Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 GMC Envoy XL fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 GMC Envoy XL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 GMC Envoy XL Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Feb 032014

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles


Driving the vehicle on the highway at approximately 75mph, gas gauge went completely down to E with a full tank. The needle was basically reading in the same position as when it is in the off position. After that happened the vehicle speedometer started reading incorrect speeds I will be at a dead stop and at a stop light and my speedometer will be reading 75 mph stuck. I know there was a class action lawsuit in 2007 approximately and listed certain GM vehicles but this one was not included. I think that GM needs to look at this affecting other models and makes they replaced some vehicles with this issue and the problem lies with the step motor in the cluster gauge. If you take the GM dealership they want to charge you $500 dollars to repair on a issue that is being replaced on other models. Please please get this to be recall this is a issue that will cause someone to get hurt very bad in a accident.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #23

Oct 242013

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,306 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that when the fuel tank was being filled, fuel would leak as the service engine warning light illuminated. The contact also mentioned that the fuel tank would leak when the vehicle was in motion at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that the entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 144,306. Updated 02/11/14

- Versailles, IN, USA

problem #22

Feb 172013

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
My dad was driving his 2003 GMC Envoy XL home from work and he felt a small explosion and saw black smoke out of his rear view mirror. So he pulled over, got out, and there were flames underneath the car. Within 5-10 minutes the car exploded. A fire fighter and state trooper pulled over to help him, and they both said the fire looked like it started from a fuel leak because the flames were "dripping" under the car. After researching recalls and complaints, I am infuriated that there were so many complaints filed over this problem, and even an investigation was done, but it was not considered serious enough to be a recall. I can't even think about what would have happened if he had waited to pull over at the next exit or the first explosion had been bigger. Apparently, this is a problem with almost all years of this model since 2002. I hope nothing like this, or something worse, happens to anyone else... updated 02/19/15...updated 03-11-15 updated 04/02/15

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #21

Mar 102012

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles


(2003 GMC Envoy XL) I have recently found that my wife and kids have been riding around in a vehicle that was an explosion waiting to happen. General Motors has extended their warranty on fuel tank issues 3 times because of a flawed design. I had no knowledge of this before purchasing, as I believe I am the second owner of this vehicle. I have since seen that this issue has been brought to your attention but not to the magnitude to which it is occurring. I wonder if someone has to die a fiery death before this issue is addressed seriously ? I have compiled many accounts of customers complaining of this issue and have records to share. I have contacted GM customer support, only to be put on hold for a total of 153 minutes in the realm of 4 calls with no resolution. This engineering failure consist of great numbers still on the road. Unlucky ones like myself will not have any knowledge of this until total failure occurs and at that time GM's poor design becomes the burden of the current owner. I need help understanding how such a safety risk can be swept under the rug with 493,579 of these vehicles being sold. I have found that the design was so bad that aftermarket suppliers do not even offer this tank. The only place to get one is from GM dealer at a price of $650, which is exorbitant for a piece of plastic. I need help with this matter but it's not just about me, your actions could save someone's lives !

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #20

May 112011

Envoy XL

  • 150 miles
I have a 2003 GMC Envoy. From the beginning I've had problems with the electrical working properly (rearview mirrors, seat controls, etc). Also, my fuel indicator and speedometer both went out at the same time. I believe GMC should take responsibility for the default and request a recall. I have read numerous complaints dealing with the very same issues on models from 2003 thru 2011.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Aug 232011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 74,423 miles
Fuel pump outlet tube was found corroded through after informing the local GMC dealer of gasoline odors when getting out of vehicle. This vehicle was purchased new in brandon, Florida and has always remained in Florida.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 202008

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


I have a 2003 GMC Envoy that has the fuel gauge issue as well. For years I always have to make sure I have gas in the tank because I really never know how much gas a have. I can but $30 or $40 in gas in my tank and my gauge will read whatever it wants. It has shown that I have gas and I have ran out twice while driving. It is scary with two children in the car. I've seen that this is a major problem in other Envoy particularly 2005 and up, but also see there are internet posts on complaints regarding 2003 models as well.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #17

May 102011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
This is in addition to a previous complaint (tcn: Dbn20-8138 refers. Yesterday my wife was driving my '03 GMC Envoy when it stopped at one of the busiest intersections in town. Gas gauge registered 1/4 fuel. After pushing it to a parking lot and attempting to start the engine, it started to flutter and stop, then nothing. Thinking it was the battery, had it recharged and reinstalled, same symptoms. Thought of other owners of '03 Envoy having probs with fuel gauge, decided to put more fuel which I was able to start the engine and drive it to my residence. The fuel gauge is a problem in addition to the RPM gauge as previously submitted. There are many Envoy owners experiencing these same problems with additional ones as see on edmunds Envoy forum. This could pose as a safety hazard, especially if my wife was turning into traffic and it suddenly died on her, rear-end collision would have been possible.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #16

Jan 102011

Envoy XL

  • 73,200 miles
I have a 2003 GMC Envoy that started smelling like gas. I took it to the dealer and they stated the filler tube and fuel assembly was under warranty. However the costly fuel tank was not. How can you have an item directly related to corrosion that caused the tank problem in the first place not be reimbursable. I am very disappointed in GM to allow customers to ride around with such a dangerous vehicle. Safety in not important to them.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #15

May 092007

Envoy XL

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated there was an overpowering odor of gasoline form the interior of the vehicle. The contact also observed fuel leaking from under the vehicle at the fuel tank. The dealer verified there was a fuel leak but refused service. The vehicle was then taken to a local repair facility where he was awaiting repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and advised they would return his call with a decision if they would assist with repairs or allow repairs under his extended warranty. The failure and current mileages were 135,000.

