Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
37 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 3
Average Mileage:
23,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Jun 052015

Ram 1500

  • 152,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 45 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. In addition, the contact stated that the rear tire seized without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into the curb and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The failure mileage was 152,300.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #96

Jun 032015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15

- Ewing , NJ, USA

problem #95

Feb 152015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15

- Greenville, ME, USA

problem #94

Feb 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available to schedule the recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #93

Feb 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #92

Feb 022015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/16/15 the consumer also received an air bag recall notice. The parts were not available. Updated 07/23/15

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #91

May 220201

Ram 1500

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The contact attempted to schedule the recall repair months ago, but the part was not available. The dealer indicated that the vehicle was safe to drive. While traveling approximately 40 mph, there was a loud noise in the rear of the vehicle. The gear shifter fell to the floor while the vehicle shook violently. The rear wheels locked and the air shaft separated from the rear differential without warning. The vehicle was to be towed to an authorized dealer for repairs. The VIN was included in an air bag recall, but the parts for the repair would not be available for months. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #90

Jan 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #89

Jan 242015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were not available to schedule the recall repairs within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #88

Mar 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
In March 2015 I received a letter stating that my truck had a recall involving the rear axle. As soon as I received this notice, I stopped driving my truck. In addition, while searching my VIN # on your site, I found that my truck had another recall. This recall involves the air bags. My truck is my family's only means of transportation. Since I don't have another vehicle, I have been forced to borrow my parents and siblings vehicles. I even have been forced to take the bus. I feel that these recalls should have been resolved already. Is there anything that can be done to help me with this situation? I do not feel comfortable driving my family or myself around in this vehicle. It is not safe. Thank you.

- Montesano, WA, USA

problem #87

Nov 052014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V354000 (air bags), 14V817000 (air bags), and 14V796000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #86

Jan 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gurley, AL, USA

problem #85

Mar 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train), 14V796000 (suspension), and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fleming Island , FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V817000 and 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however the parts to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #83

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. When reversing, the front wheel on the driver side detached. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Belen, NM, USA

problem #82

Apr 112015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,245 miles
As I was preparing to park, my truck accelerated on it's own jumping over a concrete stopper and into a large metal pole in front of a business. The entire front of my truck caved in, the hood, the grill and the bumper crumpled and the air bag (which should have) did not deploy. The dealership is refusing to fix it and filed a criminal no trespass against me so I can't go on the lot or try to talk to the salesman. The police officers who responded checked me over, said it was an 'at fault' accident but only because I was behind the wheel and gave me a 'crash bureau form' to fill out, which I did. My online research showed recalls on both the accelerator and the air bags. Please help me. My insurance is not going to pay for the repairs due to the fact it was due to defective auto parts and the dealership should take care of it, which they won't. I am a fifty year old disabled female and my truck is my lifeline. I do not have the $7,000 the dealership wants me to pay to fix the truck I just bought (still doesn't have plates on it yet) and paid $10,000 for. I bought it from benny boyd in marble falls, Texas.

- Marble Falls, TX, USA

problem #81

Feb 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V817000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train) months ago and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tularosa, NM, USA

problem #80

Nov 202014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 84,100 miles
Contact owns a 2005 Ram 1500 slt 4.7L. Contact states this has happened several times randomly. Truck will die while driving down the road or maneuvering at low speeds. Truck has had one random incident of over heating and had to pull over and shut truck off to cool down. Restarted just fine! plastic seat belt buckles have broken and seat belts don't retract fully. Then around April 2014 started hearing a whining grinding, howling noise thought it was the tires or the road. After a few months the noise was still there so called a repair shop took it in. Had it looked at. The repair shop diagnosed it to be the rear differential pinion nut backing off. Repair shop said the truck needs the differential repaired or replaced. A short time later, I received a recall notice around February on the truck for P77 & P81. Have contacted dealer via phone on several occasions. Dealer says parts are not available at this time, and don't know when the parts will be available to remedy the situation. It has been almost 3 months since I received the notice. I am concerned about the safety of the vehicle occupants and/or other's safety.*(since the problem is, the rear axle pinion nut on your truck may have been built without an adhesive patch on the pinion nut threads. The lack of this adhesive patch could allow the rear axle pinion nut to loosen and/or the rear drive shaft to separate from the rear axle. A loose pinion nut could cause the rear axle to seize and a separated drive shaft could cause loss of motive power. Either situation could cause a crash with out warning! and the airbag inflator could rupture with metal fragments striking and potentially injuring the vehicle occupants).dealership says should be okay to drive.!! I don't see how Dodge Chrysler! can keep production/sales of these unsafe vehicles. When so many vehicles are being recalled. Thank you for your attention of this matter. Updated 06/29/15.

- Tulare Ca , CA, USA

problem #79

Feb 112015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15

- Punta Gorda , FL, USA

problem #78

Apr 302015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was still not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Debary, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?