Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,014 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Fit electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Fit Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 222016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles


Received notice in the mail for takata recall (NHTSA recall #: 16V-344) and power switch replacement recall (NHTSA recall #: 13V-260). Called walnut creek Honda service department on 7/22/16 to schedule an appointment, but was denied service despite the potential fatal danger of these safety recalls. Provided VIN number to [xxx] from service department four times, who repeatedly told me she cannot find my VIN in their system and therefore there is nothing she can do about the recall. I offered to provide other information such as make/year/model to help locate my vehicle, but [xxx] refused to take any information and insisted there is nothing their dealership can do about the recalls. I asked her for recommendations in terms of how to get these potential fatal defects replaced, she provided the same answer "there is nothing we can do". heard similar stories from other Honda owners about the walnut creek Honda dealership. Seems like walnut creek Honda is systematically denying recall services in an attempt to drive car owners away so they will take their problems elsewhere. I filed a complaint with the Honda recall center headquarter, who reached out to walnut creek Honda and made them agree to perform the required recall work on my vehicle. But nobody should have to jump through so many hoops to get safety recalls taken care of in America in the first place. I can only imagine how helpless other people must feel when they were denied such important recall service, especially if they were not aware of an avenue to escalate matters with the Honda recall center or with the NHTSA. My complaint is with walnut creek Honda, not Honda on the corporate level. I hereby ask the NHTSA to launch an investigation into the misconduct and likely illegal action by walnut creek Honda in denying car owners of their rights to safety recall services. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 022016


  • 150,000 miles
Low beam lights due not function.lots of similar complaints on the computer.called the Honda garage where I purchased the car and they said they would charge me to look at it and troubleshoot the problem.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #13

Oct 102015


  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle, the contact noticed smoke coming from the hood of the vehicle. The contact had a fire extinguisher and attempted to keep the fire down until the fire department arrived. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. A fire report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000....updated 01/20/16

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 202015


  • 114,386 miles


Combination headlight switch was faulty. While low beams are on, toggling the right turn signal activates the high beam. I brought the car to the dealer and performed the headlight switch recall hoping it would get fixed but the recall only addressed the wiring harness. The problem persisted after the recall. I googled it and it is a common problem. Told the dealer about what I found online and was charging me extra for diagnostics and replacing the part. They told me the recall did not include replacing combination switch itself. Then, I bought an oem replacement and replaced it myself which fixed the problem.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #11

May 012014

Fit 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
My 2008 manual Honda Fit sport is stalling whenever I push in the clutch and come to a stop. I have to restart the car around 5 or 6 times before the engine will stop stalling at every stop. The car starts fine, but once started (and if not given time to warm up), it will stall and shut down at every stop. The battery light and oil light both come on when this happens. I have taken it to two certified Honda dealers who cannot find anything wrong with my car. This is very frustrating and annoying, as this has been an issues for almost a year. I absolutely love my car and just want it fixed!! I also do not want to have to replace the ignition just because I have to start my car at every stop sign.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 302013

Fit 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
The car suddenly lost acceleration on the highway, with the check engine light flashing. The mechanic later found fault with ignition coils. All coils were replaced, but they keep failing one after another, creating potential dangers (e.g., loss of power and crash on the highway).

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #9

Oct 142013


  • miles


When it rains the car leaks from their doors onto the floor and back spare tire area. This car has been recalled for switch board defects which potentially can start a fire in the car. There hasn't been a recall for the doors leaking into the car.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 212008


  • 7,019 miles
On 10/21/2008 seven months after purchasing our 2008 Honda Fit (new) the battery went dead. We jump started it and took to dealer. They tested it and said it failed the load test. They replaced it with a new one. On 10/20/2010, the car wouldn't start again. We jump started it and drove to dealer. They found nothing wrong. On 01/24/2011, the car wouldn't start. We had it jump started and drove to dealer.they load tested it and it failed. They replaced it with a new one. On 07/08/2013, the car wouldn't start. We had it jump started and took to dealer. They replaced it. The car is driven about 45 mins most days. Every once in a while it will sit for a day, it currently has 72,507 miles.the last occurrence happened after it sat for 4 hours. Nothing was left on. Even though this shouldn't cause a crash, we are reluctant to drive it at night and becoming stranded. We contacted american Honda and opened a case. The next step would involve us paying for a diagnostic test. According to searches on the internet, there was a battery problem especially in 2009. Hopefully, this battery will be a good one. I guess we should be happy we don't have the acceleration problem documented on this website. So far, the dealer has been great about replacing the batteries for free under the battery warranty. But we wish they could figure out why the batteries keep failing. Whether they are defective or if the car's electrical system is causing it to happen.

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #7

Mar 172011

Fit 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
All front lamps have failed repeatedly, including low beam headlight. Headlamps have failed four times. Vehicle has been returned for service under safety recall notice, but lights continue to fail.

