Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,143 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Apr 142015

Ram 1500

  • 18,300 miles


System warning went off that we were loosing air in the tire. Within seconds, we pulled over and the tire was flat. Received roadside assistance so we could drive the truck home. Stopped at a gas station to check the air in all the tires. Couldn't put air in one of the tires because the nut holding the tire sensor rotted off. While trying to put the air in, the stem was getting pushed into the tire. The mechanic told us that's what happened to the first tire (the nut rotted off). Had we been traveling at a higher speed, this could have caused a serious accident. We feel this is a dangerous problem and should be looked in to.

- Mt. Carmel, PA, USA

problem #22

Jun 202013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Driving on interstate tire valve stem and pressure monitor blew out of tire when nut broke causing immediate flat. Vehicle went out of control and almost went into ditch.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #21

Sep 012014

Ram 1500

  • 465,000 miles
I have been having trouble with the valve stems on the cracked while driving resulting in quick tire deflation the other yesterday, while having a tire repaired the valve stem broke while trying to inflate the tire.I was told by professionals that this is common with Dodge because they use cheap metals in their valve stems.the stem which are part of the tire pressure monitoring system are just corroding away due to salt or road conditions. I`M filing this complaint to see if maybe Dodge can do something about this problem.the part itself is about $ $60 [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #20

Jun 072014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 49,932 miles


The left rear tire suddenly went flat driving on interstate 35W at 70 miles per hour. The driver was able to keep the pickup truck under control until stopping along side the freeway. The schrader tire stem had lost its outer locking devise and the monitor was inside the tire. After removing the tire the monitor style stem was located in the tire and what we found was very disturbing. The threads which hold the stem in place were totally filled in with thread left to hold the stem in place. This may explain why cars are suddenly losing control and going into oncoming traffic. I had just had my tires rotated about 400 miles ago or the flat could have happened with a front tire which would have been much worse. I now need to remove the other three tires and have them inspected at a cost of another $101 each wheel or remove the monitors and to back to the safe and proven rubber stems. This is very serious.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #19

Apr 072014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
About a month ago I was driving home from work and my right front tire gave out. It ruined the tire so I brought it to a tire place to be replaced. After inspection, the mechanic explained that the nut came off the stem and that is why the tire gave out. When I went home I checked the other tire stems and much to my surprise two out of the other three tire valve stem nuts are broken. I'm crossing my fingers that nothing happens before I get them fixed. This is a serious problem and I can not believe they have not had a recall.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #18

Apr 132014

Ram 1500

  • 58,000 miles
We were on a highway going speed limit of 70 mph and our truck notification said low tire pressure. We pulled over and looked and the tires looked ok. We pulled back out and went less than half a mile and the tire went completely flat. The valve stem cover nut had spilt and broke off. The whole piece fell inside the tire, causing it to go flat. We had the tire looked at and the valve stem cover nuts and stem threads are all corroded. We put the spare tire on and then again today (April 25, 2014) it said low tire pressure again. Once again a valve stem cover nut split and broke off due to corrosion. We don't have another spare and we were quoted a price of $75 to $90 to replace each of the valve stem pieces. The other two tires on the truck have splits in the valve stem cover nuts and all have corrosion too. So now I've gotta replace these on all four tires and replace one whole tire..

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #17

Apr 082014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 66,970 miles


Traveling East bound on state route 17 in Illinois. After 40miles into trip, noticed in side mirror that drivers side seemed to be down in the rear compared to last time I checked. Vehicle behind me was accelerating as to catch up to me. At the same time felt slight vibration and looking at dash saw low tire warning light come on. Continued to next intersection and turned left, stopped and inspected tire, found that the valve stem was missing from the rim of wheel. Change to spare tire and noticed that it sounded like the metal valve stem was in flat tire and rim. 4-9-14 took my vehicle to my dealer and was advised the tire was shot because of side wall damage, note distance traveled 50ft. Tires were new 15000 miles prior to this occurrence. Dealer checked three other valve stems and found cracks in retaining nuts? stems are aluminum. All stems replaced along with 1 new tire. Cost of mounting and balance and breaking down three other tires and replacement of new rubber style valve stems. Total$ $376.97. Labor $42.50 parts $310.52 shops supplies 2.13 sales taxes $21.82. A relative of mine owns same truck and took to dealer and found his stems were cracked on his truck also. This was as of todays date 4-10-14. Dodge needs to stand behind their product and notice the thousand's of others with same equipment. These tires actually blow out, accidents will most likely happen. Please advise Dodge that others have complained and these people need to be paid in full for the troubles this has caused. Thank you for passing this along, this is a valuable site for the gouged consumer. G M could get a new customer here.

