Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Chrysler Crossfire has a nasty habit of having the back window fall out. While there are reports of this happening to every model year (2004-08), the 2005 has it worst. Naturally this problem tends to happen beyond the standard 3 year / 36,000 mile warranty leaving owners to pick up the tab along with the shattered pieces of glass.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Crossfire accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Crossfire:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Crossfire Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Aug 032015


  • 65,345 miles


Rear window completely seperated from convertible top. Car was parked in the driveway of my home..... updated 09/30/15

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #48

Jul 232015


  • 65,577 miles
I came outside and found the rear glass of the convertible top had came loose from the fabric. The car was not being driven but just fell out on it's own.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #47

May 202015


  • 51,100 miles
The rear window of the convertible top has come loose. The adhesive failed. This distorts the rear view presenting a safety hazard. This is manufacturing defect and should be fixed them.

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #46

Sep 262013


  • 34,000 miles


I bought this car with only 26000 miles on it the back windshield separated from the car at only approximately 34000 miles and still currently hanging there. Called Chrysler and they refused to fix, said car was shipped to some dealer up North, so it does not qualify to be fixed? additionally, I only have 40000 miles on it now and the key and fob, as well as locks no longer work, the car shuts off by itself while driving down the highway, the lights flash on the dash at all times.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #45

May 132015


  • 59,867 miles
Rear window has come unglued from the convertible top causing the rear window to separate from the top.

- Branson West, MO, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #44

Jul 042015


  • 87,500 miles
The rear window separated from the convertible top while I had the car parked outdoors. I found the car with the rear window area open and the glass lying on the interior of the backlight area. The glass remained connected to the top by about 1/3 of the original glue. The remainder had come apart from the glue leaving the glass mostly detached.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #43

Apr 042015


  • 27,700 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire convertible. The contact stated that while parked, the window rear glass separated and detached from the fabric convertible top. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,700.

- Sylvester, GA, USA

problem #42

Jun 062013


  • 55,000 miles
The back window in my 2005 crossfire came unglued and nearly fell in while I was driving. I had to get off the road and found a way to get home with it barely hanging on. I called my dealership and Chrysler only to learn that they had an extended warranty on 2005 crossfire tops but because my car was not sold in one of the nine southern states they would not help me. I was able to find someone to re-attach the widow on a temporary basis but it keeps coming unglued. I have been told the only permanent solution is to get a new top. I've spent 2 years limping along with make due remedies. Please help us.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #41

Jun 222015

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 64,548 miles
As many 2005 Chrysler Crossfire convertible tops, the rear window glass is separating from the convertible fabric. The adhesive has to be defective on all people are saying that 2008 are separating also....this is a very serious safety issue some windows have detached driving. Chrysler did recall tops for some cars, but only in a few states it is happening more then they have made it out to be. Please look into this as that was not a fair assessment to only a few cars when all 2005 have this problem... !..updated 08/13/15

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #40

Jun 202015


  • 57,900 miles
Rear windshield started falling out of the convertible top while car was sitting in the garage. Would have been dangerous if it came out on the highway.

- Brunswick, MD, USA

problem #39

Jun 012015


  • 56,000 miles


Rear window has started to separate from the top due to glue failure.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #38

Mar 312009


  • 6,500 miles
It's hard to imagine how anyone at NHTSA can sit and review all the reports on a serious manufacturing defect (and safety hazard) on these cars yet Chrysler get away with a partial recall based on where the Crossfires were initially delivered. Bottom line: As of late 2011, Chrysler will do the "right thing" only if one's car was "delivered" in one of several southern states -- in light of the fact that the problem seems to be related to heat. Chrysler will not do the right thing if the same problem (the rear window falls out of the convertible top) if the car was delivered somewhere else -- as if the same problem occurring in those states is somehow not a serious manufacturing defect. Or as if people don't move to other states during their lives. I will never buy a Chrysler/Fiat product again in light of how the Chrysler company hasn't stood behind its product and repaired this common defect -- a defect that should never occur in a modern car. This is so far from the attitude of most Japanese and Korean car manufacturers that the difference suggests that it's flat-out foolish to by anything from this company. But when it comes to NHTSA, it makes one wonder why that Agency sits on its hands and does nothing to require Chrysler to extend its service bulletin to cover all such vehicles, no matter where delivered. Rightly makes one wonder what NHTSA does that's worth we taxpayers paying their salaries.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #37

Sep 032014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Rear window fell out completely in the middle of a thunderstorm with my wife driving. The window happened to fall inside the vehicle but it could have caused an accident if it had fallen outside the car. She was lucky that the window did not fall on her and we only got wet.

- Moncure, NC, USA

problem #36

Sep 032014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 44,945 miles
The rear window in has become unglued and fell out. Chrysler has been getting calls and having major issues with this issue. They will do nothing to help.

