Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,038 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #113

Jul 072014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had taken my truck to get it serviced because the steering felt off and when I would go to stop it sounded like metal shaking. When I got to the dealership they said the left tie rod was cracked and the steering linkage was just hanging there about to fall off. There had been a recall on it before I had purchased the truck so I called Chrysler group and they informed me that it was deemed that the truck didn't have the "specific recalled" part. So I had to pay out of pocket around $3,000 to fix a problem that there was a recall on. The exact same problem listed in the recall, "because the left tie rod ball stud may fracture." Is exactly what happened to mine. I was told by Chrysler group that since my truck had been checked for the specific part by the previous owner and it wasn't part of the recall they wouldn't cover it. They did say to keep all my reciepts in case there is a future recall on that specific part.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #112

Aug 102014

Ram 2500

  • 49,000 miles
On pa 81 hit a bump in the road at 65 mph. Thought I had a flat tire but was not the case. After looking on the web "you tube" and asking people I found that I had a death wobble. This was very scary and the kids in the back though we were going to crash as did I. this death wobble should be looked at and fixed before someone gets into a crash.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #111

Jul 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
The steering assembly has gone out twice on my truck, once at about 85,000 and once at 158000 miles. The first time the steering locked turning in both directions, the second time only turn to the left. Preceding these occurrences, while driving highway speeds and going over a bump the truck starts shaking violently (death shake), and to control the truck I had to break sharply. The third steering assembly that was just installed at a local Dodge dealership, within a couple of miles, the front end starts to shake at various speeds - two different vibration - one like the tires are out of balance, the other is a rapid vibration that you feel thru the steering column. This is very similar to the month preceding the steering failure. I had the balance of the tires checked, they were fine, but the vibration problems still exist. I looks like all three steering assemblies are bad - I have checked with a reputable mechanic, and they stated that the factory steering assemblies are no good for this truck. The Dodge dealership has provided no help or resolutions, and I have even requested that they contact the factory for resolutions, but have declined to help. The last conversation they said it was a balancing issue - this was found out not to be true.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #110

Sep 242014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received the safety recall N62/NHTSA 13V-528 in Dec 2013, did not make it to the dealership until Mar 2014 do to all of the bad winter weather. They said I had the suspect tie rod and would be put on the list for the repairs and was told I was # 70 on the list. I have since called several times and am told each time they don't have the parts from Chrysler and that Chrysler only sends them a few parts at a time. Looks like I will never get this item repaired?

- Frostburg, MD, USA

problem #109

Apr 232014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
I was sent a recall notice on possible faulty steering linkage I called first time 4/23/14 to schedule appt. Was told by parts manager at mount airy Dodge parts are on back order will be in touch. Said I was #30 on list, in mean time receive second recall notice from Dodge I call again on 8/26/14 still on waiting list was told possibility in two weeks they will call me. Very disappointed in Dodge to send out recalls but have no replacements parts! how long would you wait?

- Woodbine, MD, USA

problem #108

Feb 032014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000 (steering) but the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dickinson, ND, USA

problem #107

Feb 142014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall notice N62/NHTSA 13V-528 (left tie rod). I've been trying to get this recall noticed resolved for almost 6 months and Chrysler will not release the part to the dealer. Why send a recall notice if you're not going to replace the part? I am fearful for my and my families safety which seems to be a contradiction to Chrysler's comments stating "we are sincerely concerned about your safety". if they were concerned they would replace the part in a timely manor.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #106

Apr 152014

Ram 2500

  • miles
TL * the contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #105

Feb 282014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sumner , WA, USA

problem #104

Mar 262014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the dealer stated that the part for the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/4/14

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #103

Jul 232014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received the following recall notice in January of 2014. "during a prior service appointment, a mopar service parts steering linkage may have been installed on your truck. The drag link inner joint may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could result in a loss of steering control and cause a crash without warning. Also, the steering damper bracket at the tie rod tube may loosen. This could allow the bracket to slide on the tube and may cause increased vehicle turning radius." After I took my vehicle to a local dealer they informed me the parts were backordered and they added me to their list. They also suggested I call them to check on the part if I didn't hear from them. I have received to additional recall notices on this matter since then. I have tried to call the dealer numerous times and can not get through to their service department. So I called Chrysler recall phone number and was told they would flag my account and contact the dealer and have them call me which hasn't happened either. I am amazed that Chrysler is being non responsive to a safety mater of this nature and have no other option than to report it to safecar.gov the Dodge dealer ship I have been dealing with is clear lake dodge15711 gulf fwy, webster, tx 77598 (281) 481-1000.

- League, City, TX, USA

problem #102

Jun 262014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The contact stated that the dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they were not able to provide an estimated amount of time for when the parts would become available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted.

- Plymouth, PA, USA

problem #101

Jun 162009

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact was concerned for his safety since the parts were still not available in order to do repairs for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle had not experience the failure. The vehicle current mileage was 150,000. Updated 08/25/14 updated 08/28/2014

- Wilbraham, MA, USA

problem #100

Nov 202013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I receive an important safety recall # N62 / NHTSA 13V-528 from Chrysler Corp. For the Dodge truck listed above. This recall was sent to me last November of 2013. I had the vehicle inspected by tuttle Dodge in tustin, ca. This is the dealer where I bought the truck in 2055. They confirmed that this vehicle need the safety repair and said that Chrysler would inform mw when the parts arrive at their dealership so they can make the safety repairs. I have check with tuttle Dodge every month since and was told that no parts were available. This repair is to the left tie rod, and if it breaks the driver would have no steering. This would result in 10,000 pound truck running completely out of control with understandable disastrous results. I want some help getting this vehicle repaired to a safe condition. Please let me know what you can do. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #99

Apr 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000 (steering). The dealer stated that the manufacturer had not released the parts needed in order to repair vehicle. The contact had not experienced the failure. The vehicle current mileage was 265,000. Updated 8/27/14

- Melbourne, KY, USA

problem #98

Nov 142013

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number: 13V528000 (steering),however the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/19/14 updated 08/27/2014

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #97

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Attempted on numerous occasions to contact local dealer to fix this problem when recall was received. Was informed parts were not available at this time. Attempted again in late March was told the same thing. To date repair has not been done to vehicle and no contact from dealer has been made.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #96

Jun 112014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 160,000 miles
I was driving home from the store with my 3 year old son traveling approximately 45-50mph and there was a spot in the road that we ran over which was a repair so it was raised up a bit from level. After running over the repair the infamous Dodge death wobbled started. Once the shaking started I immediately started slowing down but unfortunately for us the death wobble sheared the tie rod end that is connected to the pitman arm completely off of the truck so I had no steering control over the truck and we flew in to the next lane and wound up on the shoulder hitting the curb. This is completely ridiculous that a manufacturer would allow this issue to persist for years. Dodge had this issue starting with 2003 trucks. I have spend hundreds if not thousands of dollars trying to fix this issue and Dodge always says "well maybe it is this" and wants more money. Why should I have to pay for their [xxx] product. It almost killed my son and I. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #95

Jan 212014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000(steering); however, the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. There were no failures at this time. Updated 08/14/14

- Canadensis, PA, USA

problem #94

May 082014

Ram 2500

  • 72,000 miles
My Dodge truck goes into a violent shaking death wobble when I hit a bump on the freeway. It bounces and shakes uncontrollably until I slow down to approx. 25mph. Its dangerous and scary and there doesn't seem to be any known cure. Chrysler promised me theyd help me with the problem in 2011 but couldn't figure out what was causing it. Now theyre turning their back on me and saying the truck is too old. Iv been trying to fix the problem since 2007.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?