- Pontiac, IL, USA

problem #16

Mar 122014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
My concern is valve stem failure. The valve stems on my truck have air pressure sensors on them and are bolted in the valve stem hole in the rim. The nut that holds the valve stem in place failed on the highway and caused a instant deflation of the tire in heavy traffic. This is not the first time this has happened. I have had problems with the valve stem nut cracking before. The first time I took it to the local Dodge dealer due to a constant tire leak they told me it was a bad valve stem. The valve stem cost $50 and $80 to install. The second time was on a scheduled tire rotation and the tech noticed the nut had corrosion and was cracked. He replaced it with a new nut. The third time was the blow out I described first, which also ruined the tire. On inspection of the forth tire the nut is also cracked.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 182014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 39,700 miles
Noticed low tire pressure while driving. Drove about 10 mile with indication. Parked in drive way. When I unscrewed the valve stem cab the valve stem went almost completely into the tire. The tire went flat immediately. I found that the locking nut was corroded and almost completely gone. I had the tire repaired and was told that the sensor had to be replaced because the sensor and locking nut are all one unit at a cost of $70. Yesterday I check the pressure in all 4 tires and found the locking nut on the front tire broken missing about 1/3 of the metal.

- Piittstown, NJ, USA

problem #14

Jul 062012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 19,213 miles
In July of 2012, I had three cracked metal pressure sensing valve stems. One of them blew out at highway speed, ruining the tire. The dealer replaced the three stems that were bad at that time but not the fourth. I also complained to Dodge and got some reimbursement for the tire. Now a year and a half later, I noticed the fourth valve stem had cracked. I took the truck into the same dealership and was told it would be $160 to replace it. This is not right. This appears to be a known defective part. I have contacted Dodge again but have not heard back.

- Woodstock, IL, USA

problem #13

Jul 152013

Ram 1500

  • 35,000 miles


While traveling at a speed of 35 mph, noticed I had a flat tire. Pulled over to change it and I noticed that the valve stem was missing. When I took the tire back to the place I purchased them (less that one year) they informed me of the problem that Chrysler is having with defective parts in the TPMS. Had to replace tire and valve stem. Was told by my Dodge dealer that at this time there is no recall on the defective parts.

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 062013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,411 miles
Tire valve stems ----- traveling on interstate, front passenger Goodyear tire blows. Entire tread flies past truck into the path of other traffic & almost hits the windshield of car behind us. We pull off to the shoulder. We get the spare tire put on. All that was left on the rim of the bad tire was the side walls. No valve stem w/tire pressure sensor. 45 mins later, we continue on our trip. 28 miles down the road, we hear a similar noise & see smoke coming from the passenger rear tire. We pull over again. We see the rear tire is shredded & the valve stem w/tire pressure sensor is missing. It was determined that the valve stems fall out of place & the tire goes flat. This caused very unsafe conditions for us & the surrounding traffic. There could have been accidents, vehicle damage, bodily injury, or death. Now that we have already used our spare tire & we are out of town, we can not call family for help. We are forced to call a tow truck to take us to the nearest discount tire. After inspection of the 2 drivers side tires, it was determined that a 3rd tire & valve stem needed replaced. The 4th tire valve stem w/pressure sensor was also cracked and needed replaced with a rubber valve stem. Request reimbursement for the tire bill & tow bill. The following Monday, took the truck to a Dodge dealer to complain & request reimbursement from Dodge. While at the dealer, noticed a truck on the used car lot which had a cracked valve stem. (have picture) a 2009 Jeep came in on a tow truck with the same issue. We have found out there has been complaints on the internet about this issue since 2010, but still no recalls on these 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 trucks to fix this unsafe issue. Passenger does not feel safe using these tire pressure sensors on a vehicle ever again. This should not have happened. Requesting reimbursement & a recall notice issued.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #11

Jun 262013

Ram 1500

  • miles
Valve stem popped out of rim and tire went flat, had to replace tire and valve stem and computer chip.

