If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Since the Chrysler 200 first hit the streets, owners across the U.S. have complained about how their “dream car” quickly turned into a complete nightmare because of how the engine dies suddenly while driving.

8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$320.00
Average Mileage:
12,398 miles
Total Complaints:
50 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (35 reports)
  2. not fixed (6 reports)
  3. cam phasors failed (3 reports)
  4. never buy chrysler (3 reports)
  5. software update (2 reports)
  6. cars have been recalled finally!!!!!! (1 reports)
2011 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Aug 102012

200 3.2L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 14,292 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought this car from Dilawri Jeep & Chrysler dealership in Ottawa with 7,000 kms on it. We have had non- stop problems with total engine failure while in motion and also while idling. Our daily work commute is 126 kms per day and we rely on a dependable car and that is why we purchased a demo vehicle.

We have had this vehicle in the shop on a regular basis trying to determine the problem to no avail! We have lost work time and the inconvenience of arranging to get it to the dealer is a chore in itself. I was actually driving on a 4 lane highway traveling at 120 kms per hour when the car shut off! Since the car is so quiet, I did not initially notice until I realized I had NO STEERING CAPABILITY! I panicked initially and was scrambling to find my 4 - way hazard button so people behind me would not rear-end me. It could have been fatal for me as the air bags do not deploy if the engine is not running! I have repeatedly complained to the dealer who claims they have contacted Chrysler Canada for a solution but, the car is still returned to us with no fix. The dealer does have a record of me telling them that if there is ever an accident due to total engine failure and one of us gets injured, or God forbid killed, that I will sue the ass off Chrysler!

This is a safety issue and I am disgusted that Chrysler has not done a recall to change the TIPM in this vehicle. Are they waiting for a certain number of deaths like Toyota when they had the sticking gas pedal problem? Anyway, guess where my vehicle is sitting today? You got it. Back at the dealership for another round of check ups with the outcome being the same. NOT FIXED

- , Ottawa, Ontario, canada

problem #49

Jul 102014

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,250 miles

Prior to July 2014, car intermittently stalls at low speeds, but no computer code and dealership unable to replicate the issue.

July 2014 - 47,275 miles; car stalls at low speeds; Computer code P0300 - Chrysler dealership worked with STAR group to tentatively determine to replace the fuel tank; car continued to stall at low speeds;

September 2014 - 48,757 miles; car stalls at low speeds; Computer code P0300 - Chrysler dealership worked with STAR group to next tentatively determine to replace the crankshaft sensor;

October 2014- 49,288 miles; car did not stall but check engine light came on; Computer code P0300 along with P0217 - Chrysler dealership working with STAR group to determine next tentative action to take.

- , Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #48

Feb 012012

200 Sport V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,078 miles

I am looking for Canadians who share this same problem particularly if you live in Ontario. I currently have a lawsuit pending with Chrysler per I received the most deplorable service at the dealership. i complained repeatedly of my car turning off, had the co pilot installed they could not duplicate the problem so the car was never fixed. I have now been involved in 2 vehicle accidents per this problem and my insurance now costs me 500.00 a month per no insurance company in Canada will ensure this particular car. They will insure any car of mine except thsi one.

My lawyer is looking for an engineer report that may have already been done as they cost in excess of 4,000.00. anyone who has information about this is asked to contact Janet Band at 613-890-0990 or at bander11@HOTMAIL.CA

- , Ottawa, ON, canada

problem #47

Apr 112013

200 LX 3.6lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

cuts out while going up hill or tring to speed up

i payed to supposedly have this fixed.....well it isnt. took it back they tell me according to comp. check there is nothing wrong with my car. it is still doing the same thing. plus when you add the other little things that have gone wrong with it it really makes you mad. back when cars were made right people didnt have problems with new cars i dont care how many miles you put on them. i do home health i have to count on my car . i had a 2004 hyudayi accent drove it well over 100050 miles. never had any thing go wrong with it . i mean you have a car for not even a year, and as they put it small things start messing up on it that is not right. i will never buy another chry. or dodge car. if and when i get this one payed for i will get another hyudayi . i strongly advise people not to buy chry. or dodge they dont stand behind their cars i dont make enough money to keep fixing a new car and pay bills and eat

- , Boswell, OK, USA

problem #46

Jan 262013

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

This is the 4th battery installed. In the last 4 months or so I have had 3 new batteries put in and each time with in weeks is dies. Dead as a doornail. Weather is not a factor because it has happened on hot and cold days and dirving is not the issue, this most recent case I had been driving off and on all day the day before in so it had only sat overnight.

