Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,367 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments

problem #15

Jun 012016

200 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the throttle control and traction control warning light illuminated. The vehicle stalled and was able to restart after numerous attempts. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000....updated 08/15/16 updated 08/17/16.

- Greenbay, WI, USA

problem #14

May 092016


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph and attempting to stop for a traffic light, the vehicle decelerated as the throttle control warning light illuminated. Minutes later, the vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 232015


  • 58,788 miles
I was proceeding to get on the interstate highway when I noticed that I was pressing the gas, but the car was not accelerating. I looked down and two lights were on, the stability control light and the throttle body light. I just purchased this car on 9/9/2015 used. Another time before that, I was driving home from work and my radio powers off and where my mileage is it says no fuse. When I got home I tried to lock my car with the keypad, but I couldn't. I had to lock it manually. I mean I have had more problems with this car since I had it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 162015


  • 38,000 miles


When I go to use the cruse control it doesn't work but when I honk the horn the cruse come's on and works.

- Golden Valley, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jul 142015


  • 31,107 miles
On approximately 7/14/15, upon accelerating from a stopped position, my Chrysler 200 hesitated on take off. I had to take my foot off the gas pedal and slowly try accelerating again, still with hesitation, but finally taking off. There was slight hesitation as my vehicle was accelerating, then the fuel seemed to catch up. This has occurred several times randomly since 7/14/15. I took my car to the dealership on 7/23/15 as it is still under manufacturers warranty, explained the situation, and they said they found no problems, that "no codes" showed up on the computer. This problem appears to effect the engine, fuel/propulsion system and speed control. I was very concerned each time this happened of being involved in a car accident. I will continue to be concerned until this problems is resolved. I intend to take it back to the dealership for further investigation into this problem.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #10

Jul 012015


  • 39,754 miles
We filed a complaint for this issue previously and the same problem has occurred again. Will take to dealer when they open tomorrow to have diagnosed. Called Chrysler and spoke to paul, who stated that we need to call back after the dealer has a chance to look at the issue. Chrysler # 1-800-247-9753 previous complaint listed below: Date complaint filed: 07/28/2013 component(s): Power train date of incident: 07/26/2013 NHTSA id number: 10532198 all products associated with this complaint expand details close 0 associated documents crash:no fire:no number of injuries:0 number of deaths:0 manufacturer: Chrysler (fca us llc) vehicle identification no. (VIN): 1C3ccbbbxdn... summary: I started the 2013 Chrysler 200 and shifted the transmission into "drive". with my foot still on the brake pedal, I checked the mileage on our new car and it read 139 miles. I could feel the transmission engage then I felt what seemed to be a second engagement before I took my foot off the brake. As soon as I began driving I noticed the vehicle was not shifting out of first (1st) gear. I stopped the car and shifted through park, neutral and manual in an attempt to free up the transmission but when I started driving again it still would not transition out of first (1st) gear even when put in the manual shift mode. I drove it directly to the dealer without turning off the vehicle, and after a test drive they confirmed that it was not shifting but stated they could not find a code indicating any problem. They restarted the vehicle and it began to function normally again. The dealer said there was nothing they could do, and to bring it back if it happened again. Updated 10/01/15

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #9

Oct 152014


  • miles


Car drove perfectly fine when purchased new 18months.ago. But after having it for 3months. Things started to go wrong. First incident was with the cruise control it has failed to shut off for me 3X. Applying pressure to the brakes didn't help or solve the problem either. After multiple times of pressing the off button it shut off after putting the car in neutral. Took it to car dealer ship & the computer was updated but no issues found. On many occasions my car has seemed to have shifting problems especially coming out of 1st gear. Took it into the dealership & no issues found the mechanic said car seemed fine but to return if problem returned. The problem still comes and goes but I try to ignore it because the shifting issue didn't seem any worse. But now recently in the last couple months another problem is occurring my tire pressure is always off checking it almost daily. I brought my car in and purchased new tires. The problem with the tire pressure still exists along with it pulling bad to the right, & I'm able to feel shaking in the steering wheel at as low as 25mph, reaching speeds 50+ the shaking is only felt at times, continues to pull & feels like I don't have complete control of the car. I took my car in again a week ago to the tire center and I was told they could feel what I was feeling but couldn't find the issue. I requested a alignment but they also said that was unnecessary because the alignment was fine. The shaking and pulling is now getting much worse and today we picked up yet another problem. Well stopped/parked car idles hard & feels as if its gonna stall out. A friend overlooked my car. He climbed underneath and had me apply a small about of pressure on the accelerator. Said he a whistling/sputter sound like its hesitating. He felt the shaking in the steering wheel when the rpms where at 1 & parked. Only approx. 32,000miles.

