Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Since the Chrysler 200 first hit the streets, owners across the U.S. have complained about how their “dream car” quickly turned into a complete nightmare because of how the engine dies suddenly while driving.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,178 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments

problem #20

Jan 122015


  • miles


In 2011, I purchased a new Chrysler 200S. The list price was $27, 835. In 2015, the heat in my vehicle stopped working and only blew out cold air. I was told by the Chrysler mechanic that I needed to replace the heating core. I went to lloyd's automotive and paid $300 for a heating flush as lloyd's informed me that a car that is only 4 years old should not have issues with the heating core. Later in 2015 my heat went out again. I took my car back to lloyd's auto and was informed that I should have the heating core replaced. The parts were on back order because other owners of this car were also having issues with the heating core. I did some research online and found that this was accurate but Chrysler had not ordered a recall. Owners of this car were having to have the heating core replaced. I reside in Minnesota where the temperature drops below zero. I could not get my car repaired. This limited my social outings as I have a child and could not have him driving around in a cold car. I feel that Chrysler should recall this vehicle to fix the heating core.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #19

Dec 092013

200 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
My heater quit working on passenger side. It will not blow hot air through defrost, vents or floor on that side. Took it to dealership and they claim I need new radiator, reservoir bottle and heater core due to sludge from factory. Its going to be sixteen hundred dollars to fix. Chrysler admits to this problem in the 2012 model but not 2011. I feel like this should be a recall and Chrysler be responsible for fixing it.

- Ninnekah, OK, USA

problem #18

Sep 282011

200 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2011 Chrysler 200 sedan. Consumer states car dies randomly the consumer stated it didn't matter whether the engine was cold, hot or warmed up. The engine would completely stop and she would have to put the vehicle in park and re-start the engine. The incident happened at least 15 different times, since the vehicle was purchased and it usually happened when a stop was made in traffic, at a stop sign, or slow in stop and go traffic. The vehicle was taken to the shop at least five times for the problem and was in the shop twice for transmission problems.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #17

Apr 082012

200 6-cyl

  • 9,230 miles


When I stopped at a traffic light, the car died and I didn't"T even know it. When I proceeded to drive forward, the car had died completely, and I almost got rear ended. This happened 3 times 4/8/12, 4/10/12 and 4/21/12. I took the car to my dealer @ Chrysler Jeep Dodge. Cleveland avenue, newark Delaware.19711. Phone 302-731-0100. They checked it out and said there was nothing they could do. They said the codes showed nothing. This really bothers me, I can't sleep, and it makes me unsafe. It puts my safety at risk and others.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #16

Apr 112012


  • 10,400 miles
Was stopped at a stop light and as I began to go my engine completely stopped. I had to put my car back in park and turn the car off and restart the car. This occurred again a week and a half later and I had to do the same thing. This is extremely dangerous and I had my children in the car with me at the time.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #15

Mar 242012

200 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
Jolting while shifting gears, engine light on, for no reason. Taken to dealer. First time, was told this is normal. Vehicle getting used to my driving patterns. 2nd time, engine light came on, stayed on over 24 hours on a non dealer business day (easter) 4/8/2012. Jolted, stalled, jerking during the day on 4/8/2012 morning of 4/9/2012, light was still on, called the dealer. Asked to bring it in, they will try to duplicate the issue. This is a really scary and unsafe feeling, brand new cars should not do this. Engine has idled very poorly, it came close but the engine didn't die. Something is wrong with this car. Has happened multiple times.

- Holiday Fl, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 202012

200 6-cyl

  • 13,100 miles


Was pulling up to a traffic light after getting off the turnpike and the car stalled. This is the 4rth time.

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 022011


  • 50 miles
While driving this car has stalled on 5 separate occasions. Once in front of an 18 wheeler, there was no collision but it was close. One in an intersection as I went through a light in multiple lanes of traffic, once while pulling into traffic around a busy corner, once in a parking lot while attempting to park, and once on a county road. I notified Chrysler they refuse to replace the vehicle stating it does not fall within the lemon law guide lines. They are completely aware of the problem and yet I am still forced to own and pay for a vehicle that is not safe to drive and may put my life in danger.

- Willspoint , TX, USA

problem #12

Mar 152012


  • 24,000 miles
While stopped the engine shut off completely, there was no sputter or jerking. Only engine shut off as if gas stopped flowing to the engine, there was 3/4 tank of gas in the car's tank. Not check engine or any other warning lights appeared. All electronics in the car were still full functional. Vehicle had to be put in park, and key had to be used to turn engine back on. Creates safety hazard not only for passenger in the vehicle but also other drivers on the road.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #11

Feb 232012

200 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
My Chrysler 200 limited that I purchased in May 2011 has been shutting off sporadically while stopped at red lights. It has happened to me three times in the past three weeks (mid-Feb through March 2012). I have had it serviced twice to try to fix the problem, but both times I have been told that nothing can be done because no computer codes for malfunctions can be detected. It seems to be happening while the engine is idling. This has happened on several very busy roads, and has left me with my flashers on in the middle of parkways in the city with 6 lanes of traffic. I run a serious risk of being rear-ended. I have to put the car in park, and turn the key to "off" and then turn the ignition back on again before I can go. The car starts up fine and has not as of yet happened again during the same trip. It is unacceptable and dangerous that a brand new vehicle is doing this.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #10