I still have no answer why this keeps happening.

- , Gainesville, TX, USA

problem #45

Nov 122012

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

Car died with no warning. Battery should only be a little over a year old, as the car is only that old.

- , Gainesville, TX, USA

problem #44

Dec 312012

200 Touring V6 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It all started when the sun visor clip broke when I unhooked the visor to block the sun in my eyes while driving our new the 2011 Chrysler 200 V6 3.6 liter Touring Sedan. As the remaining parts of the sun visor clip fell onto the carpet of the car seat, my wife said, "Now that has to be fixed, this is a brand new car".

Taking the Chrysler 200 to the dealer to fix the visor clip, they told me that the car needed a PCM flash memory update, which I was never notified about, so they fixed that too. All seemed well.

The following week I noticed the car shifting roughly and hearing a clank noise when driving around 40-45 mph from the transmission, but really did not think too much about it.

Occasionally, I heard some loud crack noises coming from the radio and then the radio would shut off all by itself– I just turned the radio back on, not thinking too much about that - since the 2011 Chrysler 200 came with a sophisticated radio with a led screen, blue tooth, and a DVD player.

About a month later the car seemed to lose power and hesitate when you pushed on the gas pedal driving about 35 – 45 mph. The Stability Control light on the dash came on and then the check engine light would come on for about 3 days, then go off for 2 days, then come back on for the next two days. I knew something was seriously wrong with this Chrysler 200 now.

When I brought the 2011 Chrysler 200 to the Fair Oaks Dealer, Va. they diagnosed the problem and replaced the CAM Phasers. I told the dealer about the transmission shifting noise, and the radio issue and they said the new phaser would fix all those existing problems since they are interconnected with the engine module, transmission, and the emission controls. I am not sure what else they did, but they said they had to crack open the engine and special order the parts - it took 3 days to fix. I had to pay out of pocket for a rental car.

After getting the car back, I received a recall notice from Chrysler in the mail to update the computer which will fix an existing stall problem issue, so I brought the car back to the Dealer to update the computer. I drove the car home and expected all to be fine. The next morning I put the key in the ignition to start the car and there was nothing. The lights flickered then went dead. I called the dealer again and they suggested I call Chrysler Customer Care. Within 50 minutes the tow truck driver jumped the Chrysler, put his jumper cables away, then the car just stopped. I told the tow truck driver the car shut off. The tow truck driver jumped the Chrysler again, and again, the Chrysler shut off. The tow truck driver said he has never seen this happen before … so he towed the Chrysler back to the dealer. Presently 2011 Chrysler 200, 17,300 miles resides at Fair Oaks Chrysler Dodge Jeep.

VIN available upon request Mike I Clifton, Va 20124

Update from Jan 19, 2013: The dealer said a cell in the battery was dry and was causing some kind of short in the ignition. We told the dealer the car was starting kind of sluggishly in the mornings, right up to the point when the car would not start at all. The dealer replaced the battery - which is located in the truck of the vehicle. The dealer told us the car was all fixed now. We did not drive the car the following day. The second day we got the car back from the dealer, we went out to start the Chrysler 200 at 8:00 am and the dash lit up for a second then went black again. I called Chrysler Customer Care directly and they issued another tow to pick up the vehicle. Around 2:30 pm in the afternoon Fair Oaks Chrysler Dealer called and told me the electrical system computer has failed. They did not have the part in stock, could not find the part from any dealer nationwide or did Chrysler out of Detroit have the part. I called Chrysler to tell them I need a rental car to get to work. Chrysler in Detroit then they called the Fair Oaks Dealer, then Chrysler issued me a 5 day rental free that evening. The electronic part was shipped from the manufacturer "imported from Detroit" 5 days later. Invoice Parts: 08890102 Power Distributor Center, RL692346AE Block -totally Integrated Power was replaced. Found vehicle to have no start, recharged battery due to discharge and checked for dtcs, found dtcs for bus communication to all modules, checked for battery drawl and found after key turned off TIPM still keeping all module awake, replaced TIPM and programmed and checked vehicle operation and for any drawl when turned off. I hope this dialogue helps shed some light and gives you guidance toward your Chrysler 200 Touring 3.6 repair issues.

