Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #298

Jun 012016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Dodge Ram. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair recall notice.

- Denton, MD, USA

problem #297

May 242016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #296

Jul 202016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Marquez, TX, USA

problem #295

Oct 202016

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #294

Jul 222016

Ram 1500

  • miles
"takata recall" we traveled to Louisiana to bury our family member on July 13, 2016. When we returned home we had a recall notice waiting for us (passenger airbag inflator). We were confused because we had already had both driver and passenger airbags worked on from recalls. We were told this is different, this is a recall on a recall. Basically, this is a interim notice and the dealership does not know when they will received a resolution to repair the airbag. This is our other main vehicle for transportation. Our other vehicle is our 2009 Scion xb which is on recall for the same problem. We are disgusted. We can not get any deadlines, we can not sit in the passenger seat and this problems is taking too long. We need some answers and we need them, now. We are senior citizens, we have our medical issues and we definitely do not need this kind of stress and inconvenience.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #293

Jul 012016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bacaville, CA, USA

problem #292

Jul 152016

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #291

May 242016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #290

Apr 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owned a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 35 mph to exit the highway, the rear driver side tire completely fractured. The vehicle spun around and crashed into a wall. The vehicle was destroyed. None of the air bags deployed. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that there was extensive rust and corrosion on the frame. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and then towed to a repair shop. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #289

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). However, the parts to do the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Townsend, WI, USA

problem #288

Sep 152016

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall no incident as of 15 Sept 16. There has been not remedy for since notification since 1 July

- Eielson Afb, AK, USA

problem #287

Jul 012016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/13/16

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #286

Jul 112016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the remedy and parts had not been supplied from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- New Knoxville, OH, USA

problem #285

Aug 032015

Ram 1500

  • 157,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the brake, the check engine, the ABS and the front passenger's side air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). However, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 157,000. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Fredricksburg, VA, USA

problem #284

May 292016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #283

Mar 142015

Ram 1500

  • 0 miles
They have replaced the passenger side hose to the air bag back in March 2015, and the driver side was done in July 2015. So my truck has been taken care of just to let you know so you can stop showing that recall on my truck!!!!! the battery did get broken in March 14, 2015, but that was it!!!! which it was the same battery that was in the truck when I bought it back in January 15, 2007.

- Jesup, GA, USA

problem #282

Jun 082015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated the dashboard was cracked from the windshield down to the passenger air bag. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Youngsville, NC, USA

problem #281

Jul 192016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V352000 (air bags) and 14V770000 (air bags). However, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Norwood, NC, USA

problem #280

Jul 182016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #279

Jul 062016

Ram 1500

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall. I took my truck to cortese Dodge in henrietta NY in July 2016. Two weeks ago. They replaced the drivers side air bag. Returned the vehicle to me with dashboard airbag light on. Told me it was on when I brought it in. I know it was not. Refused further work. Is it safe to drive?

- Hamlin, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?