If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 GMC Envoy electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Dec 072014

Envoy

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Smoke from driver door control. Vehicle parked. Windows, door locks now inoperative

- Rindge, NH, USA

problem #29

Jul 052014

Envoy

  • 100,687 miles
On 7/5/2014, our house was destroyed by fire. Investigator determined the fire started in the garage where our 2007 GMC Envoy was parked (10:00pm). On 8/8, we were watching morning news over coffee, and it was announced that GM was recalling 2006 and 2007 Chevy trailblazers and gomc Envoy, and owners where advised not to park their vehicles near any structure as the vehicle may catch fire. We notified our insurance company of the recall, provided them with the recall itself, which arrived at our home on 9/6. our complaint is that General Motors took far too long to announce this recall, and in so doing cost us our home, our garage, our car, my woodworking shop and all the tools contained therein, and our storage shed, or in other words, everything we owned.

- Sunriver, OR, USA

problem #28

Feb 012014

Envoy

  • 60,000 miles
February of 2014, gas gauge started to go haywire. After approximately 100 miles, needle of gas gauge goes to empty and low gas indicator light comes on. November of 2013, passenger air bag indicator light stays on. Does not matter if seat is empty or occupied. July 2011, right/front window regulator cable broke-replacement cost me $340. At this time shop found that front differential case leaking. This was replaced at no charge. Have not owned a GM product in over 15 years, now I know why. Come on GM stand behind your products, no matter what year they were manufactured. You claim that your vehicles are on the road for years and years, really...kind of hard to drive and trust a vehicle that does not function properly.

- Eau Claire, WI, USA

problem #27

Jun 202013

Envoy

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The check tire pressure light is always on. It doesn't matter if we have put air in using a gauge or if a mechanic has done it. When the vehicle is first turned on every single time the indicator light is lit and the message reads on the information screen. This is very aggravating and I am afraid that if the tire pressure really does need to be checked we won't do it because that light is always on.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #26

Aug 072014

Envoy

  • 66,000 miles
Recently had the door lock windows switch issues repaired and now have intermittent door lock issues can't lock or unlock doors.

- Gainesville , FL, USA

problem #25

Jun 152012

Envoy

  • 99,000 miles
My husband and I purchased a 2007 GMC Envoy slt since about a week after we got it the rear wiper comes on by itself, the only way to turn it off is to turn it on all the way and turn it off. While driving especially at night the headlights just go off which is very scary especially on dark roads. Service stabilatrak comes on while driving, tire pressure monitor comes on when there is nothing wrong with my tires.

- Haughton, LA, USA

problem #24

Jun 062014

Envoy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got into the truck to leave work shifted into reversed half way thru the turn the wheel locked up and truck shut off. I put in park and restarted no problem the next day same thing at a red light wheel lock needs to be restarted. It sounds like the same issues on the recall but my truck is not on the list.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #23

Jun 082014

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 128,443 miles
Inaccurate fuel gauge caused the 2007 GMC Envoy to unexpectedly run out of gasoline and stall as the vehicle was turning at an intersection. The engine shut off and the power steering failed to operate as other vehicles were approaching the intersection. I was not able to get the vehicle completely off of the road before it stopped. This could have caused a serious crash. GM needs to be held accountable for correcting this serious safety related defect. Why has there been a recall covering certain vehicles under NHTSA campaign number 14V223000 but not in the case of this 2007 GMC Envoy when the end result of the defect can also cause this vehicle to run out of fuel and increase the risk of a crash?

- Lewes, DE, USA

problem #22

Mar 202014

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 92,400 miles
To whom this may concern, on March 20th 2014 I was driving on a busy street when my 2007 GM Envoy stopped running, my gas tank was nearly full and my battery nearly new was reading 14 volts on the dash gauge, I was able to run off the street, nothing damaged, no warning lights showed up, it restarted back up with no problem, I was just getting on a busy highway I-70, the reason I am notifying you is if this happened minutes later I would of gotten run over by a other traffic, I drive this busy stretch of I-70 between St charles, Missouri and wentzville, Missouri, 40 miles a day during rush hour. Yes I will spend more time in the slow lane from now on. Thanks due to recent safety complaints of ignitions with other vehicles I was better prepared of what to do if this sort of thing happened being an owner of a GMC product.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #21

