Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #19

Jan 232015

Journey

  • 104,310 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Carry it to the dealer due to anti freeze link and tire wont keep air. They fixed the thermostat both and fixed the antifreeze problem and did a great job I don't have no problem. What I do have a problem with I was charge $8.91 for a O ring wa 07011001 I knew nothing about nor do I know why or what it was for wasn't told about it until it was done and time for me to pay for there services.but the problem am having now is it wont start and I see other owners having the same problem and no one from the company is trying to help us this is not our fault where can we get help....... please help us.

- College Park, MD, USA

problem #18

Jul 072014

Journey

  • 93,000 miles
The check engine light came on and the code said it was the intake manifold runner control.

- Fuquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #17

Oct 162014

Journey

  • miles
Last date of incident was on October 16, 2014, this is the 4th time my vehicle has shut off while driving it. The first time it happened I contacted Dodge whom stated there was no recall in re: Ignition problems, interestingly enough a recall was posted within weeks, since that recall I have been contacted via mail stating parts have been ordered with no known delivery date for repairs. The last incident happened while I was driving too work exiting off the expressway during rush hour traffic on the ramp with vehicles behind me and my car just shut off again. When I contact Dodge I am told there is nothing they can do I have to wait for parts and risk my life in the process due to they will not issue a rental car for this. Per my conversation with Dodge I want this well documented being I am driving a vehicle with major safety issues when it appears to randomly shut off the engine while driving, I have done everything stated in the recall letter so I may limit my risk, I have taken all keys off my key ring, I make sure key is well engaged when starting my car. Unfortunately in my case this is not a help at all being I still am having episodes of my car stalling out in traffic.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #16

Aug 082014

Journey

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the oil plug was leaking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the oil pan needed to be replaced. The vehicle not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Remailed 12/04/14 updated 01/07/14

- Sawyerville, AL, USA

problem #15

Oct 172013

Journey

  • 89,999 miles
Drove approximately 2 minutes from home to children's school. Car was running for about 10 minutes while I was parked. Shut vehicle off, got out of car and there was a hissing sound and small amounts of smoke coming from the hood. I immediately called dealership where I purchased car (currently get oil changes done there) to explain the situation and ask if I could bring it in. They were approx. 1-2 miles from where I was. When I got there, the shop manager came out and opened the hood....the antifreeze reserve tank appeared to have exploded. The shop manager called a dealership to get a replacement tank and was told that there are 50 on backorder which leads us to believe there are others having a similar problem. He is waiting for the part to come in from ct today and once that's replaced will have to run tests to see why this happened. If there are 50 antifreeze tanks on backorder, can we find out if there should be a recall?

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #14

Aug 252010

Journey

  • 31,000 miles
I purchased this car in August 2010 (it is a 2009) and since then, I have had the vehicle in the shop 33 times. I have had to replace all brakes and rotors, had front passenger-side window motor replaced, driver-side is going out now, had leaking from the ceiling, replacing the cracked radiator right now, had the emergency brake fixed, needed new rods and bushings, fuel injectors run loud, there is a drone noise from the right side of the vehicle when going 1800-2000 RPM, electrical systems short out, had the electric throttle indicator light come on, car dies all the time, yet the battery is fine, ...bottom line, this is a lemon. I have the R/T model which the dealership likes to claim "is just the noisy one." That is a very poor answer towards a consumer. I take very good care of my vehicles and to put up with this is upsetting. I have spent over $3000 in repairs in the 2 1/2 years that I have owned this SUV. Chrysler has made no attempts to help with these common problems and I know that I will not support this company buy purchasing with them again. When I bought a Journey...I didn't realize being able to drive it without problems, would be such a "Journey."

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #13

May 012012

Journey

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical system failure due to wiring harness melting, radiator cracked because bracket for ac is connected too tight when car is manufactured, battery died prematurely because of failed wires, rotors warped causing car to shake violently when braking. All these problems and others for a car with only 60,000 miles. Have spent over $2000 to date in repairs that numerous people have had related to this vehicle. Based on online complaints and talking to mechanics who have worked on this car no one can believe that the correct electrical recall has taken place. There have been electrical recalls on vehicle, but not for most common failure. No one understands why brake issue has not been recalled and no one understands why the radiators keep failing without a recall. Will it take a serious crash? safety of the consumer is at risk. You pay $20,000 for a car and think it will last awhile. This car has major problems that are consistent from buyer to buyer.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #12

