Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Dodge Journey got a major overhaul in 2011. Let's hope it's better than the first generation (2009-2010) -- it couldn't be much worse.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #15

Jan 222016


  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Journey. While driving 65 mph, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the check engine light illuminated due to a low battery. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. In addition, while driving 25 mph, there where a squeaking noise coming from the brakes. When the vehicle was in reverse, it made a knocking/kicking noise and failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time where it was diagnosed that the transmission and a faulty cylinder head failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #14

Mar 292016


  • 75,800 miles
Recurring safety issue with no concrete resolution. While driving at 55mph on a parkway vehicle engine stalled. I could not accelerate and the brakes and steering wheel locked. Radio, power windows, etc. All worked and I couldn't shut off the vehicle via the push button start/stop. When I pressed it to try and turn it off it made a noise like it was trying to start but couldn't. while waiting for the tow truck all of the check engine lights started flashing. Had it towed to the dealership, they replaced the alternator ($$) though diagnostics revealed no problems and they were able to start the car fine once it got there. One week later I was on the highway and the exact same thing happened. It was so scary. I could barely get to the shoulder of the road because the steering had locked. My speed was declining rapidly with cars rushing past at 65+ mph. Once on the shoulder, even though my speed had declined to 0, I was on a slight hill so I just kept rolling bc I had no ability to break. Journey was towed to dealership again and, as before, nothing comes up as the source of the problem via the diagnostics test. The one thing that diagnostics did reveal was that it was detecting a key fob in the car with a low battery- both of the keys are at home with me with no car to drive. Additional problems and repair costs incurred have included malfunction of all steering wheel control buttons and horn, tire sensors needing to be replaced (they all showed 0 pressure when the tires were fine), and key fob detection. I have seen many complaints of this scary engine stall experience with no clear resolution as to why it is happening. It seems the mechanics and star techs are car only has 75K miles on it and I am terrified to drive it especially with my child in the car. Please investigate this issue before someone gets injured.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #13

Apr 282015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle and house caught fire. A police and a fire report were filed. The fire department extinguished the fire. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed and was destroyed. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 062015


  • 66,643 miles


The coolant system keep overheating had fix 2 times in 4months at a cost $900 reach time

- Brookyn, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 212015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine, engine cooling); however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #10

May 262015


  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Journey. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and was able to be restarted. This was a recurring failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The contact was unable to remember what the technician stated was the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 242015


  • 119,174 miles


Today 8-24-15 my 2011 Dodge Journey shut off as I was driving down a road. There was no prior indication the car all of the sudden would not steer, brake or do anything. The electric was still on but the car completely shut off. I had to use all my strength to maneuver it off the road and wait for it to slow down. My child was in the car. This is the second incident this has happened - 1st being in March 2015. Both have been reported to Chrysler. Both times I have brought to my local mechanic and it was set up for computerized diagnostic testing and both time threw no error codes. My mechanic believes it is an issue with the win module or something that is making the car ignition faulty and turning to accessory mode. It is unsafe to drive and I have contacted Chrysler because they need to stand behind their product. They are unwilling to make it a priority and have not offered a resolution. Just a note, the 2009 and 2010 version of this vehicle have been recalled for same issue. I have set up appt to have it diagnosed by Chrysler service center as they have indicated -however, the only time they could fit me in was a full week away. So now I wait because they feel that my car is safe " and haven't even offered a rental "!

- Cornish , ME, USA

problem #8

Jul 012015


  • 58,000 miles
It has been about a month since my 2011 Dodge Journey had begun to shut off without warning while I was driving, and with nyc traffic in the city it became dangerous for me to drive. I took it to my own mechanic who said it could only be resolved by the dealership since it may be an electrical issue with the car's computer that only the service shop at the dealership has the tools to fix. I am not driving faster than 30 mph when it happens, I'm unable to brake and the car shuts off automatically. I have begun to use the emergency brake, but if there is a car that is too close, in front or behind me, I can get into an accident. Thankfully, I have always been by the shoulder on the highway and am able to pull over.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #7

May 192015


  • 50,000 miles
After removing the cartridge style oil filter from the assembly, a spring and broken plastic pieces flew out of the assembly. This occurred around 50,000 miles. Vehicle was covered under certified used car warranty provided by Dodge. Appears to be a common problem and the part has since been updated on new vehicles.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 082014


  • 75,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway to work and the engine shut off. I lost power steering, power braking, ability to accelerate or really drive the car at all. All I could do was try to safely navigate an uncontrollable vehicle to the shoulder and hope I wasn't hit in the process. The check engine light came on, in addition to other warning lights (I think they were the tire pressure light, the vehicle traction control light and another indicator that looks like a lightning bolt). The car eventually restarted, but had problems driving and would start to cut out when it idled. We took it back to Dodge, they ran diagnostics but couldn't find any issues. After a lot of pressure, they replaced the main computer chip in the system. This was after replacing another minor part that didn't change the issue. This seemed to work for a few months, but then the problem began happening again. This time the engine was even more sluggish and the whole car would shake when you tried to accelerate. There was no power, even though the engine was running. Then, it would cut out again and the same warning lights came on. We are taking it back to Dodge again today to see what they can do.