Feb 032014

Envoy

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Envoy. While the vehicle was parked and unoccupied the contact noticed that his driver's side window was shattered and the door was melted. The contact climbed through the passenger side and also noticed that the inside of the drivers door was melted and charred. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for inspection or diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The vehicle was remedied for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility) in May 2013. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #20

Sep 012010

Envoy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the tire pressure and air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The engine was leaking oil and all four tire pressure sensors failed. The failure recurred numerous times and the vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times for repair. There were several repairs made to the vehicle including the replacement of the transmission slip yoke however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the defects. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Tinley Park , IL, USA

problem #19

Feb 152013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Power window & lock stop working intermittently.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #18

Jun 102013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. Additionally, there was a burning odor in the vehicle. The contact was able to jump start the vehicle and take to it the dealer for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the door module was melted and would have to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 032013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Got a recall notice October, 2012, about a safety defect in the drivers door switch module. In January 2013, on the way home from Florida, in a driving rain storm, the windows quit working. Of course the windows were down. Parked, spent the night after putting plastic on all the windows. Resumed my trip in the morning. All was fine until I got into Ohio where the temp. Was 14 degrees. Called randy wise GMC dealership and made an appointment for January 8, 2013 to have this fixed. Took my recall paper with me. They would not honor the recall because it wasn't an "active recall". paid them $477.92 to fix the problem. Called GMC customer assistance center where I was promised a reimbursement form. Never came. Called them back on 1/29/ 2013 when I learned no such paper would be mailed to me until April. Finally received my pay back papers on 4/22/2013. Immediately took the papers to randy wise GMC, Milan, mi and was promised my money would be forth coming! today's date is 5/9/2013 and still no money. Called GMC customer service again and was told they would look into this matter. It has been over four months now! is this the norm for recalls" can anyone there help me" don't know what else to do except hire a lawyer...

- Maybee, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 012012

Envoy

  • 42,000 miles
Contact owns a 2007 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that smoke emitted from the driver's door panel while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The failure was located at the door module. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was 44,000.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #15

Feb 092013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I rolled my window down part way and it would not roll up. The window switch on the driver side which includes the door lock for that door did not work. My key fob would not work also. I have been having off and on problems with the window not working properly but it never did this. I had to drive 10 mile to my local auto mechanic and it all of a sudden worked. I took my vehicle back to my mechanic today 2/11/13 and he said I have a defective switch and that there is a recall on this vehicle for this problem. I contacted lunghammer GMC and they said my vehicle is not part of the recall. I would like to know what my options are because the dealership said I have to pay $105 for them to look at it and maybe we can get GM to do something.

- Commerce Twp, MI, USA

problem #14

Feb 012013

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 GMC Envoy. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall notice update problems. The consumer stated she received a recall notice in the mail. However, when she called GM, she was informed the notice was for an upcoming recall. As of December 20, 2012, there was no more information on the matter. A month later, the consumer called GM again, and she was then asked to explain the problem. The consumer stated she was having problems with the door locks, she was assigned a case number. Later in the evening, she received a call from GM, who stated the parts should be available in March.

- Knox, PA, USA

problem #13

Dec 192012

Envoy

  • 53,000 miles
I have had my Envoy slt now for 2 years and since I've driven it, the check tire pressure is always on for my right rear tire always reads 0, my mirrors have a mind of there own, the heated seats don't always work and now my left directional doesn't work! got a letter stating there was a recall on the driverside door but no parts available! unhappy GMC Envoy driver not sure its such a safe SUV.

- Dracut, MA, USA

problem #12

Dec 152012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I tried to unlock my car doors with the key fob. All other doors unlocked except driver's side door. I manually unlocked it and noticed an odor that smelled "hot". I proceeded to turn on my car and try to roll the window down which suddenly would not work. The entire panel on the drivers side door would not function. I drove about.3 miles and my drivers side window started to go down and then it stopped it did this again and then the entire window went down and I heard a tiny "poof' and smoke started barreling out of the entire door panel. I immediately threw my car into park, turned it off, opened the door, jumped out and turned on the hazard lights. Called the fire department and by the time they arrived the smoke had gone away they tried to start it and it turned over very quickly, too quickly that the fireman made a comment about it. It would not start. Then he tried again and it would do nothing. Had it towed.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #11

Oct 262012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 61,900 miles
Filled gas tank and fuel gauge still reads empty.

- W. Norriton, PA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?