10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,266 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Dakota seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #109

Jan 112017

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall as seen in the screenshot at prntscr.com/duexx7 this recall has been open for over half a year and yet no remedy is yet available. I live in a high heat area (las vegas vicinity) and "heat aging" is listed as a contributing factor for the airbag inflator. It is unacceptable that this recall cannot yet be remedied as the lack of a remedy endangers my family.

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #108

May 252015

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V046000 (power train), 15V313000 (air bags), and 16V352000 (air bags). The parts were not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The contact called four dealers that could not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #107

Jan 062017

Dakota

  • 85,666 miles
"takata recall" I have been receiving emails from NHTSA about these air bag inflators. No one has contacted me about replacing or repairing this recall.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #106

Jul 292016

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #105

Nov 232016

Dakota

  • 50,000 miles
I have been apointed several times listed for apointments call direectly to field operations heard the prodacol and I understand I can use my auto resqueing for an accident to happen I just recieve a apolygy note, ,,dont understand why I keep recieving these recall with out no protocol for the dealer to take action?

- Cidra, PR, USA

problem #104

Dec 012016

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #103

Jul 012016

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - rec'd. notification of recall beginning of July 2016. Registered for email notification of when repl. Parts would be avail. From Chrysler 7-22-16 (their ref# 29749366). Called Chrysler today to follow-up as I've not heard anything. Was told that parts are still not avail - they haven't even been made yet! spoke with dawn @ NHTSA about filing complaint (your ref#: 1047892). This is unacceptable!

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #102

Apr 072016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall I've been ask for the replacement approx for 6-7 months. It's passenger side airbag. Which was already recalled and replaced w/ another defective airbag, in 2005. I have the passenger side airbag turn off. However, I want it fixed!

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #101

Nov 292016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. Received a recall notice regarding defective passenger airbag in July 2016. Written notice indicates that air bag can deploy at any time and cause serious injury or death. Last contact with dealer on November 29, 2016 indicated that part is still not available to have airbag issue resolved and no indication of when it would be fixed.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #100

Sep 012016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #99

May 272016

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #98

Aug 202016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact attempted to notify the manufacturer of the issue, but was unsuccessful. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #97

Oct 112016

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Takata recall I am upset at the way these takata recalls are being handled by dealers and the manufacturer. Neither dealer or manufacturer seem to have a handle on what is happening, when parts will be available, disseminating proper information to customers, etc. I just returned from wasting this morning at a Dodge dealer because I scheduled the work, and when I got there was told no parts were available. I should have been told that when I scheduled the work. I live 45 minutes one way, so it takes time and money to make these useless trips. I think much pressure should be exerted on manufacturers to divert airbags to recalls, and pull the airbags away from new car production until this issue is resolved. There should also be one person in charge of airbag recalls at each dealership to coordinate the flow of information, scheduling, parts, etc. And takata should pay the bill for these persons. Thank you.

- Needmore, PA, USA

problem #96

Aug 222016

Dakota

  • 80,000 miles
Signed up for passenger air bag recall on July 22, 2016. I have waited over two and a half months to be notified to bring my truck in to have airbag replaced. I have made numerous calls to 1-800-853-1403, only to have been hung up on. They leave me and my passenger in danger. The truck is unsafe to drive and I'm worried each time I have to use it that hope the airbag does not explode. I need my truck and need them to repair it cause they created the problem. Please help me to get my truck airbag replaced, I think I have given them more than enough time.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #95

May 292016

Dakota 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 12/14/16 the consumer stated the driver side air bag, was scheduled to be replaced on 12-09-16. However, the air bag for the passenger side was not available. Updated 12/20/16.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #94

Jun 302016

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/13/16

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #93

Aug 112016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Maple Falls, WA, USA

problem #92

Mar 162016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #91

Aug 222016

Dakota

  • miles
I called dealer to get the recall addresses, I was told they do not have the part and they don't know when they will get it in.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #90

Aug 172016

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/18/16 updated 10/19/16.

- Waterford, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?