Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$395.00
Average Mileage:
30,345 miles
Total Complaints:
334 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace pads & rotors (159 reports)
  2. all brakes and rotors had to be replaced (38 reports)
  3. not sure (31 reports)
  4. replaced pads & machined rotors (31 reports)
  5. replaced brakes (21 reports)
  6. replace rotors (16 reports)
2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #334

Aug 012015

Journey SXT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the most terrible vehicle I have ever bought. I will never own another Dodge. Week 2 of having it the car would not drive, transfer case went out. Brakes and rotors wear out too soon and tires lose air all the time. Vehicle shakes so badly it feels like the wheels are going to fall off going down the road. I hate Dodge and I hate this vehicle.

- , Westover, WV, USA

problem #333

Jul 202015

Journey LX 2.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,769 miles

After a month driving and feeling scare because when braking the car start shaking really bad, I decide to drop it at my mechanic's garage. Problem was the rotors. (again) Twice I have had to pay to change it. First time when the car had approx 100000 KM on it and now again that had 175000 KM. After CA $413 Canadian dollars bill car is working well again. Thanks to my mechanic.

- , Mississauga, ON, Canada

problem #332

Oct 012014

Journey RS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

I replaced the pads & had the rotors machined less than a year ago (October 2014) & now (August 2015) they sound like it is metal to metal again.

- , Wichita, KS, USA

problem #331

Nov 242010

Journey R/T V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to replace all 4 rotors and brakes due to premature wear. Replaced with lifetime pads and better rotors, and haven't had much of an issue since. Still a big pain in the ass with 2 very young kids. significant safety issues.

- , Somers, CT, USA

problem #330

Apr 152015

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

I bought this car from a dealership in Feb. 2013. I have had to replace the pads and rotors THREE times now! We just had them completely replaced again, about a month ago, and the rotors are already so warped that my steering wheel about shakes my arms off when I apply my brakes.

I love all of the options this car has, but it eats thru tires and brakes/rotors way too often. And for this car having 19" tires...that's no cheap replacement. It is NOT my driving, I assure you.

- , Carlisle, OH, USA

problem #329

Feb 142014

Journey EX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

The recall on the ignition problems last year has never been fixed. Afraid to drive it any distance.

- , Wright City, MO, USA

problem #328

Mar 012015

Journey RT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Here we go again... brakes and rotors had to be replaced again....

- , Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #327

Oct 012013

Journey RT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

This is just the beginning of the problems with this car.....

- , Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #326

Jun 142014

Journey SXT 3.5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

This is the third time I've had brake work done. First time was when the vehicle had 19,367 miles on it.

- , Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #325

Sep 152013

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

I should buy stock in Journey brake parts company. Dodge leaders should be held responsible for this engineering FU!!!

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #324

Jul 122011

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sh*tty design, sh*tty company puts this crap on vehicle.

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #323

Dec 152009

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Brought to dealership and turned away as normal wear.

- , Hopkinton, USA

problem #322

Dec 102014

Journey RT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Like so many others, complete replacement of brakes, rotors, pads at under 40,000...absolutely absurd. Chyrsler should replace all brakes on these vehicles for free as it is obviously an engineering design error. Will never buy another Dodge/Chrysler again.

- , Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #321

Mar 302010

Journey 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

The brakes have continued to go out between 10,000 and 12,000. The dealer loves to see me bring it in as they will not cover it even though it is a design error. Don't think I will buy another dodge for a while, even though I also have a magnum. But then, the magnum has been one of the best cars I have ever owned! Go figure!

- , Richmond, TX, USA

problem #320

Jan 022013

Journey SXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

This 2009 Journey has had 5 complete brake jobs since we bought the car. The car only has 57000 miles. Also the key fobs are so cheap we have had to replace both of them and they cost almost $250 per key fob. The vehicle is garbage. Also at 35000 miles complete radiator replacement.

- , Harahan, LA, USA

problem #319

Feb 202015

Journey LX 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

I BROUGHT MY JOURNEY IN MAY 2009. EVERY SINCE I HAD IT, IT'S BEEN PROBLEMS. MY BRAKES AND ROTORS KEPT GIVING OUT. NOW IT'S THE IGNITION SWITCH. IT'S ALWAYS SOMETHING WITH THIS CAR.

I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO GET ANOTHER CAR. 3 MONTHS AGO I HAD BRAKES PADS REPLACED AND NOW THIS IT'S THE ROTORS AGAIN. WHEN I FIRST BROUGHT IT IN 2009 THE BRAKES AND THE ROTORS HAD TO BE REPLACED IN 2010 AND AGAIN 2012 AND PUT NEW BRAKE PADS IN 2014.

NOW IT SOUNDS LIKE THE ROTORS AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I CALLED CORPORATE OFFICE ABOUT HAVING TO RIDE AROUND WITH A BAD IGNITION SWITCH. THE MAN I SPOKE WITH SAID HE WAS SORRY ABOUT THAT. HOW ABOUT REPLACING THE CARS WE ARE DRIVEN ON A DAILY BASIS, PUTTING OUR LIVES IN JEOPARDY? I PRAY EVERY DAY I DON'T GET INTO ANY ACCIDENT.

Update from May 2, 2016: Now it's the airbags what's next I open the back door one day and found water in the door where did that come from I was shaken the door and it was full of water what's going now where did the water come from if anybody know please tell if your having that problem.

- , New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #318

Nov 142014

Journey 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,855 miles

I drive this car very little, just to work and some errands, and only had between 35000 -40000 km on vehicle when I had to replace both the front and back brakes. This is crazy since the vehicle is never used!

- , St. Albert, AB, canada

problem #317

Sep 012010

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

I was military in Germany so I didn't have access to a Dodge dealership. Brakes not cheap overseas.

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #316

Jun 022014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Again, just over a year later, another set of brakes. Pads worn down to metal, rotors trashed

- , South Weber, UT, USA

problem #315

Nov 012012

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Had them replaced only about a year prior. Told by dealership break wear wasn't covered under our 100000 mile bumper to bumper warranty

- , South Weber, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?