Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Nov 052013

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,432 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving 45 mph, suddenly the left tie rod snapped causing the vehicle to veer off of the road into a bush. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was taken to dealer who stated the tie rod, tire, rim, springs, rack and pinion would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired, including the NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The failure mileage was 62,432. Updated 08/28/14 updated 09/4/2014

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #91

May 182014

Ram 2500

  • 196,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 55 mph with a horse trailer in tow, the front end of the vehicle suddenly began to shake violently. The contact lost control of the vehicle and drove into oncoming traffic. The contact was able to maneuver the vehicle back onto the right side of the road without crashing. The failure recurred at speeds greater than 25 mph. The failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) in March of 2014. The contact reached out to the dealer on several occasions, but the parts were never available to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 196,000.

- Woodbine, MD, USA

problem #90

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The contact stated that he was made aware that the parts were not available as a result the repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #89

Sep 182013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 260,000 miles


I had no control of the steering and the vehicle was violently shaking, I slowed down to a stop, composed myself and drove on, the steering was very hard to control but the shaking only started about 40 mph, I took the vehicle to two shops, had ball joints, U joints, tie rods, steering, shocks, upgraded mopar steering assembly, pitman arm, all replaced, shortly thereafter I received recall notice N62/ NHTSA 13V-528, the instructions stated to mail all original repair documents related to tie rod failure and I would be reimbursed, I received a phone call just simply denying any responsibility with no particular reason other than my mileage, I asked for an email outlining the reason in detail which had absolutely no content of any explanation as to why the claim was denied. I did not receive my original receipts back either.

- Milliken, CO, USA

problem #88

Jan 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2003 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to a replacement part to complete recall. The consumer was informed, he was #19 on a list to receive a part for his vehicle. The dealer stated they were only getting one replacement part, per week. The dealer informed the consumer, the part would be available beginning April 14, 2014. Updated 04/08/14

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #87

Feb 032014

Ram 2500

  • miles
2003 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to dealership taking a causal attitude and unreasonable amount of time to complete recall. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. The consumer stated 60 days have elapsed since he was warned of the danger of operating his truck without attention to the defect. Also, it was the second time the same part had been suspected of failure. Updated 03/24/14.

- Taconic, CT, USA

problem #86

Feb 112014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 100,000 miles


I received a "important safety recall" stating that left tie rod ball stud may fracture under certain driving conditions causing a "loss of directional control and/or crash without warning". when I took it to the dealer they put me on a list and said it would be approx. 32 to 64 weeks to get it repaired. They said they receive 1 part every 7-14 days and I am number 32 on the list. I do not think this is within a reasonable time considering that I drive the interstate every day and could "crash without warning" as stated in the recall. Which could cause serious injury or death not only to myself but others on the interstate.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #85

May 262010

Ram 2500

  • miles
TL -the contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated her vehicle was included a recall and repaired. The manufacture issued another recall for the same failure again. Recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had reasonable amount for repair had surpassed. The manufacture was contacted and placed the contact on a waiting list for the part. The manufacture refused to provided the contact with an estimated time for repair. The failure had occurred while the contact attempted to leave her drive way. The car was repaired under the first recall issued but the vehicle is not currently repaired after the second recall was issued. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000 miles. The vehicle currently has 184,000 miles.

- Polson, MT, USA

problem #84

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
Recall N62/NHTSA 13V-528 my vehicle was determined by dealer to have left tie rod replaced as per the recall. It's been over 3 weeks and dealer said could be as much as a month more before they get new part. I called Dodge assistance center 1-800-853-1403 and was told that could take awhile to get parts "??" this part can cause steering loss and is extremely unsafe. I need my truck to work each day. I am logging a complaint to this recall as unsatisfactory as far as time to issue new part to install. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #83

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
Chrysler recall # N49/NHTSA 13V-529 I would like to complain about how ill-prepared Chrysler is in handling this recall. I was notified that I could contact a dealer after Jan. 06, 2014 to get my vehicle in for this recall. On 01/06/2014 the dealer told me that Chrysler had not released parts yet and to call back on 01/24/2014. On that date I contacted the dealer again and they ordered parts for my vehicle and that the parts would be on on Jan. 31.on the 31st. The parts had still not arrived. Called again on Feb. 06 and was told that Chrysler was only allowing each dealer that they could only order parts for one vehicle per week to ensure that each dealer in the country could receive parts for this recall. I asked when the parts would be in for my vehicle I was told by the dealer that arrival date was unknown due to the fact that they had a stack of orders 4' thick so I called the Chrysler group recall assistance ctr.. after researching my order I was told by the mfg. That my parts should arrive in another 7-10dys.(Feb 12 - 15). Based on the magnitude of this recall and the dealers across the country, it could take years for them to repair all affected vehicles. Are we vehicle owners supposed to mothball are trucks until Chrysler can ship parts at the rate of 1 per week for each dealer in the country? this response from Chrysler is rediculous!!!

