Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,245 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jan 242011

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


Dodge Ram 1500 truck just shuts off when braking or turning. You have to put it in neutral and restart it. This is going to cause a serious accident or injury to someone and Dodge has not recalled the vehicle. We have seen numerous complaints on the internet about this same problem. We have called our Dodge dealer and N one seems to know what to do. It has happened more than once in the past month.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #39

Dec 192010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
2004 Ram 1500 5.7 hemi stalls at low engine speeds, often at stop signs, traffic lights, or parking lot maneuvers. Will usually start immediately back up, sometimes requires slight accelerator pressure when cranking in order to obtain self-sustaining engine speed. During decelerations, engine RPM is erratic and will often encounter a transient drop in RPM's to approximately 400 RPM before engine dies. Issue seems to be more common and severe in cold weather, or when engine is cold, but has occurred under all conditions. This has been a persistent problem for about two years, happening anywhere from once a day to a dozen times. Multiple dealerships and mechanics have looked at this, without result. The computer has been updated, the sensors, egr valve, and intake manifold cleaned, and the throttle body has been replaced. Still not fixed. Vehicle has been well maintained and has less than 55K miles. This is an expensive, dangerous, and frustrating condition.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #38

Jun 202010

Ram 1500

  • 70,984 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. After changing the oil in the vehicle, the contact noticed that the oil was being burned at a quick rate. The oil was burning 1,000 miles for every quart. The vehicle was taken to an authorized daler where they were condcuting an oil evaluation. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the problem was normal. The failure mileage was 70,984.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #37

Mar 152010

Ram 1500

  • 68,000 miles


All model of the Dodge 4.7 motor. Motor stops running due to a prone sludge build up Dodge will not recognize it as a motor failure. It is infact a design flaw Dodge needs to address this someone is going to get killed breaking down on a highway or such. Motor stops and it is impossible to steer or brake with the engine off at 65 mph. This really needs to be addressed. Thousand of people are being stranded in need of please research. [xxx] thankyou information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #36

Dec 162009

Ram 1500

  • 113,221 miles
I have the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 with the 5.7 hemi. The truck inconsistently stalls for no reason. Sometimes after fueling up the motor will surge and sputter before stalling. Most of the time the motor starts right back up only to stall again just a short time later. Other times the motor will not restart for several minutes and attempts. It only stalls when traveling below 25mph and sitting at idle. I noticed it normally idles around 700rpm, but just before a stall it will dip to 500rpm and feel as it there is a slight miss in the motor. Nothing I have tried has fixed this issue and the repair shops have failed to duplicate or diagnose this problem. After checking around I have noticed this seems to be a common problem and I think Dodge should do something to fix this. Whenever the engine fails I lose steering and brakes. Last week it stalled on the interstate with no pull off room and it would not restart for several minutes nearly causing a rear end collision between a big rig and myself. This is a serious safety issue.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #35

Sep 172009

Ram 1500

  • 79,050 miles
2004 Ram 1500 quad cab 5.7L hemi. Engine suddenly stalls when it reaches temperature if the vehicle is decelerating (stop or turn). The engine appears to fail to switch correctly from high to low idle and goes right to zero. This results in immediate loss of steering and significant safety hazard. This has continued to occur more frequently with time and by the online descriptions is getting to be fairly common.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #34

Apr 202009

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles


Braking on the highway led to engine stall and full loss of power to vehicle. Vehicle stalled in left lane and nearly caused a crash. Also, rack and pinion steering began to fail at 50,000 miles. Replaced at 54,000.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #33

Dec 202008

Ram 1500

  • 66,240 miles
Yesterday for no apparent reason my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 died on a busy road with no warning. And would not restart. This truck has on several occasions when coming to a stop decided to stop running. (4-5 times in 2 years)until yesterday I would turn the switch off then restart and I would be okay until the next time the engine was checked for codes but none were found. After reading other problems on your site why has this issue not been solved? someone should be held accountable "Dodge" and the public safety should be #1 concern...... I await your response to this not so uncommon problem with shutdowns & stalling engines.

- Southaven, MS, USA

problem #32

Mar 012008

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 35,242 miles
5.7 engine stalls, no warning, when slowing down. Causes loss of power steering.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #31

Jun 152007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,850 miles
After driving at highway speeds for a period of time, once I stop the vehicle and almost always happens after I proceed into a turn, without warning, the vehicle's engine cuts off. I have carried it to the dealer twice, they say they have never heard of this before and can find no problem, they tell me once this has been brought to the manufacturers attention more than three times, a service bulletin is issued. I know of one other owner of this same vehicle with the same problem and the internet has numerous complaints about the same problem with the make and model of this vehicle.

- Cropwell, AL, USA

problem #30

Mar 012007

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


My husband bought our 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 (hemi) in Jan 2004 and has about 130,000 miles now. We had problems with the breaks and rotors just like every one else on here in March of 2005 when driving down the highway with cruise on and the truck lost all power. The RPM went to zero but the truck was still running. To get the RPM to come back on we would have to turn off the truck and restart the truck. Every time the electrical light would come on, all while in traffic at 65-70 mph. This went on from March 2005- Jan 2007. We have been to the dealer many times and they couldn't get any codes to come up. Then in January 07 we got off the highway to stop at a store and had to make a left turn into the store. The truck made a loud pop noise and died. When my husband started the truck back up it was sputtering and wouldn't stay running without keeping the truck above 2000 rpms. I took the truck to my dad who is a robertson tire repair tech. He couldn't get any codes to come up. Then about 45 min after letting the truck sit he ran the codes again and got about fifteen codes. We replaced all the sensors and it didn't help so went to the dealer again. They couldn't get any codes and couldn't tell us what was wrong. Why it wouldn't stay running. So I just thought I would file my complaint and let everyone know what happens after its done stalling what happens next. I will not buy another Dodge.

