when the steering wheel was adjusted to the upper most position, the power steering seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #4

Nov 012013

Silverado 1500

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that when the steering wheel was adjusted to the upper most position, the power steering seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #3

Jun 252014

Silverado 1500

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 3 mph, the vehicle independently shifted into neutral and the brakes and power steering failed. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a light pole. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V374000 (power train) after the crash. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #2

Aug 012014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 3 miles
Bad shake at highway speeds, balancing tires didn't help, faulty steering components could be a safety issue.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #1

Jan 292014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 700 miles
When driving at highway speeds on winding roads, the steering does not return to center when the turn is finished. The steering "sticks" and the wheel needs to be pushed back to center. The steering sticks hard and it takes considerable force to return the wheel to center, sometimes resulting in an overcorrection, and loss of lane position. The truck is difficult to control and impossible to keep centered in the lane when having this problem. The problem consistently happens at highway speed, and on winding roads. Gentle curves do not produce the problem, but the winding interstate highways of Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia, and North Carolina do. The truck now has 7000 miles on it, and the problem appears to be getting worse.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?