- Magna, UT, USA

problem #82

Jun 202013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles


2003 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to steering problems, bad tie rods and a bubble on the steering damper. The consumer stated around June 20, 2013, he began experiencing a violent shaking coming from the front end, while crossing paved railroad tracks.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #81

Nov 012010

Ram 2500

  • 160,000 miles
A few months after purchasing our Dodge Ram 2500, we experienced our first "death wobble" incident on interstate 70 at approximately 65 mph, and occurred 2 more times that same trip. I had the truck towed and brought to an automotive shop. The automotive shop said they could not find anything wrong with the truck but suggested replacing the steering stabilizer. I had the stabilizer replaced and it seemed okay for about 3 days. After the first incident the "death wobble" occurred on a regular basis, any small bump or transition in the roadway would cause the front axle, tires and steering to shake so violently it felt like a large earthquake in the truck. The death wobble will not stop till the truck was slowed down to a complete stop. This seemed to occur mostly at speeds between 45-70 mph. We stopped taking the truck on major roadways as it would be likely to cause an accident at highway speeds. The truck was brought to several automotive shops including Dodge and Chrysler dealerships. All of the automotive shops said that this is fairly common among these trucks as Dodge dealerships told me that basically I was a liar and denied that there was a problem. After doing thorough research I decided to follow the advice of the automotive shops and several specialty 4X4 shops. Every steering and suspension component was replaced including every bushing, bearing and grease fitting some parts were the upgraded mopar linkages and pittman arm and the rest of the parts were oe replacements from reputable high end manufacturers. I also had an alignment performed immediately I have saved every part that I have taken off the truck since I began this journey including receipts for all the work/parts that was performed/installed. Death wobble was gone for about 4 months and the truck was still lightly driven. By month 5 death wobble is back in full force with no explanation.

- Warrenton , MO, USA

problem #80

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 tdi. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not being made available immediately. The dealer was contacted and the manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experiences a failure.

- Sebastopol, CA, USA

problem #79

Apr 102013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 tdi. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle started to shake violently and without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the shock absorbers and steering damper. The remedy failed to repair the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 3/12/14 updated 03/21/14

- Perry, UT, USA

problem #78

Jan 312013

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
The known problem with this model vehicle. I hit a bump on the highway at 65 mph. I lost steering control but saved the truck before hitting anyone in oncoming traffic. It happened 4 more times before I could get it fixed. I just received a notice of a recall...too little too late ! I replaced every steering component, track bar and track bar bushings. No, I did not keep any receipts. Please pay attention to the complaints, I know friends who did have accidents due to this problem.

- Miles, TX, USA

problem #77

Jan 182006

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
This pickup has the terrible "death wobble" in the steering when you drive over a bump pr rib in road, starting unexpected and jerking the wheel so hard that you can not hold the wheel! I plan to buy this pu from my employer and I wanted it fixed by Dodge because it has always had this terrible safety problem from the factory! to verify this, [xxx] owns it and his # is [xxx]. thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ballinger, TX, USA

problem #76

Nov 022012

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 77,391 miles
Driving in the mountains on dirt road heard horrible sounds in the front of truck. Noticeably louder and very concerned to driving the truck any more, my two small children and I 9 months pregnant are very lucky. Made to our home 15 miles away. I called mechanic and truck was in the shop next day.

- Plymouth, CA, USA

problem #75

Dec 152013

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had surpassed the reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated only one repair kit was provided to the dealers per week. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/11/2014

- Pelzer, SC, USA

problem #74

Nov 062012

Ram 2500

  • 159,000 miles
After purchasing this truck from the first time owner, I begin to notice at certain times I would experience a violent shaking when going over a bump. After looking online and reading about the "death wobble" I become worried and contacted the dealer. Of course they acted like they did not know what I was talking about. But when you talk to an independent mechanic, they know exactly what you are talking about. In short, I have spent over $2700 getting the front end redone, with no help from Chrysler. I find it completely irresponsible on their part to not do anything to help with this problem. Now.. just last week I get this recall notice on the left tie rod end. I am most certain when I take it in, they will say there is nothing wrong with it.. and send me on my way. This issue and the cracked dash is all a bunch of baloney to which Chrysler should have taken some serious action to help folks who bought a $50K truck in good faith that it was built good..

- Claremore , OK, USA

problem #73

Nov 122013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
November 8, 2013 contact: [xxx] statement: Tie-rod assembly November 8, 2013, auburn hills, mich. - Chrysler group llc will conduct three recalls affecting approximately 1.2 million trucks, though as many as 726,000 may not need repair. The campaigns target an estimated 453,000 vehicles with steering-system tie rods that may have been misaligned during assembly or steering-system service. Chrysler group is casting the net wider than necessary to identify those vehicles that require repair. Any found to have suspect tie-rod assemblies will have those components replaced at no cost to customers. One recall will inspect an estimated 842,400 model-year 2003-2008 Ram 2500 and 3500 trucks to find approximately 116,000 repaired with tie-rod assemblies that could become misaligned. This condition could lead to component fracture and steering loss. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Manlius, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?