If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$392.00
Average Mileage:
28,901 miles
Total Complaints:
312 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace pads & rotors (154 reports)
  2. replaced pads & machined rotors (31 reports)
  3. not sure (30 reports)
  4. all brakes and rotors had to be replaced (29 reports)
  5. replaced brakes (21 reports)
  6. replace rotors (15 reports)
2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 16)

problem #312

Jan 072015

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We are on our 3rd set of front brakes and out second set of rear. Now they are saying we have 5% brakes left on the rear. The guy at Dodge blames it on the way my wife drives. Her driving is not the problem.

- , Houma, LA, USA

problem #311

Oct 092014

Journey SXT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

I ABSOLUTELY HATE THIS CAR! DODGE KNOWS ABOUT THE MILLION COMPLAINTS OF ITS CONSUMERS BUT COULD CARE LESS. IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS, I HAVE CHANGE THE BRAKES/ROTORS/CALIPERS ON THIS VEHICLE 3X! IN LESS THAN 4 MONTHS OF OWNING THE CAR, AT 34,000 MILES, THE THERMOSTAT AND ANTI FREEZE TANK WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED! I HAVE CHANGE THE TIRES ON THIS CAR 4X ALREADY! AND NOW MY BRAKES/CALIPERS HAVE WORN DOWN YET AGAIN! THIS MORNING I WOKE UP TO THE ESP TRACTION LIGHT! AND ABOVE ALL.................SOMEBODY PLEASE GOOGLE - THIS CAR HAS AN INTERMITTENT START! DODGE FINALLY SENT ME A RECALL NOTICE IN AUGUST 2014 REGARDING THE "ON" POSITION OF THE IGNITION............GUESS WHAT - NO PARTS AVAILABLE PER DODGE, AND WE WILL BE CONTACTED WHEN THEY ARE AVAILABLE. WELL ITS NEARLY NOVEMBER AND I HAVEN'T HEARD A PEEP OUTTA DODGE! SO I GUESS IF MY CAR DOESN'T START.............THEN DODGE COULD CARELESS! I WILL NEVER IN MY LIFE PURCHASE A DODGE/CHRYLSER NOTHING! I'M GOING BACK TO FORD..............WHERE AT LEAST THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR CONSUMERS! SOMEONE HAS TRIED IN VAIN TO GET A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT GOING............PLEASE COUNT ME IN IF THIS EVER DOES HAPPEN! I URGE EVERY DODGE OWNER TO TRADE THEIR CAR................DON'T PURCHASE FROM THEM EVER AGAIN!

- , charlotte, North Carolina, USA

problem #310

Oct 012014

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

I purchased this SUV the end of April 2014. I have to replace the brakes already and the dealership said they were in good condition. I went in July 2014 for an oil change and my brakes were fine. In September 2014 I had to have some other work done and they told me I need new brakes asap. I don't understand that at all. Something seriously needs to be done about that.

- , Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #309

Mar 012013

Journey RS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to replace the first set of brakes at about 24,000 miles, then a second set at 50,000 with all rotors, now a third set of brakes at 65,000 miles. I am not a fast driver, nor do I slam on my brakes when stopping. This is getting pricey and ridiculous. Dodge has done nothing for my brake problem, the remote locking system (which doesn't unlock the doors and turn off the alarm) or the peeling of the paint from the side mirrors.

- , Louisville, KY, USA

problem #308

Jan 162012

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,008 miles

At 40000km the brake pedal started pulsing and steering wheel shaking violently. Recently I found out that the brake rotors were warped. I am NOT an aggressive driver, nor do I use brakes excessively. How could this happen ?!!!.

- , Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

problem #307

Nov 032014

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,487 miles

I would never buy another Dodge product again, I have had my Journey since it was brand new and have replaced the brakes 8 times, 3 times this year alone, out of those times only one was covered as part of the recall. The first time I had to change them the car only had 12,000Km, the second was at 24,000km. I wish I could afford to get a new car but I just finished paying this one off.

- , Ottawa, ON, Canada

problem #306

May 142010

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have replaced the brakes on my 2009 Dodge Journey four times. The first time, Chrysler reimbursed me for the cost. The other times, I replaced the brakes and rotors at my expense. Additionally, the original tires failed prematurely, and I was unable to find the correct tire size for my vehicle. It appears only one manufacturer produces tires for my vehicle. I am currently on my third set of tires. At 70,000 miles, my engine was replaced. I had a recurring problem with the oil running out of the engine. The oil warning light did not go off. The car was not burning oil or leaking oil.

- , Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

problem #305

Jul 302014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,070 miles

CHANGED PADS AT 31,000 MI. NOW ROTORS ON FRONT NEED REPLACED AT 43,000 MI. WHEN IS IT GOING TO STOP? DODGE DOESN'T BELIEVE THERE IS A PROBLEM. WOULD SELL BUT CAN'T AFFORD A CAR PAYMENT. NEVER HAD TO REPLACE PADS AND ROTORS THIS MANY TIMES ON ANY OTHER VEHICLE, EVEN ONES I TOWED 25 FOOT TRAVEL TRAILER WITH.

- , York, PA, USA

problem #304

Aug 202014

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

Yes, I have replaced my brakes and rotors - it seems every 3 months. They are constantly making noises.