- Plainsboro, NJ, USA

problem #14

Apr 012007

Envoy XL

  • miles


I have a 2003 GMC Envoy and there is a gas leak. I bought it in October 2006. In 2007, I took it to a GMC dealership for the check engine light, they said that it was probably caused by my not tightening the gas cap. Since then, I have had problems with pumping gas into tank, problems with a gas smell when the tank is filled or if I go over a bump. Now, there is reduced power. Husband says it is on fuel filler neck. On several web pages, it says there was a recall only I am unable to find any information on it. A lot of people have had this problem, why has it not been recalled? I can't afford another vehicle and what happens if I get in a crash. We have 5 kids that I drive around.

- Pitkin, LA, USA

problem #13

Jan 012009

Envoy XL

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle having the "service engine soon" light on and off for like a couple of weeks and then it came light on steady for a while and smell gas around it sometimes until I brought it for service at the dealership where I bought the vehicle. After some diagnostic they found trouble code P0442 evaporative leak detected. They performed evap leak with smoke detector but did not find any leak. Service tech found a leak around a metal seal at the upper part of the fuel tank.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 212009

Envoy XL

  • 85,700 miles
The gas tank on my 2003 GMC Envoy XLT (80K miles) is leaking, especially when tank is full. There was a small puddle on the driveway. The problem actually started back around 50K miles with engine light on. I have taken it to dealer and mechanics before, but it was thought to be some sort of fuel cap problem or over sensitive sensors. However, today, because my gas tank was full, the dealer found that there are leaks caused by a crack tank and fuel tank neck. The fuel leak and vapor are so strong that I feared a small spark can set the whole vehicle on fire like a roman candle. Car was used for everyday commute only.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 152008

Envoy XL

  • 90,000 miles
I own a 2003 GMC Envoy sle. Recently discovered a leak from gas tank. After making some research on the internet, I found that too many people have the same problem with the same car.

- Forest Hills , NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 302008

Envoy XL

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. After the contact placed fuel in his vehicle, he continued to smell an odor of gasoline. He crawled underneath the vehicle and noticed fuel leaking on the outside of the gas tank. The gas tank weld was rusted and cracked, causing fuel to leak out of the tank. The contact also stated that the front suspension of the vehicle was banging whenever he drove over the smallest bump. In addition, the fan clutch was making a clicking sound. The dealer informed him that the vehicle was out of warranty and the repairs were his responsibility. The current and failure mileages were 88,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 242008

Envoy XL

  • 53,512 miles
8/7/08 found on your web site NHTSA action #: PE07014; which states GM will expand its "special policy" to address the fuel tank inlet check valve fractures on certain model year GMC Envoy XL and they will provide free repair of the fuel tank. It also states that GM would be sending letters to owners beginning in June of 2007 regarding this "special policy". I did not receive such a letter. I contacted GM today at 866-996-9463 regarding this "special policy", and this is the answer I received. Since I was not granted such a letter, and GM did not include my VIN # as part of a selected VIN# mailing for this recall, I am not eligible for reimbursement of the monies spent to replace the gas tank. My complaint is this: My vehicle fits within the guidelines, meaning the make, model, year, and description of defect exactly matches that of what GM claims to be recalling, but since my VIN # was not selected as part of the "lot" of VIN # GM decided to send letters to, I am not eligible. That is not a acceptable reason for not reimbursing my expenses.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #8

Jun 242008

Envoy XL

  • 53,512 miles
Took my 2003 GMC Envoy to my local garage because the clutch fan would not shut off. Mechanic asked about the strong smell of fuel, and I said I was aware the tank needed to be replaced due to a crack where the fill tube goes into the tank. The mechanic said both are important to fix, but the fuel leak could be a deadly situation, and he would suggest tackling that defect first, but in order for car to run normal had to have clutch fan replaced too. Total cost for tank related replacement: $1,058.04. Total cost for clutch fan replacement: $719.50 total cost for taxes: $72.75. Why haven't these well known defects been addressed in a recall. These are not inexpensive repairs we are talking about here, not to mention the potentially deadly consequences GMC is subjecting their consumers to.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #7

May 012008

Envoy XL

  • 67,000 miles
I have a 2003 GMC Envoy. Lately I have smelt gas when outside and even inside the vehicle. After doing some research online, it appears that this is a common problem with these vehicles. This should be recalled with GM, this is a huge safety issue. Since what makes gasoline explode is the vapors I would image that GM might have a death on their hands before long.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #6

May 202008

Envoy XL

  • 76,000 miles
2003 GMC Envoy XL-- service engine light came on had vehicle checked. They decided the problem was a fuel cap. Replaced with new cap and service engine light comes back on. Take vehicle back and they check further and tell me I need a new gas tank. Notice when parked on an incline gas is leaking from tank at the inlet from the filler neck. During investigation on internet I've noticed alot of people complaining of the same problem with fuel leaks. Why no recall for fuel tank issues"?" I haven't had the vehicle repaired yet because I was searching for possible recall. I'm taking it to the dealer tomorrow to see if they will cover this issue. If the vehicle is leaking fuel on an incline then I'm sure it has vapors escaping on level ground.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #5

May 272007

Envoy XL 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2003 GMC Envoy XL and at times smell strong gas fumes while driving the vehicle.

- Rockford, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?