Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
111,397 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jul 302015

Ram 1500

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drive shaft fell out and rear end locked...skidded to a halt. 2004 model built between Jan 28 and Aug 3

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #46

Jul 302015

Ram 1500

  • 145,300 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While pulling off from a complete stop, the vehicle stalled. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred four times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also mentioned there was a closed investigation under NHTSA action number: EA05018; however, the vehicle experienced the same failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,300.

- Waynesboro, GA, USA

problem #45

Oct 212014

Ram 1500

  • miles
While coming to a stop rear end locked. After inspection found drive shaft had come loose and fallen under truck.had vehicle towed to home and after further inspection found nut had come off pinion causing drive shaft to fall off and pinion to fall back into ring gear and broke pinion, ring gear, and bearings.unable to repair myself I had a used rear end installed in truck. I later heard that Chrysler had a recall for this failure and contacted them by phone. I was told that this truck was not covered by the recall. Why, when having the exact same problem as their recall, was my vehicle not included? I will have to find my bills for repairs and wrecker service, but I believe it was around $1400, and I feel Chrysler should reimburse me.

- Piedmont, SC, USA

problem #44

May 292015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving at about 25 mph had just made a left turn, and out of no where my truck went side ways heard a screeching tire sound then a bang, then the whole truck started to shake very violently. I braked immediately and the banging continued, I was in the middle of the roadway and tried to give it gas to get to the edge of the street but the banging go worst, turn off and exited the truck, noticed a big piece of metal in the middle of the road along with a lot of oil, ran up to it to only notice it was half of my drive shaft, it had snapped in two still attached to a piece of the rear end, along with fragment pieces all over the floor of the differential housing, seemed like something blew up in the differential. I looked under the truck and noticed the banging noise and violent movement was coming from the other half of the drive shaft that was still attacked to the transmission that was still spinning when I had it in gear. The car behind me had to avoid the drive shaft that snapped off since he said it flew out the rear of my truck as I was driving. Had to get towed home and have the differential oil cleaned of the road way. I went home and notice there was a recall for this very same thing at it covered trucks manufactured January 28 of 2004 through August 3, 2005, my truck was manufactured April 2004 so it should be covered but the dealer and manufacture are giving the run around. Please help!

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #43

May 162015

Ram 1500

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact heard a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle when the accelerator pedal was released. While traveling approximately 45 mph, the driveshaft fractured causing the rear differential to lock up. As a result, the rear of the vehicle dragged. The contact had to apply extreme force to control the vehicle and pull it over to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was excluded from NHTSA campaign numbers: 03V503000 (power train) and 14V796000 (power train). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #42

May 172015

Ram 1500

  • 156,400 miles
Rear end froze, locked up, and drive shaft came off. The exact same issue as current recall P77 for 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. My truck shows a manufacture date of November 2003, whereas the P77 starts for trucks manufactured beginning January 2004. My question is what did Dodge do different from November 2003 to January 2004 ( 2 months), and if nothing, why isn't my truck not included in this recall? this is very dangerous. My 16 year old daughter was driving, and if her rear locked up on the highway, just a few minutes earlier, there could have been a major accident. This needs to be addressed immediately. This is a very popular truck, and someone could get seriously hurt!

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #41

May 152015

Ram 1500

  • 185,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at approximately 50 mph, there was a whining noise followed by a loud banging noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact indicated stated that the rear axle suddenly seized and the drive shaft detached from the vehicle, causing the driver to lose control and crash into a ditch. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the failure was caused when the rear axle pinion nut became loose. No further information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that the VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 185,000.

- Palm Bay , FL, USA

problem #40

May 072015

Ram 1500

  • 149,577 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 20 mph, a clunky sound emitted from the rear of the vehicle. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the drive shaft was twisted and the pinion was fractured. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 149,577.

- Lisbon, CT, USA

problem #39

Apr 012015

Ram 1500

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 55 mph, there was a grinding noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact pulled off on the off ramp of the freeway and lost control of the vehicle without warning. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered that the drive shaft was lying on the ground. The vehicle was towed to the contacts place of business. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #38

Apr 152015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 130,500 miles
I had just merged onto a freeway on-ramp when, , w/O warning, the truck shimmied and sounded a loud bang followed by loss of control of the vehicle which sent it spinning toward the edge of the road. I had just come over the mountain passes and was lucky to have not had it happen there. Upon getting out and inspecting the vehicle it was obvious what had happened: The rear section of drive shaft was laying on the ground and had disconnected abruptly from the rear differential. I've heard this is far from the first time this has happened with this model vehicle (NHTSA action number: PE14019) and hence feel the need to add to the catalog of reports.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #37

Apr 022015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 183,377 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at approximately 40 mph in heavy traffic slowed by road construction a grinding noise started at the rear end of the truck. Approximately 5 seconds later and a loud pop the truck began shaking. I veered to the shoulder of the road barely getting it off the road. Looking under the truck found the driveshaft separated from the differential with the U joint a yoke still attached to the driveshaft.I had the truck towed to my residence on a rollback tow truck because the rear end was locked up. I searched online for anyone that might had this happen to them and found a recall from Chrysler for this very same problem. I contacted a local dealer who told me my vehicle had no recalls on it. I also contacted Chrysler Corp who told me the same thing. I need this truck back on the road as soon as possible but would like to know if this is a defect and their recall should include my truck. Thanks

- Shallotte, NC, USA

problem #36

Mar 252015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I was driving my truck down a back country road on the sway to work when I noticed a whistling sound coming from the truck. I began to slow down from 55mph and then I heard a loud bang underneath the truck. I got out to find the transfer case blown apart and the rear end was locked. This could have been a serious matter if I was driving on the highway or had not begun to slow down. Upon further investigation I have found many recalls on my truck. I also found out that this is going to run me around 3 grand, if the transmission isn't messed up.

