Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Challenger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Challenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Challenger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jul 212015


  • 83,000 miles


I have a 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T. when I came to a stop at a red light in between me releasing the brake and accelerating my oil light came on and my engine stopped. The car became difficult to steer and the brakes were difficult to use. The A/C and radio were still functional. When I restarted the vehicle the oil light no longer appeared and I was able to continue driving. This has occurred twice this summer 2015 and once last summer 2014. I have taken the vehicle to the dealership and no codes were found on all occasions. I have a lifetime mopar warranty however the dealership is unable to recreate the issue, therefore they are unable to determine the root cause. The dealership has also completed oil consumption testing and found no issues. I was able to use my cell phone to record the oil light showing the last time the issue occurred. I have also filed a formal complaint with Dodge. Dodge suggested that there could possibly be electrical issues.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #26

May 022012


  • miles
I have a 2010 Dodge Challenger srt8 with 6.1L V* hemi engine. 6000 miles on it and in perfect shape. On May 2nd at 1pm I came off the freeway (air conditioner was on) and slowed to 10 mi/hr to make a left hand turn. Power steering went dead than car stooped running. I took it to tempe Dodge and they said they have never heard of this before. I goggled it and find out its been happening with a lot of srt8S and has been reported numerous times; yet tempe Dodge is unaware of it"?" really!!!!! this needs addressing now before someone dies!!!! Dodge is not taking this seriously as if they wish it would go away. For a 40K car this is ridiculous!! this needs to be a recall item and it needs to have a root cause analysis completed by Dodge engineers asap!!! if this happens at higher speeds or in sharper turn someone will die!! I want an answer. If Dodge does not provide one asap I will make it my personal responsibility to be sure no one buys another Challenger without being aware of the incidents in documented form.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #25

Mar 212012


  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Dodge Challenger SE approximately a year ago. Three days after picking the vehicle up, it was in the shop. The most recent problems involve the engine making a loud clicking noise. This will be the 4th time the car will be taken to the shop.

- Pineville , LA, USA

problem #24

Apr 092011


  • 9,955 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Challenger. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled without the illumination of any warning indicators. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The similar failure occurred five different times on separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to duplicate the problem. The defect continued to occur. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 9,955.

- North Port, AL, USA

problem #23

Mar 152011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Approximately March 2011 in making a right turn at about 5 mph the car engine totally quit. Car started right up again and no problems until September 5, 2011. On September 5, 2011 coasting to a stop light with slight braking at approximately 5 mph car engine totally quit again. Started right up again after the engine stall. On September 7, 2011, two days after prior engine stall car again stalled coasting to a stop light with slight braking at again about 5 mph. Car again started up.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 062011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 17,344 miles
This is the second time in less than 30 days that the Challenger R/T has shut off while making a turn at speeds of 25 mph or less. Reference ODI id # 10421234 / incident date of 08/19/2011. Wife was making a left hand turn off of a busy street (40 mph speed limit, into my home neighborhood) when the car suddenly dies, steering & brakes go hard, oil pressure light illuminates, and she had to coast to a stop, put the car in park, press the start button (even though dash message said "key fob not found"), car re-starts, and she continued 1/2 mile to our home. I'm not comfortable letting my wife or kids drive this car when the probability of it dying is very possible. I just drove the car up the narrow mountain passes to big bear, ca (8,000 ft elevation) & back 3 days ago, and this could have caused a major accident if it had died and I had lost control on a windy mountain road. How many people have to be injured or die before someone forces Dodge / Chrysler to identify & correct this problem. Car is going to the dealership tomorrow morning, where I expect to get alot of nothing, but atleast my complaints will be interred into the service system.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 162011


  • 9,800 miles


This is 4th or 5th time this issue has happened, have brought it to the dealer and they have come up with nothing. There are several complaints on NHTSA about this issue, as well as thousands online, yet the dealer states they are unaware of the issue. Normal driving conditions, slowing down to make a turn and the vehicle completely shuts off and I lose power steering and power braking. The car becomes very hard to maneuver and stop. The car was stopped in an intersection, and thankfully the approaching cars were far enough away to slow down and stop. I then put the car in park and start it up and drive off with no other issues. This intermittent stalling is becoming a very dangerous issue and should be looked into further before someone is seriously injured, if they haven't been already.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #20

Aug 052011


  • 2,200 miles
My wife was driving the vehicle at highway speeds down an expressway. She exited and was applying the brakes as she approached a stop sign. As the vehicle slowed down to about 15 mph, the car abruptly shut off, without any warning whatsoever. When the car stalled, it became difficult to steer and brake, as the power steering and brakes were no longer functional. In order to restart the vehicle, she had to come to a complete stop, place the transmission in park, and then hit the start button. This was very dangerous, as there were other motorists exiting the expressway behind her. There are many other open complaints with the NHTSA for the 2010 Dodge Challenger srt8 - each describing an identical problem with random stalling. Additionally, there are many very similar descriptions of this problem on Dodge Challenger owner group forums. I took the car to my local Dodge dealership and just as other Challenger owners have experienced, they were unable to duplicate the problem. They also acted as though they have never heard of the problem, even though many documented cases exist. I called Chrysler customer care, and like the dealership, they refused to help. I spoke with two different representatives, and both of them claimed to know nothing about the Challenger stalling issue, and refused to transfer me to another department that might be willing to investigate. This is a very dangerous problem and appears to be very common with this particular car. Chrysler needs to address this issue before someone is hurt or killed.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 282011

Challenger 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought a 2010 srt8 Dodge Challenger a few weeks ago with just 50 miles on it. I now have approximately 800. On my way home from the dealer, the car stalled twice, both times while coming to a stop. The same thing happened yesterday and today, making it 4 times in less than a month. Similar to others, my dealer said there was no evidence of the stalling in their diagnostics. 3 out of the 4 times I was in traffic, with the other time occurring in a parking lot. There was no warning when it happened. After each stall, I had to put the gear in park and restart. The motor starts with no hesitation after a stall. There are dozens of complaints. Who is going to do something before someone is injured or killed? currently, I feel the care is too unsafe to have my wife and kids in the car while driving.

