Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,322 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #49

Sep 092016

Silverado 1500

  • 62,300 miles


While driving down the road randomly when I go to turn service stabilitrack pops up and when you try to turn it jerks the wheel back to zero. This has happened to me 3 times in the past month. I have had two dealerships look at it and could not find the issue. I have contacted GM and all they say is the dealer has to replicate it. And they will not foot the bill for me a loaner. This truck is not safe to drive and I feel like I should not be responsible seeing how just a little research will show many other people having the same issues I have. Of course GM tells me they are not aware of the issue which is a lie.

- Sulphur, LA, USA

problem #48

Aug 042016

Silverado 1500

  • 20,000 miles
Steering rack makes popping clunking sound. Steering sometimes binds and is hard to turn dealer says steering rack is that blame and it's been a well known problem for these trucks and no recall has been made" what happens when the rack falls at 65 mph on the interstate" I believe they should fix or replace the rack.

- Booneville, AR, USA

problem #47

Sep 132016

Silverado 1500

  • 15,000 miles
Loud clicking noise when turning the steering wheel, in motion or in park. The clicking noise is constant and gets louder once the truck has warmed up.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #46

Aug 272016

Silverado 1500

  • 35,000 miles


I purchased the vehicle June 2016 with 32K miles on the odometer. August 2016 at 35K miles while driving at 55mph, the entire electrical system shut down 4 times within 2 miles. As I turned into my driveway, the electrical system shut down again along with the ability to control the vehicle. The steering wheel jerked violently and the vehicle stopped just short of hitting my mailbox. All functions were dead at this point. I turned the key to the off position and back on and the vehicle started as if nothing happened. 3 days later on a family outing, after parking the vehicle in a parking space at a theme park, my wife had forgotten her theme park mug, so we walked back to get it. When I tried to unlock the vehicle using the remote key entry, the vehicle would not unlock. I used the key to manually unlock the vehicle and noticed the courtesy light was not on when I opened the door. I then tried to start the vehicle and it would not do anything. It had no power as if the battery was dead. After spending the day in the theme park with friends, we were going to get a ride home due to the vehicle not starting. I told them lets try to start it again and see if it will do anything. It started as if nothing happened. I took the vehicle to the dealer the following day and they said it was a negative battery cable. They kept the vehicle for a week and said the problem had been fixed. 2 weeks later, the vehicle started the same erratic process. The electrical components shut down and the steering wheel jerked violently at the same time. The service stabilitrak light came on and that was while driving in a public parking lot. If this happens on a highway or interstate, someone is going to get seriously or fatally injured. I also have video of the erratic behavior. A person has no control of a GM vehicle with this same issue and GM is placing lives at risk.

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #45

Jun 012016

Silverado 1500

  • 19,965 miles
The truck at low speeds you can here the steering make popping sounds when turning and occasionally it would be extremely loud like something snapped off. Took it to dealership and they said that the power steering had a bad bushing and had to replace the rack and pinion and steering gear box. This was at 19000 miles. Now the truck is doing the same thing again

- Prince George, VA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012015

Silverado 1500

  • 8,000 miles
Vibration coming back through steering wheel at speeds in excess of 60 mph. Did research on internet and see many customers are experiencing same issue with no GM resolution and GM apparently trying to say it is normal. Had tires and wheels forced balanced 7/29/2016 which did not resolve issue. GM is aware of the complaint on my vehicle; ref: Claim 8-2177021918.

- Mercersburg, PA, USA

problem #43

Jul 202016

Silverado 1500

  • 34,320 miles


I was having what I thought was an electrical problem. In traffic after hitting my breaks many times I noticed my dash lights go dim, the radio would cut out once in a while and my gauge cluster would reset just like it looks when you first start the truck. This happened several times in approx.30 min. I was planning on taking it in the first chance I got but the next day I was driving in my residential neighborhood, a car was coming the opposite way when and I hit my breaks the steering wheel violently jerked out of my hand and caused the vehicle to drive up onto the sidewalk and almost into a retaining wall. Everything was dinging the ABS and other lights were on and the word stabilitac was displayed on the center dash. Thankfully no one was injured. I immediately called the dealership when I got home and took it in to have it looked at. The dealership had my truck for several days and offered no real explanation for what caused the problem other than it was a software problem. Now here we are a month later I'm driving down the interstate and take my exit for work. When I hit my breaks the lights go dim in the truck, the radio goes out, the ABS and other indicator lights come on, things are dinging and stabilitrac is displayed on the screen on the dash. When I started into my turn the wheel jerked violently many times in the opposite direction of my turn causing the vehicle to go onto the shoulder of the off ramp. It took every bit of strength to keep the vehicle on the road. I reluctantly continued on to work as it happened a few more times. One of them I was able to capture on video. The vehicle is currently at the same dealership that made the first assessment and repair. I don't feel safe operating this vehicle even after the repair as it has been proven it can and will happen again.. someone is going to get killed or seriously injured if GM doesn't fix it.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #42

