Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,426 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Dakota wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments

problem #4

Mar 292014

Dakota 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


On Saturday, March 29, 2014, during a trip from saint paul, Minnesota to laramie, Wyoming, we suffered two blowouts of Goodyear Wrangler tires in size P265 70 R16. In each instance the tread separated from the tire. The tires were well maintained and properly inflated. At 10:00am, traveling 65mph on interstate 35, North of des moines, Iowa we suffered the first blowout. There was a loud whup, whup, whup noise and the vehicle became difficult to steer. We were able to safely reduce speed and pull over. We discovered that the right rear tire tread had completely separated from the sidewall. We had the damaged tire replaced in ames, Iowa at a Goodyear dealer. At our next stop, I checked the air pressure in all 4 tires. The left rear tire was at 32 psi. I inflated the left rear tire to 40 psi to match the other 3 tires. While traveling 75 mph on interstate 80, East of laramie at 11:00pm we suffered the second blowout. Again there was a loud whup, whup, whup noise and the vehicle became difficult to steer. I reduced speed and attempted to brake which sent the truck into a wild fishtail skid. We crashed into the guardrail and the vehicle was rendered inoperable. We got out of the truck and surveyed the damage. It was then we discovered that a portion of the left rear tire tread had separated from the tire. The inner tube of the tire was exposed but still inflated. After the crash I was made aware of a recall by Goodyear of their Wrangler tires. While the tires described above do not fall into the dot numbers of the recall, I would ask that NHTSA investigate further and broaden the range of recall as the blowout that caused our crash appears to be the same as the blowout that caused a crash in Texas that resulted in the deaths of two college students on August 01, 2011.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #3

Jul 142011

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • 86,702 miles
Original date of purchase 9/18/2010 original tire: Dunlop rovers lt 265/70R16 load range C da8D633V2709 Goodyear/Mr. Tire auto cedar bridge ave store # 1014 brick NJ 08723 (732)477-3480. Customer id# [xxx] $892.82 on July 14, 2011 I was making a right turn onto main street in toms river when the left front tire exploded, and a few seconds later the right tire also exploded. I drove about 100 feet to a parking lot to look at the damage. On the inside of both tires there was a large gash about 5 inches long on one tire and on the other tire there were 2 different gashes about 4 and 5 inches long. I put a spare on one wheel and had a hard time getting the 2nd wheel off so I hit it with the lug wrench. I took that tire to a nearby sts and bought a cheap tire $171 and put it on and drove home. Two days later, Saturday July 16, 2011, I took the truck to Goodyear where I purchased the tires less then a year ago. They told me because the back of the rim was scored it must not have exploded, it must have been cut in a carwash. They charged us $85.41 for 2 new tires. They told us this did not happen on the road it had to have happened at a car wash. This truck has never been to a car wash since I have had it several years. I had them replace the 2 bad tires with Goodyear Wrangler sr-a"S but I still have 2 dunlop tires on the back of my truck. I am concerned for my safety, and my family"S safety, driving on these tires. I have a picture of one tire and I have pictures of the inside of the rims. Goodyear kept both tires. I am a former mechanic, front end specialist, for 22 years, I am a retires us army vet, and currently working as sheriff's officer, and I have never seen tires that looked like this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brick,, NJ, USA

problem #2

Sep 022009

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Dakota with bf goodrich tires, long trail, dot# ap72F821, size P265/70/R16. The contact stated that all four tires failed state inspection due to abnormal tread wear. Premature tread wear on the tires increased the risk of a tire blow-out. The manufacturer has been notified. The current and failure mileages were 14,721. Updated 10/21/09. Updated 10/20/09

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 232009


  • 33,000 miles
In late February 2009 I had a slipped belt on one of my Goodyear Wrangler rt/S tires on my 2003 Dodge Dakota. This was particularly annoying especially since the tires only had 33K miles on them. The spare had never been used so we put the spare tire on. That was find for a few weeks but then the other tires started slipping belts. After the initial tire I contacted Goodyear to inform them what had happened to their Goodyear Wrangler rt/S tire and they indicated that sullivan tire in stratham new hampsire could review the situation for them since they were a trusted dealership. Today I brought the car back to sullivan tire and they told me that the belts on the other tires had slipped and were actually dangerous and I should be careful about driving on them. As a result I had them replace the tires and was so mad about this that I had them put dunlop tires instead of Goodyear on them. I realize that these were the original tires on my 2003 truck ( sullivan tire indicated that the serial numbers indicated this) but the tires had in excess of 50% treadware on them. Sullivan tire told me that because the tires were about 7 years old that Goodyear would no do anything. After leaving I checked the tire warranty document that came with the car and there was no indication that there was any time limit on the warranty - only treadwear. I am out $587 and should have not been. I feel that these tires were defective and something should have been done because of this. Please let me know if there had been any other complaints about this sort of thing. I have never had anything like this happen to me. I am 62 and have been driving since I was 16 and am very familiar with cars since my dad was a mechanic.

- Chester, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?