10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Feb 152015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V312000 (air bags), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 112015

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/25/15

- Manchester, KY, USA

problem #30

Feb 102015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V312000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Brewton, AL, USA

problem #29

Jan 152015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #28

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #27

May 272015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #26

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #25

Sep 012015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #24

Jul 122015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V354000 (air bags), 15V312000 (air bags), and 14V770000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to perform the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Valpariso, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 202015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #22

Feb 202015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V312000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The contact was not notified of NHTSA campaign number: 05V462000 (power train). The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Braunfels , TX, USA

problem #21

Jun 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #20

Jun 262015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mcgregor, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 202012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Since I purchased this vehicle in 2012, the dash board has been so severely cracked that there are sharp edges exposed. The previous owner had a carpet dash cover on the dash. Directly above the passenger airbag the lip of the dash is cracked from the airbag all the way to the windshield. I am afraid of that cracked piece being projected by the airbag during an accident and injuring a passenger. All of the cracks are straight lines, most running front to back. This indicates that it was inferior plastic or manufacturing process that caused the plastic to crack this direction, or that the dash is not properly supported underneath. Plastic cracks from sun damage tend to be "spider web" type of cracks....updated 09/22/15 updated 12/11/2015

- Somis , CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 232015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the dashboard deteriorated over time to the point that it was cracked all the way across. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V312000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Buckatunna, MS, USA

problem #17

Jan 012013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Multiple breaks in the vent portion of the dash cover with missing pieces and the main dash component is completely cracked through on the passenger side. With the ventilation system on, pieces of plastic and deteriorated insulation blows freely in the cab of the truck. With the dash continuing to crack and break apart pieces of plastic have dropped below the dash and could potentially could expose and cause wiring problems with the electrical system. The cracked dash is a danger to the eyes of anyone riding in the vehicle with the ventilation system circulating condition air. I fear that the dash will act as shrapnel in the event of air bag deployment....updated 07/30/15

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 122015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Moran, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 232015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/18/15

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #14

Apr 142015

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my P/U new 2003. I received a notice of recall for defective air bag inflator housing - P78. Today I called my dealer, mid county Chrysler in port arthur, tx, to set up an appointment as instructed on the notice. They refused to set up the appointment and reported " the parts are not available". I asked to added to a call list to schedule an appointment once the parts were available and they refused saying " we are not allowed to actuate a list, you have to call back to schedule appointment at a later date. By not having a call list to put my name on, the dealer is making it my responsibility to get my car repaired. In the past had a recall on a Ford vehicle which ended up never being repaired because, that dealer kept telling me that they didn't have the part or didn't have the time to take care of the problem. I did call over and over and over again with that one. It did no goo..... now it is seemly starting all over again ! I think they need to have a call back list for when the parts are available and get this issued fixed... this is a safety issue ! I think this is not my responsibility, I didn't build the 2003 pick up or sell it ! now it feels like they are running out on what is expected of them... just like the Ford dealer did! only this time I am not wiling to keep calling like the last time ! if they have been sued to make this a recall issue or someone was injured because of it, you would think that they are responsible and liable ! they should be taking a bit more of solving the problem ! thank you, [xxx] owner of 2003 Dodge P/U information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Port Arthur, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 222014

Ram 2500

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that, intermittently, the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Abilene, TX, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?