Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 15
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 GMC Envoy electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Jan 252014

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the driver's side master power window switch became inoperable. The contact received safety recall notification NHTSA campaign number 13V248000(electrical system, visibility); however, the failure occurred immediately after the recall repair was performed. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing regarding an electrical failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 10/07/14 the consumer stated the radio would stay on after removing the key and exiting the vehicle especially if the windows are left down. The vehicle did not experience failures prior to the recall being performed. Updated 3/16/2015

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #48

Mar 102014

Envoy

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving approximatley 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnose that the ignition switch was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000 and the current mileage was 108,656.

- Moreno Valley , CA, USA

problem #47

Jul 012013

Envoy

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the driver side power window and locks malfunctioned. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Medford, NJ, USA

problem #46

Dec 192012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 83,560 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

One evening I was driving on the main highway and my inside lights came on. I pulled to the side of the road to check the switch but it was on auto. I turned it off but the lights stayed on. They were still on when I got home and parked turned off the ignition the lights were still on. The next morning my car couldn't start because it had ran my battery down. Another incident was my headlights went off one night while I was drive on the highway. I am also having problems with my gas gauge. My gas light comes on like I am out of gas. The last time I fill my car up with gas it hesitated. It didn't want to start. The light stays on when my car is full of gas. I smell gas. I sat at the gas station for an our because my car didn't want to start. The sound of my radio goes in and out. My lights continue to go on and off when driving or when not driving. One morning I got up to go to work, went to start my car and the headlights were on but the switch was off. I couldn't get the lights to go off when I got to work. They stayed on at least for 4 hrs. Sometime the lights doesn't come on when I put them on. I really have some weird things go on with my vehicle. I did get the module changed and they did some re-wiring in the door. One year before the module, I got them to check my car for a short and I was told from them that my wires were over heated. I paid about $900 to fix it. I strongly think it is a detect some wheres or something that would cause my wires to over heat.

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #45

Aug 072012

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,236 miles
I have had this issue 3 times -8/2012, 2/2013, 3/2014 - so I am on the 4th ignition switch in this car, mileage now approx 108,000. The 4X4, stabilitrak, ABS and emergency brake lights come on then it beeps repeatedly. Sometimes concurrently, sometimes not the air blower stops working as well. This 3rd time, after the lights had been coming off/on for a few days, turning the blower on would trigger the lights to come on. For each of the 3 times, the GMC dealer has recommended replacement of the ignition switch (2X at my cost) on the most recent repair a voltage spike was acknowledged but the option to track this by installing inline fuses was not even offered until I had taken my issue to a higher authority. I declined as I don't care to put more money in a car that even one of the dealerships employees recommended I just sell and buy new. My concern is whether this car is a hazard to me and others? the service manager said when this occurs the ignition is essentially off and the car could stop but another person told me that no, it's another leg of the ignition and its okay. I don't know who to believe.....updated 08/12/14 updated 11/12/2014

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #44

Jul 102013

Envoy

  • 208,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked and unoccupied, smoke emitted inside of the vehicle. There were no flames visible. A certified mechanic inspected the vehicle and noticed that the front driver's side window and door housing control box had been burned. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the vehicle exhibited a constant stalling and would restart moments after the failure occurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 208,000.

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #43

May 242010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Submission from constituent re recalls-2006 GMC Envoy. The consumer stated, her husband was driving, when suddenly the vehicle stalled. He was able to coast safely to a stop. However, the vehicle would not re-start, and the vehicle had to be towed. According to the invoice, the ignition cylinder was replaced. Also, on numerous occasions, the air bag light illuminated, and remained on for days. The consumer referenced recall # 06V417000. Updated 06/10/14 updated 10/14/14

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #42

Dec 202013

Envoy

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that shortly after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility), a fire erupted from the driver's side door panel area. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire and a report was filed. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #41

Oct 062013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 66,841 miles
Safety issue: While driving home last night both low beam headlights went off. Pulled over and stopped the vehicle as it was dark. Turned head light switch on and off, but could not get lights to work. Bright lights worked and so did driving lights, therefore I drove on home. I checked the GMC web site and found no callbacks. However under problems with Envoy vehicles from General Motors there are reports that this same electrical problem is being considered for a callback.

