Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #95

Jan 092014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 09E001000 (steering ) but was informed that the parts were not available and a second notice would be sent when they were. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in January 2009, there should have been a remedy available before January 2014. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Narragansett, RI, USA

problem #94

Dec 012013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer inspected the tie rod and advised that it needed to be replaced however, the dealer part needed for the repairs would not arrive for another two months.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #93

Dec 302013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact was driving 10 mph and lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was informed that the tire rod end sheared off and caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Vernon, AZ, USA

problem #92

Nov 162013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 55 mph on a rural road without any warning (shaking, clunking, noise of any kind, or some kind of steering issue) the tie rod end on the passenger side front wheel separated causing the passenger side front wheel to turn to the right and I lost all steering control. The truck pulled suddenly to the right, and into the ditch unexpectedly with myself and my 2 yr old son on-board. Luckily we were on a rural road if this had happened on the highway it could have killed someone. This is a serious safety issue, a tie rod should not separate without warning.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #91

Nov 232013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 6-cyl Diesel

  • 133,608 miles
Chrysler case# [xxx] 11/23/2013 up to this point, I had no prior indication that there was a problem with my steering. I was towing my 20' single axel trailer bass boat and noticed play in the steering wheel. At Washington and the 710 we heard a loud glunk, as if a piece of metal snapped in half. Just (s) of bandini the truck veered from slow lane into traffic and a total loss of steering occurred. On Monday 11/25/2013 I contacted Chrysler and spoke with a lady named [xxx]. I described what happened with my vehicle and she instructed me to bring it to a local Dodge dealer. She went on to say she had included notes in the system that would inform the service department of my problem. Spoke with [xxx] service consultant and was told that I had already brought my truck in for this recall, I believe he said the date was 3/2011 and that the recall was complete. He went on to say that there are no recalls on my vehicle and he just wanted to make certain he got paid. I contacted Chrysler for the 2nd time and was informed that there is nothing they will be doing to assist me with this matter. She stated that the recalls for this particular problem haven't went out yet, therefore the public has not been notified. I explained the severity of the situation, but she was not accepting any responsibility for a Dodge truck losing total control of the steering, due to design failure. Tuesday 11/26/2013 1:00pm I received a phone call from [xxx]. he said he had spoke with Chrysler and they were not responsible. He informed me that the steering box is the problem and if I had any questions, Chrysler would like to speak with me. This is a very serious matter and Chrysler should be very fortunate that a serious accident didn't occur as a result of their faulty steering box. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- South Gate, CA, USA

problem #90

Oct 162013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 8-cyl

  • 100,300 miles
While driving at 65 mph I hit a bump in the road at the end of the bridge I was crossing. The front end began shaking violently. I hit the brakes and when I slowed to approx. 40 mph the shaking stopped. I have been checking on-line and discovered the shaking is commonly call the "death wobble". I can see why it is called that because I had little to no control of the vehicle when the death wobble occurred.

- Douglas, WY, USA

problem #89

Sep 182013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel. The contact stated that while reversing into a driveway, an unusual snap was heard. The contact stated that the power steering failed within minutes. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired but was previously remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 11V350000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #88

Jul 212013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 8-cyl

  • 147,200 miles
I was on I-35 in mo just North of cameron heading toward winston. About half way between winston and cameron I hit a bump in the road. The road is some what rough due to truck traffic. When I hit the bump the front of the truck became loose violently shaking and causing complete loss of control of the vehicle. It felt as if I were running over a series of speed bumps. I began to slow down immediately. As I was slowing down the truck still shaking vigorously I reclaimed control of the vehicle easing it to the shoulder and stopping. Once stopped I began on the road again and seemed to be fine.

- Cameron, MO, USA

problem #87

Jul 162013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 163,560 miles
For the last two or three months my 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 has started having the death wobble!! the uncontrollable tire wobble happens at least twice a day now. I have tried just about everything to fix it. I have purchased new bushings and the steering gear stabilizer. I will not buy another Dodge because of this. When talking to Dodge about my problem, it felt like they were just blowing me off.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #86

Jun 252013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 194,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while making a right turn, the steering system malfunctioned. The contact had to stop the vehicle in the middle of the road because the steering had become inoperable. An independent mechanic was contacted and stated that the output shaft of the gear box was defective. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 194,000. Updated 08/20/13

