Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Sep 262002

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I sent an email to glen hartzeim of hartzeim Dodge on 9/30/02 stating what happened and if he could direct me on what course of action to take.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 062001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Prior to the recall the clock spring was fixed. Consumer is seeking reimbursement for the cost of repair.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #14

Jan 012001

Ram 1500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is vibration when hitting a bump at 60-65 mph. Dealer has replaced front tie rod.but, it has not remedied the problem.*akconsumer adds that this is not just vibrations but intense ascillations that alternate left to right. The bouncing makes the vehicle difficult to control and will not subside until broughtr to a complete stop. Upon checking several times, the tires were choppy and needed replacing, the track bar needed replacing, and a special part for the tie rod was ordered, also the left mirror was not heating, also the clock spring was replaced, also tires were showing wear..

- Owings, MD, USA

problem #13

Apr 112002

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dodge Ram 1500 series.the vehicle was involved in a front collision at 25-35 mph. Upon impact neither air bag deployed causing the passenger to hit head on the dash. Damage to vehicle unknown at this time. Nlm

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #12

Dec 252001

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Edge of the hwy gave way, forcing the vehicle into a brick wall, neither airbag deployed, causing damage to the left ribs from impact with the steering wheel.

- Etowah, TN, USA

problem #11

Apr 282001

Ram 1500

  • miles
My truck has an engine miss, that is confirmed by the manufactures own engineers who say there is no known solution. DC refuses to honor their comittment and has failed in their so called attempts at repair. The clockspring has twice been replaced, first after it broke two days after the DC rep inspected my truck but refused to do anything with the concerns. Second time was the recall 982 which was performed on 7/9/01. The noise in the steering wheel has since returned and the steering at times gets tight while turning right. The first clockspring that broke was also after the vehicle steering wheel was turned to the right. The brakes will shudder when coming to a stop, and the dealer replaced the rear drums at one point but refused to procede further. On 5/13/01 coming to an intersection the trucks rear tires locked up and the truck entered the intersection approx. 1/3 to 1/2 the length of the truck, on 11/17/01while returning home I noticed a burnt odor at the rear of the truck, a further inspection showed smoke coming from the wheels, touching the rear wheel it was extremely hot to the touch. So hot in fact I pulled my hand away before I was burnt. Front tires still show extreme signs of wear, dealer has refused to do anything further. In fact dependable Dodge of vero beach on 5/14/01 told me DC ordered that no further work be done on my truck. They in fact stated they will breach their warranty.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 282001

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck has an engine miss, that is confirmed by the manufactures own engineers who say there is no known solution. DC refuses to honor their comittment and has failed in their so called attempts at repair. The clockspring has twice been replaced, first after it broke two days after the DC rep inspected my truck but refused to do anything with the concerns. Second time was the recall 982 which was performed on 7/9/01. The noise in the steering wheel has since returned and the steering at times gets tight while turning right. The first clockspring that broke was also after the vehicle steering wheel was turned to the right. The brakes will shudder when coming to a stop, and the dealer replaced the rear drums at one point but refused to procede further. On 5/13/01 coming to an intersection the trucks rear tires locked up and the truck entered the intersection approx. 1/3 to 1/2 the length of the truck, on 11/17/01while returning home I noticed a burnt odor at the rear of the truck, a further inspection showed smoke coming from the wheels, touching the rear wheel it was extremely hot to the touch. So hot in fact I pulled my hand away before I was burnt. Front tires still show extreme signs of wear, dealer has refused to do anything further. In fact dependable Dodge of vero beach on 5/14/01 told me DC ordered that no further work be done on my truck. They in fact stated they will breach their warranty.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

Jun 012001

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Airbag light came on and there was a noise when steering. Vehicle taken to dealer 5 times, replaced clock spring assembly. Did not remedy problem. Consumer is returning vehicle under lemon law.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 162001

(reported on)

Ram 1500

  • miles
Consumer received a recall notice, and made an appointment six days in advance, however when he arrived he was informed that his appointment could not be honored because the dealership had a few projects that went over due.

- Okemos, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 012001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Consumer received a safety recall notification, to have clockspring replaced, however consumer was informed by dealerhsip that they did not have the part.

- Imperial, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 052000

Ram 1500 4WD Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #5

Jun 012001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Consumer has contacted dealer in reference to recall 01V153000/ manufacturer's recall 982, dealer is unwilling to provide any assistance regarding recall.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Jun 042001

Ram 1500

  • miles
This is the second clockspring that has failed in this truck. The first obi# is 742727.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #3

Jun 112001

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While making a slow right turn at about 5-10 mph steering wheel became very hard to turn. Consumer then heard a loud popping sound and airbag light came on. Vehicle not taken to dealer yet. Please add further comments.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #2

May 192001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Turned steering wheel while going slow, heard a "crunch" come from the steering wheel, air bag "not working" indication on dashboard.

- Carlsbad, NM, USA

problem #1

Mar 092001

Ram 1500

  • miles
After many visits to the selling dealer, and a meeting with the Chrysler rep. My truck still exhibits problems such as sat.4/28/01 while driving I turned the truck right and noticed the steering was extremely tight, when the steering wheel was turned back to the straight position, something inside cracked, almost immediately the (air bag) light came on and remainred on, truck was brought to dealer and was set for an appointment for Monday, 4/30/01. The ownersmanual states ( warning ignoring the air bag light in your instrument panel could mean you won't have the air bags to protect you in a collision) the dealer failed in attempt after attempt to investigate my complaints, and now caused me to have to drive this defective truck. The brakes at times while comming to a stop shudder, or do you call it wheel hop, 3/15/01 dependable Dodge replaced the brake drums on the rear after the service director drove the truck on 3/9/01. The truck now three times is exhibiting front tire wear, first time they match mounted the tires as well as took one of the front tires off the rim and exchanged it with the spare tire under the truck, second time they aligned the frontend and rotated the tires, 200 miles later the tires showed signs of wear again, truck was taken to 2 different Michelin tire dealers and they informed me that the tires are wearing prematurely, to soon with only 1000 miles on them since the alignment. The truck ehibits what the service director says is a ping, I was informed to increase the octane from 87 to 89, which has done nothing. I am in the process of entering into the lemon law process and am very dissapointed with the response I have received from the dealer as well as the manufacturer. Thank you.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?