- Syracuse , NY, USA

problem #10

Jun 192013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while parked, he noticed that the rear passenger's side tire was flat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the locking nuts on all four tires was corroded and causing the valve stems to fracture. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Hubbardston, MA, USA

problem #9

May 282013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 72 mph, the front passenger's side tire blew out. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the tire was changed and the contact was informed that the tire sensor was the cause of the failure due to it becoming corroded. The failure had recurred one time before two months prior. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 47,000. Updated 07/02/13

- Chesterfiled, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 182013

Ram 1500

  • 52,000 miles
April 18, 2013 at about 4:30 pm, driving on rt 400 expressway South, with my son in the passenger seat, the low tire alarm went off and I proceeded to the nearest exit, and pulled into a parking lot. Upon inspection, my front passenger tire was completely flat. Had tire changed to spare. On following Monday, took tire for repair to my mechanic, where he found the valve stem inside the tire. The threaded collar that goes on the valve stem to help hold it in place was completely gone from corrosion. My mechanic inspected the condition of the other valve stems. He advised I replace other valve stems in the near future. On May 1, I was washing my vehicle and noticed air bubbles forming where the valve stem meets the aluminum rim on the other front tire. I noticed the threaded collar was missing from that valve stem. That same day, I had that valve stem replaced. The replacement part is the same design and material as the original. My mechanic said this will happen again with the replacement parts. I did approach the dealership where I bought the truck and the service manager said there was no recall regarding that problem. He stated later model designs have been modified to correct this.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #7

May 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Failure of valve stem caused rapid tire deflation. Inspection of remaining valve stems indicated imminent failure. Valve stems integrated with tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) sensors and can cause TPMS system faults. Numerous complaints for same tire stem issue reported to NHTSA. Coupled with pinion nut failure potential that has yet to be addressed by issuance of recall notification to owners by Chrysler Corp, total loss of directional control of vehicle is a very real and present danger that renders these vehicles inoperable until issues are addressed.

- Choctaw, OK, USA

problem #6

Apr 182013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 36,761 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the rear passenger's side tire blew. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the rear passenger's side valve stem was corroded, causing the tire pressure sensor to fracture. All four aluminum valve stem were replaced with rubber valve stems. The manufacturer was mot made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,761. The consumer stated as he was traveling on the interstate, the tire sensor light illuminated. At that point he did not notice anything unusual with the handling of the vehicle or the orientation of the vehicle. The next thing he knew. He heard a loud pop and then felt something occurring with a wheel on the rear of truck. The tire quickly went flat as he was slowing down. Once he stopped, he exited the vehicle and saw the right rear tire was totally flat and truck was sitting on the rim. The consumer called roadside assistance, and the tire was replaced with the spare. The consumer immediately took the vehicle to the dealer to have the tire inspected. The dealer discovered what caused the blow out. It was not anything the consumer ran over, or a defect in the tire. As they described it, the tire stem actually broke off due to oxidation occurring between the aluminum stem and wheel/rim metal thus causing the stem to rust and ultimately break. The dealer informed the consumer, Chrysler had issues with the aluminum stems and were going back to using synthetic rubber based sensor tires. Updated 06/04/13

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #5

Apr 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 33,997 miles
While driving on highway at highway speed, rapid tire deflation causing loss of control and veering off road, ,,inspection revealed right front valve stem has a dissimilar metal corroded issue, corroded and fell apart allowing valve stem to fall into wheel causing rapid deflation, ,, installed spare traveled down road about 60 miles now the TPMS lamp is on as that rt tire is flat laying in bed of truck, an hour later truck lost control again and I went off road, ,,I went to look at the spare on rt front and it was fine, ,,,the opposite side left rear tire this time went flat and as the TPMS warn lamp already illuminated no warning avail, ,same thing the valve stem fell inside the rim, ,there was a piece of the retainer cap for the TPMS valve stem left and it easily crumbled into an anealed aluminum state, ,,,two tires same thing, ,,,,,I went and looked at the left front valve stem and it also is exploded and corroded twice it's normal size, ,,,,I looked at the remaining rt rear valve stem and it has one crack in it so it is obvious need replacement. All 4 failing at same time is a product issue and due to loss of control this needs addressing as someone will get hurt, ,,it is apparent that Dodge has changed the style on the newer 2012 versions to rubber but it appears the manufacturer needs to address this safety concern, ,,,,I did attempt same with customer service but to no avail.

- Lockport , NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 102012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Went to check air pressure in tires. While unscrewing the plastic valve stem cap on one of the front tires, the metal valve stem sheared off in my hand. The point of shearing was about mid way down the metal valve stem. The shearing occurred circumferentially in a smooth even plane. There is no evidence of mechanical/physical damage to the valve stem from hitting a curb, etc. I did not exert lateral pressure on the stem, I just twisted the plastic cap with my fingers. The stem was on a tire sensor unit with label "schrader electronics" with apparent part number "8cbffcb4".

- Stony Brook, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?