Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 GMC Envoy XL electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 GMC Envoy XL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 GMC Envoy XL Owner Comments

problem #19

Jan 022013

Envoy XL

  • 115,000 miles


All exterior lights flicker and fail intermittently, usually while decelerating, or applying brakes. Has been happening for 18 months. Current mileage 155,000

- Rosewood, OH, USA

problem #18

Oct 012014

Envoy XL

  • 100,568 miles
Took vehicle in for recall for driver master switch. Window and door lock continue to fail intermittently even after dealer says he corrected recall. The vehicle has had a history of windows, door not working and has been at the dealership multiple times, please push GMC to fix this issue. The latest letter stating this vehicle may catch fire is very concerning.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #17

Sep 122014

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that the low beams failed to work. The contact had to use the high beams each time the failure recurred. The vehicle was included in a recall for the failure. While waiting for months, the failure occurred to the point that the low beams no longer functioned. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) and 14V404000 (visibility) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact was not able to use the low beams due to the failure. The failure mileage was not available. MA 08/05/15 updated 08/24/2015

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 012014

Envoy XL

  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that the power windows and power locks failed intermittently. The contact also stated that the windshield wipers would independently operate when the switch was in the off mode. In addition, the contact smelled a burning odor. The dealer discovered that the window switch was burned. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V404000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Thomasville , GA, USA

problem #15

Apr 252014

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
2006 GMC Envoy. Consumer writes in regards to electrical system failure. The consumer stated when he/she initially took the vehicle to the dealer for the recall, there was no problem. Thirty days later, the recall work that was performed, malfunctioned. Also, there was a problem with the brake light system. Even after changing the bulb, the rear brake lights did not work even though the light on the hatch did. The consumer stated as he entered the vehicle, while it was raining, water entered the door module, which caused it short out. Eventually, the left door lock and window controls, stopped working. Updated 06/23/14.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #14

Apr 292014

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 150,048 miles
It had been raining all day. Ran errands and came home. After midnight, my windows wad halfway down and no power at all on drivers side.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #13

Aug 062011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles


I required a jump start of my battery for the first time of many because there is an electrical short in my instrument panel to include the functions of the driver side door. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration "a short in the circuit board could lead to a fire, increasing the risk of personal injury" posted in the us new reported by katie labarre on August 20, 2012. GM has announced a recall of 250,000 SUV vehicles because of this but has yet to notify any of the owners of these vehicles. Last year I had to dispute the faulty fuel gauge and now this. I've tried contacting GM and I am constantly being given the run around. GMC 2006 Envoy XL is a garbage vehicle and I regret the day I ever purchased it!!!!

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 012006

Envoy XL

  • 1,000 miles
2006 GMC Envoy XL. Since the car was purchased there have been repeated issues with the service lights. This problem has occurred repeatedly through 2012 where a variety of lights come on. Some stop the car from starting... in 2006, service stabilitrack consistently comes on along with 3-56 other lights at the same time. I've been told the connectors are dirty, that I needed a battery replacement which was untrue. Other times the car has gone for service, noone really has the right fix. There is something wrong with all the sensors.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #11

Apr 012011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
While vehicle was running, a burn smell eminitting from driver side door. Immediately brought vehicle to local repair shop for repair. They diagnosed the smell and window failure to the driver side master switch. The repair shop used original replacement part. This month again, my switch does not work and windows currently are not working. Frustrating because GMC accepted no responsibility. I still have the old switch and receipt and should be eligible for reimbursement for the labor and replacement part cost. Thank you

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 012011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles
The entire component on the drivers side fails to work. The windows operate from the back seat and passenger seat controls. The drivers side window does not work, the drivers door does not lock (automactically) I have a friend who has warned me not to replace the fuse as it could start a fire. I have had this checked out and the electrical component in the door needs to be replaced.