- Famington, NY, USA

problem #6

May 102012

Fit 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Purchased this car as a certified used car in November 2010 from tarrytown Honda. Numerous incidents of stopping on the road with this car since June 2011 but this is the latest incident. Previous incident also reported on this website. Also filed complaint with american Honda in September 2011 (case#N0122011-09-0701741) and filed for nys lemon law arbitration in 2011 but never received a response. Car dashboard lighting started to go while driving and steering difficult. Car stopped after coming off of brooklyn bridge on 5/10/12 and had to be frantically pushed to the side of the road with help of good samaritan and my passenger because hazard lights wouldn't remain on. Car was towed to Honda dealership by aaa. Car completely died on the road in the middle of highway traffic with steering impossible and hazard lights not operable. Dealership states that alternator and battery need replacement - for the second time in one year! I belong to a Honda Fit online forum where other Honda Fit owners complain of the same problem. The dealership has not been able to resolve the problem since the first incident in June 2011 and I maybe injured or killed if I continue to drive this car.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #5

Jan 062012

Fit 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


At times car stalls at red light. Car has also quit running at 70 mph. Have had car at Honda dealer several times and there are no falt codes. Car is now turning on check engine light. Dealer is no help. Have replaced coils, spark plugs, air filter and V-tec oil pressure switch. Trouble still exist. Honda dealer has no clue and is no help in resolving this issue. I am afraid that someone might die in the car before the trouble is fixed.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #4

Jun 242011

Fit 4-cyl

  • 75,647 miles
Brought car to Honda dealership on 6/24/11 for service due to car dying twice that day. Upon arrival car died and had to be jumped to service. Alternator was replaced as well as the battery that day. Then in August car died on the road while driving twice and was taken in for services at Honda dealership and immobilizer was stated to be the problem then replaced on 8/24/11. Arrive at Honda dealership 9/6/11 for tire service and car battery issues stated but technician resolved by adjusting battery connections. On 9/7/11 car dies on bruckner blvd in the bronx, NY while coming off the fdr and hazard lights would not come on. Nyc dot workers had to manually put car in neutral so it could be moved to side of road. Car was towed to bronx Honda and battery replaced again. Dealership stated car issues should be resolved but heard stranger rattling sounds from car while backing out the same day it was picked up.

- Bronxville, NY, USA

problem #3

Apr 162011

Fit 4-cyl

  • 19,157 miles
Re: 2008 Honda Fit sport - a few weeks after having the headlight safety recall for 2007-08 Honda Fit vehicles from Honda service performed on the vehicle we started to notice that the high beams would come on when the right turn signal was activated while the headlights were on. Honda diagnosed as the headlight switch being defective and replaced the headlight switch under warranty. A few weeks later the new headlight switch began displaying the same issue; with the headlights on, using the right turn signal would activate the high beams. Honda has now diagnosed the issue once again as the headlight switch being defective. Vehicle is out of warranty in a few weeks. Have contacted american Honda and opened a case on the ongoing issue. Think that their may be a large number of defective replacement headlight/turn signal switches currently being used for service. This will be the third headlight switch the vehicle has had.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #2

Jan 102009


  • 0 miles
2008 Honda Fit sport - dash lights are on all the time, not just when headlights are turned on as is typical of every other car I have ever driven. This design has caused me on several occasions to drive for miles at night thinking that my headlights were on. Twice now, a car has pulled out in front of me because they could not see my approaching vehicle in the darkness. Had there been an accident I would have been responsible. If the dash lights were linked to the headlights I would immediately be alerted that my headlights were not on at night. I believe that this is a significant and critical safety issue that should be addressed and remedied by Honda motor co. I further believe that Honda should be required to issue a recall in order to fix this safety related issue. It is only a matter of time before some unfortunate Honda Fit driver is involved in a vehicular accident as a result of what I feel is a safety design fault. I have not notified Honda motor co. Of this issue because in past I have made suggestions of improvements for the Fit and Honda replied with a letter from their legal department informing me that they do not / will not accept any suggestions from anyone who is not an employee of their company. I intend to inform consumer reports of this issue in the hope that they may comment about it for the benefit of their readers, many of whom may have purchased a Honda Fit based on cr's vehicle reviews / recommendations.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #1

Feb 012008


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The Honda Fit sport is designed so that the instrument panel illuminates to full brightness as soon as the ignition is turned on--day or night. It cannot be turned off at all. (the dealer and manufacturer confirm this.) the problem is that I, like, I suspect, most drivers, rely on a dark car interior as a prompt to turn on the headlights at night. This week I have driven home from work three out of five nights with no headlights. (on one occasion I was prompted by a kind approaching driver who "blinked" me; on another I actually remembered to turn the lights on. The degree of illumination, incidentally, can be controlled when the headlights are on. The too-bright dashboard is a mild annoyance during the daytime, but that in itself would not merit a complaint. The major issue is this: I chose this car largely because of its excellent safety rating--and I now feel very unsafe when I arrive home and discover that I have just driving six miles on Chicago streets with no headlights. The contact purchased the vehicle in January of 2008 and has only been driving the vehicle during the day. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Berwyn, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?