If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$396.00
Average Mileage:
29,612 miles
Total Complaints:
326 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace pads & rotors (156 reports)
  2. all brakes and rotors had to be replaced (37 reports)
  3. not sure (31 reports)
  4. replaced pads & machined rotors (31 reports)
  5. replaced brakes (21 reports)
  6. replace rotors (15 reports)
2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #326

Jun 142014

Journey SXT 3.5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the third time I've had brake work done. First time was when the vehicle had 19,367 miles on it.

- , Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #325

Sep 152013

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

I should buy stock in Journey brake parts company. Dodge leaders should be held responsible for this engineering FU!!!

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #324

Jul 122011

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,500 miles

Sh*tty design, sh*tty company puts this crap on vehicle.

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #323

Dec 152009

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought to dealership and turned away as normal wear.

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #322

Dec 102014

Journey RT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Like so many others, complete replacement of brakes, rotors, pads at under 40,000...absolutely absurd. Chyrsler should replace all brakes on these vehicles for free as it is obviously an engineering design error. Will never buy another Dodge/Chrysler again.

- , Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #321

Mar 302010

Journey 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

The brakes have continued to go out between 10,000 and 12,000. The dealer loves to see me bring it in as they will not cover it even though it is a design error. Don't think I will buy another dodge for a while, even though I also have a magnum. But then, the magnum has been one of the best cars I have ever owned! Go figure!

- , Richmond, TX, USA

problem #320

Jan 022013

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This 2009 Journey has had 5 complete brake jobs since we bought the car. The car only has 57000 miles. Also the key fobs are so cheap we have had to replace both of them and they cost almost $250 per key fob. The vehicle is garbage. Also at 35000 miles complete radiator replacement.

- , Harahan, LA, USA

problem #319

Feb 202015

Journey LX 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

I BROUGHT MY JOURNEY IN MAY 2009. EVERY SINCE I HAD IT, IT'S BEEN PROBLEMS. MY BRAKES AND ROTORS KEPT GIVING OUT. NOW IT'S THE IGNITION SWITCH. IT'S ALWAYS SOMETHING WITH THIS CAR.

I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO GET ANOTHER CAR. 3 MONTHS AGO I HAD BRAKES PADS REPLACED AND NOW THIS IT'S THE ROTORS AGAIN. WHEN I FIRST BROUGHT IT IN 2009 THE BRAKES AND THE ROTORS HAD TO BE REPLACED IN 2010 AND AGAIN 2012 AND PUT NEW BRAKE PADS IN 2014.

NOW IT SOUNDS LIKE THE ROTORS AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I CALLED CORPORATE OFFICE ABOUT HAVING TO RIDE AROUND WITH A BAD IGNITION SWITCH. THE MAN I SPOKE WITH SAID HE WAS SORRY ABOUT THAT. HOW ABOUT REPLACING THE CARS WE ARE DRIVEN ON A DAILY BASIS, PUTTING OUR LIVES IN JEOPARDY? I PRAY EVERY DAY I DON'T GET INTO ANY ACCIDENT.

- , New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #318

Nov 142014

Journey 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,855 miles

I drive this car very little, just to work and some errands, and only had between 35000 -40000 km on vehicle when I had to replace both the front and back brakes. This is crazy since the vehicle is never used!

- , St. Albert, AB, canada

problem #317

Sep 012010

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

I was military in Germany so I didn't have access to a Dodge dealership. Brakes not cheap overseas.

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #316

Jun 022014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Again, just over a year later, another set of brakes. Pads worn down to metal, rotors trashed

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #315

Nov 012012

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Had them replaced only about a year prior. Told by dealership break wear wasn't covered under our 100000 mile bumper to bumper warranty

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #314

Feb 092015

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

click to see larger images

premature brake and rotor wear premature brake and rotor wear premature brake and rotor wear premature brake and rotor wear

Finally Googled Dodge Journey brake problems and found out this is a mass problem, not just my wife's driving habits. Also found out the replacements should've been covered under our warranty, along with the extended 4 year warranty Dodge offered on brakes. Would've thought Dodge would've sent a notification out, like a recall letter to let consumers know of the brake problems.