Jan 132010

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that she attempted to start the vehicle and heard a clicking sound, but the vehicle would not start. The contact had to turn the steering wheel in order to start the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they replaced the starter. The failure continued. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 48,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 07/06/12 the consumer stated the started was replaced twice. Updated 07/12/12

- Syracuse , UT, USA

problem #11

Jan 102011

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The failure recurred three times intermittently while the contact was driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technicians were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 082012

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
While pulling the car into my driveway the car just shut down/died. I had no control of the steering. Extremely frightening and thankfully this did not occur while at an intersection or on the highway.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Nov 072011

Journey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would loose horsepower, drive sluggishly and would stall at anytime. In addition, a warning symbol in the shape of a thunder bolt would illuminate on the instrument panel sporadically. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 83,000. Updated 1/20/2012 the electronic throotle body unit was replaced. 01/30/12

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #8

Dec 012011

Journey

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact was driving 20 mph when the vehicle began to loose power abnormally. The brakes and power steering assist became inoperable, but the vehicle did not stall. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes were continuously wearing prematurely and had been replaced four times within a four year period. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was 63,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #7

Nov 152009

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 25 mph and approaching a stop sign, the contact depressed the brake pedal to the floorboard and the vehicle hesitated to stop. The contact drove the vehicle slowly to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the front and rear brakes were worn and would have to be replaced, as well as the rotors. The contact also noticed that the rear passenger side door was holding water in the interior and would leak from the bottom of the door when the door was opened. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 01/24/12 the consumer also stated in December 2009, the vehicle would randomly not start. After letting the vehicle sit for about 15 minutes, it would then start. There were problems with the transmission, exhaust pipes rusting, and doors holding in water. Update 01/27/12

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #6

Jul 132011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
At random times the engine will not start. It is not a battery problem, as all lights and radio work even when the engine will not turn. If you wait long enough it may start again. This is a safety issue as you never know when or where this problem will occur.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #5

Aug 282011

Journey

  • 57,300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. While examining the battery and various fuses, the contact noticed a spark coming from the engine. The contact was able to successfully start the vehicle. The failure recurred once more approximately one month later. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 57,300. The VIN was unavailable.

- Watauga, TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 192010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 7,536 miles
In two years, five (5) times for brake problems. With 3,000 to 6,000 miles between each broke. Two times engine support mount. Two times with power train problems. Today (10/06/2011) the Journey 2009 R/T is in the service center of alberic colon Chrysler/Jeep in kennedy ave, san juan pr for the same problems and also : for the air conditioner system, suspension, motor cooling system problems, leaking grease in the back of the right front wheel. And guess!!!!!!, brakes again. Both, Chrysler and the dealer has refuse to obey the law that says, they have to provide a vehicle in cases that repair least more than 5 labor days including Saturday.also, to added more problems, [xxx](pr Chrysler service manager), has refused to authorize the brake repair. Saying that is normal, that a brake system that was repair in 02/16/2011 needs to be repair again in 09/19/2011(22033 to 30200 M). I have being without transportation for three weeks, causing me an my family a lot of problems because, is our only vehicle for all the family matters including, that I am a cardiovascular patient. " someone could tell me is these seems to look like a big juicy lemon " question is, who could help us with this giant abusive corporations? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #3

Nov 302010

Journey

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall intermittently when driving in colder temperatures. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000 and the current mileage was 29,000.

- Ironwood, MI, USA

problem #2

Sep 032010

Journey

  • 65,428 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact was driving 45 mph when the vehicle suddenly caught fire. The fire department extinguished the fire. The insurance company inspected and stated that the fire was caused by catastrophic engine failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 65,428.

- Unity, ME, USA

problem #1

Mar 252010

Journey

  • miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey, used but only 40000 miles. In 8 weeks of owning it has been in the shop 5 times, 3 times for the same reason a ticking in the engine. The most recent was corrosion of the crank shaft sensor. Really corrosion in a 2009 vehicle. There is also a grinding sound when I turn the wheel yet noone can seem to find the problem of that. I have already replaced the struts and mounts (thank god under warranty) that was a week after I had the car. I have a 15 month old and it scares me that something serious could happen when she is riding with me. I make just enough money to pay my bills and I am scared that something, now that my car is not under a warranty, will happen and I will be without a car. I am very disappointed with the service and quality I have gotten. My family has pretty much always owned a Dodge vehicle and we have never had this many issues. I really wish someone from Dodge would read this and give back to the people that spent their hard earned money on there product.

- Gibraltar, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?