Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Oct 292013

300C 8-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up with gas I went about 2-3 miles on US1 in wake forest, after stopping at the light at us1A I proceeded to turn onto us1A and my car stalled. I was in the middle of a lot of traffic and I had to manage to turn onto the side of the road and restart the car to continue to proceed. After traveling about another 1 to 2 miles it stalled again. This is the second time after filling the gas tank that this has happened and when the vehicle stalls I lose power steering which makes it very difficult to drive.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #41

May 192013

300C 8-cyl

  • 75,598 miles
Engine stalled for first time less than 2 miles after fill up at 25 mph on city street. Immediately loss power assist of both steering and brakes. Car weights 4040 lbs and I had a difficult time pulling into a parking lot and getting the car stopped. Car was immediately restarted. No future problems until nearly every refill when it stalls within first few seconds or 2 miles. Car now has 79550 miles. My wife drives this most frequently but I always fill the gas tank. I told her when it stalls, steer straight, put car in neural, restart, and hope you do not have to stop quickly. In NHTSA action number PE13016 Chrysler's [xxx] letter Aug 9, 2013 last page 17 states "if a stall after refuel conditions occurs, the vehicle has functioning steering and brake systems". true but with out power assist on steering and brakes car is very difficult to control. Most women and small men would have difficulty safely stopping car. Chrysler concludes this issue poses and minor risk to vehicle safety. I am a retired mechanical engineer and worked 40 years with power trains and strongly disagree. In this review vehicles 5, 6, and 7 all had problems with swollen refueling floats allowing the floats to stick and not function properly. All three cars were 2006 300C with 5.7 liter hemi engines the same as mine.. on A11.page 15, Chrysler acknowledges the vent valves was changed for my 2007. This appears to acknowledge a poor or faulty design in my 2006. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gardendale, AL, USA

problem #40

Oct 212010

300C 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle has had 3 incidents of engine stalling. 1st was early morning after being driven only.7 miles. Next was 11/5/2013 after filling up on way home. Car died at stop sign. Next was 11/6/2013 after being driven less then a mile. Car restarted after each incident.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #39

May 052013

300C 8-cyl

  • 115,320 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle will stall out on me intermittently. It mostly happens right after I get finished putting gas in my car. Unlike most other stories I've read about overfilling the gas tank, this happens to me sometimes when I put just a half of a tank of gas in my car. Now, as of Nov. 7, 2013, it's done it well over 100 times; that's since the first time it happened in May. The dealership is a complete scam. They know this is a defect. They've charged me to fix everything from egr valves to pcms to spark plugs. Nothing has worked.then finally I decide to do some deep research, that's when I decided to file my complaint. There are 2 major issues I have. When at highway speeds, I'll lose all power and throttle response for a split second, then it'll kick back in. It's extremely dangerous, to say the least. The more frequent problem, is the car completely cutting off while either at idle, or traveling at a lower speed. Both situations happen almost always directly after I put gas in my car. This happens so much that it is becoming unbearable. Sometime it starts back up, and sometimes I have to wait a minute or two. It's ridiculous. I don't mind paying to have my car serviced. However, diagnose the problem, know that's the problem, and let's get it fixed. Don't run me through $3,000 worth of repairs, knowing that you've got countless others with the same model and model year, coming in around the same time, complaining about the same problem. You know what it is. That's no coincidence. And quite frankly, it's fraudulent. I've got my 5 year old son riding in the back seat. What happens the next time my car stalls out on the highway and loses power, with another car tailgating me" what if it's a tractor trailer next time? will they have enough time to brake or plow into the back of me" more unnecessary stress and worry for the loyal consumer. Thanks Chrysler.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #38

Sep 022013

300C 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The car has been stalling out after being started. Now it is almost shutting off or becoming unresponsive mid acceleration from a stop sign. The car will at random stall. The engine does not need to be restarted so far while driving. It will "die" for a few seconds and then comes back again just short of complete engine shut down. Rear window on passenger side is also non responsive. It has only worked once since I have had the car.

- Laurel, DE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Nov 042013

300C 8-cyl

  • 113,332 miles
My husband filled up the tank on 110413 (already had 1/4 tank). I drove to and from work, but once I backed into the yard the vehicle would not crank again. As I revved the engine the car would act like it would continue running after the initial start up, but as soon as I took my foot off of the accelerator the car cut off. I had to have the car towed to a Chrysler dealership, but no one mentioned the issues that customers have been having with this specific vehicle (2006 300C with hemi). Vehicle is currently in the shop and the mechanic mentioned it might be the engine... oh really!!!!!