- Arlee, MT, USA

problem #8

Aug 042014

200 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
We drive a 2013 Chrysler 200, 3.6L V6. We have 12,500 miles on the car. This month we are experiencing a stalling problem at slow speeds when getting ready to stop. I took the car on the highway to see if the problem existed at high speeds. I set the cruise control and it died two times in ten minutes. The car started back up with no problems. I checked on line to see if there were any recalls on my 200. There is an NHTSA campaign number 13V043000 (Feb 06,2013) that is categorized as fuel system, gasoline. This may be the issue but the Chrysler dealer did not acknowledge this as a recall for my vehicle. This recall is for a gas tank that has a broken control valve in the fuel tank assembly. I think that my problem with the car could be one that was discovered two years ago on 2011 Chrysler 200 with 3.6L V6 engines. My car has shut off when idling or coming to a stop without a warning sign and no dash indicator light. I turned the key to off and restarted the engine. It started right away and I believe that it let me start it while it was still in drive. My car has stalled (4) times in the last week. The NHTSA opened an investigation into stalling problems on June 22, 2012. It covered an estimated 87,288 vehicles. Chrysler announced they had identified a powertrain control module (PCM) defect in their 3.6L engines. The PCM was initiating a purge monitor check while the engine was at idle or slowing down. The purge resulted in an "overly rich vapor condition that caused the engine to stall". Chrysler developed a software patch which reprograms the PCM. The patch was released as part of a "customer satisfaction program" in September 2012. The NHTSA closed the investigation and did not force Chrysler to issue a recall because Chrysler classified the problem as "low risk".

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #7

Aug 082014


  • 19,400 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While driving 20 mph into the driveway, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The vehicle did not stop when the brake pedal was depressed and crashed into a porch. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 19,400.

- Shreve Port, LA, USA

problem #6

Apr 292014

200 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration and brakes malfunction. The consumer stated when he applied the brake, it went straight to the floor. Once he realized the vehicle was out of control, he the applied the emergency brake and the vehicle stopped.

- Gibson City, IL, USA

problem #5

May 072014


  • 10,800 miles


I left work and pulled of the parking lot. I could not get above 40 mph. I felt like I was stuck in 1st gear. Went straight to the dealership. Explained my problem. Made an appointment. When I went to leave, the car was fine. I called them and they said I might need an update for the hard drive. I went and had that done. It was fine for 3 weeks. And then the same thing happened. I put the car in park. Then turned the car off. Then started the car and then it was fine.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #4

Sep 112013

200 4-cyl

  • 2,450 miles
Vehicle would not allow cruise control to be set. After several attempts, cruise control engaged, but would not allow me to manually operate gas pedal and braking function. It took several braking attempts to disengage cruise control. Pulled over and shut vehicle off, restarted and reentered highway then vehicle transmission would not seem to shift into gears and "roared" allowing tachometer to reach into high 5,500+ range. Pulled over again, shut vehicle off. Restarted vehicle, reentered highway and it operated sufficiently to get to dealer. After dealer did diagnostic, they discovered speed control switch was faulty and replaced immediately. Car now operates properly since switch replacement and have had no further problem. Also, transmission now shifts at proper levels and gas mileage has returned to original higher level.

- Tupelo, MS, USA

problem #3

May 012013


  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that removing his foot from the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would continue to accelerate. The contact stated that the vehicle remained at a minimum of 20 mph unless the brakes were applied. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer stated that the vehicle was functioning normally. The dealer explained that the occurrence was normal for the newer model transmissions they added to the particular year model. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 10 and the current mileage was 1,200.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #2

Mar 102013

200 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while stopped at a stop sign, the vehicle surged forward while the brake pedal was depressed. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three different times. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Jan 112013


  • 2,600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated while driving at highway speeds, his vehicle suddenly accelerated without any warning. The vehicle crossed three busy highway lanes. In order to stop the vehicle from accelerating he had to shift into neutral gear and coast to the side of the road. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the mechanic advised him they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 2,600. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Milton, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?