Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 1
Average Mileage:
23,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Jul 312015

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts unavailable. Updated 04/07/16

- Susanville, CA, USA

problem #55

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V324000 (air bags) and 10V240000 (electrical system). However, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issues. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Goffstown, NH, USA

problem #54

Jul 142015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hegins, PA, USA

problem #53

Jan 242016

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall taking way too long to get repaired, . have to be driving veh with air bag disabled which is totally unsafe for passenger if in accident. Takata and GM must be brought to task to get corrected instead of waiting until there are less vehs to repair.

- Wellsville, PA, USA

problem #52

Jul 202015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
"takata recall "received recall notice July 2015. No fix as of 01/18/2016. No parts avalable per Chevrolet.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #50

Dec 162015

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall what follows is my original complaint against autonation/ General Motors that as of today January 16, 2016 has not been resolved or have they delivered truck. Still can not answers from either company when they will deliver it, if part is coming, if they have the part, or if they can just replace with another part. They have not been helpful and I am still awaiting to see if they will even give me a loaner vehicle. This has taken weeks for an answer. So as you can see I have owned this vehicle for a month and have not even had at my house or driven it. Or do they have answers to when this recall will be fixed. I have filed BBB complaints against both no response from autonation and General Motors only response was a jumble of fancy terms but did not addressed issue of if have part, when will get part or can they replace with another part to this complaint. No response from customer care at autonation email sent and no answers period from either company to when truck will be repaired. 2008 Chevrolet Silverado on Dec. 16 2015 from auto nation Chevrolet security blvd 6633 security blvd baltimore md. After paying for vehicle they state has recall needs fixed that was issued June 4, 2015) and that they will have it fixed by Thursday morning Dec. 17, 2015 and truck delivered. As of 1/ 2016 no truck or as to when fixed except to say it would affect something with the GM certification. They were aware of this before vehicle was sold. However they sold anyway and still have truck and my money. Status says incomplete remedy not available on GM recall center. No sure how they could sell this vehicle recall if aware of recall. General manager/saleman do not keep in touch as promised dennis and mike general manager. Get the run around with no answers and them not returning my calls..

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #49

Jul 152015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
I write the following on behalf of willie G. weddington of 108 karen road, Napa, ca 94558. "I received a recall notice in July, 2015. I have been unable to get the recalled airbag replaced to date. This has been an unreasonably long time in waiting for the repair. I am told there is no fix and there are no parts to fix my vehicle. The dealer is unable to provide me with a comparable vehicle loaner. My request for a replacement vehicle has been denied. My requests for rental reimbursement for a comparable vehicle have been denied. I have incurred expenses and will continue to incur expenses due to the lack of use of my vehicle. In addition, I am a U.S. veteran. I have a veteran's administration construction loan for my house and I have been unable to meet the deadlines due to the lack of use of my Chevrolet. I have incurred, and continue to incur, additional expenses trying to ensure all materials, equipment and workers are at the property site."

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #48

Jul 102015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V234000 (air bags). Upon contacting the manufacturer's customer care center, they were unable to provide a time frame for the part to become available to supply to the dealer. The contact was unable to determine when to schedule the recall repair with the dealer due to lack of parts from the manufacturer. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Carson, IA, USA

problem #47

Jan 012016

Silverado 2500

  • 68,000 miles
Dash cracked around airbags

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #46

Dec 302012

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My dash has cracked on the drivers side and at the passenger side airbag. My truck was parked with me and my wife sitting in it. It was crunk and when it happened it was very violent causing us to worry that it could have caused the airbag to deploy and cause injury to someone.

- Troy, NC, USA

problem #45

Jan 022016

Silverado 2500

  • 150,000 miles
"takata recall" my light just came on saying service air bag could this be part of the recall?

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #44

Jun 042015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Skiatook, OK, USA

problem #43

Jun 042015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/23/16 updated 02/24/16

- Onalaska, WA, USA

problem #42

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Franklin, LA, USA

problem #41

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • 102,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. VIN tool confirm parts not available.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #40

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #39

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. The contact indicated that the need to repair the vehicle was still not available. Parts were still not available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #38

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- West Rupert, VT, USA

problem #37

Jul 152015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clinton, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?