Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,433 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 GMC Envoy drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 GMC Envoy Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 062006

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 GMC Envoy. The air bag light is constantly illuminated and only dims when the vehicle is turned off. While driving 55 mph, the contact attempted to use the 4 wheel drive, but it would not work. The indicator light remains illuminated; however, none of the 4 wheel drive levels work. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers 01V283000 (power train:transfer case (4-wheel drive)) and 02V222000 (air bags). The current mileage was 127,000 and failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 01-14-08. The consumer stated the 4-wheel light only illuminated when the vehicle was started. Updated 12/12/07.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #12

Oct 162006

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,044 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the 4-wheel drive indicator light illuminated, and the vehicle stopped as if the brake was applied when the accelerator pedal was released. Also, a smell was coming from the brakes and the vehicle accelerated without warning. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who determined the transfer case control module needed to be replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 232005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
While driving my vehicle and the 4 wheel drive switch is in the off position, my vehicle will engage into 4 high and the 4 low light flashes like it's trying to go into 4 low. It will keep switching back & forth from 4hi to A4wd and then go off. This has happened a couple times now. Another time I was turning into a parking space and then my steering wheel became very hard to turn, my car was in 4hi with the 4 low light flashing but the switch was off.

- Byron, MI, USA

problem #10

Aug 012005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 GMC Envoy sle VIN # [xxx] purchased and serviced by malouf in North brunswick, NJ. I have complained on two occasions that the 4 wheel drive light switch jumps from 2-high to 4-wd and continues to blink. While this is happening there is a faint scraping sound from under the vehicle and than the vehicle slows down to a gradual complete stop. It feels like the brakes are being applied. There also a faint odor of burning brakes. This 1st happened around August 1 2005 and than again in Oct 2005 two times the 1st time the dealership re- programmed the computer and up dated it, its was ok for a little while. Than it happened again in Oct. They told me there was nothing they could see and that everything was working the way it should be. There is something very wrong with this vehicle and im afraid this is going to happen at higher speeds. Please get back to me as soon as possible. Updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- New Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jan 072005

Envoy 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My vehicle is a 2002 GMC Envoy. I have had 3 incidents with the 4 wheel drive system in this vehicle since December 2003. The newest feature with these vehicles, as with the cheverolet trailblazers is the automatic 4 wheel drive system. This system allows the driver to put this lever in and the vehicle will be in 2 wheel drive and will switch to 4 wheel drive when road conditions are a necessity for 4 wheel drive. My vehicle's 4 wheel drive system broke in December 2003. It was reported to me from Alaska sales and service who repaired the vehicle that the front differential had to be replaced due to the 4 wheel drive system. Then there was a leak of some fluid under the vehicle noticed April through May 2004. The vehicle was in the shop at Alaska sales/service again and a transfer case was replaced in the vehicle. Come winter in 2004, my 4 wheel drive needed to be used again due to weather in Alaska. My vehicle was in for a major checkup on Dec 14th, 2004 and I was told the 4 wheel drive system was in good shape. I had the vehicle back in the shop within 2 weeks for a loud noise in the 4 wheel system. Again the vehicle was in the shop and another transfer case was replaced. My major complaint to the federal consumer complaint system is that this vehicle is a 2002, and this vehicle has been in the shop for the same problem more than 3 times under the 3 year new car warranty. I feel that the General Motors corporation should buy this vehicle back or purchase a new vehicle for me due to the problems I have had to endure. I am in the process of finding a lawyer in Alaska that will support the automobile lemon law.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Dec 312004

Envoy

  • 44,000 miles
Transfer case( 4-wheel drive) wasn't engaging. Vehicle was inspected by a dealership, who indicated that the transfer case shift control module was defective, and needed to be replaced. They also indicated that the part had to be ordered. A week later when the consumer contacted the dealership to inquire about when the part will arrive they were informed not until March due to the part being being re designed. The part # was 12590220.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #7

Oct 282004

Envoy 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of engine cooling system and four wheel drive system.

- East Troy, WI, USA

problem #6

Sep 072004

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at a low speed and turning to the left, the four wheel drive engaged. The dealership replaced the selector switch twice for the four wheel drive.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #5

Mar 172004

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,800 miles
Our 02 GMC Envoy randomly shifts the transfer case into neutral while driving causing a no power situation in traffic. This has put my wife and child in danger on more than one occassion.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 282004

(reported on)

Envoy

  • miles
While driving 40 mph vehicle jolted and slipped into another gear without consumer shifting gears. Vehicle was serviced, technician determined that transfer case module needed to be replaced.

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 282003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transfer case: While driving at highway speed of about 65 mph with the transfer case swtich set to A4wd the trransfer switch without any input or operator control switched to 4hi (both the switch position and indicator light) and the 4lo indicator light was flashing amber indicating the transfer case was attempting to swtich into 4lo. This has occurred aproximately 6 times previously at various speeds, while driving striaght or conducting turning maneuvers; but only when the engine is warm. The latest incident on 12/28/2003 (prompting this complaint) occurred after the dealership completed the remedy specified by service bulletin 02-04-21-002A on 12/26/2003.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #2

Oct 182002

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,291 miles
GMC Envoy 2002 sle XL purchased in the month of June and started having problems in Oct. The vehicle would shift in and out of 2wd and 4WD on it's own and on occasion it would lock the wheels also. Problem mostly occured when making turns. Stated problem to dealer (10/18/02) - dealer replaced 4WD selector switch (reason: Internally shorted). Had problem again in month of Feb. '03. Brought vehicle back to the same dealer and explained problem again (02/21/03). Dealer replaced 4WD selector switch again. Reason why I'm filing this complaint is because I feel this vehicle is not safe. I also realized that I'm not the only one experiencing these same problems. My hope is that GMC will take notice and correct this problem quickly.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 132002

Envoy 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While towing vehicle in neutral, transmission slipped out of gear and a fire started in transmission area. Contacted dealer who was not willing to do anything. Consumer states that the transfer case shift module failed to engage neutral, consumer had brackets and wiring installed to activate the brake and tail lights when being towed, there is a recall, 01V334, regarding transfer case control module problems, however this VIN is not included.

- Plano, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?