Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,563 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Mar 182016

200 4-cyl

  • 37,710 miles


Ok.. so let me vent here. I first bought my car this year. (March) and they let me take my car for a night to see if I would like the car. They had a 2013 Chrysler 200 LX 2.4cyl. Or a 2014 Chrysler 200 limited 3.6 V6 the 2013 had 37K the 2014 had 21K. I wanted the 2014 but when they asked about it. It was already sold... I didn't know that. So I went for the '13 LX. Drove it off the lot for a test drive. Drove just fine. Got back to the dealer. Signed a paper and left with it from the dealer for the night. Well on my way home. I thought would go out of my way a little bit for a little extra drive. (keep in mind I had a full tank from the dealer) lol! something I requested. Because when I test drove it. It was on E. and gas light was on. But back to the point. While going out of my way. I stopped to get pizza. And left my car running. All lights were on. I'm sitting inside waiting for my pizza. Since I called it in before hand. Got my pizza. Come out to my car. And I stopped in my tracks. And thought. Hmm. I could have swore I left my car running. Like wtf. And my headlights and everything was still on! and then I thought. Oh sh*t... I got into my car. Everything is on. Ac (which of course wasn't cold air since engine wasn't running) and all my lights were on. And I knew as soon as I got into my car and the RPM's are on 0 and everything is still on. I sat there for a minute. In shock and disappointment. Turned my key back. And turned it back and it fired right up. So I was upset but didn't think much of it. Called my dealer and they told me they would take care of it. Took it in and they gave me a loaner while they "fixed" it. Got it back and didn't happen after that. Now it just started again today. Bout a month worth's of time... I'm sick of this. My car only has 45K now. And I got it with 37K... taking my car in once again. This is going to kill somebody... stay safe.

- Coldwater, MI, USA

problem #20

Jun 042016


  • 39,200 miles
In June 4, 2016 I was attending 2 high school graduations. It was raining that morning so my wipers were on. I get to the center and go inside. After the 2nd graduation and speaking with family and friends I go to the parking garage to leave. I get to my car to find my wipers still going. I get in the car a try to turn the switch off. Its already off. I drive home. My husband and I check for the fuse to remove. No luck. He disconnects the battery. There is a lot going on so I get it to a mechanic a week later. He tests it and the results come back as the wiper motor. We schedule the repair but finds it is not the motor. He retests the car and tells me its the totally integrated piwer module or tipm. He suggests that.I call Chrysler. They tell me to go to a Chrysler mechanic and call them back. I go to the nearest 2 Chrysler dealers in my area. Neither could help me at the time. I now have a mechanic scheduled for tomorrow. I hope to get my money back from Chrysler,

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #19

May 202016


  • miles
The car keeps stalling in traffic, get an engine jump then stalls. Chryslers techs can't even figure it out. Also stalls on freeways and is going to get someone killed. From what I see it's happening in these cars from 2012 to 2015 models everywhere. I'm very sick of going to the dealer and paying hundreds of dollars because of course it's always something not covered under warranty, how convenient. Then either right away or a month later the same issue occurs and get worse and worse. This needs to be addressed immediately.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #18

Jun 182016


  • 50,000 miles


Electrical short, destroyed alternator, PCM and battery. Manufacturer is refusing to pay or help. Upon reviewing ther internet we noticed that most of there vehicles since 2012 have had this problem the fee to pay is over $2000 an no guarantee it will not happen again.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #17

May 242016


  • 2 miles
I have a 2013 Chrysler 200, it has roughly 70,000 miles, as I was accelerating onto the highway the vehicle would not go over 40-50 mph. I was almost rear-ended because everyone was trying to get onto the highway. I couldn't pull over because of it being over a bridge. When I went to pull over the car stalled and would not start until the 3rd or 4th try. The car is practically brand new there is no way this should be having this problem. As I am reading many of the other complaints this seems to be pretty common in this vehicle & year.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #16

Jun 012016

200 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the throttle control and traction control warning light illuminated. The vehicle stalled and was able to restart after numerous attempts. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000....updated 08/15/16 updated 08/17/16.

- Greenbay, WI, USA

problem #15

Feb 242016


  • 41,000 miles


At approximately 41,000 miles, wiring harness to fuel pump shorts out near fuel pump end, causing electrical arcing at fuel components. Entire wiring harness to fuel pump must be replaced due to damage. Overload (fuse box) system failed to mitigate damage. Arcing and fire could have caused further damage or explosion. Vehicle was on a city street when it simply stopped working. Vehicle is currently at putnam Chrysler in burlingame, ca, where it was diagnosed with the defect. Documentation in possession of the dealer.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 232016


  • 25,000 miles
My car just had the etc light and electronic stability light come on and the car loses horsepower. From my research online this seems to be a common issue with them.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152015


  • miles
When driving vehicle on highway are crowded high traffic roads the vehicle would suddenly makes a sudden jerk the check engine light comes on traction control lights comes on it losses power I could be going 50 mph and the vehicle drops to 10 mph and won't go faster than 30 mph I would try to push it up to 50 but it still feel like it's going 30 mph, the vehicle is now currently in the shop the can't seem to figured out what's wrong with it I'm still making payments on the vehicle they won't give me a rental without diagnostic so I am out of a vehicle to get me to work and take my kids to school as a single mom please help me I call the place I brought the vehicle from but they won't help it's a nightmare so inconvenience....

