Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,205 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Caravan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Caravan Owner Comments

problem #18

Mar 202016

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles


Airbag warning light lit. Looked up on NHTSA website, Chrysler issued a"safety improvement campaign" copy enclosed. I took my van to the dealer to have it fixed plus a new key and a recall notice for a fuel/stalling problem. I was informed that the airbag problem was not covered because of the VIN number. The van was purchased in mass. And I purchased it in Rhode Island. I donot think I should have to pay $216.61 dollars to have this fixed. Thank you

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #17

Sep 012015

Caravan 4-cyl

  • 160,500 miles
I had this van 2005 Caravan for about 5 years and past year I had 3 issues, one of them is that my lights turned off right in the middle of highway and it was very scary, I fixed it by replacing the light switch and now is ok but it should be looked into because there is more incidents of that type on other Caravan as I can see, second is my airbag sensor light comes, stays, goes away and then comes back up as it wills, I did not fix it since I don't know how to but will try to get it done as a recall, third one is my fuel pump is leaking at a same point where I saw pictures and complaints by other owners so I would like just to add my own complaint, I will replace my fuel pump since I doubt I can get recall in near future but hopefully keep the receipt if it gets approved so I can try to get my money back, thank you for your consideration.

- Hooksett, NH, USA

problem #16

Feb 172015

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,531 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,531...updated 06-08-15 the consumer stated the vehicle was out of warranty therefore the manufacturer would not repair the failure. Updated 11/23/2015

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #15

Feb 032015

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles


Why are not all the 2005 Dodge Caravan not covered on the recall for the sensors that cause the air bag light to come on. It should not just cover the states that they figure that salt is used. It is used here in abundance because of cost and close vicinity of salt lake. If your VIN number doesn't come up they won't cover it but it is a safety item and I fell it should be covered for the life of the vehicle and should not be dismissed by location.

- Ashton, ID, USA

problem #14

Oct 192011


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V192000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The vehicle was neither inspected for the failure nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #13

Nov 172011


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that the air bag warning light would flicker on and off intermittently over a period of years but most recently, remained illuminated. The contact referenced NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V008000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module), but was advised that he vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Failfield , IA, USA

problem #12

Jul 152009

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 61,992 miles


First it was the emergency flashers went on and couldn't get them to stop took it in to folsom lake Dodge to get it fixed it was still on factory warrant and they replaced the clock spring is what they told me. Then after that after the warrant was done the air bag light on the panel in front of the stirring wheel came on and wouldn't stay off it comes on most of the time and stays so I don't know if my air bags or on or off. Now yesterday my door locks wouldn't work unless I do it manually but I can't get the back gate to lock around here you need to keep the doors locked removed the battery cable and it working right now but ready about it I'm not the only one has this trouble. I feel the is a manufacturer problem here can you let me know what can be done to get this fixed I fell this is a safety issue. And it needs to be fixed. I got my van when the 2005 first came out March 2004.

- Rio Linda, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012005


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that there was a loud noise coming from the front driver side wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the rack and pinion were defective and needed to be replaced. In addition, the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the air bag located on the steering was pushing against the plastic and caused it to detach. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #10

Jul 242010

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2005 Dodge Caravan, that has 2 recalls for the front airbag sensor. One the covers the state I live in, Massachusetts, and one that covers another 350,000 vehicles in those same states. My airbag warning light has been on for 2 1/2 years, the dealer told me that it would be a recall item, and to wait to have it fixed. That was the dealer in lowell, MA. Now my van has failed state inspection due to this reason, and Dodge said that my van isn't covered. The only criteria is that it be garaged in Massachusetts, which it has been for the last 5 years. I need this recall to fix the problem, so I can drive my vehicle legally. It should be covered, and if I have a crash, I don't know if the sensor will deploy the airbags.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #9

Dec 292009

Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
We purchased our 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan new and the airbag light just started coming on and off this winter (2009-2010). Now the airbag light stays on all of the time. I took it to an independent shop to have them run the diagnostics on the light. The code came back as a bad lf airbag sensor and from there I started searching on the internet. I found that there was a major recall on 312,442 Dodge Caravan for this exact problem (corrosion on sensor). I called Dodge to find out if our van was included in the recall. They informed me that it was not included in the recall and basically said I was out of luck but to save my receipts for the repair in case it was to ever be included in the recall. As of now I have not replaced the sensor because I feel this is a known safety problem and should be taken care of by Dodge. As of now our airbags are not operating at all because the repair is quite costly and I am frustrated to think that Dodge knows they are putting lives in danger but obviously only recalled a limited number of units.

- Nevada, OH, USA

problem #8

Sep 152009


  • 55,000 miles


2005 Dodge Caravan - airbag light is on. Vehicle apparently does not meet the criteria for the recall campaign but has the general requirements needed for replacement: 1. airbag sensor illuminated 2. vehicle registered in a "salt belt" area which could cause corrosion.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #7

Nov 282008


  • miles
Air bag light comes on and remains on. I took the van to the shop and the mechanic placed on a diagnostic machine and stated that there was nothing showing the something was wrong with the airbag and that I should take the car back to the dealer.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 152009


  • 35,000 miles
On our 2005 Dodge Caravan the air bag light came on. When we brought it in to the Dodge dealer we were told that the right hand front impact sensor was bad. They said the wires were corroded and the sensor was bad. It was not covered under warranty and would cost $250 to replace. After looking at the Dodge recalls they did recall this problem for the 2005 Dodge Caravan but not ours. The problem with the sensor on our van is the same as what the recall said.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #5

Mar 242008

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles
Air bag light came on at 49,000 miles. There was also a recall for the airbag sensors. The dealer replaced the sensors but the airbag light stayed on. They said the clock spring needed to be replaced. This sounds like the same clock spring problems that Dodge has had in previous years.

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 262007

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. While driving 55 mph, the contact applied the brakes and the vehicle hydroplaned 100 feet. The vehicle drove into a ditch and crashed into a tree. The road conditions were wet. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was towed to a garage and has not yet been inspected. The driver suffered soreness in the neck, back, and ankle. A police report was filed. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 85,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #3

Mar 132007


  • miles
Re: my 2005 Dodge Caravan. Air bag warning light came on. Airbag is inoperable, but Chrysler cannot supply new sensors for at least a week, or more, according to local dealer. It's an industry-wide problem, they say, with many sensor failures. This means that many Chrysler owners are left to drive without operable airbags... not a good situation. Chrysler should have been prepared for this.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #2

Mar 202006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I noticed in a news article that there may be an investigation of Dodge Caravan's with issues related to their air bag sensors. My company leases a 2005 Caravan for me, and I have had the air bag sensor replaced once and it has now failed again. I'm not sure how you collect this information, but thought it might be important to you.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #1

Aug 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,159 miles
The consumer drove the vehicle 600 miles before noticing that there was no horn. This was on 8-9-05. The vehicle was a rental. It was rented on August 7, 2005. The consumer took the vehicle to a dealership in the area where she was on a trip. He told her that the wire to the horn was clipped. On the return trip she noticed that the air bag warning light flickered on and off. This was on 8-15-05. She returned the vehicle to the rental company.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?