- St. George, UT, USA

problem #29

Feb 112007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
Oil pressure gauge went to zero. Never came back. Dodge will not warranty the engine, dealer says the engine is shot, 56K and is still under warranty. Dealership started at 8 grand to fix it. Is now down to 4,500. It appears this could be a common problem but Dodge won't warranty the repair.

- Estancia, NM, USA

problem #28

Dec 192006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I just learned you were looking into an issue with 2004/05 Dodge Ram trucks where the engine stalls. I own a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab with a 5.7 liter engine. In December of 2006, I was traveling up a hill (a fairly steep grade) at about 30 - 35 mph when the engine just stalled for no apparent reason just as I was about to come left around a bend. The engine restarted and has not stalled since.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #27

Jan 012005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
I have an 2004 Dodge Ram with a 5.7L hemi engine. My truck is now around 50K miles. I have had engine stalling since day-one of owning the vehicle. I have taken it to two Dodge dealers multiple times and it has yet to be fixed. The engine stalls mostly when coming to a stop. Sometimes is just stalls after sitting at a light with my foot on the brake.

- Rochelle, IL, USA

problem #26

Jan 092007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 that has stalled while traveling at various speeds. The contact has been able to restart the vehicle after the stalling incidents. The dealer stated that they couldn't find anything wrong with the vehicle since they couldn't duplicate the problem. The first time the contact experience the stalling the vehicle had an odometer reading of 15,000 miles.

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #25

Jan 052007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
Truck stalled when turning a corner. Had to accelerate through the corner and after I released the accelerator the truck died without any indicator lights. I put it in neutral and started it and drove off.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #24

Sep 142005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Hemi engine dies for no reason. 3 times within 1yr and half, truck restarts fine. Happens after it is put in gear and driven for @150ft. Took to dealer and the denied any problems.

- Avon, IN, USA

problem #23

Dec 232006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Truck started stalling a few weeks ago for my wife. I finally had the chance to drive it and it fell flat on its face. My entire family was almost put into a telephone pole at 45 mph since the truck lost all power. This time it didn't stall it just ran with no acceleration and held at 4,000 rpms. Extensive attempts for cooperation by dealership and daimler Chrysler have led me to believe I bought a really expensive coffin. I established the tsb codes w/ both and was left hansen high and dry. I got that " sure we'll help, here' S a new truck but we can't pay off yours even though we sold it to you." And the" we're not responsible for this even though we acknowledge the problem is our fault." I will not purchase a Dodge vehicle again. Shame on Dodge!!!! I don't really blame the dealership, but they themselves should have checked all this with the truck before selling it to me. Daimler Chrysler representatives who decided this isn't a problem should be made should be punished by law to drive these faulty vehicles until they are injured or killed. Maybe then these problems will be repaired.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #22

Dec 022006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,500 miles
Originally had a problem with the egr position sensor and the dealership re programmed this with new software this took place 02/07/06. Seemed to take care of original stalling issue. Then on 12/2/06 I was exiting the freeway and my truck was shaking bad. I could tell that the engine was misfiring. If the engine went down to an idle it would stall, which it did several times, leaving all system components powerless (no steering or brakes etc). I had my pregnant wife in the truck with me at the time. Putting her in danger this way left me less than thrilled. We took it to a dealership right away. They told us that cylinder #4 was not firing (no compression) and two other cylinders had limited compression. They ended up calling some Dodge tech. Line. Since the dealership said that they couldn't find a tsb regarding this problem. Turned out there is one in existence #02021 from 11/4/2002. The tech line said it sounds like one or more valve springs could be broken. The dealership in fact took the valve covers off and sure enough there is a broken valve spring. They told us several others seem weak. I have 71,500 miles on the truck and you guessed it surprise the warranty expired at 70,000. This is going to cost around $1200 out of pocket!!! I want Dodge to back this problem. There are alot of discussion boards with innocent people that have the same problem. A broken valve spring is an obvious error on the engineers end of things...bad design.....faulty metal. This is not a wear and tear issue. I have heard that Dodge is on their 3rd design on the valve springs for these trucks. Obviously they are aware of the problem. If they have to keep re-manufacturing. But that puts the rest of us that have the original design in harms way. It is a very scary feeling to have you truck quit on you in the middle of rush hour traffic. Thank god that nothing happened to me or my wife.

- Elkhorn, WI, USA

problem #21

Jun 022006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
Traveling at 40 mph truck started to shake. It then stalled out on a slow-braking turn. Had to limp home and then to garage using one foot on brake and one on gas to keep the rpms up. Initial diagnosis was a stuck air valve that made the fuel mixture too rich. Several cylinders were missing. It turned out that two valve springs were broken. Apparently this is pretty common. A lot of valve springs are being sold in the area. The truck had 73K miles on it and of course the warranty ran out at 70K. Defective valve springs costing a couple of bucks cost me over $1000 in repairs. I was lucky that the block wasn't damaged. For a while we thought we needed a new engine.

- Sewanee, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?