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #36

Apr 242013

300C 8-cyl

  • 26,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling my gas tank, at 1/2 a tank, I pulled away from the pump and the car stalled. After restarting I continued on my way. Every time I slowed down for traffic, or a stop sign, or traffic light, the car stalled. This happened 6-8 times on my way home where the car was parked until the next day. After starting, the engine "spitted, and spurted" on acceleration. It then smoothed out, and ran fine, until this latest incident. Also, the last time the car was fueled, it would not accept gas, the hose kept shutting off. Tried another pump, same result, went to another gas station, same result.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #35

Oct 242012

300C 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Car stalls after filling at gas station due to flooding or other issue. Dealer would not admit its a problem. Happened approx 4 times where I stalled in traffic and almost was rear ended. Had to drive vehicle in parking lot accelerating 8 times to burn off fuel before it was safe to drive while car shuddered. Cannot fill up tank anymore. Was told I need a new tank but there was a 6 month back order due to all the people requesting new tanks.

- Sunland, CA, USA

problem #34

Oct 242013

300C 8-cyl

  • 26,500 miles
Vehicle stalls after refueling aprox 0.5miles after departing fuel station. Vehicle has stalled on approach to freeway and in potentially fatal situations. Feel unsafe driving vehicle due to continued problems. Suspect recall should be done since this seems to be a bigger problem.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #33

Oct 172013

300C 8-cyl

  • 106,640 miles
After leaving the gas station (filling the tank) the car sputtered a few times, then as I approached a stop light it stalled out. I pulled away okay but it stalled again at the next light. After getting gas, the car is hesitant while driving and stalls out, usually lasting for 1-3 miles.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #32

Jan 212013

300C 8-cyl

  • 65,409 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I filled the fuel tank the car would stall leaving the service station. Then it started when I was driving slow over rough pavement or speed bumps. At these times I did not realize the car had stalled until I saw the oil light on. The dealership could find nothing wrong with the car but suggested that the oil pressure switch be changed. The problem stilled persisted so I had the car tuned up. Problem still continued and so I stopped buying a particular brand of gas because while leaving the station which is on the incline the car stalled and a bunch of lights came on and one indicated a problem with the gas. I have had the fuel injectors cleaned and stopped topping of the tank but the problem has not gone away. I have to drive two major highways for doctor appointments and cannot afford to have this car stall like this in major traffic. The car will be going along smoothly and then it starts lurching like I am trying to accelerate and brake at the same time. This presents a dangerous situation. The car goes in tomorrow to be checked again.I had driven 25 miles since the last fill and the car acted so erratic that I an afraid to drive it because you can't control where it is going when it stalls (no brakes or power steering.

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #31

Sep 252013

300C 8-cyl

  • 186,030 miles
I was on the way to a doctors appt with my pregnant daughter on 264 heading towards chesapeake, va. I was doing 55 mph and the tank was on 1/8 th of a tank. As we were driving, about 15 min later, the car lurched, a ding was heard, the etc light flashed, the rpms dropped to 0, then resumed a second later causing the lurching forward. About 3 to 4 minutes and intermittently over the next 15 min later, it did the same thing, but also stalled at the stop lights on the way there. No codes came up when diagnostics were put on it. The throttle control unit was replaced and a relearn was done, this did nothing. Same thing happened. I have read many other reports of this happening and no one has an exact fix for this. Also, may have nothing to do with this, but about 2 weeks prior to this happening, I was filling up with gas and the tank overflowed. No problems occurred through the next 3 or 4 fill ups, the tank was on an 1/8 when the first hesitation and stalling occurred.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #30

Oct 102013

300C 8-cyl

  • 78,513 miles
I was on the entrance ramp to route 495S, about to enter the highway, with cars behind me, and the engine stalled. This was particularly dangerous for myself and other drivers because there was no break-down lane at the end of the entrance ramp. You go directly onto the highway. If I was on the highway when the car stalled there was nowhere for me or the cars behind me to go. They would have had to attempt to stop, too. One of the restart issues with this car is that it must be stopped and in park before you can restart the engine. It is not possible to restart the car while it is moving.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #29

Sep 222013

300C 8-cyl

  • 34,985 miles
I filled up my Chrysler 300 just after buying it for the first time. After fill up I pulled away from the gas station and got to the stop light and it stalled. I restarted it and it would not go into gear at first but after a minute it did. Went for about hundred feet and it stalled again in front of my house. Then the next morning it ran fine until I filled it up again and it did the same thing stalled right after I filled it with gas I checked with the local dealer and they said they are aware of this problem and that it is an issue with the design of the gas tank and purge valve that only can be corrected by replacement of the fuel tank. I checked online and this an issue has happened for many owners and they have been told the same thing by there dealers. It is a factory design error that only be corrected by the fuel tank replacement as well as the purge valve. The reason it stalls is that when filled up the tank and purge vale floods the throttle body with raw fuel and the car stalls this stalling can cause an accident very easy as well as effecting the emissions of the vehicle. I feel that Chrysler should issue a recall for this defect which I understand has effected the Dodge charger as well as the challenger.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #28

