Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments

problem #17

Jun 012016


  • miles


I see double in my driver side mirror (auto dim). I feel this is a safety issue no matter how many miles or how old the car is and should be taken care of by Chrysler free of charge.

- Northwood, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 152016


  • 970,000 miles
I have been noticing that my car will stall out randomly.when im driving it just stalls out...its pretty started about a month ago..also..I have replaced my lower arm controls on both sides and iam still hearing a grinding noice when I turn left..please help me to figure this out..

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #15

Jun 302016


  • miles
Today for the 1st time since I've had my Chrysler 300C hemi 5.7 liter V8 just randomly stopped at a red light. After taking out the key and restarting the car back up it continued to run, but as soon as we drove off at a low speed you can hear the engine shake and stumble a bit and wanting to stop. I have never encountered problems before since I got it back in 2014.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 162015


  • miles


I bought my car in January 2015. As of December 2015 it started stalling. It would start jerking when I gave it gas. It would shut off when I either tried to take off from a complete stop or when I was just stopped or in the middle of me driving within 40 mph. I took it to the Chrysler dealership (not the dealer I bought it from) they diagnosed it was the wiring harness. I paid over $1200 to get it fixed. The same problem happened within 24 hours of me picking it up. It was there for almost 2 months, they said it did not do anything when it was there. Only said I needed a new battery. I had them replace the battery. Then it happened again about a month later. This time they diagnosed the fuel tank needed to be replaced. Once work was complete I picked it up and less than 5 minutes after leaving I was broke down again. This is the 5th time its been there in the last 5 months. Also I never received a refund after the mis-disgnosis! this is frustrating!

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 012014


  • 5 miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler 300C and it would shut off while driving. The fuel tank was replaced and the car still shut off while driving, without any warning. I took the car to another dealership and they couldn't figure out what was wrong, so they said they would have to send a star case to Chrysler engineer, to help figure out what was wrong with the car.they said it was ok to drive until they heard from Chrysler engineer.16miles and 15days later when I tried to start the car it wouldn't start, so I had it towed back to the dealership and they started the car, then came out and told me I needed a motor. They the motor dropped 2valve seats. Something isn't right about this. I called Chrysler and they won't help.

- Palestine, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Dec 142015


  • 120,000 miles
Engine failure. My wife was driving the car and it was running fine. She went into the store and came back out and the car wouldn't start. Had it towed to the dealer and they said catastrophic engine failure and it would be $8000 to repair it. I contacted chrylser customer service and they said there was nothing they could do. I had the car towed to another shop just to find out what was really wrong. I was told this is a very common problem with the 2005-2007 5.7 hemi motors. He told me it's normally caused by a intake valve seat falling out. Sure enough when he took it apart the #4 intake valve seat had fell out and wrecked the #4 cylinder. I know this might not be a safety issue but I don't know where else to turn. I've been searching this issue online and there are so many people in the same boat as me and we can't get anything done about it. This is not a vehicle model issue this is an engine issue because it is happening in anything that the 5.7 hemi motor was put in and mainly from 2005-2007. Some people have had this happen to them while driving so I'm just lucky that my failure happened when my wife was parked.

- Driftwood, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 232014


  • miles


Takata inflator, engine failure, fuel tank replaced vehicle wass shutting off while driving before fuel tank was replaced and after fuel tank was replaced.. under a extended life time warranty. Took to another dealership in palestine Texas told them vehicle was shutting off while driving and fuel tank was replaced by another dealership in tyler Texas. They could not figure out what was wrong, they said it was ok to drive until they receive a response from Chrysler (a star case)or something like that.they said there was no response from Chrysler until one day II went to start the car and it didn't start. I called dealership in palestine dealership, had it towed to them. 16 miles later and 15 days later, I was told I needed complete motor. Metal pieces in intake and 2valve seats had dropped.later on 11/20/2015 had the head took off to confirm damages to the head and valves.also on 12/19/2014 when vehicle towed in, they started the vehicle and was accelerating the car I was right there in the waiting room, thinking it's fixed, then come tell me I need a motor.

- Palestine, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 202016


  • 130,199 miles
My car keeps shutting off. Today when I was leaving my sons appointment my car shut off it would crank right back up but it kept cutting off. I tryed it five times and it wouldn't stay crunk. I had to leave my car stranded because it was sleeting outside and my son was in the car. I have took my car to the dealership and they continue to tell me they can't diagnose a problem so there's nothing they can do. This problem needs to be fixed before someone gets hurt are killed.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Dec 192015


  • 130,911 miles
My car has been cutting off every time I fill it up since I purchased it. I took it to the dealer on 12/01/2015 they said it was a faulty gas tank they replaced the tank on 12/14/2015. On 12/19/2015 I was going over 50 miles per hour and my car just cut off no warning. I was able to crank it back up and pull off the road and soon as I got off the road it cut off again this time a bolting light came up on the dash. I waited two minutes and crunk it back up it immediately cut back off and the bolting light again. I waited 10 minutes and it stayed crunk and I was able to make it home. The next day the same problem occurred again the RPM gauge just drops and the car shuts off.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #8