Oct 112011

200 6-cyl

  • 636 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 200. The contact stated the vehicle would jerk and stall without warning. The vehicle had been taken the dealer several times, but the dealer stated they could not duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 636 and the current mileage is 23,400. Updated 04/27/12 updated 05/31/12

- East Point , MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 282012

200 6-cyl

  • 14,300 miles
My car was purchased new and is "jerking" and "lunging" while driving and has even died, in gear, while stopped at a traffic light. Service department says that since there is no code, there is no problem. Meanwhile, the problem persists.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 272012

200 6-cyl

  • 8,350 miles
Beginning appx two weeks ago, this vehicle has died twice while stopped at a signal light. It was taken into the dealership on 3-5. they said without a vehicle code reading nothing could be done. This is a serious safety concern.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 262012

200 6-cyl

  • 12,575 miles
Engine shut off again while at a stop light. This is the third time it has happened.

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 222011

200 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
12/22/11 - while coming up to a red light, almost at a stop, the engine shut off. The lights worked and the radio worked but the engine was off and the steering didn't work. I was able to put the car in park and after 2 tries the car restarted. I took the car to the dealer the next morning and they were unable to tell me why the car shut off because there was no code recorded. 2/16/12 - while pulling up to a light, going about 10 mph, the engine shut off. Was about to put the car in park and restart the car. Called the dealer and will be taking it in again 2/18. Dealer states since the engine light didn't go off, chances are there won't be any code to let them know why the engine shut off.

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 192012

200 6-cyl

  • 7,297 miles
I bought the new 200 Sept 9 2011. On Jan 19, 2012, O again after 1 week, went to the dealer service shop because the low tire pressure monitor light remained illuminated. They reset the tire pressure monitoring system. As I was driving thru the lot, about to leave the dealership, the engine died. So I restarted the car, but it did not run smoothly or sound good at all. It sounded, ran and felt like the fuel mixture and pressure was faulty. Check engine light was now on. I turned around and returned to service dept. And told them what had just happened. They checked into it and after 20-30 minutes said the map sensor need further evaluation and I had to leave the car there. They said map is manifold absolute pressure. They called me later and said the map sensor was bad and needed to be replaced. Notes on the work order say something about a "P0108" maybe it's PO108 (zero or an O??) problem. The next morning they said nothing was wrong. Twice since then engine has idled very poorly but it didn't die.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 102012

200 6-cyl

  • 10,500 miles
This is the 3rd time the car has died. This is what happened when it died today. Car was being driven by my son on his return from the doctor office. He was driving approximately 30mph and slowing down for an upcoming slope and 90 degree right turn. As the car headed down the slope, it suddenly lost power. He was unable to brake, or turn the wheel. Being unable to stop the car he hit a tree head-on. This deployed both airbags even though he was alone and pretty much demolished the car's front end. The police said if it hadn't been for the tree, I would be sitting in at hospital or planning a funeral, as the car would have plunged down a 25 foot embankment filled with large boulders. I will be contacting Chrysler tomorrow morning.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 242011


  • 5,016 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 200. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer could not find a defective code to identify the problem with the vehicle. The contact stated that the stalling would occur sporadically and the contact had encountered the failure at least four times without warning. The failure mileage was 5,016.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 072011


  • 3,700 miles
I purchased this vehicle new in July 2011. The car has a very jerky motion when driving regardless of the speed you drive. I have taken it back twice and the dealership claims it's a computer problem. No error lights show when they test it but so much of the vehicle operation is controlled by computers. The second time I had the vehicle test driven by a Chrysler mechanic who felt the jerky motion and stated it's getting caught in between gears and that a computer software upgrade is needed but the car is current in software. The jerky motion has increased and now is a daily occurrence many, many times a day. For the last month the jerky motion (which feels much like the car isn't getting gas and shuts out for a second or when you have a manual vehicle and you don't clutch to change gears and the vehicle shut off) is now accompanied by a bang and the car feels as if it's about to shut off. The car lunges and the noise is so loud the first three times it happened I thought I had been struck by another vehicle.

- Lodi, NJ, USA

problem #1

Oct 102011


  • 7,900 miles
I first got the Chrysler 200M in June 2011. Two days after purchasing I was stopped at a red light and once it turned green I tried to go the car and had no gas, no brakes, and I was unable to put on my hazard lights. The car had completely shut off on me until I placed the car in park, turn the key to the off position, and then restarted the car. My second incident happened when I was stopped at a red light about to take a left. Once the light turned green I proceeded to go and then I had complete engine failure again; while in the middle of an intersection. I lost my gas, my brakes, power steering, my radio shut off, and was not able to use my hazards again. I had to place the car in park and once again restart it for the car to turn back on for me to be able to move out of the way of oncoming traffic. I then brought the car to the dealership where it stayed for one week; they said they were unable to duplicate the problem and therefore couldn't find the cause. The dealership has not given me back the vehicle and requested they drive the car with me to rule out operator error.

- Norfolk, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?