Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,717 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler 200 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments

problem #15

Mar 162015


  • 13,354 miles


Starting over 1 year ago, my car has pulled to the right at all times and more drastically at higher speeds. The steering wheel also starts vibrating and shaking when over 55 mph. This car has been to the dealership at least 10 times for alignments, new struts, new tie rods, new tires, and several other fixes. None of these repairs have fixed the problem, and some of these actually made it worse. I no longer feel safe driving this car and fear crashing due to the extreme pull to the right. I just picked it up from the dealership after they adjusted the cambers and aligned it to pull to the left to compensate the right pull, which did not fix the problem.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #14

Jun 022014


  • 31,200 miles
Chunking and snapping problem in the steering gear box or tie rod ends. I've had it to the Chrysler dealer on Aug. 16th. 2015 and they couldn't fine it. But when I went on the web there I found hundreds on complaints. I had a live chat with the and this problem was even on the 2011 Chrysler 200.

- Sand Lake, MI, USA

problem #13

Jan 142015

200 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. While accelerating, the vehicle jerked to the right without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but no diagnostic testing was performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,000. Updated 7/1/15

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 122013


  • 6,600 miles


From almost the beginning of owning this car it has made a noise in the left front driver's side. The steering wheel feels lose, like it could come apart. I had brake issues also. The dealer was able to find the brake noise, but not the noise in the left front driver's side. They say there is nothing they can detect. Yet, my car continues to make this noise. Now, I'm not a mechanic, but my car should not be making a noise if everything is alright. Checked on youtube and many people with Chrysler 200's, 2013's are having the same problem. They say their mechanics either cannot find the problem, or it's 1. steering column 2. outer tie rod end or sway bar end links 3. ball joints 4. bushings can be worn on control arms of sway bar or 4. tie rod. My dealer cannot find any of that wrong with my car, yet, I believe it is one of these problems. My car was purchased at moore, Chrysler, Jeep, Subaru, at 8700 w. bell, road in glendale, Arizona. I am a single lady, living on social security disability. My dad bought this car for me. I cannot afford to have all these problems fixed if the warranty runs out, and the dealer lets it. I need them to take responsibility and fix my car.

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #11

Mar 132015

200 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Was driving on I95N coming from Florida and about 12am my car was feeling very loose in the front and so then my steering power was gone and the car went out of control and we crash onto the right side railing and then again on the left side and the car went flying into the ditch. I would like an investigation because I no longer have the car the bank took it and they want me to pay for it. Thank you....updated 04/08/15

- Pocono Summit, PA, USA

problem #10

Oct 152014


  • miles
Car drove perfectly fine when purchased new 18months.ago. But after having it for 3months. Things started to go wrong. First incident was with the cruise control it has failed to shut off for me 3X. Applying pressure to the brakes didn't help or solve the problem either. After multiple times of pressing the off button it shut off after putting the car in neutral. Took it to car dealer ship & the computer was updated but no issues found. On many occasions my car has seemed to have shifting problems especially coming out of 1st gear. Took it into the dealership & no issues found the mechanic said car seemed fine but to return if problem returned. The problem still comes and goes but I try to ignore it because the shifting issue didn't seem any worse. But now recently in the last couple months another problem is occurring my tire pressure is always off checking it almost daily. I brought my car in and purchased new tires. The problem with the tire pressure still exists along with it pulling bad to the right, & I'm able to feel shaking in the steering wheel at as low as 25mph, reaching speeds 50+ the shaking is only felt at times, continues to pull & feels like I don't have complete control of the car. I took my car in again a week ago to the tire center and I was told they could feel what I was feeling but couldn't find the issue. I requested a alignment but they also said that was unnecessary because the alignment was fine. The shaking and pulling is now getting much worse and today we picked up yet another problem. Well stopped/parked car idles hard & feels as if its gonna stall out. A friend overlooked my car. He climbed underneath and had me apply a small about of pressure on the accelerator. Said he a whistling/sputter sound like its hesitating. He felt the shaking in the steering wheel when the rpms where at 1 & parked. Only approx. 32,000miles.

- Arlee, MT, USA

problem #9

Jul 012014

200 6-cyl

  • miles


After driving for a short amount of time ( 20-30 minutes) - when making turns or turning the steering wheel or going over speed bumps I start hearing a knocking / clunking noise coming from the left side of the car. The sound makes me very uneasy and it make you feel like the front end of the car is about to come apart. Not sure what is causing this problem, but it is a problem, and you should not be hearing this sound what so ever in any car! there needs to be a recall because after looking up this issue online, it didn't take long to find that their are a lot of other Chrysler owners experiencing the same problem!

- Carefree, AZ, USA

problem #8

Nov 112014

200 6-cyl

  • 39,540 miles
I am having an issue with my Chrysler 200, I have 39540 miles on this vehicle, and my problem started on 11/11/14. As I was driving I could hear and feel a popping in my steering column. I was driving at 5 mph when I noticed it, I pulled over to check tires. It is really noticeable when making turns verses just driving straight. My son took it to dealership, and upon inspection, they informed me that the tie rods and rack and pinion are worn and have a lot of play. I purchased this vehicle new in July 2013 and should not be having a serious issues with steering mechanism, which they say is not covered under warranty.

