Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,486 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Neon transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Neon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Neon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Sep 232014

Neon 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Neon. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from under the hood of the vehicle. The contact attempted to engage the accelerator pedal but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000...updated 12/02/14 updated 02/03/15

- Canfield , OH, USA

problem #23

Dec 242006

Neon

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Neon. She has had several failures within the transmission, engine and seat belts. The manufacturer was called, but the representatives refused to discuss the failures.the failure mileage was 87,000.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #22

Jul 092009

Neon

  • 83,000 miles
My engine light turned on initially. I took the car to a mechanic to have the computer read by a mechanic. The light turned off before I arrived to the shop, but I thought that there would be something in the computer history. The mechanic still put this on the computer which read nothing in the history. I thought that this must be some type of diagnostic check and the mechanic stated that I could of just put the gas cap on wrong or something. I just bought the car about 6 months ago and nothing was wrong with the car when I had this inspected. The engine light being on will not pass emissions. Then on 06/22/09 I got an full oil change and all fluids were checked. Still nothing wrong. I turned the car on 07/04/09 the brake light was flashing and the speedometer gauge and fuel gauge was shaking. The battery died. I replaced the battery and the battery warehouse checked the flow of the battery and stated that this may have been just a bad battery because nothing else is wrong. They even stated that this was not the alternator. Then 2 days later I turn the car on and the transmission fluid and antifreeze were pouring on the ground. I turned the car off immediately. The Dodge dealership thinks this is the transmission from experience without even looking at the car. I feel that this is a safety hazard and would like this to be looked into further when looking online it looks as if I am not the only owner of 2002 Neon that is having this particular issue without any noticeable warning. There was no pop-the engine still runs without a noise I just noticed that I lost all gears and fluids are dumping very quickly from my car. I immediately shut this down. Dodge is quoting just for a transmission the bill will be $3500 and needed my VIN # just to tell that without seeing my car. Luckily my employer is not upset about the fluids all dumped in the parking lot, but this could be considered property damage.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #21

Apr 282009

Neon

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Neon Dodge Neon's transmission went out before 60,000 miles.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #20

Aug 072008

Neon

  • 81,000 miles
While driving on the highway felt a jolt and loss of power. The speedometer then dialed all the way up and then back to zero. Pulled off to check it out, as I slowed down on the offramp heard a crunching sound and the car shut off. Started right back up but wouldn't go into gear, the transmission had locked up! I couldn't even put it in neutral to push it off the offramp. Had it towed to a shop where they put in a used, not new or rebuilt but a used transmissions with 60,000 miles on it for $1,800. The car had 81,000 miles at the time of failure and is barely six years old! I have also had to replace the throttle body and catalytic converter before 75,000 miles. By far the transmission is the most unacceptable component failure. At only 81,000 miles and six years old Dodge needs to recall these automatic transmissions!

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #19

Sep 162006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Neon. While driving 40 mph, the headlights were foggy and provided poor illumination. The lights also face downward instead of straight ahead. The contact was also experiencing transmission failure. When she would shift into drive, the gear would shift into reverse or neutral. The dealer stated that there were no recalls for the headlights. The purchase date and powertrain were unknown. The current mileage was 75,250 and failure mileage was approximately 63,000. Updated 03/18/08. The consumer stated vehicle's transmission was rebuilt in 02/08 at the cost of $1,864.18. Updated 03/18/08

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 242007

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Dodge Neon. In the first year I had the car I had the typical car problems but nothing too major. I have replaced the battery 6 times in the car, since purchase. In may of 2006, is when the problems began rolling in. My main computer had died in the car, a $900 repair. After contacting Dodge to get a new computer to put in the car, I had to wait for 7 months for it to be shipped, due to such a large back order. And the computer was only shipped after Dodge was called and I had threatened to contact the better business bureau. The day I had picked up the car from getting the computer installed, my radiator and transmission went out. So I had to repair both of them. Only a few weeks later the car was yet again in the shop for yet another transmission problem. The check engine light is now back on, upon having the computer code hooked up to the car, I have learned that there is a transaxle control system failure and an incorrect gear ratio condition in 2nd and 3rd gear. The car will not go above 45 mph. When I start it and put it in drive it takes a few minutes for the car to recognize that its in the drive gear and when it finally does go into drive the entire car jerks. It will do that for several minutes. This will now be the 8th time from December, 07 to August, 07 that I have had to make repairs to the transmission. My car is only 5 years old, there is no reason on why I should be having so many problems. I have taken care of my car and it has received the proper maintenance. I have put more then $9000 in the car since purchase, having to go as far as to have a family member take out a second mortgage on their home to pay for the repairs. After looking up complaints online, I have found numerous complaints about transmission problems, why has this not been recalled"? why is it that the only recall on the Neon is the lighting system?"

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 072007

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
Vehicle would not shift into drive, upon having the vehicle towed to the garage we were informed, it had a sizable hole in the transmission and they also found an oil leak. Total repair cost exceeded $600. This vehicle is a 2002 Dodge Neon and we are the original owners. The vehicle has always received proper care as far as oil changes, tires, spark plugs etc. The vehicle has not even reached 60,000 miles yet, and we're encountering such problems. In addition, the technician informed us, there are a number of small leaks, but it would be very, very costly to repair each leak, thus they only fixed what was causing the transmission to slip and the oil leak, which was also substantial.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Dec 142006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,328 miles
Vehicle has continued to idle hard after transmission replacement in Nov of 2004. Vehicle has started to stall when stopped. On date of incident, owner was driving vehicle home in a 55 mph zone. Vehicle made a screeching noise, check engine light came on, and vehicle started to sputter. Transaxle had to be replaced twice (first one shipped from manu was defective).

