Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,531 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Apr 162013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, he noticed a grinding and squeaking sound coming from front driver's side wheel bearing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #25

May 092012

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated while turning the steering wheel the front end made a grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the failure was located in the front wheel bearings. The manufacturer stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 07V038000 suspension: Front: Wheel bearing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 41,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Chardon , OH, USA

problem #24

May 202011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Suspension, wheel bearing failure 5/26/11 2006 Ram 1500 started as a loud howling noise, ranged from 25 >70mph then went to a grinding noise with a vibration in turns mainly right hand out of warranty 68000 mile, paid big bucks to dealer to replace left frt bearing assembly, it had failed, found a recall 07V038000 had been done when trucks were built for same issue, manufacture states truck was just a couple months out of recall period recall time11/7/05 and 4/27/06, factory tag on truck shows mfg date of 06/06 sorry for your luck, have found so far 19 more just like mine since the recall has happened that has filed with "NHTSA? how many has not, knowing there is a national problem, how many close calls or fatality?S must happen before NHTSA takes notice that it allowed Dodge to short change this recall, 07V1038000 needs brought back with amendments, replace without prejudice note- dealer was asked during repair how many of these that has had a problem, answer very few to none was the answer, ouch at time of the recall over 38000 vehicles is considered only a few ?"

- Lanexa , VA, USA

problem #23

Sep 242010

Ram 1500

  • 94,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph and applying the brakes when the vehicle began to vibrate and shake violently. A certified mechanic diagnosed the vehicle and informed the contact that the failure was contributed to both front wheel bearings. The vehicle was inoperable and was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 94,000.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #22

Apr 152009

Ram 1500

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving above 35 mph, there was a rumbling noise and a vibration in the steering wheel and throughout the entire vehicle. The failure was constant. A previous owner had recall 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing) repair performed but the failure continued to occur. The contact took the vehicle to an authorized dealer who stated that the recall repair would only be performed one time. The dealer stated that the wheel bearing caused the failure to occur but the repair parts were on backorder. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 50,000. The current mileage was approximately 30,000.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #21

Dec 102009

Ram 1500

  • 21,500 miles
On 2/21/2006, I purchased a 2006 Dodge Ram, 1500, 4X2. Recently my truck encountered a front wheel bearing malfunction, when going around left hand curves I would hear a loud "thumping" noise. In doing some research on automobile recalls, I foung manf. Compaign # G02 and NHTSA campaign # 07V038000 has recalled 2006 Dodge Ram pickup trucks for "suspension; front; wheel bearing, the summary of the recall reads "on certain P/U trucks, the front wheel bearings may have received an insufficent quantity oof grease during the manufacturing process, but only those that were built between 11/7/05 and 4/27/06, my truck was built on 10/1/05 (5 weeks prior to the recall.) currently, I have owned my truck for 46 mos. However it only has 21,800 miles, back on 9/10/08 I had taken it to the dealership account of frontend viberation, their determination was tie-rod ends and they replaced them under contacting Chrysler, they said they would replace the bearing if I would pay a $50 co-pay, which I did and they made the repairs. The dealership said that they could not tell if the malfunction was due to lack of grease account of the bearing being a "sealed unit". I find it very odd that this malfunction has happeneedwith only this few miles and is not included in the recall, I am also wondering if any other Dodge customers have had the same problem and also wondering if the recall should not include dates prior to and/or after the original recall dates. Thank you for your time in this matter.

- Peoria,, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 052009

Ram 1500

  • 71,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 40 mph the vehicle exhibited a grinding noise and then began to vibrate. The front passenger brake pads were replaced. However, the front passenger right wheel bearing was defective. The vehicle identification number was excluded from recall campaign 07V038000(suspension:front:wheel bearing). The failure mileage was 71,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Huntersville , NC, USA

problem #19

Oct 292009

Ram 1500

  • 63,500 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 and it has problems with the front wheel bearing the NHTSA report a recall for this vehicle on Feb 06, 2007 # G02 and campaign # 07V038000, the problem is that my vehicle apparently is not included at this recall and the problem persist thanks for your help angel maldonado montalvo contact in spanish.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #18

Jul 142009

Ram 1500

  • miles
On 2-12-2007 NHTSA issue a recall on 2006 Dodge 1500, for the front hub suspension:wheel bearing.I was notified of the recall from the Dodge dealership where I purchased my truck. So I was unaware of the recall. In July of 2009 I was returning from vacation and I was in South Carolina and I started having trouble with my truck so I found a mechanic shop, they told that the front hubs were messed up and needed to be replaced, it was late in the afternoon and the mechanic was only able to find one hub so he replaced the worst one of the two and told me that the other one would get me home. Once I got home I took the truck to my Dodge dealership and they replaced the other side and also advised me that the rearend was out of the truck and they repaired that. About two weeks later I find out that there was a recall on the front hub so I call the dealership and they told me that my truck was not one of the vehicle under the recall. I don't understand how my truck was not under the recall when the same thing went wrong with my truck the is listed on the recall. I don't know where else to go with this so please advise me with what direction to take this is not the first problem I have had with Dodge. I want to thank you in advance for your assistant.