- Taft, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 042013

200 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
When I first got my car I noticed it pulling to the right took it to the dealership and they charged me $85 for alignment and it still continued to do it took it back they said it was in the steering I can't remember the service man's exact wording. I was driving about 3 weeks ago I was on the freeway going about 60 miles an hr and I had a blow out on front passenger side thankfully I was able to pull over on shoulder safely. Took the tire to our dealership and he said it was worn from the inside not just normal wear and tear. Anyway we called Chrysler and we asked them why didn't they have a recall on this steering problem they said they haven't had any complaints. This is very dangerous cause I have to hold tightly to my steering wheel to keep it from not going to to the right. Plus I see there are others who are having the same problems with brakes squealing and the car jerking into gear please let me know what I can do about these problems. My car has just turned a year old. Thank you.

- Loganville , GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 302014


  • 200,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 200. The contact stated while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel started to shake violently. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician advised the contact that the tires needed to be replaced. The tires were replaced but the failure continued. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,200.

- Warick, RI, USA

problem #5

Apr 032014


  • 6,500 miles


Vehicle has noise at steering assy. When could also feel it. Took it to Chrysler dealer and it was determined to be tie rods. How can a vehicle with only 6500 miles on it have bad tie-rods? they just don't make them like they use to.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Mar 152013

200 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle 11/2012. It is 2013 200S with the V6 engine. I've complained about the torque pull on both take-off and acceleration at highway speeds. It drifts to the right in a short driving distance and the steering wheel shakes at different speeds. I've returned it to the dealer for repairs on four different occasions only to have them say nothing is wrong. The problem began at about 2000 miles, it now has 10,500 miles and the problem continues. Once the warranty expires the problem will be found and I will have to pay to fix it. I do know the torque pull issue is because of the drive line design, the V6 should have a limited slip unit, they can't do anything about that now. The other issues they can, but won't because it costs money. Chrysler got my money but never again. I'm going elsewhere to purchase my next vehicle.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #3

Sep 232013


  • miles
I bought this car September 14 2013. With in a week it was in the shop due to alignment issues and other cosmetic issues, fixed cosmetic issues and did an alignment on the car with in 4 days the alignment went out again was back in the shop again and underwent another alignment had the car back for about 4 days again alignment was off again and during a drive to Michigan the floor got hot. The next day the floor got hot again and the car shut off. I had to take it to the shop again. After another 5 days the alignment was out again. They but it on the road force and the alignment was fixed. Now my car shakes, the engineer at Chrysler said its the tires, replaced tired and it still shakes. This car is unsafe for my family and is a nightmare on trying to get them to get me a new car. Thank you for listening.

- Nappanee , IN, USA

problem #2

Oct 042012

200 6-cyl

  • 50 miles
We test drove a different car than the one we took delivery on and it seemed fine. We took delivery on this vehicle and have trouble since we drove it off the lot. When starting from a slow roll or a dead stop when you accelerate it violently pulled to the right. We returned this car and it was serviced. They did an alignment and checked tire pressure. It was improved but still pulled. Secondly when driving on a less than perfect road the driver continually feels like a loss of control could happen at any time not to mention driving in windy conditions or the snow here in Michigan. Recently we had the vehicle back to a local dealer and was told the car has torque pull and it's normal. I asked about the wondering all over the road and the service rep said the service tech didn't notice anything wrong. Note the road it was drove on is less than five old concrete. This vehicle requires two hands all the time. We feel as if there is a problem with this model Chrysler 2013 200 and is not being addressed by Chrysler. I have looked in several forums and have read about several other owners having the same trouble. Any assistance in resolving this problem would be great.

- Chesterfield Twp , MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 232013


  • 2,810 miles
I have a 2013 Chrysler 200 that was purchased in 11/12, it has 2810 miles on it and is falling apart. I took in to the shop because the brakes were squealing and there was a rubbing sound in the front end. The brakes were replaced and the rotors were scuffed and now the rack N pinion will need to be replaced on Tuesday. The car sounds as if it has 300,000 miles instead of less than 3000. The tappets are rattling when it idles at a stop light and the transmission feels like it slams from 2nd to 3rd. This just started when I was returning home from having it in the shop. I will never purchase another Chrysler product and when this one is paid for in 2015 I will get trade it because the car is not safe, in my opinion. I had planned on giving it to my son but I do not wish him to be hurt in an unsafe vehicle that had mechanical when it had less than 3000 miles on it. I am not reporting the service department because they did listen to me and fixed some of the issues with parts they had in stock, but had to order the rack N pinion as to replace it on Tuesday. I feel these are serious issues that should be addressed before a car owner is hurt or killed. I will be contacting someone possibly the highway safety and transportation board about these issues so that a recall can be issued or it can be noted and kept on file for future problems.

- Ward, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?