- , Madison, TN, USA

problem #303

Sep 172014

Journey V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

I have put brakes and rotors on this car 3 times in 2 years. I bought it used with 30,000 miles. In 50,000 miles I have put brakes and rotors on three times. I believe this a huge problem that Dodge needs to address. I believe they need to redesign these or warranty the brakes for the lifetime of the car and pay all charges. I have spent more than $1400 just on brakes for this car in two years. For a single mother of two that is a big expense to pay every year. I have owned Dodge/Chrysler for all my adult life and I am questioning ever buying their products again because of this.

- , Hartford, WI, USA

problem #302

Sep 302010

Journey R/T 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

PREMATURE BRAKE PAD AND ROTOR FAILURE. HAVE TO REPLACE PADS AND ROTORS EVERY 20-24 K MILES. I'M A CONSERVATIVE DRIVER AND HAVE ALWAYS GOTTEN AT LEAST 60K MILES BETWEEN BRAKE SERVICES.

THIS CONSTITUTES A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE REDESIGNED AND REPLACED UNDER A RECALL.

- , Concord, NC, USA

problem #301

Apr 152014

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I shouldn't have to change my brakes prematurely because of cheap or faulty equipment. I thought I was paying for good quality.

- , Calipatria, CA, USA

problem #300

Jun 102012

Journey SXT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

i will never trust a dodge car. the fix for the dodge journey brake problem is a straight one. just provide a new kit that we will be able to get even if i have to pay for it and get rid of the problem.

no one is perfect but i like the ones that admit their mistakes and are ready to assume responsibility not hide behind layers.

this is my last dodge car.

- , pensacola, Fl, USA

problem #299

Jun 152012

Journey SXT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

i have owned the car since 2009 hand have change the front brakes at least five times and rotors twice and rear brakes and rotor once. i did the work my self was not sure of warranty. changed brakes and rotors last week and now the front end shakes when i step on brakes was told by parts dealer it could be the calipers and i am not the type of driver who rides the brakes or jam the brakes hard. i have been driving for 54 yrs and consider my self a safe driver and cautious and i have only 3 or four tickets in my life and they were my fault for not watching my speed. this the first new car i have ever owned and put my own mileage on it and the first one i have ever had this much brake problems on by the way back in the day you learned how to work on your own cars to save money when raising a large family other than these stupid break problems i love my dodge and always been a dodge fan but if i buy another car it wont be a dodge or crysler

- , Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #298

Nov 052009

Journey SXT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles

I bought my 2009 Dodge Journey in June 2009. Like most people I was overjoyed and thought it was a great purchase. Chrysler has been a mainstay in our family for five generations and there was no other choice considered. It looked good and ran great we are a traveling family so many miles were highway miles. In December of 2009 I was informed that the brakes and rotors needed replacing .When I questioned the premature replacements it was down played and they tried to convince me it was ruff driving. I replaced needed parts with OEM Mopar parts and less than a year later had to do it again. That is when I switched to AC DELCO parts, no more premature yearly brakes and rotor replacements.

- , Carolstream, IL, USA

problem #297

Dec 032009

Journey SXT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles

I bought my 2009 Dodge Journey in June 2009. Like most people I was overjoyed and thought it was a great purchase. Chrysler has been a mainstay in our family for five generations and there was no other choice considered. It looked good and ran great we are a traveling family so many miles were highway miles. In December of 2009 I was informed that the brakes and rotors needed replacing .When I questioned the premature replacements it was down played and they tried to convince me it was ruff driving. I replaced needed parts with oem mopar parts and less than a year later had to do it again. That is when I switched to AC DELCO parts no more premature yearly brakes and rotor replacements.

- , Carolstream, IL, USA

problem #296

May 102010

Journey SE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,165 miles

On the fifth set of front brake pads, third pair of rotors for front 5/11/10 -- 9/11 -- 3/13 & 5/14. On the second set of rear brake pads second set of rear rotors and one new rear caliper 9/11 & 3/13. Between the brakes and the starting system this car was not engineered worth a hoot. It's only got 86,000 miles on it and those are mostly from my wife driving. No more Chrysler products for us. As soon as we can afford to get rid of this thing we will!

- , Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

problem #295

Jun 112014

Journey RT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

I bought this vehicle 6 months ago. I went into the dealership to get my oil changed and tire rotated. I also asked that they look at the calipers due to smoke coming from my front wheels when I stop after driving down a 7% grade hill. That is when they told me the back brakes and rotors need replaced soon. Are you kidding me. I already have to buy new tires because the manufactured tires on it don't drive worth crap in the snow and ice and now I have to replace the back breaks and rotators. I asked them again about the smoking calipers on the front and they could not answer.

I had to travel that hill again to go see family. Going up the hill is fine, it's coming down when they start to smoke. I have to pull over halfway down the hill to let them cool down and stop smoking and, no, I don't ride my breaks. I am very disappointed in this crossover. The amount of money I will be spending on this vehicle this year is more then I spent on my other vehicle that I had for 7 years. This crossover thing sucks..,.........

- , Nampa, Idaho, USA

problem #294

Jan 302014

Journey SXT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

The old brakes had only 10,000 miles on them and had to have them replaced. Went to slam on my brakes and they seized. The brakes are faulty and unreliable.

- , San Diego, CA, USA

problem #293

Nov 202012

Journey SXT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,359 miles

THIS IS WHAT THE DEALERSHIP COLES IN BLUEFIELD WV DONE TO THE CAR. THEN I BOUGHT THE CAR IN DEC. GET READY CAUSE THERE ARE GOING TO BE A LOT MORE COMPLAINTS

- , Hillsville, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?