- Moore Haven, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 252009

Ram 1500

  • 42,600 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 25 mph the vehicle began vibrating. An authorized technician stated that since his vehicle identification number was not included in recall# 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing ), he would have to pay to have the wheel bearings replaced. No repairs were made. The manufacturer was notified and no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 42,600 and the current mileage was 42,800.

- Holley, NY, USA

problem #16

Sep 142009

Ram 1500

  • 83,250 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated there the steering knuckle broke. A local mechanic confirmed that the steering wheel was squeaking. The dealer advised the contact that they were unable to replace the front hub and bearing units at no charge since the VIN was not a part of the recall. NHTSA recall# 07V038000, suspension, front wheel bearing is related to the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Rudyard, MI, USA

problem #15

Mar 232009

Ram 1500

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact experienced abnormal vibration and noise coming from his vehicle. He took the vehicle to a repair facility and they replaced the U-joints on the driveshaft, resurfaced the rotors, replaced the brake pads, and balanced and rotated the tires; however, the failures recurred. He called the dealer in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing), but they refused to repair the vehicle without a proper explanation. The failures still persist. The failure mileage was 23,000 and current mileage was 26,000.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202008

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,944 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram. While driving less than 30 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate hard and the front driver's side wheel detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The dealer stated that the wheel bearings were more than likely the cause of the failure; however, they could not assist because the vehicle was 2,000 miles out of warranty. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 36,944. Updated 04-14-09 updated 04/16/09.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 182008

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
2006 Dodge truck recall notification G02. Front wheel bearings. Front wheel making noise due to recall. Unsafe to drive. Dealer will not pay for towing the truck to the dealer to get it fixed. Dealer did not fix 6 months earlier and said I would be ok because my truck had 32K miles on it. They said it would have failed by now. Now I am stuck. They should have fixed it 6 months ago.

- Loomis, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 242006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 70 mph, the front driver side wheel began to wobble. The contact decelerated to approximately 20 mph and the wheel separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the wheel bearing failed. The contact is beginning to experience the same failure on the same wheel. The current mileage was 42,000 and failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 03/10/08.

- Pearle, MS, USA

problem #11

Sep 252007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a safety recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing). The vehicle was inspected and he was informed that everything looked normal. On September 25, 2007, while driving 25 mph, the driver side wheel began pulling the vehicle to the left and making noise. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they informed him that a recall was available. The dealer kept the vehicle to perform the recall repair. The recall stated that the repair would take one to two hours, however, as of September 28, 2007, the dealer still has the vehicle. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable and did not know when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact would like a rental vehicle while the repair is being made. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 38,000.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 282007

(reported on)

Ram 1500

  • miles
2006 Dodge truck with wheel bearing concerns customer states that the truck has a recall and he doesn't trust the dealer. The consumer once owned a 2002 Dodge truck that a problem with the wheel bearing, the consumer was told his 2002 was not being recalled. Eventually, the consumer traded the 2002 for a 2006 Dodge and discovered a recall was issued for the 2006. The consumer does not trust the dealer, the consumer believes the dealer will use the same faulty parts.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 052007

Ram 1500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received recall # 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing) on April 5, 2007. The dealer and manufacturer stated that it would take approximately one week for the parts to arrive and would notify her at that time. Presently, no one has notified her and she has called every week since April 5, 2007. The engine size and # of cylinders were unknown. The current mileage is 19,200 and failure mileage was 18,000.

- Greensboro, MD, USA

problem #8

Apr 132007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The current mileage on the vehicle is 16,900 and the failure mileage is 16,000. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be serviced for NHTSA recall # 07V038000. The vehicle was at the dealer for two days. When the vehicle was taken home the contact checked the vehicle and determined that the vehicle was not repaired.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #7

May 082007

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received recall notice # 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing). The recall part is on back order and the contact has been waiting for approximately three months. The vehicle has not experienced any failures at this time. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- Grapeland, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?