Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,481 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Apr 182012

Ram 2500

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle drove over a road bump and the steering wheel exhibited a violent shake. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer rotated the tires but the service did not remedy the shaking failure. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer who then informed the contact that the vehicle had been upgraded under NHTSA campaign id numbers: 11V350000 (steering:linkages:tie rod assembly) and 10E013000 (steering:gear box:shaft pitman). The contact was awaiting a call from the manufacturer regarding the suspension. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #50

Jun 012011

Ram 2500

  • 75,000 miles
Death wobble, when driving at any speed, and hitting a bump with the wheel turned even ever so slightly either way, the wheel just gives that direction and the entire truck starts to go that direction. It is very nerve racking, and extremely dangerous. The forums are littered with people with the same issue looking for an answer, but we aren't coming up with one, all while throwing money away into parts that may or may not be bad. I've already had the tie rod failure that Dodge has a recall on, but they say my truck was not effected by the recall, so that fell on me to replace. When I called Dodge about the problem, they state that no one has reported this issue before so it is an isolated incident with my truck. However, a google search yields thousands of people with the same thing. Can this be investigated in any way? these trucks have become dangerous to drive, or be around on the highways due to this 'death wobble'.

- Morganton, NC, USA

problem #49

May 112012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving 15 mph, the passenger side front tie rod fell on the ground. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. The failure was located within the ball joints which separated due to defective material. A local mechanic replaced the steering pitman, steering arm, the cross shaft, nuts and bolts. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 36,250. Updated 06/26/12 the consumer stated he could not just replace the failed part. He had to purchase the entire steering assembly, due to it being an upgrade. The cost of the steering assembly was $618.61. Updated 06/27/12 updated 08/28/12 updated 09/12/12

- Karns City , PA, USA

problem #48

Apr 162012

Ram 2500

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the power steering assist of the vehicle. The contact was able to move off the roadway and inspected the vehicle where he found that the passenger side tie rod assembly was fractured. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that NHTSA campaign id number: 11V350000 (steering linkages: Tie rod assembly) would only cover the front driver side wheel and not the front passenger side. The failure and the current mileage was 97,000.

- Ersah, IL, USA

problem #47

Apr 052012

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 100,500 miles
Right tie rod end broke off, very limited steering.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #46

Jan 012010

Ram 2500

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that whenever he attempted a turn, the vehicle would pull very sharply in the direction that he was turning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was not related to NHTSA campaign id number 11V350000 (steering:linkages:tie rod assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #45

Feb 252012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While backing out of a parking space I heard the left steering linkage fall onto the other linkage. I had complied with the recall H46 on Sept. 10, 2009 regarding the failed part. The ball joint stud had failed requiring the pickup to be towed for the replacement of the steering linkage.

- Holtville, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012011

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that after having repairs performed on the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V350000 (steering:linkages:tie rod assembly), the steering failed without warning while driving approximately 25 mph. The contact noticed that one wheel was wobbling. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road and then towed to the nearest mechanic. After diagnosis, they advised him that the tie rod assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the tie rod assembly. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 147,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 03/16/12

- Holtville, CA, USA

problem #43

Nov 112011

Ram 2500

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the steering would seize abnormally while driving at low speeds. The manufacturer was contacted and denied assistance with the repair. The manufacturer also advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number:11V350000 (steering:linkages:tie rod assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Bennigton , NH, USA

problem #42

May 062011

Ram 2500

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 hd. The contact stated the steering box failed. The steering box failed three times after the dealer replaced it previously. While reversing out of a parking space and making a right hand turn the steering would not turn. It was very difficult to make the turns as the vehicle was being driven to the dealer. The dealer stated they will replace the orm steering box at the owners expense but there was a back order on the parts. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised that they would contact him within the next twenty four hours. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Boone, NC, USA

problem #41

Nov 272011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was attempting to back the truck up into driveway and had wheel turned all the way to the left. Heard a high pitched screech and then lost all power steering and was unable to move steering wheel. Had the truck towed to dealer to have repairs done on truck. Dealer stated that it was the power steering gear box again. This will be the third one replaced in the truck since 5/3/2011.

- Spotswood, NJ, USA

problem #40

Oct 102011

Ram 2500

  • 38,000 miles
I've got 40,000 miles on my 2008 2500 quad cab 6.7 cummins. The symptoms I noticed have been when driving down the road at highway speeds, suddenly it'll sound like I have a flat tire for about 2 seconds, then resume to normalcy. But when I slow to a stop, the truck shakes uncontrollably until you stop. It almost feels like I have a manual transmission, which I don't, and I don't downshift. I thought it was maybe a transmission problem, but I shifted to neutral and stopped, out of "drive", and it still shook uncontrollably. My truck does have the snow plow prep package on it, but I do not run a snow plow, and after researching the possibility of that last winter, I would never put a plow on a quad/diesel; or for that matter, any Ram.