- Taampa, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 052013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Wind shield wipers would go on.now they won't go off. Engine light wont go off feels like the car is going to stall out. Mechanic said it will get worse and will start stalling out. I see a lot of complaints on these cars about the same thing I have going on. My gas gauge wont work. I brought my car for the recall for the drivers door last year and now my keys won't unlock the doors. Only the remote will open it. When I called about the doors and windows not working they said my VIN wasn't under recall I called you and you got it fixed for me. I think they need to check the electrical problems on the Envoy. I have the same complaints so something is wrong with these vehicle.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #39

May 012013

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 GMC Envoy. Consumer writes in regards to driver door module recall notice. The local dealer informed the consumer, the recall was listed. However, the consumer received a recall notice.

- Centerville, GA, USA

problem #38

Apr 122013

Envoy

  • 95,409 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, a strong electrical burning odor and smoke emitted from front driver's side interior door. In addition, the front driver's side power window operated on its own intermittently. There were no flames present, although both the power door lock and window control switch housing melted. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and towed to an authorized dealer. The failure occurred twenty four days after the recall remedy was performed. There was no defect prior to the recall repair. The NHTSA campaign id number was 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was recently repaired for the second time under the same recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 95,409.

- Amhurst, NY, USA

problem #37

Apr 162013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 120,054 miles
My 2006 GMC Envoy XL gas gauge reads empty after filling, then slowly moves up after driving but will continue to lose pressure until it reads empty and the light is on. Sometimes it will just remain on the E an the light will be on when I have gas in my vehicle.

- Big Spring, TX, USA

problem #36

Dec 312012

Envoy

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact attempted to close the front driver's side window when he noticed a burning odor. The window did not close completely. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Lake Ariel, PA, USA

problem #35

Dec 212012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
GMC's campaign number is 12180 for this issue but when I called they said I would have to pay for the diagnosis and repair myself. Drivers side power window and door lock switch started rapidly clicking and smoking causing door lock control not to work and windows unable to roll down trapping passengers in vehicle. Switch started working again the next day but is now not working or partially working again. Fuse did not blow. If this switch is used by accident it will make the other window switches not work for an extended period of time and then they randomly start working again. I have searched this issue on the internet and found model year 2006 GMC Envoy and trailblazer have many reports of this issue since they were first sold in 2006 and 2007.

- Oceanside , CA, USA

problem #34

Oct 152010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving approximately 30 mph. The contact merged to the shoulder, powered off and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the alternator and the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on multiple occasions for the same failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 104,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #33

May 012012

Envoy

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong burning odor while driving at various speeds. The contact inspected the vehicle and found that the driver's door panel and wires were burned due to a defective switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 129,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #32

Oct 022012

Envoy

  • 66,500 miles
Drivers door main control switch for windows, locks, mirrors stopped working. No fire but I did take the switch out, now were all just waiting on GM to get there act together and some switches out to the dealers. 11/14/2012.

- Peru, MA, USA

problem #31

Sep 032012

Envoy

  • 42,230 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that burning fumes emitted into the vehicle and the security system light illuminated. As a result, the engine failed to start up. The contact had to reset the security system to be able to start the engine. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the driver side door master control switch needed to be replaced. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 42,230.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #30

May 112012

Envoy

  • 58,230 miles
The tailgate will occasionally not open. The actuator has already been replaced. The electrical system seems to also "act"up when this happens. The remote takes several times to open the doors. We have replaced the battery several times, the dome light does not come on anymore, the stereo turns off immediately when you turn the engine off, instead of staying on until you open one of the doors.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?