Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Sep 182011

Silverado 2500

  • 63,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that they experienced a brake failure while driving. The vehicle had not been inspected but the contact crawled under the vehicle and could see that the brake lines were rusted and corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 63,000. Updated 10/18/11 updated 3/30/12

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #37

Sep 062011

Silverado 2500

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated while driving 30 mph the brakes were applied and they malfunctioned causing the brake pedal to extend to the floorboard. The contact had to down shift and apply the emergency brake in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the brake line blow out was due to excessive corrosion. The contact dealer did replace the brake line and advised the contact that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 09/27/11 updated 2/28/12

- Middle Grove, NY, USA

problem #36

Sep 042011

Silverado 2500

  • 60,800 miles
On September 4, 2011, I experienced a sudden brake failure while attempting to stop at an intersection. Also, I was accompanied in the vehicle by 10 month old daughter. I had to steer my vehicle away from oncoming traffic as I was unable to stop at the intersection due to the lack of effective brake assistance. There was no prior warning or dash illumination to indicate that there was a brake issue. Thankfully, a tragic accident involving injury or death was avoided. On September 6, 2011, I contacted Chevrolet customer service dept in regards to this matter. I informed customer service of the brake line issue. At this time I was assigned a case number (71984021797) and was advised to have a diagnostic service conducted by a local Chevrolet service garage. On September 7, 2011, a local Chevrolet dealership performed the diagnostic check on my truck and the results of the inspection were relayed to Chevrolet customer service dept. Later that day, I spoke with customer service and I was informed that the inspection revealed that all brake lines were rotted and corroded. She further stated the truck was in good condition with low mileage and that would make it an excellent case for repair assistance. She forwarded this information to a higher dept. And that I would be contacted the following day. On September 8, 2011, I was contacted by customer service. They informed that Chevrolet determined that the truck was out of warranty and no action will be taken. She further stated that brake lines are a wear item. I reminded her that brake lines are not a wear item and they don't fall within the category of tires, rotors, and brake pads. I than asked to speak with a supervisor so I could better understand the basis of the decision to not provide repair assistance. At this point, customer service laughed at me and said they would tell me the same thing.

- Minersville, PA, USA

problem #35

Aug 152011

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


Similar to NHTSA campaign id EA11001, brake lines rusted through on frame behind driver side front wheel. Frame/underside of vehicle is very rusted for vehicle's age/mileage. Chevrolet dealer estimating $2,700 to replace with stainless steel lines. Luckily, no cars/people were in front of truck when brake lines burst and greatly reduced braking power/increased stopping distance.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #34

Aug 082011

Silverado 2500

  • 171,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph in rainy conditions, he applied the brakes, but the pedal depressed to the floor. The vehicle continued to move forward until the emergency brake was engaged. The vehicle was then towed home, where the contact examined it. The contact stated that the brake reservoir was completely empty. While adding brake fluid to the reservoir, the contact noticed that the brake fluid was leaking out of the brake lines, which were fractured. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 171,000.

- Manhawkin, NJ, USA

problem #33

Nov 012010

Silverado 2500

  • 94,000 miles
Leaving woods going down a hill with a load of firewood in bed. Applied brakes & pedal went to floor. Had to replace brake line because it was too corroded to repair. 2nd incident: Backing trailer into water to take boat out. Applied brakes & pedal went to the floor. This occurred on 07/28/2011 with mileage @ 105,000. At this time all I know is the brake line blew.

- Aberdeen, MD, USA

problem #32

Jul 202011

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles


Brake failure on my 2003 Silverado with 66000 miles due too rusted brake lines. Chevy dealer doesn't have parts(pre-bent brake lines) and gave me a price of 2500 bucks cause they have to bend each line by hand. I baby this truck. It still smells like a new car and was dealer serviced all its life. I don't know what I'm gonna do. This ain't rite. Looked under my friends 2002 and his looks just as bad. If I didn't slam on the emergence brake when I did it could have bin bad. I have it parked, don't know what to do.

- Neptune City, NJ, USA

problem #31

Apr 012011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the brake line tubing ruptured while driving 40 mph as a result of excessive rust. Approximately two months later, a second brake line ruptured. The dealer informed the contact that there were no related recalls to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure yet the vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 140,000. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Point Pleasant , WV, USA

problem #30

Jun 052011

Silverado 2500

  • 131,350 miles
Brakes failed on my 2003 Chevy truck. Rusted lines were the problem. GM wants $1650. To fix problem.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #29

May 222011

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 73,972 miles
Brake line failure. Brake line is corroded and rusty. I registered a complaint about the rear lines in the past and had it repaired. The front lines have failed this time. Fortunately no injuries or property damage occurred either time.