- Swartz Creek, MI, USA

problem #9

Mar 292012

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles


While driving I turned on my left blinker to turn. The wiper came on and it sprayed windshield washer fluid. I put it back into the neutral position and they kept spraying and would not stop. I pulled over turned the vehicle off and back on. The wipers came back on immediately and continued to spray wind washer fluid. Then my speakers started to play a distorted sound. I turned off vehicle again about 4 more times and every time the wiper blades and spray came back on. I had to stay parked on the side of the road for about 10 minutes then they stopped. Or so I thought, as I started to drive and hit 20mph the wiper blades came on and it started spraying again till it finished the entire gallon of wind washer fluid. As I pulled into my drive way the wiper blades kept on cleaning with no liquid. I turned off the vehicle and the wiper blades continued for a few more seconds then stopped. This seems like an electrical problem and I am wondering what is my next step from here?

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #8

Jul 292011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles
Filled my gas tank up and the fuel gauge went to empty after filling. Every time I fill the tank, it goes to empty and then after driving a bit the gauge starts re-registering. I have no idea if it is accurate anymore. Evaporator purge solenoid has also went out causing the check engine light to come on. The lack of an accurate gas gauge is a safety issue. Please recall this vehicle.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 152007

Envoy XL

  • 35,000 miles
I have experienced a check engine warning light display on what is now the third time for the same issue. The diagnostic code for each of these three check engine light displays on my 2006 GMC Envoy was for a problem with the fuel tank level sensor in the fuel tank. The first time I experienced the problem, GM replaced the fuel tank level sensor unit under warranty. I experienced the same issue in the summer of 2009 with approximately 65000 miles on it. I replaced the fuel tank level sensor myself to correct the problem. Again today (9-2-11) I had the check engine light come on & a code check revealed a problem with the fuel tank level sensor. The vehicle has 83000 miles on it.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 032010

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Have had to have the alternator repaired three times. First time 65,000 miles because of noise. Second time voltage regulator third time rear bearing. Had to have the onboard computer replace at 90,000 miles vehicle shut down and would not restart. Towed.

- Beaufort, S.C. 29907, SC, USA

problem #5

Oct 162009

Envoy XL

  • 36,455 miles
2006 GMC Envoy XL --same problem here. It started acting up just after the warranty ran out (just under 40,000 miles)! check engine light is on because of the sensor and will not pass inspection because the light is "on" fill up tank write down mileage is getting old. Time for our stimulus from GM! do the right thing and recall the defective sensors. Fuel gauge always reads empty now --could run out of gas without knowledge anytime/anywhere.

- Easthampton, MA, USA

problem #4

May 112009

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,644 miles
I own a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. Last may of 2009 I was driving on us state 30 with my children when the driver's side door start smoking vigorously without warning. Just as this happened the vehicle shut down in the middle of the highway while I was driving. I was able to restart the vehicle after a few attempts and remove it from traffic. I then tried to open the drivers door to get out (the handle its self was not smoking) and it would not open. I climbed into the passenger's side and manually opened the door, got out, then removed my children also. This incident was reported to GMC and their answer was that the car shutting off was designed as a safety feature. Explain how this could be safe in my situation? the consumer stated the 4-wheel drive recently failed for the fourth time in disastrous weather conditions. On February 17, 2014, the 4-wheel drive was not operating properly in a serious time of need. On February 19, 2014, after 6 1/2 hours, the problem was finally diagnosed as being the decoder motor and wiring for the fourth time since February 15, 2010. Updated 06/05/14.

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 172010

Envoy XL

  • 60,535 miles
Gas gauge reads empty after filling, then slowly moves up after driving but will continue to lose pressure until it reads empty and the light is on, then the check engine light came on.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #2

Jan 102009

Envoy XL

  • 60,000 miles
Service stabilitrak light and service ABS lights are on. Horn no longer works.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #1

Jan 152008

Envoy XL

  • 41,000 miles
I have a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. Upon review on the internet, there is a problem with their fuel gauge indicators. This appears to be a consistent problem, and it costs approximately $500 to repair. Most complaints are happening around 45-50 thousand miles...

- Grinnell, IA, USA

Not what you are looking for?