Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,799 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Jul 132015

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/10/16 updated 03/17/16.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #63

Jun 092015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/06/16

- Laurel, NE, USA

problem #62

Nov 102015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) and the dealer stated that the part was not available beyond a reasonable time frame, which was longer than a year. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they were unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the part to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #61

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #60

May 272015

Ram 2500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Chunchula, AL, USA

problem #59

Jul 062015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #58

Sep 012015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/14/16

- Tuscon, AZ, USA

problem #57

Jun 012015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The fca air bag recall is a joke. They take your information and then say parts are not available and you will be notified. Not good enough. How about we expect replacement air bags before you get injured. Not we will notify you. How about providing some kind of update after 6 months. The government let these people off way to easy. It is not enough to tell the government that we will recall these vehicles and then never do it. What is being done to be sure that they are following through with these repairs" are they hoping that the owners will just stop asking for the repairs? the public should at least be given an update on when they think parts will become available. Their recall system does not even provide you with a document to prove that you ever requested repairs. I had the dealership by my house just put my information on a piece of paper and then told me I would be notified when a part was available. How does the dealership or fca even know that that dealership is waiting on an air bag for my vehicle" I had the same recall on my Ford and I will tell you it was taken seriously and my replacement parts was marked urgent in their system and it was taken care of within days not months.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #56

Nov 242015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/10/16

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #55

May 212015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #54

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Reedsport, OR, USA

problem #53

May 042015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Louisberry, PA, USA

problem #52

May 252015

Ram 2500

  • 71,467 miles
Five months ago I received notice my 2003 Dodge 2500 pickup was subject of national safety recall involving takata passenger side airbag being dangerous. Today, 10/27/2015 my local dealer reports parts are still not available. I called vehicle safety hotline 888-327-4236 for direction who advises to call Chrysler at 800-992-1997. Chrysler advises parts still not available, eta Dec 2015 or Jan 2016 and if I am uneasy about driving it, contact local dealer to get the air bag disabled. 10/27/2015 I called local dealer who refuses to disable air bag because it is against federal law. What shall I do next?

- Purlear, NC, USA

problem #51

May 012015

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2003 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to passenger side airbag recall notice replacement parts not available. The consumer stated is has been five months since he received the recall notice.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #50

Jul 152015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #49

May 012014

Ram 2500

  • 90,000 miles
The dash board cracked when a new air bag inflater was in stalled and continues to crack. I am concerned that this might cause the air bag not to deploy properly. I complained to the dealer but they refused to fix the problem

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 012015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brighton, MO, USA

problem #47

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 02/03/16

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 192015

Ram 2500

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving at 60 mph, there was a rattling noise emitting from the passenger side air bag compartment of the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #45

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Denison, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?