- , Clifton, VA, USA

problem #43

Sep 302012

200 200 Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,800 miles

I purchased my Chrysler 200 Limited V6 November 2011. I road nice for several months. As I was driving down a high in the July 2012 the car gauges (speedometer/gas gauge) started going back and forth like a windshield wiper while driving at a speed of 62 mph. I had to get my garage door opener replaced and brought this issue to the attention of DARCARS in Rockville, MD. They replaced my garage door opener and said they could not find anything else wrong with the car/electrical system.

- , Crofton, MD, USA

problem #42

Jul 012012

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Noticed strange surging from car from day one. After several months the car started to stall out while driving. Could be in the middle of a turn or on highway. Took to dealership and they re-programmed car. Car starting stalling out again after a few weeks. Eventually the check engine light came on as well as the Stability control lights. Car really began to lose power and shudder. Finally had to abandon car in a parking lot and get it towed to dealer. Car was at dealership for 5 days and they apparently reprogrammed the car again. After a few days the stalling while driving began again. Car again began to lose power and shudder. Had car towed to dealership... again... Very frustrating experience with Palmer Dodge in Alpharetta, GA. This is a leased vehicle and I was notified that I would not be given a loaner vehicle. I placed a call to Chrysler Corporate customer service and they were dismayed that the dealer told me that I could not have a loaner/rental. The customer service rep called the dealer and magically, I was given a rental car during the repair. So, third time in the shop and they have no idea what is wrong with the car. Dave, the service manager said "they have done everything they can to fix the car". Started a "lemon" case with Chrysler. I will never by another Chrysler.

- , Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #41

Sep 132012

200 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

so i have a Chrysler 200 and it shuts off when i make a tight turn at slow speeds, also the radio made a loud pop sound on the freeway and the lights on the dashboard went out , i have taken it to the dealer 4 times and all they can tell me is nothing can be done until it happens with them in the car...so i called Chrysler an they tell me the same and have to pay to have a box put on my car to record it the next time it happens. I have kids and don't want to put them or myself in harms way....the problem has happened when doing a U-turn that was a close call. should i drive it again or not?

- , Valencia, CA, USA

problem #40

Oct 162012

200 200 Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,019 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was not getting any pick up and the engine seemed very bogged down on 10/16/12. The engine light came on and the radio/navigation system turned off and restarted. I called DARCARS in Rockville, MD. I brought the car into them and told them about the problem. They called me the next day to let me know that they are replacing all the CAM PHASERS Sprocket/Phaser - Camshaft. They also said there was and open recall MSS PURGE MONITOR CHECK (I really don't know what all the means); however, they reprogrammed the PCM (C).

Interesting fact is that during the time my car was getting fixed I received a letter in the mail the same week from Chrysler stating that that "Customer Satisfaction Notification M33 Reprogram PCM - Purge Monitor Check. I brought this letter to the service manager when I picked up my car and he was unaware of this problem and that Chrysler was sending out these letter. Now he is aware.

I picked up my car on 10/22/12 and it seems to be running fine. I'm hoping I will not have anymore problems with this specific problem. If I do I will post the issue and concern.

- , Crofton, MD, USA

problem #39

Oct 162012

200 200 Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

I was driving my car this morning and the electrical system and the engine decided to shut off and shut down. I felt I was driving a go-cart. I had no power and the car felt bogged down. I call the dealership and told them I was driving it in to get looked at. The engine light remained on the entire 17 mile drive to DARCARS in Rockville, MD. The navigation system and radio shut off and turned back on after I turned off the car and restarted it. I'm concerned that this is going to cause me to have an accident and Chrysler will be responsible for this if they cannot fix the problem. As I have read other issues about the Chrysler 200 V6 I am very upset and I truly don't want to drive this car anymore.

