Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,673 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Nov 202016

200

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel seized. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a pole and was split in half. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The air bags deployed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention, such as a broken nose, cuts to the face and hands, a sprained neck, head trauma, and bruises to both legs and chest. The contact did not recall exactly what happened due to being unconscious. The vehicle was towed to a junk yard where it was deemed destroyed. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #22

Oct 022015

200

  • 5,000 miles
Car shuts down completely during driving. No brakes steering or anything. Someone is going to die in this car. Dealer can't fix problems. Will just happen.

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

problem #21

Sep 172016

200

  • miles
My vehicle is now a year old and was purchased with 54 miles on the car. Purchase complete in June, by September vehicle needed the motor replaced (so disappointing and such an inconvenience). The car has been stalling amid traffic which is extremely dangerous. The dealership supposedly fixed that issue and yet more stalling now than before. I have reached out to Chrysler several times about this lemon and not much help has been given at all. As I type now the complaints with the car is that the car stalls displaying the battery light but starts back up. Took the car to dealership to see exactly what the problem was and of course they stated the same thing (oh the battery must be replaced) at the expense of $390 which I refused those services. Went to get battery tested from a second opinion and the battery life was fine and was not die to be replaced. Now when the car stalls it displays the battery light, traction light, power steering unavailable and shuts off. Well to top that problem and the 3 or fourth time of stalling depending on the distance, car shuts down completely for approximately 20 minutes displaying braking system notification when the car now does not shift into and gears. The air/heating system, radio, lights, etc still works but car can't go into park, drive, reverse, neutral, or low. I emailed Chrysler along with pictures and of course I am yet to get a reply.

- Pickens, MS, USA

problem #20

Apr 012016

200

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving various speeds, a loud popping sound emitted from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was recently serviced for a software repair through warranty. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Apr 172016

200

  • 12,000 miles
On December 2015, I bought the 2015 Chrysler 200 limited from gilroy Chrysler dealer. (malfunction #1) on Sunday April 17, 2015, @ approximately 9:45 I drove my Chrysler less than a mile from my home when I made a right turn & my car turned off and the steering wheel locked up. I started my vehicle and was able to drive it. (malfunction #2) the vehicle has also had problems making a clicking noise when going in reverse like metal on metal contact. (malfunction #3) when I put the vehicle in drive it is delayed and changes hard. On April 23, 2015 my vehicle was serviced for an oil change & tire rotation @ (stevens creek Jeep Dodge) 4100 stevens creek blvd, ca 95129 and the service advisor was advised. He advised they were booked up for 3 weeks in order to conduct a diagnostic check under the vehicle's warranty. The vehicle was serviced and it is scheduled for the first week of May. The dealer would not give a for a temporary vehicle until the vehicle is safe to drive. I am a single mother two children.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 202016

200

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving between 20 to 70 mph, the steering locked intermittently without warning. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer twice, but the dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact not to drive the vehicle and to seek help with the lemon law. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Tenino, WA, USA

problem #17

Nov 282015

200

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home and my transmission and power steering went out on me and caused me to hit a median and I almost got into a serious accident. Chrysler hasn't been professional at all in regards to this recall and I'm disturbed. I could have really been hurt and I'm not ok with the fact I have to come out of pocket for something that isn't my fault and could have potentially died. The car was in motion and I was turning in a busy intersection.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Nov 052015

200

  • 29,750 miles
Car will stall out with no warning at any speed or maneuver, disabling power steering. I drive in austin, Texas traffic and it is extremely dangerous if stall occurs on their many, many expressways and overpasses. This has happened on neighborhood streets, downtown streets and on ih 35.