Update from Feb 26, 2015: I had another set of brakes replaced in between this and the last complaint but don't remember the mileage. These brakes only had about 20,000 miles of usage.

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #313

May 122013

Journey SXT 3.2V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

I brought the car (2009 Dodge Journey) used. He had replaced the brakes at 24000. I had 36000 on it and replaced them shortly after that. Now at 54000 miles, I replaced for second time.

- , BIRCH RUN, MI, USA

problem #312

Jan 072015

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

We are on our 3rd set of front brakes and out second set of rear. Now they are saying we have 5% brakes left on the rear. The guy at Dodge blames it on the way my wife drives. Her driving is not the problem.

- , Houma, LA, USA

problem #311

Oct 092014

Journey SXT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

I ABSOLUTELY HATE THIS CAR! DODGE KNOWS ABOUT THE MILLION COMPLAINTS OF ITS CONSUMERS BUT COULD CARE LESS. IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS, I HAVE CHANGE THE BRAKES/ROTORS/CALIPERS ON THIS VEHICLE 3X! IN LESS THAN 4 MONTHS OF OWNING THE CAR, AT 34,000 MILES, THE THERMOSTAT AND ANTI FREEZE TANK WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED! I HAVE CHANGE THE TIRES ON THIS CAR 4X ALREADY! AND NOW MY BRAKES/CALIPERS HAVE WORN DOWN YET AGAIN! THIS MORNING I WOKE UP TO THE ESP TRACTION LIGHT! AND ABOVE ALL.................SOMEBODY PLEASE GOOGLE - THIS CAR HAS AN INTERMITTENT START! DODGE FINALLY SENT ME A RECALL NOTICE IN AUGUST 2014 REGARDING THE "ON" POSITION OF THE IGNITION............GUESS WHAT - NO PARTS AVAILABLE PER DODGE, AND WE WILL BE CONTACTED WHEN THEY ARE AVAILABLE. WELL ITS NEARLY NOVEMBER AND I HAVEN'T HEARD A PEEP OUTTA DODGE! SO I GUESS IF MY CAR DOESN'T START.............THEN DODGE COULD CARELESS! I WILL NEVER IN MY LIFE PURCHASE A DODGE/CHRYLSER NOTHING! I'M GOING BACK TO FORD..............WHERE AT LEAST THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR CONSUMERS! SOMEONE HAS TRIED IN VAIN TO GET A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT GOING............PLEASE COUNT ME IN IF THIS EVER DOES HAPPEN! I URGE EVERY DODGE OWNER TO TRADE THEIR CAR................DON'T PURCHASE FROM THEM EVER AGAIN!

- , charlotte, NC, USA

problem #310

Oct 012014

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

I purchased this SUV the end of April 2014. I have to replace the brakes already and the dealership said they were in good condition. I went in July 2014 for an oil change and my brakes were fine. In September 2014 I had to have some other work done and they told me I need new brakes asap. I don't understand that at all. Something seriously needs to be done about that.

- , Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #309

Mar 012013

Journey RS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

I had to replace the first set of brakes at about 24,000 miles, then a second set at 50,000 with all rotors, now a third set of brakes at 65,000 miles. I am not a fast driver, nor do I slam on my brakes when stopping. This is getting pricey and ridiculous. Dodge has done nothing for my brake problem, the remote locking system (which doesn't unlock the doors and turn off the alarm) or the peeling of the paint from the side mirrors.

- , Louisville, KY, USA

problem #308

Jan 162012

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,008 miles

At 40000km the brake pedal started pulsing and steering wheel shaking violently. Recently I found out that the brake rotors were warped. I am NOT an aggressive driver, nor do I use brakes excessively. How could this happen ?!!!.

- , Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

problem #307

Nov 032014

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,487 miles

I would never buy another Dodge product again, I have had my Journey since it was brand new and have replaced the brakes 8 times, 3 times this year alone, out of those times only one was covered as part of the recall. The first time I had to change them the car only had 12,000Km, the second was at 24,000km. I wish I could afford to get a new car but I just finished paying this one off.

- , Ottawa, ON, Canada

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?