Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Nitro electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Nitro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Nitro Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Dec 012011

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 77,002 miles


I live in metro atlanta and I have a 2008 Dodge Nitro. I love my truck but 12/01/11 brought my love to like and I don't know what to do. I work 2.7 miles from home - on my way home 12/01/11, the horn started sounding, lights were flashing, doors were trying to locking and unlock, front and rear wipers came on, and the water for the wipers started spraying. I pulled over, cut the truck off for about 5 minutes and started it back up. Needless to say that did not resolve the issue. I drove all the way home with all these things happening. Once I got home, 'I cut the truck off" and the wipers were still going as well as the horn, the exterior lights, and the door locks. So 'I took the key out' and wouldn't you know - everything continue to do the same thing. Ended up disconnecting the battery. 12/02/11 I connected the battery from the disconnect the night beofre and the horn sounded for a few seconds but now my heater is not working - on the way into the office everything happened again. Pulled over and had truck towed to the nearest Dodge dealer. My Nitro has 77,006 miles on it.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #10

Nov 212009


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, the vehicle shifted into limp mode and the rear wheels seized. The contact stopped the vehicle and disconnected the battery; however, when he restarted the vehicle it began to function normally. The contact also stated that the vehicle experienced various electrical failures which caused the interior lights and windshield wipers to involuntarily turn on and off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #9

Oct 202011


  • 38,000 miles
Driving down the road I and my car started freaking out. Headlights flickering, horn blazing windshield wipers and fluid spraying.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #8

Feb 092011

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles


My husband and I purchased a brand new 2008 Dodge Nitro slt on 9/22/07. Less than six months later, the Nitro began having problems with the driver's side door locks not working properly. On 3/8/08, the master power window switch was replaced by a Dodge dealership and seemed to solve the problem. On 11/18/09, vehicle was taken to a different Dodge dealership as one where it was originally purchased had closed. At this visit, the battery was replaced as it was thought to be the source of all of the electrical malfunctions that had been occurring with the car for several days - horn honking on its own, window wipers (front and back) working on their own (with spray), door locks going up and down by themselves and engine light coming on, plus the A/C heater unit stopped working. The car had been towed to the dealership for this repair as it was not drivable in the condition it was in at the time. On 9/2/10, the car was taken back to the second dealership that had worked on it prior for the following problems: Windshield wipers working by themselves (with spray), tire pressure warning lights indicating low tire pressure when pressure was normal, both turn signals flashing at the same time while car was either at a standstill or in motion, for no reason. I was told by the dealership that, because no codes showed and the vehicle passed all their tests, not duplicating the problems I had told them about, there was nothing they could do. I needed a warning light to appear on my SUV or something that would help indicate to them what the problem is. Now the Nitro is in the same shop yet again as, on 2/9/11, as I had just started up the vehicle, the horn began randomly chirping, the dash lights all were faintly blinking and the wipers worked by themselves again. I drove out of my parking deck and onto a street when the entire dash lit up, the car completely died and began rolling downhill backwards. Neither the gas nor the brakes would work. Horn stayed blaring.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #7

Jan 152010

Nitro 4WD 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My 2008 Dodge Nitro 4.0 loses electrical power. As I searched the internet to troubleshoot this problem, I discovered there are quite a few Dodge Nitro drivers who are having the same electrical problem. According to blogs and self help sites many people are being sent away from dealerships without assurances because the condition cannot be replicated. You see, after the power goes out inexplicably it will come back on. People have been stalled at intersections with others losing all power while driving on the highway. I personally have had several outages. I have replaced the battery under the assumption the battery was defective on this two year old car. I have not lost power while driving but I have lost all electrical power while moving from a parked position. As well, on several occasions I have entered my car to find that the clock needs to be reset as though the battery had died. I would say I have had five incidents of power loss since I bought my car approximately two years ago.

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #6

May 182010


  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall at different times when the driver was operating it. The driver was able to restart it but it would stall again. The contact attempted to use the alternate key fob and there were no problems. The contact believed that the battery in the key fob needed to be changed and was the cause of the failure. The contact changed the battery and had not experienced any problems. The manufacturer had not been notified. The vehicle the current mileage was 46,605. The failure mileage was approximately 43,000.

- New Ellenton, SC, USA

problem #5

May 192010


  • 47,600 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Nitro. While driving 60 mph, the lights on the dashboard illuminated and the brakes engaged without assistance from the driver. The contact spoke with the dealer who advised that the vehicle was experiencing electrical problems. The contact had the vehicle repaired but the failed recurred. The current and failure mileages were 47,600.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 052010


  • 43,000 miles
While driving the 2008 Dodge Nitro at about 68 mph on a san jose 101 freeway during rush hour traffic out of no where my emergency brake was deployed even though I did not even hit any brakes, I saw the light on the engine almost got into horrible accident all the warning lights came on, the radio and engine stopped. About 5 seconds later the radio and A/C came back on, and the lights on the dashboard went back to normal. O called Chrysler they said they cant really do anything till this happen at service shop. This happened to me before to. This is crazy I could get into a horrible accident. Can you please look into this.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 072009


  • 475 miles
Sunroof of 2008 Dodge Nitro SXT leaks after it rains. The problem started one month after the vehicle was purchased (March 2009). Dealership could not find source of the leak on first occurence so sunroof glass was adjusted. Second occurence was in April of 2009. Leak was finally discovered by dealership's service department and all components dealing with the sunroof was "replaced". third occurence of same problem occured in early January 2010. Water that leaks into the vehicle not only will eventually ruin the interior but the water leaks in around a set of map lights located just above the rear view mirror. This combination of water and electricity could result in someone being electrocuted or the vehicle catching on fire as a result of a shortage.

- Town Creek, AL, USA

problem #2

Oct 182009


  • 31,000 miles
While driving my 2008 Nitro on the freeway, the check engine light came on - solid, not flashing. I made a comment to my wife about taking it in the next day to have it looked at. About a minute later, the car stalled and I pulled off to the side. My wife and daughter got out and noticed smoke coming from under the hood. By the time traffic cleared enough for me to get out of the car, there were flames coming out from under the hood. The car became fully engulfed within minutes. The fire department put the fire out and the car was a total loss. The front tires exploded, the rims melted, the engine compartment was fully burnt. I reported the incident to Chrysler who investigated and told me that there was nothing wrong with the car. The only maintenance I had performed was to get the oil changed 3 week prior at a quick-change type company. The car had 31,000 miles on it.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #1

Nov 012009


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Nitro. While driving 65 mph the hazard lights would flash, the vehicle would decelerate, the windshield wipers would come on, and the horn began blowing. The failure occurred when the vehicle was on or off. The failure occurred intermittently without warning. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The dealer changed the fuse in the vehicle and the failure continued to occur. The contact removed the fuse connected to the horn. The contact stated that the vehicle was dangerous to drive since the vehicle began to decelerate and could cause a crash. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?