May 272015


  • 56,449 miles
The car cut off 3 times in one day for no apparent reason; once while pulling out into oncoming traffic, then after fueling the car and pulling out of the gas station into oncoming traffic, then while driving down the street at about 35 mph. Fortunately, I safely guided the car to the side of the road to avoid a collision. The dealership replaced 2 sensors (code:P0038)- $501.98. One week later, the car continued to cut off while driving. The dealership codes that came up: P0038, P0058, P0052, P0032, pmc & engine harness, & pmc engine computer - $2000 - declined repairs because sensors (P0038) were just replaced. Chrysler service bulletin 08-34-05 June 30, 2015 addresses this issue. Chrysler Corp -michael browsowski says the car (now 56,484 miles) is out of warranty so they owe us nothing, but as a good will gesture, they will pay for 2 parts only - not labor. He admitted that a car cutting off is unacceptable, but refused to cover the entire cost of repair. He also refused to reply to my written complaint in writing. Chrysler continues to shirk their responsibility to recall and repair this manufacturer's defect. Customer with same complaint:

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #7

May 152015


  • 78,000 miles


This is the fourth time for this incident my car gave no indication it was about to stall no lights on dash appeared that something switch the ignition to the accessory position. Unable to steer, or use the breaks the car stop immediately can not get to a safe place..has been to the Chrysler dealer four time this year for other related problems. But Chrysler was not able to diagnosis or repair this problem. Was told it would not read a was internal problem. For 21days they kept my car without repair..second visit was 9-10 days with approximately five day with the owner my latest stay was 4days. My car drove approxmate; 50 miles before stalling again. For the first time I use another repair shop other than Chrysler. The worker seem well pleased when I stated I would not return with the same problem. I spoke with the manger and could not get the problem solved.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #6

May 152015


  • 32,300 miles
While attempting to shift the vehicle out of park, the shifter would not move. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed with a faulty shifter mechanism that needed to be replaced. The cost was $468 and the part online can be repaired at no cost or replaced for $15 to $30. The failure mileage was 32,000. There are thousands of these complaints on the internet for more than just 2006 300C autos. If Chrysler does not admit to the flaw why doesn't the government make them step up and repair or reimburse consumers who will no doubt never buy another Chrysler vehicle? there should be a recall or at least Chrysler should pay when the part fails.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 142013


  • 115,463 miles
Not an accident issue my car would not come out of park. I found out that a small plastic piece had broken causing the spring engaged lever system not to work. From what I could see online there was a recall #K39 - transmission shifter interlock lever - and when I called in reference to this (1-800-853-1403 shannon) I was told that the Chrysler 300 was covered in this recall but not the Chrysler 300C. I asked why the 300C was not part of the recall and was advised that they did not have any other informaton, there was not anyone else I could speak to and that my only course of action would be to file a complaint. So I am submitting this form in hopes of finding out why the 300C is not included when the 300C definitely has this issue. I had to replace the whole shifter because of this small plastic pieces defect.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 262013


  • 110,000 miles
After filling the gas, the car shuts off. This has happened four times in the last three months. We have had the car towed four times for repair. Four times they cannot find an issue. This time the mechanic tells us to not fill up instead fill the tank three quarters.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 092013


  • 66,000 miles
L- the contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300 C. the contact stated that the she was unable to shift the vehicle out of the park position. The vehicle will be towed to a local dealer for inspection. The vehicle has not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer has not been notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 60000.-

- Athens, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 152010

300C 6-cyl

  • 46,342 miles
In September, 2010, while driving it, my Chrysler 300C began making a constant whining noise, especially while trying to accelerate. It stopped moving and I had to place it in park and turn it off. After restarting the car it would not accelerate and drive so it had to be towed into the dealership. The dealer told us that it was the transmission torque converter. So we had to pay $2926.91 to have it a transmission and torque converter replaced. Since then the same problem has occurred 3 more times over a span of 3 years; the last time a week ago (not quite 7 months from the last time). The dealer is now telling us that we must have driven through a rain puddle and that water has leaked into out transmission fluid and will not cover the cost of the repair even though the problem is exactly the same as the previous 3 times and the parts and labor are still under warranty.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 162012

300C 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Since January 2012, everytime I fill up the car with gas it cuts off coming out of the gas station, waiting at traffic lights, waiting in traffic, and even when driving on the highway. I am afraid to fill the tank. I have learned to circumvent this by not filling the tank. This is a major in. Also, this is dangerous. I have had this happen to me at least 30 times before figuring out not to fill the tank since the mechanic is unable to duplicate the problem without being there when I fill the tank. This car looks good from far but it is far from good!! I have had nothing but problems with it.

- New York, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?