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 232004

Neon 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle had idled hard since purchase. Taken to local dealership numerous times for knocking sound on start up of vehicle every morning. Owner was told that sound could not be duplicated. On date of incident, vehicle started jerking in and out of gear on highway. Loud whine started and increased with acceleration. Owner pulled vehicle to the shoulder and got out to try to locate source of sound. When owner tried to put car back into gear, gear shift moved but did not engage. Transmission had to be replaced.

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 202006

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,824 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 49.9K miles on the odometer. This being 19.9K miles after warranty expires (30K mile warranty). Just made a long trip from hampton, va to appleton, wi. About a week after arriving in wi, I am heading to work and start to hear a high-pitched whine. Within about 10 minutes of hearing this whine, I was able to pull into a park and ride just as the car stopped moving. I was still able to rev the engine, but no acceleration. I placed the car into park and turned it off. I started it back up, and still could not get the car to move. Placed the car into neutral, and the car still would not move when I tried to push it. Found out, after car was towed to an auto shop, that a pinion bolt inside the transmission (2002 model) had broken off and was the cause to the seizure of the vehicle. If I had been driving down the highway, and this had happened, the car would have stopped in the middle of the highway and been the cause of a serious accident that, thankfully, was avoided in this instance. New transmission (2006 model) installed. The new safety feature for this model is that it has metal plates (brackets) around the offending bolt so that this does not happen. Semi-off topic: If they (the manufactures of the transmission, and subsequently the dealerships that sell the vehicle) knew this was an issue (apparent from the introduction of the metal plates for the bolt) why was it not announced and corrected while under warranty for those that have bought the vehicle in 2002?

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #13

May 252006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
My 2002 Dodge Neon ES has had nothing but problems leading up to the expiration of my warranty. Everything from electrical issues to radiator problems to the transmission. I took it for service at 65,000 miles because the transmission was slipping. My dealership said it was the radiator and the transmission was fine. I knew they were lying and sure enough, at 72,000 miles, 2,000 miles after my warranty expired, my transmission is dead. Chrysler Corp. Refuses to fix or even discount a transmission for me saying that my car is "above and beyond" any warranty. I don't consider 2,000 miles above and beyond, especially considering the car had 5,000 miles when I bought it and was considered brand new.

- Waterville , ME, USA

problem #12

Apr 152006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
Took my 2002 Neon SXT in for transmission warranty work in 2004...first Chrysler denied the claim stated that the transmission was not covered (had an extended warranty!). had my speed sensors replaced in December 2005 & am taking the car in again tomorrow to have them replaced again.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Mar 312006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
My car was working fine. All of a sudden would not go into gear and made loud noise. Took it to aamco and they tell my throttle regulator box blew up. My car has 50,000 miles on it. I drive it 10 miles to and from work. Needed a whole new transmission as when the box blew up it send shards of metal through my transmission.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 052006

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,218 miles
2002 Dodge Neon automatic transmission failed while driving on the highway while pulling off exit at very slow speed was hit from behind by another car -with minor damage to rear bumper. Transmission was replaced car had 40,000 miles.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #9

Sep 272004

Neon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,900 miles
On September 24,2004 my transmission became stuck in first gear, causing my car to drive inefficiently. It is putting a strain on my transmission. I have known other people's transmission problems with their Neons. Dodge is giving me a hard time for fixing it. This is still under a power train warranty, but are trying get around fixing the transmission. I had other expert tell me that at least 3 different thing are wrong with the transmission. I am bringing it back to premier Dodge tomorrow, September 28.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #8

Aug 222004

Neon

  • 5,000 miles
While at a stop vehicle would not accelerate. Vehicle was towed. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Providence, NC, USA

problem #7

Jun 042004

(reported on)

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,700 miles
While driving 45 to 50 mph and approaching a traffic light, the transmission would down shift when the brakes were applied. This also caused the vehicle to shut down intermittently.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 072004

Neon

  • miles
Consumer was driving at 65 mph and the vehicle jumped into passing gear. Consumer stated that last week while driving on the highway a truck was behind him and he needed to get more speed, so he stepped on the gas pedal to accelerate, however the vehicle did not respond, then it stalled. He kept telling the dealer about this problem and will take the vehicle back to dealer to have it checked again. Also, while driving, the vehicle jumped from 65-68 mph back and forth. The power train was repaired three times. When the consumer applied the brakes, the vehicle would stall and or jump and have almost run into other vehicle's. the consumer requested the vehicle to be remedied or reimbursement.

- York, PA, USA

problem #5

Feb 082004

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,800 miles
Have taken the car to dealership three times for the same problem. When driving at high speeds would drop from fifth gear into third. As you kept driving it would get worse. And at times would not go into gear at all. This last time we went into the dealership they told us that the manufacturer had route wires to tps wrong and they were damaged. They repaired this about a week ago. The car now jerks when going into gear, runs very poorley when wet weather and shakes severley when at a stop. I do not feel confident driving on the vehicle on the freeway, we would trade in but the trade in value is at $3500, that is crap considering we bought the car for $13,000 two years ago!!

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?