Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,296 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 262010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles


I own a 2009 Dodge Journey and have had to replace the front brake pads and rotors twice and the rear pads and rotors once. The last replacement for the front brakes was on July 26th 2010 and I was informed today that they need replaced again, after only 11,000 miles. There are many other problems with this car like the paint peeling off, the tires warning badly and now they all 4 need replaced even though I have them balanced and rotated regularly. However, I feel the brake problem is not just my problem, but is also a safety issue for other drivers.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #11

Jun 232011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
I own a 2009 Dodge Journey that I bought brand new. In 2 years I have gone through multiple brake pads and the car has almost no mileage.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #10

May 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
All four brakes on my 2009 Dodge Journey have failed after only 25,000 miles. Brake parts have broken and the front two brakes are considered under warranty but the back brakes are not under warranty. The dealership stated the car was unsafe to drive until the brakes were fixed. Donavan Dodge in Sierra vista Arizona has repaired the brakes but the dealership is not taking any responsibility for failure of equipment for the back brakes. This type of failure placed me and any passengers in danger. I requested the broken parts for the brake equipment that was not under warranty. They have to send the ones under warranty back to the Dodge corporation.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #9

Jun 302009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles


I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in August of 2008. I have had repeated problems with rotor and brake wear. The rotors have been replaced twice and all 4 brakes have been replaced twice with the front being replaced 3 times. The first of which occurred just past 12,000 miles. This is when brake and rotor wear warranty ends. I have also had significant problems with the wiring sensor module, resulting in stability control and anti-lock brake light to come one. I also have power ports in the vehicle that do not work as well as a lift gate that does not lock. I currently have 48,000 miles on the vehicle and now have issues with leaking. I am unsure how water is entering the vehicle, possibly thru the air conditioning drainage system. The entire drivers side floor boards are wet as well as the built in cooler behind the drivers seat being completely filled with water within several days of emptying. This occurs when it is not raining or wet outside. I now have mold issues in the vehicle. Myself and my children have significant allergies and asthma. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The electrical problems resulting in air bag failure are defiantly scary.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #8

Oct 102010


  • 24,000 miles
We purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey, it has approximately 24,000 miles on it. We were recently told that it needed new brakes. There was squeaking and then grinding within a matter of days. We were also told that the rear brakes were also close to going bad. I have never owned a car that the brakes lasted so little a length of time!

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #7

Mar 202009


  • 11,930 miles
I purchased my 2009 Dodge Journey in June 2009. The brakes started to make a grumbling noise when I stepped on the brake. I had only 11950 miles on the car. It was 3/2010. I took it to the dealer and they said it was the brakes and wanted me to pay for the repair. I told them it was still under the 12K warranty, so they did it free of charge. I took it home and it was still doing the same thing. I took it back the next day and asked them to please have the technician drive the vehicle to determine what was wrong. I was 3 miles away from the 12K mile warranty expiring. This time they replaced the rotors. Now it is 9/20/10, and the vehicle is at 21100K. It started to make the same grumbling noise and when I took it to the dealer, they had to replace all 4 rotors. Three days later I had to take the vehicle back because when I go over 60 mph it starts to vibrate and feels like I have a flat tire. I took it to the dealer ad they rotated and balanced the tires. When I got on the interstate, it is still doing the same thing. I emailed Chrysler 2 times and have spoken to them twice. I no longer trust this car. I am afraid everytime I get in the car to drive it, I am putting my life in jeopardy. I know I will have to continue replacing the rotors every few thousand miles.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 202010


  • 40,000 miles


Brakes do not last. Had to replace rear and front brakes and rotors at 40,000 miles, only 500 after we purchased vehicle. When braking at a high rate of speed the entire car shakes and steering column vibrates violently. We have not found a solution, the dealership says they cannot duplicate the problem the car will randomly not crank. It has left me stranded twice. After sitting for an hour it will crank with no problem. We have been told that is may be a problem with the internal security device that recognizes the key.

- Maysville, GA, USA

problem #5

Jul 052010


  • miles
The brakes have gone out on my 2009 Dodge Journey 3 times. Every 10,000-12,000 miles they wear completely out and make it very difficult to stop the vehicle. I bought it in 2008 right off the showroom floor and did not expect to have such an issue with one of the most important safety features. I have small children that I Transport daily and I am thankful that I have not had an accident. The dealership has reluctantly replaced the brakes twice free of charge, but seem unwilling to do it again. I do not feel that I should have to pay for the brakes since this is not due to normal wear and tear. I need a safe and reliable vehicle to travel in with my children.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 262010


  • 28,500 miles
I was driving in January 2010 and crunching sound and shaking when brakes applied in my 2009 Dodge Journey, took it in they informed me I needed new brake pads at 25K miles. Got new pads for $300 kept driving, now vehicle shakes hard to stop and crunching sound again when attempting to stop (stopping can be difficult) now June-- took vehicle in again and again they stated front pads are 11/32 (in 4 months?) and rear pads are 1/32 almost metal to metal. Car's brakes appear to be way too small for vehicle size and it appears the pads wear very quickly (can find tons of same complaints in various review sites) Dodge always blames the drivers for "riding their brakes" but there are thousands of us. They estimate brake pads last 14-16K miles!!!! but I can tell even the front one being below half are now effecting the vehicles stopping ability. This is a safety issue they need bigger brakes for the vehicle. I am concerned that one day it will just fail as the brake pads wear so quickly.

- Oregon City , OR, USA

problem #3

Jun 202009


  • 24,000 miles
Bad brake system.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #2

Mar 062010


  • 22,119 miles
We bought a 2009 Dodge Journey in 5/09. About a week ago, I noticed my brakes were not stopping like they use to, a few days later they starting squeezing really bad and the brakes got worse. Finally on Friday, March 5th my brakes went completely out. I took my car to Firestone auto center and was told that both my front and back brake system was completely gone, the service gentlemen at Firestone couldn't believe that both front and back were completely gone on a car that had the mileage we do. I had to replace both which cost me $1500. I called Dodge to tell them about what had happened but they didn't seem to care. I talked to gedie in the customer service department and he said they weren¿T going to do anything about it because brakes wear down and thanks for calling Dodge Chrysler. But what I don't understand is why the brakes are going out so soon on a vehicle with only 22,116 miles on it. I think between my husband and I, we've owned around 6 cars and I've only had to replace brakes on one car that had over 60,000 miles on it. I think that this needs to get looked into because from my research I'm not the only one that has this issue with this type of car, I did find one person who had 12,500 miles on his vehicle and he had to replace both brake systems as well. If I would have known that I would have to replace both brake systems so quickly I wouldn't have bought this car. Dodge needs to fix the problem before it becomes another ¿Toyota¿ issue and reimburse the people that have had to replace both brake systems on a brand new car.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #1

Jan 252010


  • 18,000 miles
Brake light comes on when braking, new SUV and the front brakes has worn out after 18,000 miles, dealer says the shoes are soft from the factory. Brake light flashes when braking.

- Harker Heights, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?