- Spring Valley, IL, USA

problem #35

Aug 202014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My rear window is coming undone from the convertible top as is the case with numerous other 2005 Crossfire roadsters. I tried to call Chrysler care as there is a tsb sb-23035-11-reva to replace the top as well as extended warranty X31 through Chrysler to replace the top both require the back glass to be separating or falling out.Chrysler care advised that they were unable to help(on two separate phone calls) and suggested I go to the dealership for them to look at it.I printed both the tsb and the letter sent by Chrysler about the extended warranty and headed to the dealer. The service rep advised that I would need to pay $139 just for them to look at a problem caused by manufacturers defect. Ridiculous! a number of crossfire owner have gotten their tops replaced without a problem. I don't feel that I should have to pay for a diagnosis of a known problem for which I was sent to the dealership.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #34

Aug 222014


  • 16,789 miles
Literally the day after the return period on our 2005 Crossfire convertible was up, we found out that this car has a major defect where the back window falls out due to failure of the adhesive. This issue is widespread and is a real safety hazard. Apparently the entire top typically needs to be replaced if this happens, not just a re-glue job. The car has less than 17,000 miles and I've driven it probably less than 50 miles since buying, yet now I am faced with a big repair bill to make the car safe. Chrysler should cover this top in* case where it occurs (not just in the few southern states they have deemed applicable for coverage). I am in va, and that's where the car was originally delivered. Anybody who says va doesn't have high heat and humidity is crazy. We are just 75 miles from nc, a covered state. This is terribly unfair and I feel like a schmuck. Chrysler should be forced to recall all of these tops, not pick and choose! how can a window falling out of the car not be considered a major violation by Chrysler" can the ntsb do anything to help"

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #33

May 252013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
This serves as an addendum to our (and many others') complaints. The Chrysler tsb that you have on file, only lists the affected systems as "visibility", and it calls for repair (?) when it actually specifies replacement as the only recommended remedy, at a typical cost of $2,500; to be provided or reimbursed to a small select group of owners, even though this failure continues to occur nationwide. This is absurd. We should note that the term "structure" as an "affected part" no longer appears in your E-mail complaint form (we wonder why?) all modern convertible roof tops and windows are intended and designed for safe, long term use in any expected driving conditions, thus the use of dot approved safety glass and electronic rear window defrosters, especially when conditions require the roof top to be in the "up" position. The negative results of any window detachment, visibility, stability of the vehicle, safe reaction by the driver, weather protection, electrical malfunction etc., both immediate and potential long term, in a case where the vehicle must still be driven any unknown distance unprotected from whatever conditions possible, may well prove catastrophic and must be considered completely unacceptable by any standard, especially that of our U.S. government. Your publication (dot hs 808 795) states: "similarly a person May.. petition (request) NHTSA to hold a hearing on whether a manufacturer has reasonably met its obligation to notify and/or remedy a safety defect or noncompliance with a Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard. If the petition is granted, a hearing is held to assess the matter and decide what corrective action should be taken. If the petition (request) is denied, the reasons for the denial are published in the federal register". at the very minimum, Chrysler had an obligation to notify all of the potential (& inevitable) failure! please help.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 222014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 38,790 miles
Rear window came loose while the top was being put down. Called Chrysler, they said that it was not covered. Others are covered but not mine.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #31

May 252013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Rear window glass separated from the fabric convertible top. NHTSA has Chrysler tsb on file for same exact defect, issued by Chrysler in 2011, specifying 10 year/100,000 mile warranty extension. Chrysler restricts their remedy to only vehicles first sold in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas, despite the fact that all of these cars were imported from the same source at the same time. There is no difference in the product defect that has occurred nationwide. The NHTSA must force Chrysler to help all affected owners! what Chrysler is doing is just so wrong! please help us! updated 05/12/14..updated 06/04/14....updated 07/09/14...updated 08/27/14....updated06/09/15 updated 11/23/15

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #30

Dec 012010


  • 8,000 miles
Rear window failure -- adhesive fails & rear window falls out. The failure of any window is not normal "wear and tear." Many of these cars have experienced the same failure over the years. Chrysler finally -- after years of complaints -- issued a service bulletin #23-03511reva in 2011 that, according to Chrysler, covers only vehicles delivered in nine southeastern states. It extends warranty coverage to ten years (which means Chrysler will replace the convertible tops under warranty). All these cars were built in belgium. Chrysler had trouble selling these vehicles so it auctioned some vehicles internally to its dealer network, who were then permitted to get whatever they could for brand new "used" cars. Mine went to a Dodge dealer in farmville va and was sold to me (via ebay) with 3 miles on the odometer in mid-2007 or so. 33 mos. Of "new car warranty" remained when I rec'd it here in Hawaii. When that warranty expired I purchased an extended "platinum" warranty. The rear window fell out of the convertible top three months after the initial 36 month warranty had expired, the extended "platinum" warranty wouldn't cover repairs. The car had approx. 8000 miles on it. As noted before, Chrysler issued the service bulletin mentioned above in 2011 but arbitrarily excluded some vehicles despite the problem occurring in cars all over the nation. I guess that they thought that the problem would happen only in certain climes -- but there are more than nine U.S. states that get hot weather, e.g., Hawaii experiences hot sun year-round. And mine fell out despite very low mileage and the car being garaged when not in use. I request NHTSA demand that Chrysler extend coverage to all vehicles that fit the criteria, not just those "delivered" in nine of fifty states. The failure of any window is not normal "wear and tear" no matter where it happens. Thanks.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?