Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,285 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 012016

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The dealer stated that the parts may not become available until mid first quarter of 2017. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/22/16

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jul 282016

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #13

Jun 292015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags), but the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mannford, OK, USA

problem #12

Aug 202015

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 012015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 172014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/11/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was fixed on Jul 9, 2015. Updated 03/16/16.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 052015

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/19/16 updated 02/23/16.

- Gilbert, AR, USA

problem #8

Nov 022015

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Letter from congressman mccarthy on behalf of constituent re 2008 Dodge 2500 recall. The consumer was informed the part was not available. Recall # 15V313000.

- Inyokern, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012015

Ram 2500

  • 118,000 miles
In early July 2015, I contacted my local Dodge dealer (patterson Dodge) via phone to make the recall repairs to my 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. At the time of the phone call, the dealer indicated that my request for recall service would be put on a list to be scheduled at a later date. Since this initial phone call, I have contacted the dealer and manufacturer multiple times with no confirmation on when the recall repairs could be completed. As of September 9, 2015, the dealer confirmed that I was indeed on a list of vehicles needing repair, but no timeline for the service could be established because of unavailability of parts from the manufacturer. Please advise me on how to get these recall repair performed.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #6

Jul 022015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sandy , UT, USA

problem #5

May 292015

Ram 2500

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my Ram 2500 I was notified by Chrysler that my truck has recall 15V-313 for the air bags. States there is no fix as of now. But says in extreme heat the airbag can rupture and send metal shrapnel flying injuring the driver. I was wondering if this would make my truck eligible for the Chrysler buyback program? as I do believe this is a serious safety concern.

- Windsor, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 282015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 13V528000 (steering); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cheney , WA, USA

problem #3

May 132015

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,869 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while approaching a stop, the contact engaged the brake pedal and the vehicle accelerated independently. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact had to crash into a mountain order to stop the vehicle. The contact did not sustain any injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,869. Updated 7/21/15 updated 9/23/15

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #2

Dec 112009

Ram 2500

  • 6,400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram pickup truck. He stated he was involved in a crash while driving 55 mph. The front air bags did not deploy at the time of the impact. While exiting the highway, he attempted to steer to avoid hitting an approaching vehicle but the steering wheel would not respond. The vehicle crashed into a concrete barrier along the highway head-on. Later, he received NHTSA campaign id number 09E001000, steering linkages; however when the dealer was contacted they stated that his VIN was not included. The passenger sustained moderate injuries which include head contusions, several cuts from the glass, neck injuries and cracked ribs. The driver sustained minor injuries to the head. Neither the driver or passenger's side air bag deployed. Repairs were made to the vehicle and covered under his insurance. The failure and current mileages were under 6,400.

- Glenwood, IA, USA

problem #1

Sep 142009

Ram 2500

  • 72,000 miles
I was parked in a field and both driver side and passenger side air bag deployed. The pickup engine was running, the vehicle not moving at the time of deployment. I am the primary driver of this pickup and it has not been involved in any type of accidents.

- Crookston, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?