- Del Valle, TX, USA

problem #15

Feb 032015

200

  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel jerked and turned to the left or right on its own. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic steering failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,500.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 022015

200

  • 20,000 miles
Transmission failure it was replaced once and went again so less than 20K miles and it went through 2 transmissions. I feel very unsafe and refuse to drive the car after the last incident. A/C froze up had to replace carpet in vehicle 2X I have had a rental car for the last 2 months while it was being repaired. Transmission failed going up hill 70 mph in pa with semi-truck behind me who almost rear ended me the vehicle shut off and I lost all power including power steering. I slowed down at 15 mph the car went into park and the E-brake went on and jerked us all over the car.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #13

Aug 202015

200

  • 7,205 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of speed& shaking of car as it slowed down & showed to put it P & start. Happened also at 30 miles an hour in parking lot, then ran ok 5 miles to dealership. Fear to take it any where.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #12

Aug 102015

200

  • 17,400 miles
I was traveling on highway 17 and attempting to traverse an overpass at 66mph, when suddenly my check engine light came on and the car began to lurch and decelerate. I put on my hazards and was attempting to apply brakes and navigate to the shoulder when I lost my ability to steer the vehicle and the service transmission alarm began going off. I pressed the brakes until the car came to a complete stop (thankfully was not rear-ended) and turned the car off and back on. Luckily the car restarted, however after traveling less than 500ft the problem occurred again. This time I was able to pull into a parking lot and call my husband. I turned the car off and waited a few minutes before restarting, however the car only stayed on for about 45 seconds before it died and would not restart. I contacted Chrysler roadside assistance after providing my location, the customer service rep asked me the following question point blank "were you driving down the road and your car stalled?" to which I replied that it was curious she asked me that as it was exactly what happened. I asked her if it was a known issue and she said no she was just required to ask the question. The car was towed to the dealership and the following codes were noted: P2302, P2305, P2308, P2311. Intermittent aod and B feed circuits F3 3. the dealership flashed the PCM, inspected, repaired the pdc connector C4 terminal pushouts on pins 15 & 18. But after reading the numerous complaints here, I was not convinced that the issue was resolved. I contacted my friend and sales person who's father owned the dealership, and they assisted us with a vehicle trade as having your car die and lose steering at 66mph is a huge safety issue. I am amazed at the number of complaints on this site which has failed to raise alarm for both Chrysler and NHTSA....I guess someone has to die first due to this issue...

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #11

Apr 092015

200

  • 10,250 miles
On April 9, 2015, with my entire family in the car, we suffered a complete computer shutdown at 55 mph just four miles from my home. I was able to get my car almost off the road before it coasted to a stop. During this shutdown I was not able to steer the car, use the brakes, use the gas, or pull safely off the road. After tugging the shifter nob into park and trying to start the car it just made terrible clicking sounds. The service lights would flash and the car would shake as the engine was making these loud clicking sounds. I was not able to restart the car and was forced to leave it where it sat for the tow truck to arrive. I was informed that there was a problem with the power distribution center and it needed to be replaced. I was without a vehicle for 7 days from the time needed to get the part and having to wait for a ride to the dealership to pick my car up. The car continued to shift at odd times and it still lunged when put into park and lights would occasionally flash on dashboard. I assumed that this was due to the new 9 speed transmission. On July 23, 2015 at 1:15pm my car once again suffered a total shutdown identical to the previous one. This situation was far more frightening due to my speed and location of the shutdown. I was traveling at 65mph in heavy traffic on I-26 in North Carolina. If not for the alert drivers behind me I would have suffered catastrophic injuries if not death due to losing all speed and steering on a busy interstate.