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #12

Sep 022015


  • 46,298 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle slowed down to 10 mph and the engine stalled. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the PCM map sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,298.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 232015


  • 58,788 miles


I was proceeding to get on the interstate highway when I noticed that I was pressing the gas, but the car was not accelerating. I looked down and two lights were on, the stability control light and the throttle body light. I just purchased this car on 9/9/2015 used. Another time before that, I was driving home from work and my radio powers off and where my mileage is it says no fuse. When I got home I tried to lock my car with the keypad, but I couldn't. I had to lock it manually. I mean I have had more problems with this car since I had it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #10

May 042015


  • 77,730 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that when the vehicle was turned on, the headlight illuminated and suddenly shut off. The contact stated that when the windshield wiper was activated, then the headlight was able to function again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was informed that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights would illuminate when the vehicle was turned on intermittently. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,730.

- Rogersville, TN, USA

problem #9

May 202014


  • 39,015 miles
My seat belt was on and properly fastened, but the seat belt light came on and started loudly "dinging". the seat belt light will no longer go off and randomly dings which is not only annoying, but can be dangerous.

- Allisonia, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 022014


  • miles
We received a safety recall for the rear quarter vent window switch. Upon receipt of this recall, we took our vehicle to the nearest dealership. I do not believe it has been attended to in a timely manner. It has been nearly a year since we've had use of this feature that we paid for. ~ [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mendota, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 142014


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the rear passenger side turn signal failed to work. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and the first time they were not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The second time they cleared the code and the third repair of replacing the control module, which failed to remedy the failure. The contact continued to see the warning lamp illuminate. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #6

Oct 282014


  • 16,000 miles
On October 28th, 2014 I dropped my car off at the dealership for repair with complaints of electrical issues. The alarm was performing with unpredictable tendencies and was not disarming in order to enter the car. After driving a rental for two weeks that came out of my pocket the dealership claimed that they could not duplicate the problem in order to fix it.I was forced to take the car back knowing that the problem was not fixed.the random electrical problems progressed and the car ignition began having serious issues. Once the key was turned to ┐┐off ┐┐ the car would restart and the indicator light would say ┐┐key in ignition┐Ł although the key had been removed from the ignition. I would have to turn and hold the key to the ┐┐on┐Ł position for several seconds before the car would turn over. On December 15th, 2014 I attempted to put the key into the ignition and the engine did not turn over at all.I removed the key from the ignition and the engine began to make the sounds as if it was going to turn over at least 10 times while the key was out of the ignition. On January 15th, 2015 I received a call from the service rep at the dealership. He said that he was advised by my case manager at Chrysler customer care to call and tell me that I had to come and pick up my car although the problem had not been resolved. The service rep said that they had replaced the tipm (totally integrated power module), the battery, and the clock that flickers yet the electrical issues repeated even after the replacement of the tipm. He continued to say that the Chrysler engineers did not know how to fix the problem. This car is still within the formal lemon law rights period Łand I am asking Chrysler for appropriate action in a timely manner.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 072015

200 4-cyl

  • 28,790 miles
I was driving down the highway leaving work, I got up to roughly 55mph when my car just shut off while driving down the road. I was told by the dealership that the alternator failed without warning. They can not give me an explanation as to why a vehicle that is less than 2 years old and less than 30K miles suddenly stopped without warning. There is currently a recall issued by Chrysler for this exact issue but my vehicle is not one of the ones covered under the recall according to Chrysler. No check engine or check battery lights prior to the incident. At the time of incident nearly every light on my dash lit up and the vehicle just shut off, the speedometer went from 55 to 0 and I was luckily able to coast off of the highway without incident since I had just gotten on and was getting up to speed I had not left the right lane yet. Had I been anywhere else on the highway this incident could have easily led to serious injury or death. I have spoken with the dealership and they claimed there is nothing they can do for me, I have also spoken with a lemon law attorney and was informed that since it did not end in serious injury or death that it must happen again before they can help me. I do not feel safe putting my wife or infant child in to a vehicle that just shut off at a speed of 55mph.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 072015


  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Shelby Township , MI, USA

problem #3

Dec 222014


  • 1,700 miles
While driving the vehicle on several occasions the hazard lights would turn on without the button being pressed. After that 1st incident it's happened more often than not and other drivers are thinking that we need to pull over when we don't. I'm not sure what the cause of this is, but it's a new vehicle and if this continues it's going to cause me possibly getting a ticket with law enforcement. Which is something I'm going to pursue Chrysler paying because this is a major problem for me.

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #2

Feb 202014


  • 1,400 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 40 mph, the instrument panel dimmed completely and caused the turn signals and windshield wipers to malfunction. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the multifunction switch was replaced. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 1,400.

- Youngstown , OH, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?