- 34655, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 012010


  • 3,000 miles
Car has stalled and shut down 3 times since purchasing it in 08/2010. All three cases the car had just completed a turn onto a busy highway where luckily I was able to coast it, with no power steering, to the side of the road. On all three cases, the only indication I had that the car shut off was that the oil light flashed on. I was able to restart the car easily the first time this happened, but the third time it happened, it would not shift into drive. It finally did it after the third time I tried it. I am very concerned with this problem. I am a female that loves her new car, but my husband is worried about me driving it on the highway if it keeps shutting off. This is a dangerous problem and Dodge needs to get on the ball and figure out what is going on. We have an appointment first thing in the morning with the dealership, but after reading all of the complaints from everyone else, I have little faith they will be able to find out what is going on. Dodge, please fix my car!

- Saucier, MS, USA

problem #17

Jul 052011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 1,800 miles


2010 Dodge Challenger srt8....vehicle stalls out when slowing down. This has happened now three times. Once it happened while making a right turn into a parking spot and the other 2 times it has occurred on the road when slowing down to stop at a red light. Oil light came on in one of the instances but I am unsure if it came on the other two. With complete loss of power this makes the car difficult to steer. On all three occasions, the car did start back up with the push button start, however it did crank over very slowly. Car is going into the dealership tomorrow to evaluate this, however it appears that with other people who have have this happen, the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. This is extremely dangerous and hopefully this can be remedied before anyone is seriously injured or worse.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

May 062011


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Challenger. The contact was driving 5 mph and making a left turn when the vehicle suddenly stalled with a loss of power steering. The vehicle was restarted after ten minutes but the oil warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer where they advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 13,000.

- La Habara, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 122011


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that while turning at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. Within thirty seconds, the vehicle restarted. A similar failure occurred once prior. The contact also stated that both failures occurred while making turns. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Castaic, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 192011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,820 miles
2010 Challenger srt8 automatic has stalled again for the second time. It has 4,820 miles on the odometer. This is the second time the engine has stalled. Prior report 10354193. I had been driving for about 30 minutes and slowed to turn left into a driveway when the engine stalled. I placed the car in neutral and started the car without a problem.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 192011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Normal driving conditions, pull up to a stop sign to make a right turn and car just dies. Lose all power, no power steering and incredibly hard to stop the car completely. This is now the 3rd time this has happened, going to the dealership to get it looked at again. This is incredibly dangerous if it were to happen when crossing an intersection instead of at a stop sign. Ive read hundreds of reports like mine on forums and yet Dodge is unaware of this incredibly dangerous situation?? I wont be taking my 1 month old daughter in this car...

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #12

May 112011


  • 2,981 miles
Vehicle suddenly shut down in the middle of making a right hand turn under normal driving conditions. I was able to restart the vehicle and complete the turn without incident due to the alertness of the driver behind me. I did not notice which symbols, if any, lit up on the instrument panel. Having a vehicle shut down for no apparent reason while driving is a very dangerous situation that could result in an accident.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #11

May 032011


  • 5,900 miles
I was making a slow U-turn and the engine shut off (stalled). This actually the third incident since purchasing the vehicle in December. I was pulling on to the freeway from a stop (under 10mph) and the engine shut off (stalled). Also, I was slowing to a red light (under 10mph) and the engine shut off (stalled). I don't have the date and mileage of the first two incidents, so I've given the details of the third.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 122011


  • 4,000 miles
After exiting highway, engine stalled when traveling about 5 mph. Was able to restart engine without incident. Was not aware of any warning lights prior to incident. The following day, the same happened, after making a left turn into driveway, engine stalled without warning while traveling at 5 mph. Was able to restart engine and continue.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #9

Mar 212011


  • 2,500 miles
I own a 2010 Challenger R/T. while driving at approx. 30mph, I slowed to make a left turn and vehicle lights went out, loss of all power, and engine turned off. I coasted to curb and without touching the key, the vehicle restarted right back up. Again the next day while pulling out of a parking lot onto a busy street, vehicle shut off while turning left, except I was crossing the lane of oncoming traffic. Again, it restarted with no help from me. No accident caused, but an oncoming vehicle came to about 3 feet of my drivers door before stopping. (40mph street) I read that this is occurring a lot with 08-10 Challengers and would love it fixed before my 17Y/O daughter takes it out and gets T-boned and injured or worse.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #8

Jan 112011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
Vehicle intermittently stalls. I have about 6500 miles on the car and it has happened about a month ago and again today. I took vehicle directly to the dealer when it happened today. They are still working on it. Almost total loss of control of vehicle when it stalls....extremely difficult to brake or turn steering wheel....and I am 6' 3" tall and over 200 lbs. Couldn't imagine if this happened to my wife when she is driving the car.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?