- Blairstown, NJ, USA

problem #28

Mar 292011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 32,218 miles


Brakes failed due to ruptured brake lines on my 2003 Chevrolet Silverado while driving. Chevrolet dealer informs metal brake tubing has corroded and ruptured causing loss of brake fluid. Truck has 32,000 miles. No injuries were sustained when brakes failed. Cost to replace brake lines, $ $1633.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #27

Nov 262010

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact noticed that the brake pedal extended to the floorboard when she depressed it. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by using the parking brake. The parking light then illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where it was being repaired. The current and failure mileages were unknown. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/14/11

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #26

Oct 152010

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Sudden braking failure on 2003 Chevy 2500hd. Loss of brake fluid due to sudden loss of brake line pressure. Brake lines failed while driving.

- Darien, CT, USA

problem #25

Oct 102010

Silverado 2500

  • 60,000 miles
Rear brake line rupture behind fuel tank on 2003 Chevy Silverado while normally driven. Inspected the lines for repair and found severe corrosion of all lines aft of the a.B.S. unit. Have replaced lines with aftermarket bendable ones as performed are not available I am told. Large sections of old line are in my possession. 60,000 miles on unit undercarriage corrosion is terrible.

- Pomfret, CT, USA

problem #24

Oct 032010

Silverado 2500

  • 50,000 miles
2003 Chevrolet Silverado brake line corrosion and failure.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

problem #23

Sep 142010

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Steel brake line rusted through on my 2003 Chevy Silverado pu causing complete brake failure. Good fortune had it that I was at a low speed and no crash occurred. Truck has been garaged and never been in contact with sea water. No other significant rust exists on vehicle except on the other brake lines. Research show this is a common and serious problem on these trucks.

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #22

Apr 102003

Silverado 2500

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer at 36,000 miles for a squealing noise. All four of the rotors and brake pads were replaced due to rust which seemed to remedy the noise. At 42,000 miles the ABS system began to pulsate while driving 5 mph. The dealer stated that the hubs needed to be replaced and provided an estimate for the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. At 56,000 the brake lines rusted through while the contact was driving and he lost all braking function. The vehicle had not been repaired. Chevrolet advised that they have had other complaints with rust and corrosion on other model years but the 2003 did not have any problems. The failure mileage was 36,000. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 58,000.

- Westerville , OH, USA

problem #21

Jul 072010

Silverado 2500

  • 43,459 miles
2003 Chevrolet Silverado - ABS activation during low speed breaking that led to increased stopping distances, intermittent at first but over 3 to 4 months increased to the point that it nearly resulted in an accident. Brought the vehicle to an authorized Chevrolet dealer for repair, diagnosed that the ABS sensors were corroded and after testing, found that the "lifting sensor causing different wave lengths at speeds below 5mph". the repair consisted of cleaning the rust build up under and around the sensors and replacement of both sensors. The repair cost $430. Told by the service advisor that this was a common problem in this model and year and advised to file a claim with GM for reimbursement of cost as this repair was not as a result of accident or negligence on the part of the owner. This repair is similar to the remedy mandated for the exact same condition under recall notice 05V379000 for Chevrolet Silverado, model years 1999-2002. The claim for reimbursement filed with GM/Chevrolet was summarily rejected with the stated reason that the vehicle is out of warranty period. Even when apprised that there is a recall in place for the same condition on vehicles one model year older, Chevrolet refused to negotiate this claim. I then filed a claim with the BBB as recommended in my vehicle's owners manual and though helpful could not assist stating that vehicle is out of manufacturer's warranty period. Looking for help in recouping repair cost for damage that was as a result of flawed design from a corporation that refuses to listen to consumers complaints and instead throws up a firewall to deny claims in the hopes of disheartening the claimant until they give up.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #20

Jun 292010

Silverado 2500

  • 42,445 miles
Rusty brake lines, all system brake lines and brake parts are rusting to the point of failure. Two lines failed. All system parts are being replaced.

- White Hall, MD, USA

problem #19

Apr 102010

Silverado 2500

  • 104,053 miles
Steel brake line running from left front brake to ABS pump corroded where the line is exposed in the wheel well. Brake pedal suddenly went to floor and pool of fluid was noticed under front of vehicle. Happened while parked in driveway so no accident.

- Bristol, VT, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?