Aug 292013

300C 8-cyl

  • 31,616 miles
On 8/29, I picked my car up from the dealership for a repair to the body. When I attempted to start the vehicle, it turned over but would not start. After several attempts, I went back inside and made the service manager aware. He came out and after a few tries, it started. They told me they didn't know what was wrong with it but that it seemed to be fine so I could take it. I started the vehicle with no issue and took it to a nearby gas station to fill it up. After filling it up, it would not start. The vehicle was towed back to the dealership. It was at the dealership from 8/29 to 9/26. During that time, the battery was changed, the evap canister was replaced and the gas tank was replaced. When I went to pick the vehicle up on 9/26, it would not start. After several attempts and pumping the gas while turning the ignition, the vehicle started. I am now only able to start the vehicle if the gas pedal an pumped while the key is being turned. The vehicle has also attempted to stall several times since I got it back and doesn't have the power it had when I bought it. I have also smelled gas while driving immediately after accelerating. My check engine light is now on also. The dealer has requested that I bring the vehicle back to them and I fear that it will be there another 4 weeks and return to me in the same or even worse condition!

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #27

Sep 202013

300C 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
After refueling my car suddenly lost acceleration and stalled without any warning as I was leaving the gas station. I restarted the car and the same thing happened 3 more times. This particular incident has happened four times before; each time I topped off" my gas tank. I was concerned that I could be involved in an accident so I took the car to the dealership" and after several days was told that the fuel line was cracked and the gas tank needed to be replaced. After paying $1,700 and renting a car for 4 days, I was told that the problem will go away. We shall see. My car is well maintained with oil changes every 3,000 miles with only 55,000 miles. I also only use 89 octane fuel as recommended in the owner's manual. I contacted Chrysler and was told that there is no recall on this, even though quite a number of drivers have complained about this same problem. They all complained that the car stopped after refueling and topping off the tank. I think this should be a recall.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 182012

300C 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Car stalls immediately after filling up. I switched filling stations, brands and octanes. Continued to have problem. After a few gallons were used, the stalling went away each time. Problem now continues while stopped at traffic lights, traveling at low speeds, or no pressure on the throttle. While moving it will stall, the engine light will come on and "ding", then when I pump the throttle it will catch itself and the car will jerk hard and accelerate again. At traffic lights once it stalls, it will require using the key to restart. I took the car to the dealer twice for the problem, the last time in Aug 2013, the check engine light had stayed on. They reset the codes and could not duplicate the problem.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #25

Nov 192012

300C 8-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
After filling up my gas tank, I encountered numerous stalls while driving. Thankfully, it was city driving early in the morning. Since then, I have encountered numerous situations where the car has stalled after filling up. I initially thought it was bad gas (I.e. water in my gas tank), however, I have since varied the fueling stations and brands I use and have seen no effect. It always seems to happen after I fill up, and it seems to go away after the tank has emptied a bit. The latest encounter was yesterday (I filled up two days prior) while I had my family in the car - multiple stalls in mid-day city traffic. And again this morning. The gas tank is still quite full (it shows over "F" on the gauge). I _never_ top off when I fill - I simply wait until the filler turns itself off when filling. I have never seen this problem prior to the first occurrence in mid November of 2012, which I initially (as indicated) wrote off as bad gas due to hurricane sandy (I figured the storm may have caused water in the tanks of gas stations). After hearing about numerous issues on this, I wanted to add my experiences to the growing list. The car in question is a 2006 Chrysler 300C srt-8.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #24

Aug 022013

300C 8-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
I completely filled up my gas tank (not just a top off) Friday afternoon. After driving a few miles, while in the turning lane and crossing traffic my car shut itself off. The steering wheel locked up and I was unable to steer to safety. I had to put the car in neutral and "coast" to the side. Luckily I was turning at a turning light and there wasn't heavy traffic. This was very dangerous and scared me! I tried to start my car and was unable to do so. It wouldn't "turn over" the first time. The second time trying to start it, it didn't seem like it would start and then finally started. The only light that came on (after the car shut itself off) was the oil like. My oil is completely full. Was just changed a month ago using synthetic. I had a mechanic look at it and was told that there was nothing wrong with it.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #23

May 012013

300C 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled after it was refueled. The failure was experienced numerous times. The contact was able coast on the road shoulder and restart the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the fuel tank. The fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 25,000 and approximate current mileage was 26,000. Updated 9/4/13

- Tucson , AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?