- Columbus, NC, USA

problem #10

Jun 202015

200

  • 2,345 miles
We were at a stop sign when we heard a noise and felt a jolt. We got out of the car to observe what had happened and discovered that the ball joint was not properly installed from the factory. The pinch bolt was installed but the head of the ball joint never passed completely through. When it came apart, it came apart with such force that it jerked the axel out and caused some minor body damage. The right front tire was flipped out and turned. The front end of the car was resting on the fender. As stated on the repair invoice...."lower ball joint separated from knuckle, doesn't appear to be fully installed. Replaced right front lower arm, knuckle, axel, splash shield. Relearn power steering and four wheel alignment". we were on our way to a week long vacation and had to spend it in a dealership and enterprise rental car Agency. Vehicle was not repaired when we had to leave and come home. I have videos and photos. Spoke to Chrysler care who seemed willing to work with us. I advised that my daughter was terrified to drive this car again. We had only had it 2 weeks. This was her first new car purchase. She is a full time nursing student and works a full time job. We asked that Chrysler just replace the vehicle with one of equal value and was told by the buyback department that they were refusing to do that and that this was covered under the warranty. The vehicle is still sitting at a Chrysler dealer in myrtle beach SC. It has been there over a month. Chrysler has refused to assist us. I have spoken to an attorney and was advised that I would need to sue Chrysler Corp. And the dealership. This vehicle passed 2 inspections at the dealer with faulty assembley. I have copies of all phone conversations, the time and name of who I spoke with along with a copy of the invoice. Thank you in advance for your assistance!

- Ripley, WV, USA

problem #9

May 032015

200 4-cyl

  • 10,876 miles
On May 3, 2015 while driving down the highway with my children, the car stalled and I lost complete control of all steering and braking function. I immediately placed on my hazards as cars swerved left and right to avoid slamming into me. I attempted to restart the car and it wouldn't restart. After sitting for approximately 5 minutes, the car finally restarted. As I finally started to go, the car would accelerate quickly and then slow down. Within 10 minutes, it stalled again while driving. It did this 2 more times. Service was called and the car was taken to the shop. The next day I received a call that the car was fixed. I picked up the car and drove it for one day. Driving home from work on May 6, 2015, it again stalled while I was driving and almost caused me to crash as I lost all steering and braking ability. Again, the car would not restart. Service was called and took the car to a different authorized dealer. I received a call today May 8th that the car was fixed and ready to go. I picked up the car and drove home. Before arriving to my home, the car stalled again and again I lost all steering and braking ability. Service was called once more and the car was taken back to the shop it went to the first time this happened on May 3.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #8

Apr 112015

200

  • 5,100 miles
I am leasing the Chrysler 200C.I leased it in October 2014, within the first month it was back with check engine light and check transmission light. Next one headlight and back light would stay on when car was off and then sometimes both headlights would stay on when car was off.brought car back to service due to this and check engine light on again was told there was a recall on my car it was the RO8 parkrod.I was then told false alarm there is no recall I was given back car.I got in touch with Chrysler customer care to find out about this and I was told to drive the car see if check engine light came back on.while driving on an interstate the car began to bounce, steering wheel tightened, speed dropped to zero, RPM went up, and nothing happened when I tried to accelerate. I was able to pull over to shoulder.I am still trying to get car fixed.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 242015

200

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering failure seek service warning indicator illuminated. The parking brake engaged and the service parking brake warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 152015

200 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Driver lost control of steering while driving down a dirt road. The vehicle crashed into a tree. All airbags went off. The vehicle was un-drivable afterwards. Insurance adjuster and repair facility indicated that the left front strut had come out of it's housing and was likely the cause of the accident. Chrysler has identified this as a recall for 21000 vehicles but has yet to issue a recall notice...updated 03-23-15....updated 04/08/15 updated 10/15/2015

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 062014

200

  • 500 miles
As I pulled out onto the highway, my car began to stall, it would not pull forward. It made a noise like the transmission is going out. So, I came to a complete stop and started on my route again. This has happened several times. The last time was 2/21/2015 at just over 5100 miles. My car would not change gears, so I had to come to a complete stop and turn the car off and restart the car in order for the gears to change. I have also noticed that the floor board on the drive side passenger floor is wet. I have no idea where the water is coming from.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #4

Dec 292014

200 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while making a right or left turn, the steering wheel seized and made an abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the strut mount bushings needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200....updated 05-27-15 the consumer was informed the strut mount housing was defective. Updated 05/29/15

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?