Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments

problem #7

Jul 222010

Ram 2500

  • 75,109 miles


Still having sooting problem now dealer is guessing on part replacement. Have replaced one sensor at my cost. This did not get rid of code PO471. After waiting 10 days for return call from dealer they want me to replace another sensor but they are not sure if that will correct problem. Senor costs $140.

- Romney, WV, USA

problem #6

Oct 112009

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving 65 mph the service engine warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel, and then the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to a Chrysler dealer and a technician concluded that the particute filter on the exhaust failed needed to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. However the vehicle has been taken to the dealer six times for identical failures, but the technicians have only patched the component. The failure and current mileages were 27000. Updated 11/10/09 updated 11/13/09

- Greatfalls, MT, USA

problem #5

Jul 132009

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • 47,000 miles
We own a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 liter diesel 4 X4 truck, bought with 7311 miles and a full warranty. We bought in January 2008. It has numerous issues that make me literally vomit when I have to drive it. We have had 6 repairs to this vehicle since June 2008 for emission/turbo/wiring/transmission issues. I do not feel safe in this truck and the dealership says they have "fixed" it everytime. A vehicle that loses engine and transmission power on the highway is not a safe means of transportation. They always tell me it is "being taken care of by Dodge recall/computer flashes, but this truck has been a nightmare since we bought it. Our first issue began in April 2008 with a constant engine warning light blaring at us all the time. The dealer told us it "just something these trucks do". it could be one of 200 small things, keep driving it, it's ok. Vehicle began stalling and hesitating on me in traffic, I felt it was unsafe and took it to dealership. The first of many 02 sensor recall/replacement/cleanings. It lost power again in August 2008 and I had to be towed in. Another 02/turbo issue. Again in October 2008 lost power, ditto for repairs. Next time it broke down was February 20090. Ditto for turbo/emission. Most recently was July 2009. Engine and transmission stalled out on me pulling onto a busy highway.....twice in one week. Dealer couldn't duplicate issue with computer, finally decided it was probably a wiring issue and replaced a harness. I have told the service dept that this vehicle is not safe, and I have complained to Chrysler. They tell me it is repaired and that is all they can do. I need help getting this vehicle off of the road. The dealer and Chrysler don't seem to think the safety of my children is very important. I hope somebody in your department does. Does it take a death or serious accident to have these issues evaluated?

- Robert Lee, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 142009

Ram 2500

  • 2,800 miles


2007 Dodge Ram 2500 w/ 6.7 diesel has major problem with exhaust system, a dpf (diesel particulate filter) clogs up in as early as 2500 miles and clogs continuously if vehicle is not (driven like you stole it) as suggested to me by dealer, this problem increases exhaust temps, and causes vehicle to cut out and hesitate on take offs and requires constant repair at the dealer, there are aftermarket parts to fix problem but it is recommended for offroad use only. But many of my friends have made the changes and have had no further problems.

- Henryetta, OK, USA

problem #3

Jul 132008

Ram 2500

  • 2,000 miles
I own a 2007 Dodge diesel that has a recurring problem with the emission system. It is a common problem that they can't seem to fix. The vehicle meets the lemon law needs but Dodge refuses to call me about this. The vehicle has been in the dealership several times. It has had the turbo replaced twice and the computer reprogrammed 3 times. Also a couple cleanings for the turbo.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #2

Nov 132007

Ram 2500

  • 35,000 miles
I like others have had my new truck in the dealership more than on the road. I have had my 2007 Ram 2500 6.7 in the dealer for seven visits to solve problems with the dpf and emission ck engine light codes. The last was on 9/22 and when I picked up on 9/23 I was told two more tsb-technical service bulletins have come out over night and I would have to bring the truck back for the parts ordered for these tsb's. mt. Clemens Dodge has been very helpful but Dodge can't seem to come up with a solution for the problem. I'm very disappointed in the fact that I've purchased a new vehicle and so many unresolved problems.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 072008

Ram 2500

  • 11,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Ram 2500 diesel on Dec. 31, 2007. It has been in the dealer 9 times for a check engine light and the problem is still unresolved. I am currently dealing with impartial services group on a buyback which has been a nightmare. If there is a place to file a complaint against them I'd sure like to know about it.

- Pineville, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?