Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,244 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda Fit electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Fit Owner Comments

problem #12

Jun 082016

Fit

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Burnt out ac switch due to excessive heating by the light bulb embedded in the switch. There was a smell of burnt plastic or electrical burn smell.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #11

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles
Air conditioning stoped working. And radiador fans stay one when I turn off car

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 312016

Fit

  • 81,000 miles
Engine wiring was chewed and heavily damaged by rodents. I am concerned because engine bay is easily accesable from the bottom of the car, there is no sheilding. I also read that on this paticular model the wiring insulation is soy based, possibly attracting rodents to said eat wiring.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 092015

Fit

  • 85,733 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Key will not go in all the way to the ignition, so cannot start the engine. Part: 06351tf0A11 (lock cylinder) was required to be replaced

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 142011

Fit 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Car was driven off the lot with 7 miles on odometer in April 2010. Passes all nh state inspections. Had no indication there was any issue with car until I went to reregister in January of 2011. Car would not pass nh state inspection because the emissions monitoring computer was in a default state. Had dealership look at it and they were able to get the nh state inspection to pass after replacing a relay. In January 2012, had same issue. This time they replaced a main electrical junction box. Again in 2013, failed nh state inspection. Dealership could not find an issue, but was able to get car to pass. Again in January 2014, then January 2015. Dealership talked with Honda engineers, but no resolution was available. I was informed it was due to the winter and the slow turnover of the car was dropping the electrical power below 10V, and resetting computer. Not satisfied with this result.

- Nottingham, NH, USA

problem #7

Nov 282014

Fit 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Wife drove car to work on rainy day and opened window to use key card to enter parking garage. When leaving work window would not open. I am a mechanic and inspected switches on master switch when wife arrived home that day. Window would surge up with switch placed in up position no operation in down position. I ordered new drivers window master switch online and replaced unit and it fixed the problem. I am reporting this because I noticed Honda Fit older models had a recall for window switch issues. I think they still have a issue with moisture getting to the switch solder board.switch part number 35750-TK6-A01 $154.

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 232014

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car in March 2013. I have noticed that while using the air conditioner that when I go to turn it off the dial is hot to the touch. The same thing happens when I use the heater, the dial is hot to the touch.

- Balch Springs, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 172014

Fit

  • 30,000 miles
HVAC blower motor works only on high speed (4). Speeds 1-3 don't work on the fan for ac, heat, or any of the various HVAC settings.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #4

Dec 022013

Fit 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The A/C switch on the dash is defective. I turn it on, the A/C clutch engages but, then I can't turn it off... causing the A/C to run constantly, even in the winter.

- Kennett Square, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 062011

Fit 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
2010 Honda Fit base while idling or in park I push the driver side power door lock master switchforward to "on" position. Intermittently there is a a high pitch screeching sound. Dealer stated the whole switch needs to be replaced and that it is electrical switch issue with intermittent short. This will be done under warranty. An online search shows that Honda Corp in tokyo (September 2011) has issued a recall of 963,000 Honda Fit and CR-V worldwide (including U.S.) for this same problem. However the dealer said my VIN is not under recall...hmmm?

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #2

Dec 012010

Fit

  • 4,000 miles
With headlights on and heater blower running the headlights dim significantly and the blower motor reduces its velocity, as if an electrical failure is about to occur. Dealer said nothing is wrong.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

problem #1

Nov 252010

Fit 4-cyl

  • 6,200 miles
Malfunction 1: while being driven with cruise control engaged, car without any dashboard signal warning begins to progressively and involuntarily decelerate. It will not respond to application of the increase speed button on the cruise control panel nor will it increase speed with the accelerator pedal is pushed. Eventually the car will shut off on its own. Takes multiple tries of restarting it to get it to move again. Dates: 11-25-10 & 1-30-11. Malfunction 2: the gears periodically will not engage between 2nd, 3rd, 4th. This lasts a few seconds while the car is moving. Since 9/2010, this has happened 4 times. Updated IVOQ 03/04/11

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?