- Santaquin, UT, USA

problem #5

Nov 042014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles


I was driving my kids to school when the engine just shut off. The power steering did not work and then the car just started back up on its own. It has happened 3 times since then. I bought a new battery and had a new alternator installed but it did not fix the problem.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #4

Mar 072014


  • miles
While the car is in motion, being driven, it stalls at least once per week for no apparent reason!

- Alburtis, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 272013

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased 3/26/13 experiencing problems w/Dodge 1st call to ford3-27-13@ cont. On several occasions.4/23/13 [xxx] @ Dodge stated cylinder head had misfire but not bad enough to signal light. Rec'd call from [xxx] @Ford to come& choose another car. 4-13-13, I stopped looking after 3rd-4th car when [xxx] stated to me &gilbert w Dodge called &stated will fix Dodge. [xxx] asked me give ford2wks 5-7-13 to fix the problem.4/24/13@ 4:30pm car was P/U from Dodge. 5-2-13 [xxx] N states he was under impression issue was taken care of.5/7/13 mess. From [xxx] states "working new loan to put me in another car, 5/8/13 car stopped @3:33pm tow vehicle directly to Dodge. [xxx] knew all that I've been thru.all he said "I am sorry but no cooling off period>don't want car too many problems & I've been here too many times.I asked for rental told by [xxx] no because I wasn't keeping car.I asked mark [xxx]& [xxx] if your wife was having this problems, what would you do" no one answered. Dodge- found dead battery& misfire on cylinder1,2,3,5 heads ondodge. [xxx] did leak down test.5-14-13@ 12:19pm, [xxx] states both cylinder heads needed replaced be ready by 5/17/2003. My job& family is very important to me. All of what I have been experiencing Ford has caused me to have repeatedly migraines&prolong back pain through stress. I am requesting to close contract on Dodge Journey. Please refund $4000 back, w/ vehicle tags & lic. Plates fees. On 5/22/13dodge [xxx] G states car should be ready 5/24/2013.stated a valve had failed & states parts will be re-manufactured parts. 5/24/2013@ 645P I went to Ford to get my car. Check battery sensor, oil change came on.left car need alternator.5/29/2013 car is now ready.the problems car has never been disclosed to me, & has been given to me to drive unsafe for my daughter and I. I am afraid to drive this car, what's next to happen" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 262011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 4,667 miles
Since I purchased this vehicle in September of 2011 I've had problems from the radio not working, power outlets not working, bad cylinder heads, have random loss of acceleration, bad gas tank and fuel pump. According to the technician at the dealer the Journey has a problem with the cylinder going bed within the first year. The fuel pump had to be replaced twice. The first time they replaced it I broke down in the middle of the freeway 3 days later with my family in the vehicle. The brakes and steering wheel locked up and the vehicle shutoff. I was a sitting duck waiting to be hit be oncoming vehicles. I had the vehicle towed back to the dealer and 3 days later IżżM told that the vehicle is fixed but I need to replace the brakes because they were at 0%. first of all I just had to replace the tires 2 months prior and my brakes were fine now I have no brakes at all. Secondly they said they road tested the vehicle the first time they should have fixed the issue but yet they didn't tell me I needed new brakes. I couldn't fuel my vehicle to full. It generally stop around 3/4. they have replaced everything there is to replace and the car still doesn't work. After the second time the fuel pump was replaced I was told my vehicle was fixed I picked it up and it was worse than when I drop it off. The vehicle was making loud noises, vibrating, and I still couldn't tell how much gas was in the tank. On top of all of that they tried to charge me 20 dollars for gas and when I refused to pay they took the gas out the vehicle and left it on the line next to the E. I had enough gas to make it to the gas station. Needless to say I'm still without a vehicle.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #1

May 102012


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Journey. The contact was traveling 55 to 60 mph when the engine stalled. The check engine warning light illuminated after the failure. The vehicle restarted after the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times. The manufacturer was also contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 16,000 and the current mileage was 17,500.

- Mcconnellburg, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?