- White Mountain Lakes, AZ, USA

problem #85

Nov 302012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling highway I-95 near jax, fl. While crossing an overpass expansion joint between bridge and pavement the front end of my truck began violently shaking - so bad I could barely keep control. I slowed as fast as possible and headed for the median out of the way from traffic following. Truck completed an entire "donut " in median causing all traffic to stop. I immediately thought a blown tire. I had previously replaced tires, shocks and fresh alignment less than 500 miles prior to incident. I called Dodge care and they said there was a recall on steering linkage. I took truck to gator Dodge in melbourne Florida for the recall. Service manager mike said the truck didn't apply to recall. He blamed the violent "death wobble" on my brand new tires and non mopar shocks. Shocks are aftermarket direct fit for my truck from monroe. He also said that I needed an alignment and tires rebalanced. I did what he asked and brought truck back to gator Dodge for a new diagnosis. He then blamed the violent shaking on " glazed rotors". oddly the problem does not happen when braking. He then talked with his service manager and replaced the pittman arm, stabilizer shock and some kind of control arm with new adjustment clamps for free. Did nothing to correct the problem. The truck still makes "clunking noises " from somewhere behind firewall when just crossing over the white stop lines on the road or even my garden hose in the driveway. Death wobble can be duplicated at high speeds but he refused to drive to highway to show him the problem. I am going to install a new steering gearbox and aftermarket stabilizer tomorrow and see what happens. I have a feeling it will be wasted money. I believe the truck needs recalled before I kill someone on the road. I cant afford a new truck and will not let my kids ride in this one.

- Satellite Beach, FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 252012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 6-cyl Diesel

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the tie rods needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V350000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 6/17/13

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #83

Mar 242013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 6-cyl Diesel

  • 141,513 miles
When backing up into a parking space, moving at a slow speed and cutting a tight turn the right tie rod broke. The affected parts are the right tie rod, pittman arm and steering linkage.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #82

Mar 202010

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph and attemtping a turn, he heard an abnormal noise. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Bartlett, TX, USA

problem #81

Jan 012008

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 6-cyl Diesel

  • 60,000 miles
First incident was right tie rod end falling off. Truck became uncontrollable. Next incident was death wobble. Truck shook violently and was uncontrollable. Next incident was another death wobble with my daughter driving the truck. Next incident was right tie rod end falling off. Next incident was another death wobble. Virtually entire front end has been replaced. Steering stabilizer has been replaced three times. Truck has 240000 miles and I am scared of it, but it my only truck, so I have to drive it. According to internet, manufacturer refuses to acknowledge problem.

- Woodville, TX, USA

problem #80

Feb 122013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 6-cyl Diesel

  • 66,000 miles
While driving down the highway at 70 mph I hit a rough spot in the road and truck began to shake violently. I had no control until I slowed down to under 50 mph. There was heavy traffic as it was rush hour and I almost caused a serious accident. After researching the internet I have found this to be a common problem in Dodge trucks and Jeep. There are many youtube videos, it has been on national news and there are many complaints on NHTSA.dot.gov also. Is it going to take someone getting killed to get this defect recalled? the dealerships refuse to acknowledge this defect and use it as an excuse to replace every component in your front end and charge you thousands of dollars. Please address this before someone gets killed.

- Comfort, TX, USA

problem #79

Jan 122013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,900 miles
While traveling at speed (50-55 mph), the highway gradually went to the left. During this left maneuver, the steering wheel and front end of vehicle began to shake violently. The only way to stop the shaking was to slow under 20 mph. I had owned this vehicle for less than a week when this issue first occurred. It has since happened every time I've driven the truck. It always seems while turning the steering wheel to the right or left and when traveling over bumps or joints in the road surface. This violent shaking would have definitely caused loss of control if speed wasn't reduced immediately. This has been a frightening experience, and I have scheduled an appointment at a steering specialty shop immediately. I have been trying to keep the truck under 50 mph (when feasible) and I avoid interstates altogether.

- Malta, OH, USA

problem #78

Jul 012012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 60,000 miles
Hit a pothole and the front end started to shake violently & out of control.

- Belleplain, NJ, USA

problem #77

Jun 022012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 96,907 miles
Vehicle was parked. As I started to back out of a parking spot, I began to turn the steering wheel counterclockwise. The sector shaft on the steering box sheared in half and the pitman arm and drag link fell to the ground. Lost complete steering control. Let it be noted that this truck is not driven off-road in 4X4 environments. Truck has a 4 inch lift and 35 inch tires. Wheels are of a factory size. Chrysler was asked for assistance in this repair, because of the type of failure and the fact that the vehicle was not within the factory warranty period. The claim was considered but denied because of the oversize tires. No consideration was given. Pictures are available.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #76

Nov 102010

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle drove over a bump in the road and shook violently. The contact referred to the shaking as the death wobble. The contact replaced the tie rod and steering linkage, but none of the repairs remedied the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?