- Buffalo Lake, MN, USA

problem #39

Nov 122011

Ram 2500

  • 20,600 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he heard a loud clunking noise while turning at approximately 5 mph. The contact also lost control of the steering during the failure. The vehicle was then stopped and the contact noticed that the driver's side tie rod was fractured. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V350000 (steering:linkages:tie rod assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileages were 20,600.

- Dexter, NY, USA

problem #38

Oct 312011

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,500 miles
Took my 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 4WD in for oil change and was told that the left and right outer tie rods were severely worn out and needed to be replaced. This is at 35,500 miles, truck is only used on road and has never been off road. Seems this is a common early wearout item on these trucks. Why?

- Colebrook, NH, USA

problem #37

Oct 032011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 42,500 miles
I was I-77 in wv and hit a bridge expansion joint at approx. 70 M.P.H. the truck front suspension began to shake violently. The front tires and steering wheel began to shake/bounce uncontrollably. It did this for aprox 20 sec. While I tried to stop the truck slowly and safely. Internet research revealed this is a common problem with Dodge 2500 pickups. It has been given the name death wobble. I returned it to the dealer where they deny any knowledge of the problem and after inspection determined that the incident busted both front shocks and stabilizer bar. It was not covered by factory or extended warranty. I had 2 new shocks & stabilizer installed and the front end re-inspected and serviced, lined and balanced the tires as directed by dealer insp. Results. I drove less than 10 miles and the truck done the death wobble again. They now suggest the tracking bar failure but state that the whole front suspension may be damaged due to a poor design and the violent vibration that occurred during the incidents. Again the warranties are refusing coverage. The tech's refused to release the truck back to me to drive for safety reasons. They feel it is not safe to operate in this condition. This truck remains in stock condition. Installing 285/70/16 tires 10 ply tires for safety concerns. The stock tires were too small for an 8000 lbs. Pickup that tows occasionally. Due to the seriously neglected safety concern by Dodge, I will be trading this truck off when I get it fixed. Dodge knows there is problems please step up and make them address this issue before someone get hurt or killed.

- Wharncliffe , WV, USA

problem #36

Oct 012010

Ram 2500

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the steering wheel became very stiff and the contact had to use extreme bodily force to turn the wheel. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder and stopped. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed that the steering box was leaking. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the steering gear box was replaced. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The gear box was replaced approximately three times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #35

Sep 292011

Ram 2500

  • 40,903 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact was entering a residential driveway when the stud for tie rod detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 40,903.

- Creston, LA, USA

problem #34

Jul 152011

Ram 2500

  • 35,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the vehicle would violently shake from the front end of the vehicle, causing issues with his ability to steer safely. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The current mileage was 39,900 and the approximate failure mileage was 35,500.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #33

Sep 162011

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 72,360 miles
While driving 60mph the front end of the vehicle suddenly shook excessively and became difficult to control. Upon stopping the car I found the drag link for right side had split and detached from ball joint. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and I was informed that the entire steering assembly needed to be replaced. Dodge has a known problem with this and no longer makes or supplies this failed part. This repair and replacement is at my cost and not covered under any recall or warranty. I was instructed the recall had been performed in April of 2011 and no action was needed at that time.

- Payson, UT, USA

problem #32

Jul 132011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 70,000 miles
I took my 2008 Dodge 2500 into the dealer after experiencing a "pop" sensation in the front end at low speed (5-10mph). The dealer stated that both tie rod ends where worn out as well as both upper and lower ball joints. I spoke with the manager as the truck is out of warranty and he stated this was normal wear and tear. I then contacted the Chrysler help line. Initially they gave the impression that they may be able to assist me with this problem. However in a return phone call, they stated they could not do anything because of the mileage. Of course I asked them how was it possible for the whole front end to be shot at 70,000 miles when it was suppose to have a heavy duty suspension as it is a diesel and the truck has never hauled any kind of weight or been off road. The other point I made with them was they know they have a problem because in order to replace the tie rod ends, you have to replace the whole assembly from the tie rod ends all the way to the pittman arm because it was redesigned. Go figure! additionally I have had the turbo charger replaced twice because the dealer said the unit was bad. My main concern now is the steering as it is going to cost me $2500 to correct and I do not have that laying around.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?