Jun 242016

Silverado 1500

  • 44,000 miles
After having the battery replaced, the vehicle started giving "stabiltrak service required" "reduced power to steering" warnings. At these times and intermittently afterwards, these would appear and the steering would then respond as if the engine were not running while underway. This happened in several parking lots requiring close maneuvering as well as on the Florida turnpike, endangering my family, myself and others. The local dealership claimed and replaced the entire positive engine lead, stating that was the cause. The same issue has arisen again and now I am being informed there are now multiple low voltage codes due to this short. Researching online forums, this has been an issue among many who own this truck. It would appear this could be a life threatening situation that needs to be addressed. This began happening on approx. June 20th and continued until "repaired" June

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #41

Jul 122016

Silverado 1500

  • miles
I have had this issues happen numerous times. The first I was backing up into a parking spot and my service stabilitrak warning came on, and my steering wheel started jerking left and right on its own. 2nd time I was pulling into my parents drive way and warning came on while turning causing truck to jerk and I almost hit the corner of the house. A 3rd time happened again reversing but this time my headlights dimmed and I had multiple service warnings pop up. A 4th time I was again about to reverse. I was able to straighten up and while in reverse and foot on brake, I would turn steering wheel and it would jerk back to center on its own. I took video of that accurance. While driving on the highway yesterday night. I noticed my headlights kept going dim then bright. While in cruise control going 75mph I moved left to pass a vehicle, when I turned right signal on to come back to lane my cruise disengaged. This happend 5 times. Before one of the occurrences while in cruise I tapped the brake to slow down, and my volt gauge dropped to 10 or so and the headlights almlst shut off and all lights in cab flikered on and off. It almost felt like the truck was about to turn off but didn't. last issue, a few times I have tried to start the truck and the anti theft deterant comes on and I have to try numeros times to get truck to start.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #40

Feb 082016

Silverado 1500

  • 75,000 miles
Power steering problems. Locks up when turning right or left and grinding sounds. Dealership has us replace a part in steering column problem never stopped. Tie rod causing the gear box to go out.

- Mount Vernon, TX, USA

problem #39

Dec 292015

Silverado 1500

  • 17,234 miles


Between the road speeds of 45-65 mph the vehicle vibrates the front end shakes the vehicle does it in any road condition and weather the vehicle has been to the dealer twice and tires balanced and rotated 3 time to no avail

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #38

Jan 052016

Silverado 1500

  • 17,000 miles
Driving home on the highway going 65 mph I tried to turn following the road and the steering would not move, I forced it to turn while slowing down and almost ran into a ditch.

- Dalzell, Sc, SC, USA

problem #37

Dec 112015

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the vehicle stalled. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to restart and the steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the anti- theft module and the steer-assist needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 04/08/16

- Indiana, PA, USA

problem #36

Nov 302015

Silverado 1500

  • 23,000 miles
While driving my 2014 Chevy Silverado, I have had 3 instances where the stability control light came on and I suddenly lost lost all steering and brakes. Within a 2-3 seconds the cluster and radio went dead and then the engine stopped. I had no ability to control the vehicle. I took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated the logs showed 1 1/2 pages of vehicle communications errors including loss of communications to steering, loss of communications to brakes, etc. After 8 days of analysis, the dealer notified me that this was a known issue with GM and that there is an active pi number for the issue. However, there is no known resolution for the issue. Because there is no known solution, they asked me to come pick up the vehicle and continue driving it and they will contact me when a solution is found. When I asked if they understood that I could lose control of the vehicle and potential kill myself, a family member of another driver they only told me that they had no other suggestions. I escalated to GM customer care and they assured me that because there are no open recalls on my vehicle for this issue, it was completely safe to drive and that I shouldn't worry. A search of the internet revealed many people who have had the exact same experience and who were told to continue driving the vehicle. One even stated that they hit a pedestrian after losing control of the truck. This issue is obviously a huge safety risk as the driver can lose complete control of the vehicle at any speed.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #35

Nov 282015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles
After driving through a car was, the electric power steering failed while driving. I tried to turn and was unable to turn the steering wheel consequently I hit a pedestrian who was standing in front of the car. No police report was filed.