- Nashville, NC, USA

problem #35

Mar 032014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The truck stalls at idle or low speeds after refueling. It happens every time. It is dangerous because the power steering goes out and the truck is very difficult to control. It has happened as I am entering off-ramps and proceeding through intersections. The problem is the vapor/liquid separator valve located at the top of the fuel tank. The valve is designed to prevent liquid fuel from entering the charcoal canister/emissions system. When the valve fails, liquid gas can enter the line and fill the charcoal canister. After refueling, the PCM on the vehicle detects a change in fuel level. Then, when the engine meets certain temperature and driving criteria, the PCM issues a purge command to the charcoal canister to remove the stored gas vapors. It"S at that point that all the liquid gas in the line gets sucked into the charcoal canister. The PCM expects to see gas vapors entering the intake manifold and it is prepared to adjust air/fuel mixtures to compensate. However, it is not prepared to see liquid gas coming into the intake. That"S what causes the engine to stall. Unfortunately, the only fix is to replace the entire gas tank. Chrysler does not sell the vapor/liquid valve as a separate unit. Once the tank is replaced and the charcoal canister purged, the problem goes away. This problem is well-known to Chrysler across a broad range of vehicles, including pickups, minivans and SUVS. Chrysler settled with complainants on some models and years by agreeing to extend the warranty to lifetime, but refuses to acknowledge the problem outside of those vehicles. I am looking at a $1,300 repair bill for a known defective and unsafe part, the replacement for which Chrysler refuses to sell separate from the gas tank itself. I would be deeply grateful for any assistance you may provide.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #34

Mar 032015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 207,000 miles
Driving home from work at about 65 mph on the freeway, and the drive shaft came detached form the rear end. I was able to coast over to the right shoulder. Car was towed to a shop and repairs are pending. Repair facility told me that there is hole in the rear end casing.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #33

Nov 122014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Vehicle was traveling down a 4 lane main thoroughfare in medium traffic when the rear end locked up and exploded. Driver was lucky enough to gain control of the vehicle and bring it to a stop without injury or crashing into another vehicle. Although the vehicle is a 2004, it was manufactured with in the same time frame as the 2005 P77 recall for the same issue.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #32

Feb 202015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 157,506 miles
NHTSA action number: PE14019 recall P77 driving on the interstate when decelerating the rear end of truck violently started shaking. Under a constant speed shaking stopped. Took an exit to a county road where the truck shook violently again and the drive shaft came off the truck at about 45mph. Towed truck to mechanic who said the pinion nut came loose allowing the gear to fall into rear differential which caused drive shaft to fall off and shatter the transfer casing. Had this happened at interstate speed the drive shaft flying into a vehicle behind me could have been deadly. The is already a recall for the 2005 model referenced above. Called Chrysler, who said that my truck is not affected by this recall, even though the exact same problem occurred? I believe this recall affects more than just 2005 model Ram and needs to be readdressed to multiple years.

- Rossville, IN, USA

problem #31

Feb 032015

Ram 1500

  • 140,838 miles
On my way to work when I heard a pop, lost all power and saw my drive shaft on the ground behind me. I had to pull over and had no way to keep the truck from rolling away. I had to remain inside my vehicle until help arrived. This is definitely a safety issue. I am lucky I didn't completely lose control when it happened and that I wasn't hit when I had to sit on the side of the highway inside my broken down truck. I see there are multiple incidents similar involving my year truck, yet Dodge has only recalled the 2005 model. My truck was manufactured December 30, 2003.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #30

Feb 162015

Ram 1500

  • 211,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the drive shaft failed causing the rear wheels to seize. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 211,000.

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #29

Dec 232011

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Driving downhill on the hwy 5 going North just before grapevine at 70 mph. I heard a loud bang and then noticed I had lost all drive as the throttle was just revving. Had to move very quickly from the speed lane over the right shoulder barely missing 18 wheelers coming down hill. Coasted on the shoulder downhill all the way into grapevine and into a parking lot. I looked under the truck and the entire rear drive shaft was missing as was part of the yoke that comes out of the differential that connects to the final shaft. Had to tow 100 miles back to los angeles. Complete rear axle/differential and shaft replaced.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 282014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,612 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 70 mph, a loud grinding noise emitted from underneath the truck as smoke started to come out of the outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road and upon inspection by the contact, it was noticed that the drive shaft was hanging loose. The contact mentioned that there were two puddles of oil and the drive shaft was bent. The vehicle became inoperative. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the rear axle was damaged and that the pinion nut came loose. The dealer determined that the rear axle and the carrier of the axle needed to be replaced. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) however, the VIN was not included on the campaign. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,612. Updated 8/10/15

- Sterling Height, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?