- , Crofton, MD, USA

problem #38

Sep 302012

200 200 Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

On September 30, 2012 I was driving into DC and stopped at a stop light on rough 50 east. As I was ready to go when the light turned green the car stalled and I had to put the car in park and restart the engine. It seemed very strange that this happened and I am very concerned that there is a huge issue.

- , Crofton, MD, USA

problem #37

Jul 102012

200 S V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

My 2011 200S has stalled numerous times while stopped at a light. The dealership could find no error codes or anything indicating there is a problem. My solution is to put the car in neutral while stopped and it does not stall. This is a very frustrating issue and makes me nervous while driving. Something is very wrong with these cars.

On another note, I have also noticed while backing up in reverse and putting the gear back in drive it clunks hard like a transmission issue. On my heated leather seats if both driver and passenger have them on, the drivers side always shuts off on its own and will not stay on. Very sickening. I am paying a lot of money to drive this car and having all these problems.

- , Newport, MN, USA

problem #36

Aug 232012

200 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,632 miles

engine stops running at red light. taken it to dealership 4 different times always says there is nothing wrong .well i know there is. I really feel unsafe in this car.

- , olive branch, Mississippi, USA

problem #35

Apr 012012

200 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

My new car was giving to me for my anniversary and i was so happy to recieve it. However i am afraid to drive the car because several time while driving the car the car would stop while i was at red lights. every time this has happen i took it to the dealer shop to check it out. they said there was not code on the car to tell what is wrong with car. One day i was stop at a red ligh in a heavy traffic, i press the gas peddle to go. the car, with not red indicators light on the dash would not moved. cars in the back of me was hit because i could not get out of the way because the car had stop. I really give my report to the police because i felt so bad that the car stalled out. I so glad that my car is not the only one is having this awful problem. They must find the what the problem because i am afraid the next time i will be involved in a accident because of thiis problem

- , Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #34

Feb 012012

200 LX 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

The car turns off while driving. I've been to two dealerships and three total visits. opened a case with Chrysler #BN570970. I found the case manager rude. She did not tell me the steps chrysler will take to resolve the issue. only kept repeating that I should take the care to a third dealer to be looked at. By then the car will turn off on 495 and have a tractor dealer ram us, killing us all.

- , Springfield, VA, USA

problem #33

Jun 082012

200 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,775 miles

Stopped completely at light. Whole system off. Had to restart to get car to move.

- , Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #32

Jun 012012

200 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles

we had issues with my husbands 4cyl. 200 (we settled with Chrysler). Then when driving home we were stopped at a red light and when the light turned green....there was nothing. We tried numerous times to restart the engine and nothing. We noticed that there was power for the radio and the windows but nothing else. After trying to restart numerous times with no luck we had to call AAA. We had it towed to the dealer. what a shock they couldn't find anything wrong at all. There were no codes and of course they got it to start up and no problem on the test drive. All they could figure was that the computer needed an update. I'm hoping to not have to do a lemon since it is a safety issue. So I'm hoping to get rid of this piece of doo-doo before it happens again. i will tell everyone I know about the horrible cars dodge and Chrysler are. We also had a 05 Durango and the engine would shut off without warning so we got rid of it since it was getting more dangerous each time. Dodge and Chrysler have not gotten any better in 7 years. My in laws will be doing a lemon on their 2011 dodge caravan that has transmission issues.

- , Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #31

Apr 232012

200 S CV 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles

Stopped at drive through bank ATM, car revved unexpectantly - a minute later car stalled while exiting bank. Started right up and off we went. Stopped for lunch, pulled out on the highway and car stalled at first stoplight. Once is a fluke, twice was scary. Pulled up the NAV and tried calling dealership to drop-off right then and there, except the phone number was wrong. (anyone know how to correct this?)

We haven't driven the car since, and have an appointment 5/01. I sure hope we don't get the same runaround as the rest of those with the same "stalling at stops" issues. (I know, but one can hope, eh?)

Update from Jul 22, 2012: Car was at the Dealership for a week - nothing found, no computer errors. Since first complaint here, I've only put on about 1000 miles, because I'm hesitant to drive. On the occasions that I have driven it - I too have noticed a jerking from the transmission, almost like something is slipping and then surges.

Has anyone had their transmission examined yet with/without an answer from Dealer?

- , Wexford, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?