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #34

Nov 232015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles
Electric power steering failed while driving. Truck towed to a dealer. After replacing the electric power steering motor, electrical loom and the battery, was informed that the steering rack failed - possibly due to water penetration into the rack and pinion drive. Suspect a faulty or badly designed seal which may be the cause for thie failures on the 2014 Silverado trucks

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #33

Nov 172015

Silverado 1500

  • 43,000 miles
While driving about 30 mph. Turned the indicator and was going to turn right into a side street.. a warning appeared on my dash "power steering need service". lost power steering and was lucky to stop before the turning and not hit a car on the side street.

- Underwood, WA, USA

problem #32

Sep 222014

Silverado 1500

  • 1 miles
The vehicle has an established, measureable and documented vibration problem that randomly increases & decreases in applitude & frequency at all speeds. GM is unable to resolve after 12 dealer attempts to address, including multiple sets of tires, rear differential, drive shafts and shock absorbers all failing to resolve the issue. GM stated vibration is inherent to the design and no further action needed or will be taken ever for vibration, regardless of circumstance. Such a vibration is a significant safety defect because it is essentially like cutting wires to warning tell-tales by removing a driver's ability to discern tire/suspension/powertrain/steering problems that can only be identified by feeling a vibration (such as a loose wheel or damaged suspsension components) prior to a catastrophic event, especially at high speeds. Not only for the vehicle occupants, but also for any road user when it results in the driver loosing control of the vehicle. GM's own attempts to fix the vehicle with the list of parts above irrefutably supports the inability for a driver to identify the source of a vibration. If experienced technicians and subsequent corporate engineers cannot recognize the vibration as being different from wheels, suspension, powertrain; then a normal driver will have no such warnings available should a potentially catastrophic safety issue be present. Further, since GM refuses to address any further vibration issues with this vehcile, it is like have a airbag warning tell-tale continuously illuminated whether or not a problem exists & GM stating to just live with it. In other words, if I get a loose wheel, I guess GM figures I will know it when it falls off. In addition, to safety defect described above, the vibration is an extreme source of driver distraction & driver rage as attempts are made to produce and/or reduce the vibration while driving.

- Tappan, NY, USA

problem #31

Sep 052015

Silverado 1500

  • 35,000 miles
We own a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. Upon traveling a low rate of speed or under 40 mph, there is a sudden loss of power. The vehicle hesitates numerous times and stalled. The vehicle shuts off and there is a loss of power and engine dies. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than twice, but they were unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The approximate failure mileage is 35,024.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #30

Sep 062015

Silverado 1500

  • 22,925 miles
When the below messages are received, steering the vehicle is extremely difficult, the steering wheel thrashes back and forth (when at slower speeds - I.e. attempting to park) and usually enters a "low power mode" where you can't accelerate, steer or about anything. In all cases, turning off the vehicle and restarting seems to return to normal until it happens again. 9/6/15: While making a turn, received a "stabilitrak off" and "power steering assist reduces drive with care" 9/8/15; received the above two messages plus "service 4WD" - 9/10/15 dealer replaced the transfer case actuator per tsb 9/14/15: Received stabilitrak and pwr steering messages when attempting to park the truck -- dealer stated love voltage codes present, so they charged the batter and returned the truck to me. 9/16/15: Had the steering wheel thrashing when backing into my driveway, but no messages 9/24/15: While on the highway (lucky traffic was slow) received the stabilitrak (twice) and pwr steering messages, so I exited to take side streets home. When making a left turn received the stabilitrak and pwr steering message, the low power mode and thrashing steering. This occurrence was in traffic and dangerous. Currently at dealer, they state they are replacing both positive and negative cables and rerouted a wire that may have been rubbing the frame. Note: There is a recall on the 2015 models for the electric power steering (eps) GM # 14743 -- same symptoms...

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?