Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #345

Jun 072016

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,971 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected per NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags). There were no warning lights illuminated prior to visiting the dealer; however, the air bag warning light illuminated when the vehicle was returned. The contact returned the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor light needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 75,971. Updated 07/12/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 08/31/16.

- Newington, CT, USA

problem #344

Jun 072016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The local Chrysler, Jeep Dodge or Ram dealer said they could not fix the recall at this time and would order part and call us back at a later date.

- Ackerman, MS, USA

problem #343

May 112015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect.

- 532 Melton St Apt D, WY, USA

problem #342

May 142014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have tried for 2 years and had 2 appointments to have our vehicle air bags replaced. The dealer is( barry sanders Dodge dealership) in stillwater, Oklahoma. We have contacted them with the recall notices but they never call back and when we call them they tell us they are unable to get the air bags at this time.

- Glencoe, OK, USA

problem #341

Jun 022016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #340

Jun 022016

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 07/12/16 the consumer stated the passenger air bag was replaced on June, 8 2016. Updated 07/20/16.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #339

Feb 182016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.....updated 07/05/16 updated 07/14/16.

- Ott, AL, USA

problem #338

May 182016

Ram 1500

  • 61,000 miles
Recall notice R26/NHTSA 15V-312 dashboard is cracked in several places dealership claims that replacing airbag will further damage or completely destroy dashboard please advise

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #337

Jul 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lone Rock, WI, USA

problem #336

Sep 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I received a recall notice last year and still have not received the noted follow up recall notice.

- Park City, UT, USA

problem #335

Aug 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification a of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The parts distribution disconnect.

- Rudyard, MI, USA

problem #334

May 012016

Ram 1500

  • 101,000 miles
Takata recall my steering wheel is bulged out and the light flashed then goes off" I can be driving then it flashes then disapers and you can feel and see the bulge. Steering issue : I have had over 8 alignments done in the past month and all new parts tires N rims installed and the steering wheel is still sideways ? its alighned for no more then a day then it starts loosing the straight drive and pulling left or right " of had it at multiple places and they can't figure it out.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #333

Jun 302015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 06/29/16 the consumer stated the part was replaced. Updated 07/06/16.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #332

Mar 292016

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
Takata recall I took my vehicle into the Dodge dealership to have the recall replacement of the airbag inflator housing done. The dealership informed me that they could not do the repair due to the condition of my dashboard my dashboard, like most Dodge trucks from the same time period is cracked somewhat severely. This is not due to anything I have done, instead it is due to the plastic selected by Dodge when they built the original dashboards. The dealership did advise that they could replace the dashboard in order to also replace the inflator, unfortunately with labor and material this was going to be a $1600 cost. The dash was not recalled because Dodge considers it a cosmetic issue, now unfortunately it is also a safety issue if it is preventing the repair.

- 60510, IL, USA

problem #331

May 062015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #330

Mar 102015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Dodge truck. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair air bag recall.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #329

Jul 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pine City, MN, USA

problem #328

Apr 062016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall I called hunter Dodge in lancaster ca to make appt. To have airbabs replaced and was given an appt. For July 8 2016.. at the moment I'm driving a truck that could kill me.. I am request that a rental truck be provided for me due to the danger we are in. We are disabled and need to go doctors 80 miles away.. since we found out about recall on our truck we are very scared of driving but we have no choice as we need to get doctors appointments.. please help us get a rental truck asap.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #327

Sep 222015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #326

Oct 012015

Ram 1500

  • 175,000 miles
Takata inflators: We took vehicle to dealer for recall repairs but dealer said we would have to purchase a new dash for about $1,400 to replace the existing cracked dash before they could do the airbag recall work. We cannot afford to spend that much money on a new dashboard so recall work has not been done, therefore, the truck is not safe. We have been told that because of the vehicle's age, no safe replacement dashboards exist. What can we do?

- Kingwood, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?