Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,520 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #10

Oct 172013

Journey

  • 89,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove approximately 2 minutes from home to children's school. Car was running for about 10 minutes while I was parked. Shut vehicle off, got out of car and there was a hissing sound and small amounts of smoke coming from the hood. I immediately called dealership where I purchased car (currently get oil changes done there) to explain the situation and ask if I could bring it in. They were approx. 1-2 miles from where I was. When I got there, the shop manager came out and opened the hood....the antifreeze reserve tank appeared to have exploded. The shop manager called a dealership to get a replacement tank and was told that there are 50 on backorder which leads us to believe there are others having a similar problem. He is waiting for the part to come in from ct today and once that's replaced will have to run tests to see why this happened. If there are 50 antifreeze tanks on backorder, can we find out if there should be a recall?

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #9

May 202011

Journey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,400 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While the vehicle was parked the contact noticed the floor between the front drivers side seat and the rear drivers side seat were wet. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed there was a compartment on the floor in back of the front drivers side seat which was filled with approximately 5 inches of water. The contact emptied out the water and stated the compartment continued to fill with water. The contact stated she was concerned of rust and that she could not tell where the water was coming from. The dealer stated there might be a seal leak and advised that the vehicle be taken into the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 57,400. Updated 07/20/11 updated 12/05/11

- Bath, NY, USA

problem #8

May 282011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
After raining the passenger side rear door fills with water. When I close the door I hear the water swish around inside and then I see it drain out of the bottom of the door. This is the 4th time that I have seen this happen in as many weeks. My wife has also noticed the exact same thing before I did. The door fills with water pretty much every time it rains. It seems like it is at least filling up with several cups of water. I am concerned with mold getting into the car and also the probability of an electrical short. This happens every single time it rains. In addition to the door filling with water the low tire pressure light keeps coming on and the rear left tire will slowly deflate. I have already had the tire replaced once and the same thing happened again in a matter of weeks. Outside air temperature seems to have no effect on when this occurs because it happen during the cold and when it is hot out. Usually the low tire pressure warning will come on within one week of filling the tire.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 112008

Journey 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

04/10/11 NHTSA headquarters 1200 New Jersey avenue, SE West building Washington, DC 20590 to whom it may concern. I am writing you in reference of the purchased of my brand new vehicle, a 2009-Dodge Journey SE on June 08, 2008. This car beginning to have problems after it 6,000 miles having a numerous repairs since them. I submitted the car to the lemon law before the warranty time expired. Chrysler group denied it arguing that my car is running under the company expectation. Currently the car still has suspension problem and noises(such as brake noises, turn wheel noises and other). The car bouncing after 50 mp miles and every time that bumps on the street or on the highway the vehicle makes strongly bounces. The company states the bouncing and the noises are part of the cars manufactured. In addition to all the reported repairs, the seats get easily stain with any type of liquid and the black color of the interior is fading, I mean the black is becoming gray. I will submit any document that could support my claim if is required.

- Broward, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 302009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in August of 2008. I have had repeated problems with rotor and brake wear. The rotors have been replaced twice and all 4 brakes have been replaced twice with the front being replaced 3 times. The first of which occurred just past 12,000 miles. This is when brake and rotor wear warranty ends. I have also had significant problems with the wiring sensor module, resulting in stability control and anti-lock brake light to come one. I also have power ports in the vehicle that do not work as well as a lift gate that does not lock. I currently have 48,000 miles on the vehicle and now have issues with leaking. I am unsure how water is entering the vehicle, possibly thru the air conditioning drainage system. The entire drivers side floor boards are wet as well as the built in cooler behind the drivers seat being completely filled with water within several days of emptying. This occurs when it is not raining or wet outside. I now have mold issues in the vehicle. Myself and my children have significant allergies and asthma. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The electrical problems resulting in air bag failure are defiantly scary.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #5

Jan 132010

Journey

  • 2,000 miles
At 2000 miles on my 2009 Dodge Journey I started having problems with my front passenger window sticking, and brakes squeaking. Also car not shifting when taking off and when you slow down and try to speed back up. I took it in. They told me maybe sap in window and brakes fine. Three days later window acting up again. Took it in. Same reason. Cleaned and greased. This is the eight time I've taken it in. They have replaced motors, switches, tracks, seals and now wont roll up or down. The brakes have been an issue since the start. At 21000 miles the dealer tells me I need new pad and rotors. Take it to brake shop and they tell me all I need is pad. Brakes working fine right now but still squeak every now and then. They have replaced electrical harnesses that may catch on fire. The squeaking noise now has turned into other parts that are having to be replaced. My computer chip has been reset 4 times and cheap plastic mirrors on visors and sunglass holder and light on inside roof. The springs on my back doors have popped out leaving the door stuck open. Went to eat with 23000 miles on the car and after leaving the car would not start. Called dealer and they called a tow truck and wanted me to pay for that also. My car has been in two different dealerships on 10-15 different occasions for repairs. They still have not got these issues fixed. What can I do?

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 302009

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety issue: Sharp edged rough rear metal seat runners that children have been cut on. Attempted safety modification with manufacturer. First 2 attempts said had no resolution. Chrysler was contacted. Our 3rd attempt to resolve duct tape placed on by service dealer. Final response said nothing else could do as it was normal and just the way the vehicle is designed (per manufacturer's inspector.) manufacturer refuses to acknowledge the safety issue.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #3

Dec 302009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the left and right pillar near the vent was to wide which made it difficult to see. The contact stated that the irregularities in the pillar prevented the consumer from seeing a pedestrian three different times almost causing an accident. The dealer was contacted and stated that she needed to contact the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 16,000. Updated 10/26/10. Updated 10/26/10

- Glendale , CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 252010

Journey

  • miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey, used but only 40000 miles. In 8 weeks of owning it has been in the shop 5 times, 3 times for the same reason a ticking in the engine. The most recent was corrosion of the crank shaft sensor. Really corrosion in a 2009 vehicle. There is also a grinding sound when I turn the wheel yet noone can seem to find the problem of that. I have already replaced the struts and mounts (thank god under warranty) that was a week after I had the car. I have a 15 month old and it scares me that something serious could happen when she is riding with me. I make just enough money to pay my bills and I am scared that something, now that my car is not under a warranty, will happen and I will be without a car. I am very disappointed with the service and quality I have gotten. My family has pretty much always owned a Dodge vehicle and we have never had this many issues. I really wish someone from Dodge would read this and give back to the people that spent their hard earned money on there product.

- Gibraltar, MI, USA

problem #1

Apr 012009

Journey

  • 7,800 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey on February 28, 2009. I was very pleased with my Journey until Wednesday, April 1, 2009, when I opened the rear hatch to find my car had been leaking water. I promptly took my car back to the dealer where they supposedly fixed the problem only to find the problem was made worse on the next day I had water staining in compartments at the bottom of my car. As of today, April 3, 2009 they have no answers and my car is still not fixed. I asked a friend who purchased the same model and she said she had not noticed anything but hadn't really looked so we looked together and she has the same problem.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?